LINE APP NOT WORKING

TSnse890514
post Aug 2 2012, 08:17 PM, updated 14y ago

48 posts

As topic, the LINE app on my S3, is not working on mobile data. ONLY WORKS on WIFI.

everything works fine with WIFI, but when OFF wifi, and use on mobile data, I CANT receive msg, sent msg or do whatever with line. the msg always appear a RED exclamation and i keep resending but failed.

and if i connect with wifi again, those FAILED msg will send out SUCCESSFULLY.

anyone have any idea how to fix this?

I reinstall LINE many times already. sad.gif
jusbella
post Aug 2 2012, 08:29 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 2 2012, 08:17 PM)
As topic, the LINE app on my S3, is not working on mobile data. ONLY WORKS on WIFI.

everything works fine with WIFI, but when OFF wifi, and use on mobile data, I CANT receive msg, sent msg or do whatever with line. the msg always appear a RED exclamation and i keep resending but failed.

and if i connect with wifi again, those FAILED msg will send out SUCCESSFULLY.

anyone have any idea how to fix this?

I reinstall LINE many times already.  sad.gif
That means its restricted ad....

only root can solve the problem....
TSnse890514
post Aug 2 2012, 08:44 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Aug 2 2012, 09:29 PM)
That means its restricted ad....

only root can solve the problem....
must i really root it? root means warranty void right?

if like this then this LINE app seems to be a useless app since it is restricted.

another problem of LINE is, when i send out msg on mobile data, my friend can receive the msg(but shows red exclaimation on my phone). when i receive msg, the NOTIFICATION bar on top will show the msg, BUT when i click into the LINE app, it doesnt show anything.
snigapoe
post Aug 2 2012, 08:53 PM

2,388 posts

did you use any data monitoring or av program?
TSnse890514
post Aug 2 2012, 09:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 2 2012, 09:53 PM)
did you use any data monitoring or av program?
im using My Data Manager. what's AV program? sry for my noobest. hope sifu can help.

snigapoe
post Aug 2 2012, 09:14 PM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 2 2012, 09:06 PM)
im using My Data Manager. what's AV program? sry for my noobest. hope sifu can help.
check under my data manager maybe that program blocking line from using data connection
Ask_Yip
post Aug 2 2012, 09:20 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

I faced the same problem︶︿︶
snigapoe
post Aug 2 2012, 09:25 PM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 2 2012, 09:20 PM)
I faced the same problem︶︿︶
check your recent install app or check ur data manager program or antivirus program if you had install any
maybe those program blocking some certain app from using data connection
Ask_Yip
post Aug 2 2012, 09:32 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 2 2012, 09:25 PM)
check your recent install app or check ur data manager program or antivirus program if you had install any
maybe those program blocking some certain app from using data connection
Do not have any data manager or av program blush.gif
snigapoe
post Aug 2 2012, 09:34 PM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 2 2012, 09:32 PM)
Do not have any data manager or av program blush.gif
how about battery juice apps?
Ask_Yip
post Aug 2 2012, 09:37 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

Just go to the apps page and read, is a global problem for ics, line have to fix it.
TSnse890514
post Aug 2 2012, 09:41 PM

48 posts

nope, im sure there's NO application blocking LINE from using data connection.
leileichungy
post Aug 6 2012, 06:45 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 2 2012, 08:44 PM)
must i really root it? root means warranty void right?

if like this then this LINE app seems to be a useless app since it is restricted.

another problem of LINE is, when i send out msg on mobile data, my friend can receive the msg(but shows red exclaimation on my phone). when i receive msg, the NOTIFICATION bar on top will show the msg, BUT when i click into the LINE app, it doesnt show anything.
same here icon_question.gif
SUSvuetnam
post Aug 6 2012, 06:48 PM

1,259 posts

ya... I think its Line prob.... now rely on whatsapp
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 6 2012, 09:13 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

For pass few days, who ever i pm using line sure no reply
Whatsapp got. I wonder why.
mydragoon
post Aug 7 2012, 09:40 AM

7,044 posts

i dun think it's a LINe issue coz i'm using GNote with ICS and it's not a problem. i got friends on S3... i'm sure plently of S3 users here too... can just as easily confirm it's working on theirs...

plus, since said wifi works, just not on 3G, very likely something is blocking the transmission...

samsunix
post Aug 7 2012, 11:02 AM

202 posts

Try to turn off the data connection and turn it back on again. I can receive LINE messages normally after doing that. Previously was having problem with the msg not sending and receiving too.
TSnse890514
post Aug 21 2012, 04:35 AM

48 posts

the problem persist no matter i upgrade the fw, app version, or factory reset. whatever shit i've done, nothing could be done. ALL my s3 friends are able to use thier line, EXCEPT me. WHYYY?
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 21 2012, 10:41 AM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 21 2012, 04:35 AM)
the problem persist no matter i upgrade the fw, app version, or factory reset. whatever shit i've done, nothing could be done. ALL my s3 friends are able to use thier line, EXCEPT me. WHYYY?
Go to poo profile delete account first.
Uninstall n reinstall the latest version.

TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 01:31 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 21 2012, 11:41 AM)
Go to poo profile delete account first.
Uninstall n reinstall the latest version.
very sad to say, it's still not working on mobile data. damn...
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 02:30 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 01:31 PM)
very sad to say, it's still not working on mobile data. damn...
Replace with Viber or whatsapp la.
mydragoon
post Aug 22 2012, 04:47 PM

7,044 posts

just curious... your ROM... stock? or custom?
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 07:49 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 03:30 PM)
Replace with Viber or whatsapp la.
am using, but some friends groups insist on line. im getting outdated once i step out of wifi.

Added on August 22, 2012, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 22 2012, 05:47 PM)
just curious... your ROM... stock? or custom?
HEAD TO TOE - STOCK! fw BLH1 already...

first day i got my s3 already happen, until now almost 2 months, with various updates from LINE and FW...none solve this problem.

This post has been edited by nse890514: Aug 22 2012, 07:50 PM
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 07:53 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 07:49 PM)
am using, but some friends groups insist on line. im getting outdated once i step out of wifi.

Added on August 22, 2012, 7:50 pm

HEAD TO TOE - STOCK! fw BLH1 already...

first day i got my s3 already happen, until now almost 2 months, with various updates from LINE and FW...none solve this problem.
Then get a portable Wi-Fi.

Yes 4g dongle.
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 08:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 08:53 PM)
Then get a portable Wi-Fi.

Yes 4g dongle.
then what's the point having mobile data -.-

no one in any andriod forum could help me with this....should i get a 1 to 1 replacement from samsung?
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 08:09 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:07 PM)
then what's the point having mobile data -.-

no one in any andriod forum could help me with this....should i get a 1 to 1 replacement from samsung?
Your data can use to browser web or things?
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 08:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 09:09 PM)
Your data can use to browser web or things?
everything from web browsing, fb, whatsapp, twitter, insta, email, youtube....ALL can except for LINE. i wonder why.
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 08:21 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:12 PM)
everything from web browsing, fb, whatsapp, twitter, insta, email, youtube....ALL can except for LINE. i wonder why.
Your phone browser works on data, that's it. Samsung won't entertain you.
Its the app problem, not phone.

Grow some sense, if not those Samsung cs guys gonna laugh at you.
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 08:33 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 09:21 PM)
Your phone browser works on data, that's it. Samsung won't entertain you.
Its the app problem, not phone.

Grow some sense, if not those Samsung cs guys gonna laugh at you.
i also hope it's the app problem. but the WEIRDEST THING IS, 12 of my friends using s3, we are having the same stock head to toe, same version of line since day 1 we bought s3. all 12 of them can use line EXCEPT for me.

now u tell me, phone or app problem? i've tried many ways and almost turn the world wide web upside down, nobody can tell me the exact solution. so the last resort, change phone?

disappointed.
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 08:41 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:33 PM)
i also hope it's the app problem. but the WEIRDEST THING IS, 12 of my friends using s3, we are having the same stock head to toe, same version of line since day 1 we bought s3. all 12 of them can use line EXCEPT for me.

now u tell me, phone or app problem? i've tried many ways and almost turn the world wide web upside down, nobody can tell me the exact solution. so the last resort, change phone?

disappointed.
Changing phone because of line?
Grow some sense.
Still early.

Check ur phone with their, see is it same firmware?
You can flash firmware anytime.

Use ur friend’s SIM who use line with data, his SIM in ur phone.
Then test line, browser n others.
Maybe ur data connection slow or to low speed.
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 08:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 09:41 PM)
Changing phone because of line?
Grow some sense.
Still early.
Check ur phone with their, see is it same firmware?
You can flash firmware anytime.
Use ur friend’s SIM who use line with data, his SIM in ur phone.
Then test line, browser n others.
Maybe ur data connection slow or to low speed.
same firmware. tested many times.

tried to exchange sim with a few of them. only my LINE not working. but my sim in thier phone is working.

browser still can work on my phone with thier sim.
Dozz
post Aug 22 2012, 08:59 PM

2,149 posts

No problem with my LINE

Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 09:02 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:52 PM)
same firmware. tested many times.

tried to exchange sim with a few of them. only my LINE not working. but my sim in thier phone is working.

browser still can work on my phone with thier sim.
Firmware I mean is phone, not line version.
Setting > about phone > base band version / build number.

I dono how to help you?
Maybe base band / build different.
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 09:26 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 10:02 PM)
Firmware I mean is phone, not line version.
Setting > about phone > base band version / build number.

I dono how to help you?
Maybe base band / build different.
im not a noob la...firmware is the phone firmware. LINE is app VERSION.

already mentioned, im using STOCK form head to toe, baseband DXLH1, build number XXBLH1.

the reason why i post this topic is because i already have NO IDEA how to solve this.

Wifi_One
post Aug 22 2012, 09:34 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

Did u restrict data restriction for line to wifi only?

Check yout setting on line background data usage.

TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 09:56 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Aug 22 2012, 10:34 PM)
Did u restrict data restriction for line to wifi only?

Check yout setting on line background data usage.
how to check "settings on line background data usage"?

DO YOU MEANT THIS?

This post has been edited by nse890514: Aug 22 2012, 10:01 PM
Wifi_One
post Aug 22 2012, 10:03 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:56 PM)
I will assume u on ics.

Settings>data usage

U will find 2 tab. One for mobile n one for wifi

Select the.mobile Scroll down to line app, click on it, scroll down to c if the checkbox for background data.restriction is ticked

Hope this helps

Added on August 22, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:56 PM)

DO YOU MEANT THIS?
Yup... Looks like the restriction is off..

Sorry,, dunno how to help u d...

Last check,

Applications on running services.. Did u disabled them?

My note has 2 line services running
I alwys kill them to conserve batt

This post has been edited by Wifi_One: Aug 22 2012, 10:08 PM
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 10:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Aug 22 2012, 11:03 PM)
I will assume u on ics.

Settings>data usage

U will find 2 tab.  One for mobile n one for wifi

Select the.mobile  Scroll down to line app, click on it, scroll down to c if the checkbox for background data.restriction is ticked

Hope this helps

Added on August 22, 2012, 10:05 pm

Yup... Looks like the restriction is off..

Sorry,, dunno how to help u d...

Last check,

Applications on running services.. Did u disabled them?
thanks for your effort bro. i'm totally lost. sad.gif

not a happy s3 user. although it's just an APP, but i feel it shouldnt happen like this where as everyone has no problem. just felt imperfect ( perfect to me means AT LEAST i can use any APPS i NEED to use)
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Aug 22 2012, 10:11 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

QUOTE(nse890514 @ Aug 22 2012, 10:09 PM)
thanks for your effort bro. i'm totally lost.  sad.gif

not a happy s3 user. although it's just an APP, but i feel it shouldnt happen like this where as everyone has no problem. just felt imperfect ( perfect to me means AT LEAST i can use any APPS i NEED to use)
Ask all ur friends use Viber.

Can call also for free.
Wifi_One
post Aug 22 2012, 10:15 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Aug 22 2012, 10:11 PM)
Ask all ur friends use Viber.

Can call also for free.
Viber no stickers hahahaha
TSnse890514
post Aug 22 2012, 10:18 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Aug 22 2012, 11:15 PM)
Viber no stickers hahahaha
hahaha! well...i cant request 30 person to change to viber just for me. and i acutally prefer line more. well... i just have to wait until someone solves this shit.

Added on August 23, 2012, 12:36 amSame LINE app problems from other forums. (fail on mobile data)
http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s3...p-got-prob.html

This post has been edited by nse890514: Aug 23 2012, 12:36 AM
jwyong001
post Aug 24 2012, 02:03 AM

312 posts

aiyo bro..this obviously is line problem la..it crash with ur phone.go look at their google play comment.lotsa of ppls compalint about that issues..what i can say is u are one of the unlucky person..how come u can relate it with samsung because of that tiny app since u still can use the mobile data in other way..adui.. doh.gif

format ur phone, deactivate line acc and reinstall see how going on..

This post has been edited by jwyong001: Aug 24 2012, 02:06 AM
Einheijar
post Aug 24 2012, 02:34 AM

Don't really like line, works for me but got slow notifications sometimes. If I don't unlock the phone sometimes the messages cannot receive. WeChat ftw
allenultra
post Aug 24 2012, 09:35 AM

9,027 posts

Had that before.

Backup the "data [messages]" using MyBackup and uninstall Line.

Before uninstall, clear all the data as well. Make sure everything clear and make a restart.
Reinstall Line, restore "data" using MyBackup.

For me, once works.
TSnse890514
post Aug 24 2012, 05:57 PM

48 posts

FINALLY, I MANAGE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM:

Most of the people having this issue, manage to browse, FB, twitter, whatsapp, BUT UNABLE to use LINE.

We have tried many ways to solve this problem:
1) uninstall app, reinstall
2) update firmware
3) root/ flash with other firmware
4) factory wipe and reinstall (this might help)

THE ULTIMATE REASON that LINE is unable to use on MOBILE DATA, but works on WIFI IS.........

**** THE ACCESS POINT for your mobile data*****

TO solve this problem:

1) go to SETTINGS
2) go to MORE SETTINGS
3) go to MOBILE NETWORK
4) go to ACCESS POINT NAMES
5) MAKE SURE the APNs is Maxis 3G Internet (with a green dot)/ Digi Internet (green dot)/ Celcom bla bla bla
6) Tap the MENU button (left of your home button),and RESET TO DEFAULT
7) it will ask you to choose (in my case) Maxis 2G Internet OR Maxis 3G Internet
8) Of course, i chose 3G internet
9) TADDDA, web browsing with LIGHTING SPEED and LINE is WORKING on MOBILE DATA AGAIN!! icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

IN MY CASE, i have:
1) MAXIS MMS as PRIORITY(green dotted) << THE REASON why BROWSING & LINE app FAIL on mobile data.
2) Maxis 3G Internet

Hopefully this will help those with the same problem. Moderator, kindly PIN this up IF you find this USEFUL icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0263sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:18 AM