Hi-Fi An USB ESS sabre DAC, Simply a performer.

Dreamworks
post Aug 7 2012, 12:32 AM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Any new users joining the club? Received my unit today rclxm9.gif
USB DAC by pixeltailz, on Flickr

I knew it was small, but I seriously did not expect it to be this SMALL... In fact, the standard PosLaju envelope seemed overkill laugh.gif But size (looks) can be deceiving, because it sure packs some BIG sound.

Haven't had much time to really listen for now but initial impressions, absolutely brilliant! Even my non-music centric Logitech Z-2300 sounded so good, bass goes low and deep with a powerful controlled punch. Highs are crystal clear, mids not too sure (Z-2300 is horrible with mids, cannot judge tongue.gif ) Gonna test it with my IEMs next to get a better "feel".

Bought it to replace my onboard audio (Realtek's flagship ALC898) but seems like it can replace my modded X-Fi XtremeMusic as well xD

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 7 2012, 12:34 AM
Dreamworks
post Aug 7 2012, 11:35 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 7 2012, 12:37 AM)
i'll be honest, i'm actually intrigued.

wonder when we can have an audition session with this unit then?
Audition this DAC or my modded sound card? tongue.gif I'm in Penang (Mainland side) though.

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Aug 7 2012, 12:38 AM)
please post up more review when you test on your iem
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Aug 7 2012, 01:02 AM)
I demand reviews

poisoned liao
Kinda busy with work atm, review will be done earliest by this weekend. Why not just get yourselves a unit instead? brows.gif

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Aug 7 2012, 07:55 AM)
Great skill in photo capturing!
Thanks bro biggrin.gif Would be better if I have a macro lens, which I don't... And this thing being seriously tiny doesn't help, after take pics need to crop away empty spaces laugh.gif

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 7 2012, 08:21 AM)
Btw, what's the max frequency support on this? Has anyone tried on 24/48? 24/96? 24/192(hmm.gif)?
Only 16 bit, 32kHz - 48kHz. I suppose this limitation is due to the USB audio device/chip used and not the ES9023 DAC itself hmm.gif I'm sure you'll get better answers from the designer.

Added on August 7, 2012, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(nick67 @ Aug 7 2012, 11:27 PM)
Means this dac memang have to use with amp?
Output levels are more or less similar to a sound card's line out as far as my ears can tell smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Aug 7 2012, 11:38 PM
Dreamworks
post Apr 7 2013, 04:28 PM

2,141 posts

Decided to make some minor improvements to my DAC since I'm one of the early buyers (2nd in fact according to the list tongue.gif ) where back then it came "naked" brows.gif
1) Original/bare unit
2) 1st layer - Heat shrink tube as insulator
3) 2nd layer - Tesco aluminum foil as EMI shield, held together by regular gum
4) 3rd layer - Another heat shrink tube to protect the frail foil

Now it looks fat and chubby lol...

0.0234sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:58 AM