23 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hi-Fi An USB ESS sabre DAC, Simply a performer.

JonSpark
post Aug 16 2012, 11:53 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

This thing feels weird on my speakers, might be because im used to the EQ settings for my HCS2330

but connect it to my AdagioII, Consonance and M2......the sound is just.......fuh DAMN thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by JonSpark: Aug 16 2012, 08:55 PM
JonSpark
post Aug 16 2012, 12:45 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

I bought another unit for my fren, not an audiophile......but a satisfied buyer laugh.gif

this is what he said:
LittleGhost
post Aug 16 2012, 05:23 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Aug 16 2012, 01:42 AM)
does it mean if i connect an Amp to my Mp3 player, i need to max out the vol of my mp3 player and control the volume using the amp in order not to lost any bits ?
Yes.

not only due potential loss of bits, but also highest SNR when you're at your max volume.

Then again, if you don't have line out, any amp = waste.
xk2
post Aug 16 2012, 09:59 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Aug 16 2012, 11:53 AM)
This thing feels weird on my speakers, might be because im used to the EQ settings for my HCS2330

but connect it to my AdagioII, Consonance and M2......the sound is just.......fuh DAMN thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
dun use the DAC with your previous EQ setting bro tongue.gif let it flat , if u really want tune the EQ, tune it precisely by start from flat after connect to this DAC , adjust according to what your speaker system cannot give u or to suit your listening preference. rclxms.gif
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 01:40 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

UD100 next to ODAC.

Surprisingly UD100 measured very well in RMAA, even against ODAC. I think it is safe to say for now, at least for my ears, UD100 is 95% of an ODAC if not more. Really excellent USB DAC for the price.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 02:45 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 01:40 PM)
[img]http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k240/ofey_s/Stoner/UD100-05.jpg[/mimg]

UD100 next to ODAC.

Surprisingly UD100 measured very well in RMAA, even against ODAC. I think it is safe to say for now, at least for my ears, UD100 is 95% of an ODAC if not more. Really excellent USB DAC for the price.
What is your rmaa setup like?
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 07:41 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Nothing fancy: PC - (USB DAC) - O2 - Behringer UHA222 for line-in. Didn't use any load for O2 because it doesn't matter in this case. I am just looking for the difference between USB DAC. I would have forgone the O2 if UD100's volume is adjustable on Windows.

For listening, it is PC - USB DAC - O2 - RE0.

This post has been edited by ClieOS: Aug 17 2012, 07:42 PM
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 07:45 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 07:41 PM)
Nothing fancy: PC - (USB DAC) - O2 - Behringer UHA222 for line-in. Didn't use any load for O2 because it doesn't matter in this case. I am just looking for the difference between USB DAC. I would have forgone the O2 if UD100's volume is adjustable on Windows.

For listening, it is PC - USB DAC - O2 - RE0.
Are you sourcing them with the same PC? Because if you are, you're having ground loops -> hence problematic results.
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 07:51 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2012, 07:45 PM)
Are you sourcing them with the same PC? Because if you are, you're having ground loops -> hence problematic results.
Fortunately, ground loop isn't a problem on my PC. I tried two PC setup before and it doesn't make much difference. Also played with USB isolator before as well.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 07:55 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 07:51 PM)
Fortunately, ground loop isn't a problem on my PC. I tried two PC setup before and it doesn't make much difference. Also played with USB isolator before as well.
Ground loops is not PC dependent. It's when you tie an "extra" ground with the sleeve of the jack when the ground is already shared within the same PC.

To be honest, RMAA is rarely a good gauge of absolute performance. It's very finnicky. I kinda side with nwaguy in RMAA's case.
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 08:02 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2012, 07:55 PM)
Ground loops is not PC dependent. It's when you tie an "extra" ground with the sleeve of the jack when the ground is already shared within the same PC.
To be honest, RMAA is rarely a good gauge of absolute performance. It's very finnicky. I kinda side with nwaguy in RMAA's case.
I don't disagree that RMAA isn't the greatest of tools, but it is free. If I have that kind of setup like NvAvGuy, I'll learn how to use them. But till then, RMAA is here to stay. However, the key is to know RMAA limit and know what to look for (and what not to). Even with a bad tool, it can still work if you know how to use it right. Which is why I measure the UD100 against ODAC, which has been well documented. By looking at the difference between result instead of pure number, a lot of things can still be told.

Well, if that fail, I still have my ears and a digital SPL meter to match the volume.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 08:34 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 08:02 PM)
I don't disagree that RMAA isn't the greatest of tools, but it is free. If I have that kind of setup like NvAvGuy, I'll learn how to use them. But till then, RMAA is here to stay. However, the key is to know RMAA limit and know what to look for (and what not to). Even with a bad tool, it can still work if you know how to use it right. Which is why I measure the UD100 against ODAC, which has been well documented. By looking at the difference between result instead of pure number, a lot of things can still be told.

Well, if that fail, I still have my ears and a digital SPL meter to match the volume.
Tried ARTA yet?
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 08:38 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2012, 08:34 PM)
Tried ARTA yet?
Heard of it but never try. I thought it is a shareware, no?
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 08:39 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 08:38 PM)
Heard of it but never try. I thought it is a shareware, no?
naw mate.

My senior used it for his FYP.
ClieOS
post Aug 17 2012, 08:42 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2012, 08:39 PM)
naw mate.

My senior used it for his FYP.
Ok, will try it sometime.

Added on August 17, 2012, 8:46 pmAlright, back to the UD100. I happen to have a few TF card reader collecting dust, so I took one part and see if the UD100 will fit inside. Well, what do you know...

This post has been edited by ClieOS: Aug 17 2012, 08:47 PM
k3lvinng007
post Aug 17 2012, 08:52 PM

311 posts

FUH...This is fit perfectly nice rclxms.gif
ming86
post Aug 17 2012, 11:13 PM

440 posts

UD100 -> cMoyBB v2.03 (with OPA637BP) -> Recabled Koss KSC-75 cool.gif

the sound stage, detail really nice rclxms.gif
definitely better than FiiO E7 DAC alone. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ming86: Aug 17 2012, 11:14 PM
JonSpark
post Aug 17 2012, 11:35 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 08:42 PM)
Alright, back to the UD100. I happen to have a few TF card reader collecting dust, so I took one part and see if the UD100 will fit inside. Well, what do you know...

why didnt i think of this?! doh.gif i also have a few card readers lying around
wkkm007
post Aug 19 2012, 03:31 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 06:42 PM)
Ok, will try it sometime.

Added on August 17, 2012, 8:46 pmAlright, back to the UD100. I happen to have a few TF card reader collecting dust, so I took one part and see if the UD100 will fit inside. Well, what do you know...

like tailor-made housing/casing thumbup.gif

use FiiO E02i Rocky + UD100 good ah?
I know the mic doesn't work here smile.gif

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Aug 19 2012, 03:34 PM
ClieOS
post Aug 20 2012, 04:22 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Aug 19 2012, 03:31 PM)
like tailor-made housing/casing thumbup.gif

use FiiO E02i Rocky +  UD100 good ah?
I know the mic doesn't work here smile.gif
E02i is okay with UD100. But if you are just looking for minimalist setup, E6 would be better choice than E02i.

23 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:56 AM