Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

ascend
post Aug 1 2012, 10:34 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 1 2012, 09:02 PM)
Next time don't go for these kind of promo with "complicated" need to keep track and do this and that T&C  tongue.gif

To ALL FDMCGC members, please see post #3 and let me know if I left you out of the list sweat.gif
Gen-X, thank you for the inclusion and in general for your tireless (n i don't mean without tires biggrin.gif ) contributions to this forum. thumbup.gif

I'm hardly a good pick for the committee member role as I hardly spend any time at all in this forum blush.gif
Really, I think every member who has benefited from this FD forum has a role to play in providing useful information allowing members to make valid comparisons of FD offers - as opposed to just being 'silent' members.

This post has been edited by ascend: Aug 1 2012, 10:40 PM
ascend
post Aug 1 2012, 11:18 PM

245 posts

OCBC Savings Combo
Guys take note rules have changed. The Smart Savers balance is now earmarked and i believe this rule is retrospective, meaning these new rules will still apply to those who participated in the combo deal before the rule change.

Source:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...2012_INB_v2.pdf
3.4.6. The amount placed in the SA under this Promotion (i.e. the amount which is at least 20% of the 3-month FD placement amount) will be earmarked for 90 days starting from the placement date, and must be maintained in the SA for the 90 days period for continued participation in the Promotion. If the whole or part of the earmarked amount is withdrawn from the SA anytime within the 90 days period, then clause 3.4.7 below applies.
3.4.7. The promotional interest rate will cease to apply to the FD placement, should the Eligible Customer withdraw the whole or part of the earmarked amount any time within the 90 days period. In such case, the prevailing board rate will apply to the FD placement.
ascend
post Aug 2 2012, 02:58 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 2 2012, 02:41 PM)
Went to HSBC KD, can't open account+5%FD becos can't prove of local residence, shXt.
Went to OCBC DU not allowed to top up SavingsCombo.
Decision, decision, decision. Slave to the money.
You can try your luck at other branches. Use the ambiguities in T&Cs to your advantage because not of all of them are in black & white - which explains why sometimes there are discrepancies in info provided by the members here.

OCBC Masjid Jamek RM told me that top-ups are allowed in the Savings Combo deal, without having to open another new savings account.
ascend
post Aug 29 2012, 10:25 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(stchan @ Aug 28 2012, 03:54 PM)
I have not got mine (due in August).
I suppose they will only give me on the last day of the month.
Cashback has not been credited yet, and SCB has one more day to do this (for those who meets the conditions in May).
ascend
post Aug 30 2012, 10:14 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 30 2012, 09:31 PM)
Finally got the RM300 cashback from SCB May CASA promo campaign rclxms.gif
yes same here - and that's right after i gave them a hard time on the phone around 9:30pm and telling them i would lodge a BNM complaint if the cashback is not received by 31 August tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ascend: Aug 30 2012, 10:22 PM
ascend
post Sep 18 2012, 02:51 PM

245 posts

New Promo?

ascend
post Oct 2 2012, 09:50 PM

245 posts

I don't think this has been reported yet.

OCBC Branch Transformation Special FD rates, mystery gifts when you open a safe deposit box at KL Main branch, Ipoh, Kluang, and Kota Kinabalu.

FD rates : 3.45% for 3 months, and 3.55% for 9 months. Min RM5000 - max RM50000. From 1 Oct till 15th Oct only.

Pls call OCBC if you need more info. This promo is not on their website.

This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 2 2012, 09:51 PM
ascend
post Oct 15 2012, 09:12 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 15 2012, 06:17 PM)
Had a look at MB web site. Can't find the +2% information for I-Mudharabah.

Please provide the web link.

Many thanks.
Maybe it's this one.

http://www.maybankislamic.com.my/promo_get...ign-111230.html

ascend
post Oct 18 2012, 03:03 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 18 2012, 02:51 PM)
Bro, I agree it is a great product for 2012  smile.gif

But I guess you failed to grasp the terms and conditions of the Promotion which clearly states that for RM50K and above with no withdrawals, the interest rate is based on 1 month GIA-i rate which is also clearly stated in the link you gave above i.e. read the Note **

It does not matter if you have been a owner of the PMA-i account or not, what matters are the terms and conditions.

You keep stressing it is 5% which is not true if one opens the account now.

For those who are going to opened the account now till end of October, I have even pointed out to others that they will not get the GIA-i 1 month rate but tier interest rate no matter how much one deposit for October. Same condition applies for November and December if one does not have minimum RM50K credit beginning 1st Nov and Dec. And nobody was even aware of this; and if you did, you failed to highlight this important note.

The point is everyone here is thinking they getting 5%pa without reading the terms and conditions or checking with the bank before posting.
Genx is right on this. The current rate (16Oct - 15Nov) is 2.75%. See link here: Maybank link
ascend
post Oct 18 2012, 09:23 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 18 2012, 07:03 PM)
If not mistaken, TnC stated Average Daily Balance for 2012 minus Balance as at 31 Dec 2011 = Incremental Daily average Balance

And the Incremental Daily average Balance must be more than 1K up to the max of RM2m to qualify for the 2%.
Aiyo....whatever la........... rclxub.gif

Added on October 18, 2012, 7:37 pm

I dont think so. tongue.gif

I would agree with the following:-

Let say, Incremental Average Daily Balance is 1,588 then the whole sum of 1,588 entitle to extra 2%.

Another example, Incremental Average Daily Balance is 999 then the whole sum of 999 WILL NOT entitle to 2%.

The maximum Incremental Average Daily Balance entitle to extra 2% is RM2million.

The minimum Incremental Average Daily Balance entitle to extra 2% is RM1000.
I would agree wit aeiou228 on this. The IAB is between 2011 and 2012 and this IAB amount must be at least RM1000 but not more than RM2M and this IAB amount will then qualify for the 2% bonus.

In GenX 's example of RM52999, as long as this amount is the IAB between 2011 and 2012, the whole sum of RM52999 will attract the 2% bonus.

This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 18 2012, 09:24 PM
ascend
post Jan 21 2013, 10:11 PM

245 posts

Interesting link on deposit rates around the world. Saw this post by moko82 from Kopitiam

http://www.deposits.org/
http://malaysia.deposits.org/
ascend
post Jan 31 2013, 09:32 AM

245 posts

Standard Chartered FD promo.
http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...r_fixed_deposit