122 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

bbgoat
post Oct 20 2012, 02:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 20 2012, 01:01 PM)

If not mistaken, HSBC new branch promo do give you an umbrella. Also UOB Savings Account promo - but you earn miserable interest. Magika did say that BR also gives free gift to new customers but can't remember if that included an umbrella. Do a search bro.
BR do give umbrella, pens, bags etc. You have to ask for it. Also ask for additional interest rate of 0.05% if you deposit say 50k and above. I know about all these from here and have deposited money with BR.
gsc
post Oct 20 2012, 03:35 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 20 2012, 01:01 PM)

................SCB should have advertised - It's Good to get the highest average interest rate for FIXED DEPOSIT in Malaysia for 12 months tenure and protected by PIDM

post Oct 20 2012, 06:56 PM

4,228 posts

My OCBC FD is expiring before month end. So now the best 3-month FD is HLB (3.95%) based on 1st page summary (not including OCBC since they need FRESH fund). Correct me if I'm wrong.

gsc
post Oct 20 2012, 08:30 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Oct 20 2012, 06:56 PM)
My OCBC FD is expiring before month end. So now the best 3-month FD is HLB (3.95%) based on 1st page summary (not including OCBC since they need FRESH fund). Correct me if I'm wrong.
Hl bank maximum 10k only. Ocbc can still be renewed through rentals in the morning and use personal cheque in the afternoon. Can arrange with bank to pre-sign document before maturity date
post Oct 21 2012, 12:10 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 20 2012, 08:30 PM)
Hl bank maximum 10k only. Ocbc can still be renewed through rentals in the morning and use personal cheque in the afternoon. Can arrange with bank to pre-sign document before maturity date
Thanks for the tips. Can we use personal cheque to open FD? I thought they accept banker's cheque only? What do u mean by "renewed through rentals"?

gsc
post Oct 21 2012, 01:45 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Oct 21 2012, 12:10 AM)
Thanks for the tips. Can we use personal cheque to open FD? I thought they accept banker's cheque only? What do u mean by "renewed through rentals"?

As far as OCBC is concern, personal cheque is as good as banker cheque and the FD starts the moment you open FD. Early morning rentas into Bank X, afternoon when fund available, use personal cheque from Bank X to open FD. Rentas costs RM9.
post Oct 21 2012, 09:08 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 21 2012, 01:45 AM)
As far as OCBC is concern, personal cheque is as good as banker cheque and the FD starts the moment you open FD. Early morning rentas into Bank X, afternoon when fund available, use personal cheque from Bank X to open FD. Rentas costs RM9.
Thanks. In that case, I will use personal cheque rclxms.gif
Btw, it will be a Friday so I hope it wont cause any complication in terms of cheque clearing.

This post has been edited by 1282009: Oct 21 2012, 09:09 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 21 2012, 10:01 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Melbourne here I come for your wonderful coffee. I'll be away and therefore I won't be updating the Post#1 until I'm back.

So, for you guys that never read the Post#1, here is the summary of highest interest rates for Fixed Deposit:

3 Months

UOB 3.6%
OCBC Combo Plan 3.75% - 3.82% and OCBC NEW Premier Account 5% for half AUM and you can combine the promos.
HSBC 5% Time Deposit at New Amanah Branches at Cyberjaya, Kulai and Sri Gombak (see Post#1 for more comments from tbheng).

As for HLB, unless HLB is nearby and convenient to you, don't waste your time because the 3.95% 3 Months FD is limited to RM10K. And you need to deposit RM1K into the Savings Account which means you got to go to HLB again to withdraw it unless you willing to earn miserable interest from the savings account. And if you want to get a banker's cheque when you withdraw FD from HLB, it will cost you RM5.15; thus, the effective rate for HLB 3 months becomes 3.75% (if consider the RM1K needed to deposit into the Savings Acct, the interest rate will be lower).

6 Months - Maybank 3.6%

9 Months - Maybank 3.7%

12 Months
UOB 3.75%
Kuwait Finance House 3.85% (Dividend paid upfront next day into Savings Account)
Standard Chartered Bank Step Up Ave 4.01%

And of course, we have Bank Rakyat Qiradh General Investment Account-i - Similar to Fixed Deposit where the rates are competitive everyday and if you deposit above certain amount, the dividend can be paid on a monthly basis. Also magika has informed us that we can nego for extra 0.05% (with the Assistant Manager) and get FREE gift too for new account. And of course, opting to go with BR means you don't feel the need for your money to be insured by PIDM as you trust your money with our government.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 21 2012, 10:01 AM
magika
post Oct 21 2012, 10:07 AM

2,606 posts

For those asking about online MBB efd upliftment, just didi an upliftment and its instant and available for use.. rclxms.gif

Bro Gen-x, have a nice trip down under.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 21 2012, 10:23 AM
gsc
post Oct 21 2012, 12:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2012, 10:01 AM)

Thanks for the great summary and have a god trip
bearbear
post Oct 21 2012, 02:35 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

hoho enjoy ur trip. think i will land myself at uob for 12 months.
o0o0
post Oct 21 2012, 04:27 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 12 2012, 08:33 AM)
Its applicable 0.1% of total FD amount if you recommend friends to deposit in their FD. You will need to open a saving account with BR, then when your friend open FD at any branch, just gave them the name n account number of the referral. I used to give back all the RM to my friends and relatives.

BR also gives free gifts and can nego, if shy get pittiance. I used to get hamper, towels, bags, a few shoe bags, just thick skin and demand, also extra 0.05% rate. Try to be nice and get nothing.

OCBC, when recomending Premier Customers no matter which branch also need to inform who the referral is, also need to ask what is the gifts, and also keep harassing. Be too nice a guy, doesnt pay, be kiasu it pays.. sweat.gif

PS: Pls enquire first.

Added on September 12, 2012, 9:28 am

sweat.gif

Added on September 12, 2012, 9:43 amWats the matter with Hong Leong Bank ?
Got quite a lot of phishing email, with quite a lot of accurate private info too. However reply to email ends with. edu something . mad.gif
Hi bro magika,

may i know u get negotiated extra 0.05% interest is at which BR branch?
i'm going to top up my BR FD soon, just wanna know which branch is easier to nego and easier to get nice free gift. drool.gif

Last time i open account at BR branch near PJ Digital Mall, the gift is so so only and can not choose... cry.gif
magika
post Oct 21 2012, 06:10 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Oct 21 2012, 04:27 PM)
Hi bro magika,

may i know u get negotiated extra 0.05% interest is at which BR branch?
i'm going to top up my BR FD soon, just wanna know which branch is easier to nego and easier to get nice free gift.  drool.gif

Last time i open account at BR branch near PJ Digital Mall, the gift is so so only and can not choose...  cry.gif
Any branch will do provide its RM50k above. Just ask from counter and insist others can get the extra. Enquire first though, but deposit large amount only got more bargaining power. drool.gif

Thats why sometimes I hesitate to break up my FD, small amount no bargaining power.

If you are married, its better for you to uplift your fd when reach maturity date. Open a BR saving account. Later ask your missus to open the FD at BR stating that you recommend. You will get 0.1% credited to your saving account later.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 21 2012, 06:13 PM
o0o0
post Oct 21 2012, 06:32 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 21 2012, 06:10 PM)
Any branch will do provide its RM50k above. Just ask from counter and insist others can get the extra. Enquire first though, but deposit large amount only got more bargaining power.  drool.gif

Thats why sometimes I hesitate to break up my FD, small amount no bargaining power.

If you are married, its better for you to uplift your fd when reach maturity date. Open a BR saving account. Later ask your missus to open the FD at BR stating that you recommend. You will get 0.1% credited to your saving account later.. tongue.gif
Thanks for the info.. will try it when later i top up..

still single, and no friends or family member interested to open BR account, too bad..
that's why when i first open BR account, the referral fee also wasted d..

Plan to save money in BR until reach 200k, then move to citibank try their Citigold member, tongue.gif
want to see how privilege is their Citigold service..
If BR have Privilege Banking service that will be great! laugh.gif

chrono7
post Oct 21 2012, 07:11 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2012, 10:01 AM)

6 Months - Maybank 3.6%

9 Months - Maybank 3.7%
This maybank offer is only available to selected branch or available nationwide? Seems attractive. Only can do placement at counter? Can the cash in the Maybank saving account be used for this promotion?

MGM
post Oct 21 2012, 09:28 PM

18,402 posts

Called MBB CS @ 1300886688 to workout the returns for the following deposits into a PMA-i:

23/10/12 bank in rm130000
04/11/12 bank in rm100000

01/01/13 hibah(oct+nov+dec)=rm1000
14/01/13 2% dividend=rm758

Total returns= rm1758.
Effective rate=4.3%.
Free PA and medical expenses.

However he is not able to give the detailed calculation.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 21 2012, 09:32 PM
gsc
post Oct 22 2012, 01:37 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 21 2012, 09:28 PM)
Called MBB CS @ 1300886688 to workout the returns for the following deposits into a PMA-i:

Total returns= rm1758.
Effective rate=4.3%.

I thought i read somewhere in this forum that the fd open in oct only starting nov will get the interest or dividend.?
magika
post Oct 22 2012, 09:29 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 22 2012, 01:37 AM)
I thought i read somewhere in this forum that the fd open in oct only starting nov will get the interest or dividend.?
If according to the cslculation provided by MBB to Eugene, its not necessary.

Just to update those intending to open OD account pledging FD at OCBC.
Min account opening RM500.
First year BLR -1%, 2nd year BLR- 0%
Rate compounded daily.

New premier customer with OCBC free gift 1 travelling bag yawn.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 22 2012, 01:00 PM
gsc
post Oct 22 2012, 01:29 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 22 2012, 09:29 AM)
If according to the cslculation provided by MBB to Eugene, its not necessary.

Just to update those intending to open OD account pledging FD at OCBC.
Min account opening RM500.
First year BLR -1%, 2nd year BLR- 0%
Rate compounded daily.

New premier customer with OCBC free gift 1 travelling bag  yawn.gif
If a husband already premier account holder, can the wife apply a separate premier account under joint name with the wife as principal account holder?
magika
post Oct 22 2012, 02:08 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 21 2012, 09:28 PM)

Total returns= rm1758.
Effective rate=4.3%.

My calculation based on conventional FD calculation based on maturity date 31/12/12 is Hibah RM1,102.24 and dividend RM810.64 bringing to a total effective rate of 4.75%.

Added on October 22, 2012, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 22 2012, 01:29 PM)
If a husband  already premier account holder, can the wife apply a separate premier account under joint name with the wife as principal account holder?
Here is where the confusion comes in. I was at OCBC this morning posing the same question and it seems cannot. Previously OCBC says can.. I do think can but maybe cannot enjoy status as new account holder. Not really sure. sweat.gif

Gen-x seems to say can. Check out his blog.

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 22 2012, 02:28 PM

122 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:10 PM