122 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

HJebat
post Feb 25 2013, 11:27 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 25 2013, 02:56 PM)
1. Yes gifts are based on bank discretion. Have thick facial skin will help also.
2. Not interested.
3. Changed branch can ah...
4. Who you talk to ? BR office cleaner ? heh..he..
5. ?? got no. 5 meh...

note: if get premature rate like that I will deposit for 61 month so does not matter if i withdraw after 12 months.

note 2: is based on previous month premature rate table or in BR terms something like Pramatang..
Waseh, this time very indirect answer...but I take it that no.3 is not true la. OK, I'll reask BR for more infos.

Question no.5 will make its appearance in my next post, but have to wait till I seek further clarifications from BR tongue.gif

BTW, thanks for answering my call thumbup.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 25 2013, 05:38 PM)
For 3, not true. Cumulative amount to some high TOTAL figure in BR can help you to get 4.2%.
Thanks for your response. Will inquire more from BR about it.
tbheng
post Feb 26 2013, 12:26 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 25 2013, 07:07 PM)
Bank Rakyat all the way then, but no PIDM tongue.gif

To me, AmBank is the best for good ol' no-fancy-T&C FDs with PIDM protection, 3.25% for 12-months e-FD. smile.gif
+100 on BR. thumbup.gif
With it's non-promo high interest rate. ==> One of the best FD returns.
Your money can continue to roll with high interest rate. ==> Save the effort/visit to transfer the fund from 1 bank to another.
And interest is crediting into SA every month. ==> Advance use of interest: put back as FD, IBG to other bank or ATM withdraw as your monthly pocket money, u decide. laugh.gif
magika
post Feb 26 2013, 09:30 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Feb 25 2013, 11:27 PM)
Waseh, this time very indirect answer...but I take it that no.3 is not true la. OK, I'll reask BR for more infos.

Question no.5 will make its appearance in my next post, but have to wait till I seek further clarifications from BR tongue.gif

BTW, thanks for answering my call thumbup.gif
Thanks for your response. Will inquire more from BR about it.
Well, previously have given out quite a lot of info for BR so quite lazy to repeat it. When it comes to nego rates, it helps if can build good PR with the officer concerned and also good deposit history. No need to ask from the same person again, just find a different branch and insist they request for the rates you want. Give a hint that you will call their HQ direct if they do not accomodate you.

note: I am on very good terms from the security guard, counter personnel, to BR manager. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Feb 26 2013, 09:37 AM
magika
post Feb 26 2013, 09:34 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 25 2013, 07:07 PM)
Bank Rakyat all the way then, but no PIDM tongue.gif

To me, AmBank is the best for good ol' no-fancy-T&C FDs with PIDM protection, 3.25% for 12-months e-FD. smile.gif
First chance you get, withdraw everything from KWSP as also no PIDM protection... tongue.gif

bbgoat
post Feb 26 2013, 10:11 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 26 2013, 09:30 AM)
Well,  previously have given out quite a lot of info for BR so quite lazy to repeat it. When it comes to nego rates, it helps if can build good PR with the officer concerned and also good deposit history. No need to ask from the same person again, just find a different branch and insist they request for the rates you want. Give a hint that you will call their HQ direct if they do not accomodate you.

note: I am on very good terms from the security guard, counter personnel, to BR manager.  tongue.gif
Magika is the expert. I got BR 12 months 4.2% after reading from his posts. However unable to break thru' the 4.2% yet.

I think Magika was saying March (?) he will try to break the 4.2%.
magika
post Feb 26 2013, 10:16 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 26 2013, 10:11 AM)
Magika is the expert. I got BR 12 months 4.2% after reading from his posts. However unable to break thru' the 4.2% yet.

I think Magika was saying March (?) he will try to break the 4.2%.
Change of event, March have quite a substantial sum, but need the fund elsewhere so will maintain some at the same rate only.
I am no expert , just sharing experiences for the best return. blush.gif

HiT-AbLe
post Feb 26 2013, 11:27 AM

866 posts

What's the HL Mach FD btw? Online FD? Apparently the promotion rate for Mach FD is better than HLIB FD, I dunno why ppl go for HLIB FD instead of Mach FD.
bearbear
post Feb 26 2013, 11:33 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 11:27 AM)
What's the HL Mach FD btw? Online FD? Apparently the promotion rate for Mach FD is better than HLIB FD, I dunno why ppl go for HLIB FD instead of Mach FD.
Very limited branches for MACH. Perfect for me as there is a branch near my office and they open till 10PM!!

Yes you can do it online to get the promo rates.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Feb 26 2013, 11:33 AM
HiT-AbLe
post Feb 26 2013, 11:40 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 26 2013, 11:33 AM)
Very limited branches for MACH. Perfect for me as there is a branch near my office and they open till 10PM!!

Yes you can do it online to get the promo rates.
I thought any HLB branch can apply this Mach FD, and the fact is there're only 5 branches that capable to do Mach FD after doing some researches on their website.

So if I want to apply Mach FD, can I go any HLB branch and open a saving account, then apply the Mach FD online, instead of going to the Mach branch?
bbgoat
post Feb 26 2013, 12:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 11:40 AM)
I thought any HLB branch can apply this Mach FD, and the fact is there're only 5 branches that capable to do Mach FD after doing some researches on their website.

So if I want to apply Mach FD, can I go any HLB branch and open a saving account, then apply the Mach FD online, instead of going to the Mach branch?
I asked the HL Bank (Pg) and was told cannot open the Mach account. Also no Mach branches in Pg.
HiT-AbLe
post Feb 26 2013, 12:03 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 26 2013, 12:00 PM)
I asked the HL Bank (Pg) and was told cannot open the Mach account. Also no Mach branches in Pg.
What so special about the Mach account? Original HL saving account can't do online transaction, but only Mach can?
cherroy
post Feb 26 2013, 02:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 12:03 PM)
What so special about the Mach account? Original HL saving account can't do online transaction, but only Mach can?
I don't know why HL want to distinguish MACH with normal banking. doh.gif

HiT-AbLe
post Feb 26 2013, 03:02 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2013, 02:39 PM)
I don't know why HL want to distinguish MACH with normal banking.  doh.gif
I still don't see what so special about the Mach, if I'm not wrong normal banking can do pretty much anything that Mach does(doesn't count the FD part), not to mention very limited branches can apply it.
wu ming
post Feb 26 2013, 03:19 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2013, 09:50 PM)
Hi guys, I just got back and need to go renew some of my FDs and looking at UOB 3.65% for 9 months. Any step up FD giving better rates offered by commercial banks that do not require us to deposit into savings?

I am not going for split promo anymore.
Just placed with UOB Malacca branch. Transaction was super fast. Good service.

Don't dare to place too much with BR. To mitigate the risk.
cherroy
post Feb 26 2013, 03:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 03:02 PM)
I still don't see what so special about the Mach, if I'm not wrong normal banking can do pretty much anything that Mach does(doesn't count the FD part), not to mention very limited branches can apply it.
But they put special FD rate on MACH... whistling.gif
bearbear
post Feb 26 2013, 03:43 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

for branding maybe?Remember MACH branches open on weekends and PH, open till 10PM and located in shopping malls.

funny thing is it seem like you can link all your HLB accounts with MACH in the online banking - but somehow it is just different.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Feb 26 2013, 03:45 PM
HiT-AbLe
post Feb 26 2013, 03:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 26 2013, 03:38 PM)
But they put special FD rate on MACH...  whistling.gif
I'm gonna to call and ask them about what so special about Mach later this afternoon, maybe they'll gimme me the answer that can satisfy my curiosity. rolleyes.gif
gsc
post Feb 26 2013, 10:00 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 03:43 PM)
I'm gonna to call and ask them about what so special about Mach later this afternoon, maybe they'll gimme me the answer that can satisfy my curiosity.  rolleyes.gif
It is just another marketing strategy, new brand new product, just like toyota created lexus high end brand
doraemonkiller
post Feb 26 2013, 11:17 PM

1,128 posts

If I have 100k, where should I put my money? FD or house loan. I not sure whether the calculation is right.

Assume if house loan 100k. 4.2% interest and 40 years tenure. Monthly repayment will be RM430.
RM430 x 12 x 40= RM206,400 (RM100,000 principle and RM106,400 interest)

OR

Assume 100k for maybank FD monthly renew. 3% interest and I put it for 40 years. 3% / 12 mths = 0.25%
RM100,000 x 0.25% x 12 mths x 40 years = RM120,000 interest plus RM100,000 principle = RM220,000

From my calculation, it seems like FD is better than house loan in terms of interest. Can someone correct my calculation?
tbheng
post Feb 26 2013, 11:19 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 26 2013, 03:02 PM)
To take the 4% promo Mach FD, you'll first need a Mach Money Box account.
You can only open this account from Mach branch.
Thereafter you can go to any HLB branch and deposit your fund (or even deposit your cheque using Cheque Deposit machine) into this Money Box account.
Then you can use HL Connect online banking to place Mach FD by using the fund in your Money Box acct.
Interest is crediting into Money Box acct on monthly basis.
There is free IBG option, you can IBG your interest into other bank or withdraw at ATM, or place as new Mach FD.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 26 2013, 11:26 PM

122 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:24 PM