13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gsc
post Oct 9 2012, 01:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Oct 9 2012, 10:12 AM)
For my case, the banker's cheque by ocbc clears the same day because i use the same cheque for a new placement with UOB and it starts the same day as the issued cheque. Meaning, morning i withdraw funds from ocbc and put in banker's cheque and then i go over to uob and put a new placement using the same cheque. The new placement value date is the same day. So no worries on losing out 2 days to wait for cheque to clear before can be use as a new placement.
Using banker cheque or personal cheque open fd will start immediately on the day itself in most banks but banking into account to take out as cash money is a different story
gsc
post Oct 9 2012, 07:05 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 9 2012, 03:49 PM)
Going try my Musical Chair with OCBC Booster Deal.... unless an even better offer comes up
Booster deal?

Today tried out IBG, morning transferred afternoon 3pm money appeared in account. Looks like cheaper than rentas way. Taking banker cheque need to bank in and involves transport costs.
gsc
post Oct 11 2012, 07:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(jacklew77 @ Oct 11 2012, 12:16 PM)
Thanks @ aeiou228. The OCBC junior saving account looks better than Public Bank. The Affin bank 3.6% is not saving account, but FD. Sorry for not elaborate clearly.
Hl junior saving account is = 1 mth fd rate. = 2.95%
gsc
post Oct 12 2012, 12:18 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Oct 11 2012, 10:25 PM)
Would like to know, is interest earned from FD deposits tax deductible?
No....

Coz you wasn't taxed in the first place

gsc
post Oct 12 2012, 12:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(hotnikon @ Oct 12 2012, 09:26 AM)
I save RM10000 in pbb FD for 3motnhs.
It matures until this month and I received letter from pbb yesterday.
The letter said that tell me to brind the letter to bank for withdrawal!

Is not FD automatically renew???????
It can be

1) no instruction was given on auto renewal at the point of opening fd
2) a general reminder from pbb. A reminder letter or a summary table which shows you the fd amount, fd period and when mature? If latter that is a standard summary from pbb.

Pbb renewal needs original fd cert or slip. Rm10 charge for missing cert. I doubt pbb uses letter to renew fd coz I have been using their fd services till now.
l
gsc
post Oct 12 2012, 11:54 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2012, 10:00 PM)
Any comment on the AmBank MegaFD Enhanced FD?

An insurance linked FD that divide equal amount of fund into two separate scheme:
(1) MegaFD Enhanced FD, 15 months, 4.90%
http://ambankgroup.com/en/RatesFeesCharges...mentsRates.aspx

(2) AmAssurance (forget about the insurance part, just on $ return)
https://www.amassurance.com.my/src/html/am_...d_enhanced.html

Here is the situation:
My dad went to update some FDs and was talked into this scheme. The FD portion can be uplifted after 15 months, but the AmAssurance part can only be withdrawn after 6 years for some return. As can be seen from the example, if withdrawn within 5 years, guaranteed cash value is less than the deposited amount.

What made me angry was, the bank teller did not provide full disclosure on this product and said money back guaranteed and interest for the 6 years period is 4% (which is why my dad think it is a good deal, bank teller said today last day of promo somemore).

So I checked from the website and found there is nothing on the 4% thing. So I called the manager or some officer and found out that the 4% is not guaranteed, it can range from 3-4% and he mentioned something about return in dividend(?).

I asked whether I can get terminate the whole thing and get back full amount. Initially he said cannot, only about 14,200 of the 15,000 for the AmAssurance part but finally said can.

Any comment? Thanks.
8 oct I dropped by Am bank to renew Fd, the staff also trying to sell the same thing. They always said got x% return better than FD. I then asked her is it guarantee? She then said based on the past performance, the projected return is x%.....projected is the key word, no one can guarantee that amount.

Added on October 12, 2012, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2012, 11:04 PM)
Yaya, plan to go together. Will just place the money on normal 12 months FD @ 3.25%. Funds at ambanks are for emergency cases so the rate is acceptable.
For Am senior citizen FD, there is an insurance coverage up to RM 20k till 75 age limit only. If your dad is above 75, the insurance coverage will cover the joint account holder, that is you. Rm20k FD for rm 20k max insurance coverage.

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 12 2012, 11:59 PM
gsc
post Oct 13 2012, 12:55 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 13 2012, 12:07 AM)
Yeah, that is the trick. This one just say 4%, even handwritten for my dad but anyway lucky managed to find out earlier. So everything is good.
Dad not yet 75 but the extra insurance coverage for joint holder is new to me, thanks for sharing.
For joint account fd the insurance coverage is only for a person. It always go to the principal fd holder unless that person is above 75. Thus for those whose family members who are having senior citizen Fd and the age is more than 75, it is better to have a joint account name to fully capitalize on the insurance coverage. This applies to Am bank only.
gsc
post Oct 16 2012, 01:06 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 16 2012, 12:37 AM)
1% extra is definitely good idea  drool.gif . But I don't get you  hmm.gif  Opted for early retirement then join a bank ?  hmm.gif  where is the retirement then  hmm.gif
I think he meant opt for early retirement from your current job and join (work) for bank to enjoy the staff interest...
gsc
post Oct 16 2012, 11:17 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 16 2012, 09:51 AM)
wow.. that is nice. can get 1% extra. I will do that when I have 2mil and above in cash in future.. tongue.gif Gwod knows when la
When you have 2 million and more you probably wont be in this forum playing musical chair
gsc
post Oct 16 2012, 04:07 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 16 2012, 12:06 PM)

My online fd with OCBC maturing tomorrow, and still not decided wat to do. Think deposit back at BR if no other attractive offer. OCBC online FD still on offer?

Mine due end of oct. No more online FD offer. Most likely I will take up saving combo coz do not want to tie down in longer term as starting looking for property investment with rental return which is higher than fd rate
gsc
post Oct 16 2012, 11:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Oct 16 2012, 10:58 PM)
Oh..., I wonder how could this went undetected from all the FDMCGC members' radars?  blink.gif
MBB seems keeping it rather tight...no ads no news...  hmm.gif
If I knew about this I would have gone for it in Jan rather than taking the ocbc 4% for 12mth... sad.gif
1% extra for the entire year is a lot of diff... cry.gif Quite pity about it...
Now, maybe can join in for a shorter duration...
Thanks to eugenecctan for sharing the news.
now it is on the radar.....very soon May Bank may announce target reach
gsc
post Oct 17 2012, 11:17 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 17 2012, 12:34 AM)

yah lah, wasting time with OCBC and UOB Promos, haha. but generally most of us do not go for Islamic promos. Last time OCBC GIA-i promo, many has reservations if the dividend are guaranteed.

I think most of us reluctant to take up islamic product because of the wording "indicative dividend". Some bank staffs said it is non-guarantee, but based on past performance, the bank has been paying out such rate. Ocbc RM said so when I sort of forcing myself take up GIA-I just to fullfil the buying 3 products criteria
gsc
post Oct 17 2012, 12:37 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 16 2012, 11:08 PM)

Tomorrow is the maturity date for one of my OCBC Fd below RM50k, therefore thinking of transferring to my existing Smart Saver hopefully can get 3% for two weeks...
Any withdrawal from Smart saver account will make the interest rate drops from 3% to 0.5%.....will not get 3% interest for two weeks
gsc
post Oct 18 2012, 01:37 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 16 2012, 04:23 PM)
Do mind refreshing me about Online FD deals? I check recently and it showes rates at 2.85 %..  vmad.gif
If not mistaken it should be 4.5%, am I right ?
However total amount plus interest does tally and is shown eventhough maturity date is tomorrow..

I already have savings combo, issue is if add deposit into savings combo now and withdraw existing RM from previous deposit, then it constitutes a withdrawal for that month. So wat to do.. rclxub.gif

I have been adding on every month ever since started the saving combo to get effective 3.8%. The saving combo will end in Dec and I will add on every month. Most likely I can only withdraw in Mar 2013 unless there are better promotion. Not keen on the MBB.....

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 18 2012, 01:57 AM
gsc
post Oct 18 2012, 01:08 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 17 2012, 08:07 PM)
Take a look at the sample calculation you attached.

Total savings is RM300K for 1 year.
Total Dividend earned is RM8,631.09 (3%) + RM4,883.50 (2%) = RM13,514.59 per year. 

A rough backward calculation, you will get the annualized effective rate of 4.50% (ignoring the 14 days late deposit in Jan).

Another way to look at it is picture no.2, where it stated clearly that only RM244,174.95 (Incremental Average Daily Balance) gets extra 2% dividend. NOT RM300K gets extra 2%.

And one more counter check you can do is, if it is 5% on the entire deposit balance of RM300K, then you should get RM300K x 5% = RM15,000 dividend per annum instead of just RM13,514.59 per annum.   

5% p.a. is correct only for RM250K deposited in the calender year of 2012 only.
I didnt spend time to calculate in detail but I agreed with you on looking at the overall picture of 300k for 5% then interest earned is rm15k, anything less is less than 5% interest rate
gsc
post Oct 18 2012, 02:36 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Oct 18 2012, 02:26 PM)
HahahahahhahAHHA, if anyone here feel that I am trying to misleading them, sorry ya.
I am PMA-I owner for years, as I said, the rate is variable. the purpose for my sharing not to misleading anyone. It is to share a nice product.

Btw, do u ,meant this link -> http://www.maybankislamic.com.my/promo_get...ign-111230.html

It is stated very clear 3%, please blame Maybank ya for misleading, if you have the correct info.
Let's say we open this month and we will get 2.75/3 starting nov and dec. what shall we do in jan 2013? Waiting for new promote or withdrawl fully?

gsc
post Oct 18 2012, 11:32 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 18 2012, 11:20 PM)

Most probably the T&C was written by a lawyer.
or may be translated from Bahasa..?
gsc
post Oct 19 2012, 10:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Oct 19 2012, 10:15 PM)
again? I think last year this time they've similar promotion!
Not last year..last month they did offer too. Went to uob saw many people taking up 3.75% twelve month deposit. Uob three month FD is 3.6%. Offer end of oct

gsc
post Oct 20 2012, 03:35 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 20 2012, 01:01 PM)

................SCB should have advertised - It's Good to get the highest average interest rate for FIXED DEPOSIT in Malaysia for 12 months tenure and protected by PIDM

gsc
post Oct 20 2012, 08:30 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Oct 20 2012, 06:56 PM)
My OCBC FD is expiring before month end. So now the best 3-month FD is HLB (3.95%) based on 1st page summary (not including OCBC since they need FRESH fund). Correct me if I'm wrong.
Hl bank maximum 10k only. Ocbc can still be renewed through rentals in the morning and use personal cheque in the afternoon. Can arrange with bank to pre-sign document before maturity date

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0555sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:30 AM