> Just test drove the Toyota 86, manual!

netmatrix
post Jul 30 2012, 07:53 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Its not really practical. It should not be. The boot is tiny. The rear seats are close to nothing. For everything on the road, it is fast. But when come up against things that cost the same like an EVO, a WRX or even a Megane. Its going to feel too expensive. U won't get many twisty roads to make use of that chassis. And if i were to pay that kind of money, i would be better off with a BRZ logo on it not an 86.
netmatrix
post Jul 30 2012, 08:23 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 30 2012, 07:57 PM)
EVO and Wrexies are 4 wheelers and the Megane is an FWD. How can compare versus the fun of an ass happy RWD?
Well if u put it that way, u can put cheaper Altezza@Is200, (very old) A31 cefiro, S15, 350Z, RX8, R34 GTS, RX7, MX5 blah blah. All those old goodies that cost less just to know what driving RWD feels like? Thats not the point. U can't sell cars that way anymore. Even for performance cars. The general rich wants things that they could drive everyday. The really rich ones want something to drive that kills them. GT86 is not in those category.

If compare modern to modern boy racer, Megane RS, Clio RS, Type R u know those range of cars that breach RM200 K marketed as part time race cars. No point comparing platforms, because the old cheaper RWD cars at the back are dying to eat the GT86 already. Hell you could buy a Mark X and have fun if you wanted to. So the GT86 is a looker. But so is the Megane RS.

The only big fault i find here is Malaysian selling price. And to many hidden Subaru badges on a Toyota. Not that i have a problem anyway since there are so many 20B, SR20 and F20C equipped AE86 running around the world and in Malaysia. laugh.gif laugh.gif
netmatrix
post Jul 30 2012, 08:25 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:10 PM)

Price : RM 241 000  Type: Sports  Make: Nissan
Model: Others  Reg. year: 2008  Mileage: 25 000 - 29 999
Transmission: Auto  Engine Capacity: 3700 cc  Color Type: Metalic
Color:
Accessories: Solar Film, CD Player, Leather seats, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, DVD Player, Navigation system, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock, Adjustable steering

VERSIONST,Fairlady Z / Version ST / New Face / Z34 / Black Half Leather Seat / Audioless / 19AW / Paddle Shift / Bose Sound System /

Price : RM 229 800  Type: Sports  Make: Porsche
Model: Cayman  Reg. year: 2009  Mileage: 55 000 - 59 999
Transmission: Both  Engine Capacity: 3400 cc  Color Type: Metalic
Color:
Accessories: CD Player, Leather seats, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, Navigation system, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock, Adjustable steering
can get these liao...  brows.gif
Fuuuu!!!! i do not know can get a used Cayman for less than 300K. sweat.gif
netmatrix
post Jul 30 2012, 08:45 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:38 PM)
Of course RWD isn't the only thing, the lower centre of gravity due to the boxer, the near 50:50 balance, a good LSD and a sharp toe give it good driving characteristics.

Kids these days just want to go fast, I mean as evidenced by the 10 bajillion threads on "What is the fastest speed you go before", it is the current trend. I think the 86 wants to buckle the trend and market itself as a driver's car that is well balanced, rather than OMG I NEED TO HIT 9K RPM FOR TORQUE!

I personally don't need a high top speed to have fun and this is the kind of car where you can see yourself dragging into a corner till it lifts and then comes out smoothly like a champ.
Tell you what sure can say a lot about RWD cars. Can say a lot about manual tranny. The thing is 90% already are automatic drivers and does not know what driver engagement is. The other 10% like us wave our small flag about cars that "were". While the people that "were" only lives on as legends. Whatever the case, we are still meatbags moved by metal. hahaha.

0.0113sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:14 AM