8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

> Just test drove the Toyota 86, manual!

Hunakadoo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:25 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(treetip @ Jul 30 2012, 08:16 PM)
Manual car in kl? Have fun.
not a prob , manual car save more fuel and more power
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jul 30 2012, 08:25 PM)
Fuuuu!!!! i do not know can get a used Cayman for less than 300K.  sweat.gif
drop alot liao.. brows.gif as you know one of the best handling cars this side of a lotus evora.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:25 PM)
not a prob , manual car save more fuel and more power
concept change liao it's CVT save more fuel and enables more engine power.. brows.gif
TSzeroonetwo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:31 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jul 30 2012, 08:25 PM)
try Scirocco next, and tell me what you think if its better. would love to hear your review, as i'll be trying out the 86 soon.
ahak. can can. scirocco r is priced the same. (roughly).

PM me if you want Mr Au's contact. Can call him directly and arrange for a session. Nice man. After that, let me know of your thoughts.

Those who have linked the other cars, thanks. But not for me. Big litreage, road tax is high and maintenance is just mind bogglingly expensive. For someone like me, I don't mind forking out that large sum upfront, but I don't want any headaches from maintenance. Which is why if I were to put in the money, it would be for a brand new car.
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(zeroonetwo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:31 PM)
ahak. can can. scirocco r is priced the same. (roughly).

PM me if you want Mr Au's contact. Can call him directly and arrange for a session. Nice man. After that, let me know of your thoughts.

Those who have linked the other cars, thanks. But not for me. Big litreage, road tax is high and maintenance is just mind bogglingly expensive. For someone like me, I don't mind forking out that large sum upfront, but I don't want any headaches from maintenance. Which is why if I were to put in the money, it would be for a brand new car.
well you will be bleeding more from depreciation when the grey market arrives at 180-200k range.. biggrin.gif
Hunakadoo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:33 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:31 PM)
concept change liao it's CVT save more fuel and enables more engine power..  brows.gif
i'm still old uncle minded , manual the best ! LOL
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:33 PM)
i'm still old uncle minded , manual the best ! LOL
then maybe you can get a manual korean car? biggrin.gif
Hunakadoo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:35 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:34 PM)
then maybe you can get a manual korean car? biggrin.gif
=.=" untag me from korean car please hahaha
first i pick a car is design , only i pick it's branding .

Toyota 86 hmm.gif i'm rather to get Peugeot RCZ
TSzeroonetwo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:36 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:32 PM)
well you will be bleeding more from depreciation when the grey market arrives at 180-200k range..  biggrin.gif
true. but wouldn't wait. rather get an s2000 if it's a grey market car.
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:35 PM)

Toyota 86  hmm.gif  i'm rather to get Peugeot RCZ
different concept leh..

besides RCZ is using 308 turbo engine, why u no go the forums and see what that the owners face? biggrin.gif
TSzeroonetwo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:37 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:35 PM)

Toyota 86  hmm.gif  i'm rather to get Peugeot RCZ
test drive the car first, imo. after actually driving the car, you can see where the money goes to. it's hard to convey from words. it's the feeling you get from driving it.
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(zeroonetwo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:36 PM)
true. but wouldn't wait. rather get an s2000 if it's a grey market car.
nowadays the wait is only 1year then can get gray market liao..

anyway serious about buying a new 250k car or not?
empire23

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jul 30 2012, 08:23 PM)
Well if u put it that way, u can put cheaper Altezza@Is200, (very old) A31 cefiro, S15, 350Z, RX8, R34 GTS, RX7, MX5 blah blah. All those old goodies that cost less just to know what driving RWD feels like? Thats not the point. U can't sell cars that way anymore. Even for performance cars. The general rich wants things that they could drive everyday. The really rich ones want something to drive that kills them. GT86 is not in those category.

If compare modern to modern boy racer, Megane RS, Clio RS, Type R u know those range of cars that breach RM200 K marketed as part time race cars. No point comparing platforms, because the old cheaper RWD cars at the back are dying to eat the GT86 already. Hell you could buy a Mark X and have fun if you wanted to. So the GT86 is a looker. But so is the Megane RS.

The only big fault i find here is Malaysian selling price. And to many hidden Subaru badges on a Toyota. Not that i have a problem anyway since there are so many 20B, SR20 and F20C equipped AE86 running around the world and in Malaysia.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Of course RWD isn't the only thing, the lower centre of gravity due to the boxer, the near 50:50 balance, a good LSD and a sharp toe give it good driving characteristics.

Kids these days just want to go fast, I mean as evidenced by the 10 bajillion threads on "What is the fastest speed you go before", it is the current trend. I think the 86 wants to buckle the trend and market itself as a driver's car that is well balanced, rather than OMG I NEED TO HIT 9K RPM FOR TORQUE!

I personally don't need a high top speed to have fun and this is the kind of car where you can see yourself dragging into a corner till it lifts and then comes out smoothly like a champ.
rcracer

?????
3,772 posts

I think golf gti is better as day to day driver, more comfortable much nicer place to be sitting in traffic
Hunakadoo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:39 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:37 PM)
different concept leh..

besides RCZ is using 308 turbo engine, why u no go the forums and see what that the owners face?  biggrin.gif
haha , anyway i don't really aim it also due to the seat only allowed for 2 person..
Soo .. wait for the Mazda 6
TSzeroonetwo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:40 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:38 PM)
nowadays the wait is only 1year then can get gray market liao..

anyway serious about buying a new 250k car or not?
seriously considering. otherwise wouldn't be hunting high and low for a manual car to test drive. haha
TSzeroonetwo
post Jul 30 2012, 08:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 30 2012, 08:38 PM)
I think golf gti is better as day to day driver, more comfortable much nicer place to be sitting in traffic
too common firstly. and secondly, the 86 will change your mind when you feel the steering on the go.
ar188
post Jul 30 2012, 08:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:39 PM)
haha , anyway i don't really aim it also due to the seat only allowed for 2 person..
Soo .. wait for the Mazda 6
oh.. finally come to your senses to support back japs.. brows.gif can be fren again.. tongue.gif
stinger82
post Jul 30 2012, 08:42 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(zeroonetwo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:40 PM)
seriously considering. otherwise wouldn't be hunting high and low for a manual car to test drive. haha
maybe megane RS? so so so sexy.....
rcracer
post Jul 30 2012, 08:42 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(zeroonetwo @ Jul 30 2012, 08:41 PM)
too common firstly. and secondly, the 86 will change your mind when you feel the steering on the go.
what steering you gonna feel in traffic jam?

if it was 180k i would say yeah ok. but 263k?

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 

0.0237sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:44 PM