Difference between IDD and Roaming?

TSjohnconnor
post Jul 30 2012, 10:35 AM, updated 14y ago

142 posts

I'm a Malaysian with a Hotlink number and I'll be going to Singapore to study. I'll be using my Hotlink number in Singapore for a week or so before I get a Singtel number.

Can I make IDD calls from Singapore to Malaysia without activating my roaming service whilst in Singapore? Am I not allowed to make IDD calls from Singapore to Malaysia using my Hotlink?

What advice have you for me on this? Thank you!
dgboy
post Jul 30 2012, 10:43 AM

5,076 posts

IDD rates only apply when calling overseas from Malaysia.

When in Singapore, you are subject to International Roaming [IR] rates.

IR is automatically activated for Hotlink users.

TSjohnconnor
post Jul 30 2012, 11:02 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jul 30 2012, 10:43 AM)
IDD rates only apply when calling overseas from Malaysia.

When in Singapore, you are subject to International Roaming [IR] rates.

IR is automatically activated for Hotlink users.
There's no such thing as IDD calls to Malaysia from Singapore by Hotlink, no? So my only option is to make calls while roaming, yes? And to do that the only way is to follow the instructions in the below url, yes?

http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli...ming_120_en_web
aspire2oo6
post Jul 30 2012, 11:07 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

There is a call back from hotlink it's cheaper but not the rate you call from Malaysia to singapore while you are in Singapore.

http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli...ing_easy_en_web
TSjohnconnor
post Jul 30 2012, 11:52 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 30 2012, 11:07 AM)
There is a call back from hotlink it's cheaper but not the rate you call from Malaysia to singapore while you are in Singapore.

http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli...ing_easy_en_web
Oh dear. RM5/minute for Singapore-to-Malaysia Hotlink calls? Do you know of any cheaper ways? Thank you!
aspire2oo6
post Jul 30 2012, 12:35 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(johnconnor @ Jul 30 2012, 11:52 AM)
Oh dear. RM5/minute for Singapore-to-Malaysia Hotlink calls? Do you know of any cheaper ways? Thank you!
Cheaper use VoIP or Skype or viber and etc
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jul 30 2012, 03:28 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

nimbuzz
dgboy
post Jul 30 2012, 03:37 PM

5,076 posts

TS is a student

Not everyone has a WiFi-enabled phone

And free WiFi is not so common in Singapore as Malaysia

This post has been edited by dgboy: Jul 30 2012, 07:44 PM
Xploit Machine
post Jul 30 2012, 03:38 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,256 posts

buy their SIMCARD and call from there smile.gif
aspire2oo6
post Jul 30 2012, 06:29 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

tai kor TS said cheapest method not most kiasu method

Alternative if so kiasu

Get a singapore line for both party for sms its practically the cheapest rate

Singapore he sms to malaysia on singapore line

Malaysia another party sms to the malaysia line in singapore.

For calls using same method use IDD132 to singapore very cheap as cheap as 0.04 cents and i bet the other way around is also similar.
SINGAPORE 65 0.04 0.04
http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli...d_idd132_en_web

Sure say TS not rich

Nokia 1100 is only RM130 and support 2 simcards

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 30 2012, 06:41 PM
TSjohnconnor
post Jul 30 2012, 07:40 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 30 2012, 06:29 PM)
tai kor TS said cheapest method not most kiasu method

Alternative if so kiasu

Get a singapore line for both party for sms its practically the cheapest rate

Singapore he sms to malaysia on singapore line

Malaysia another party sms to the malaysia line in singapore.
For calls using same method use IDD132 to singapore very cheap as cheap as 0.04 cents and i bet the other way around is also similar.
SINGAPORE  65  0.04  0.04
http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli...d_idd132_en_web
Sure say TS not rich

Nokia 1100 is only RM130 and support 2 simcards
Brilliantly sarcastic, succinct and quintessentially Malaysian. Hats off to aspire2oo6.

The purpose of this thread is to find the cheapest way to contact a person (in Malaysia or Singapore) right after a flight. I doubt one can go around looking for a WiFi hotspot to make viber calls to someone -- and that's IF the person is online on viber.

Btw IDD rate by Singtel is $0.18/min for mobile lines.

Thank you all for your replies!
jtdc
post Jul 30 2012, 07:54 PM

245 posts

interesting link dgboy, thanks.

@johnconnor, aspire2oo6's suggestion is useful, if confined only to SMS, which he specifically said.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Jul 30 2012, 07:57 PM

0.0168sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:30 PM