Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Oct 27 2012, 10:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Oct 27 2012, 08:20 PM)
butthead. its true! our work is what pay for our ride. in my case i have an extra annual leave to use so im applying it this monday to test the 32T wink.gif

just trying my luck here on who's willing to join the ride. i bet on monday there'll be no other cyclist around sempah..only dogs and monkeys!
haha..bummer... i've got enough leaves to be holidaying half a month but no chance to use em...

maybe you'll meet some state riders being paced up sempah.. they mostly do at least 2 runs up sempah..

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Oct 27 2012, 08:49 PM)
Just came back from JB. I noticed JB has a more vibrant cycling culture. First time spotted a group of 'chopper' cyclists. Those bikes with fat tires. But almost anywhere in JB you can see people riding branded cycles not XDS, Nexus, Exitway which are abundant in KL.
maybe JB people are richer than KL.. KL too much diversified temptations... you can't just spend all your earnings in one single spot...

not that i am saying JB people have no life lar... so, JBians.. please don't laser target my home and launch a SCUD in my direction...
heati
post Oct 28 2012, 08:49 PM

18 posts

Dear Lowyat members,

I am currently conduction a research on "The Impact Of Cycling Towards Tourism in Klang Valley" for my Business Research module for Diploma in Business Management which I am currently pursuing a Advance Tertiary College (ATC) Was wondering whether would you mind to take part in the survey.
minizian
post Oct 28 2012, 10:53 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Oct 27 2012, 08:20 PM)

minizian, all the best with your cleat setup. ive had enough with the setting when i first trying a clipless pedal and shoe. you have to nail it down correctly and that consists of numerous number of trial and error smile.gif

Well it's good that your knees are now in pain as you can ride and adjust your clear position better. You should adjust and re adjust until you can ride pain free (if you feel pain then it's not there yet).

Seems you are duck footed like myself. A tip I can give you is just let your knees stray neutrally outward or vertically center, and don't ever pointing both of your knees inwards. Just give it a try.
Funny thing is my right foot is all right even with duck feet. My left foot tilted quite badly as compared to the right foot. I managed to get the setting as in turn the cleat to match my foot duck shape but it hit the crank many times. Probably i will give a dura ace 9000 pedal with 4mm longer axle a try. I will prob go see physio for proper bike fit and ask them for opinion after my exams are over. Kinda blessing in disguise as knee pain going to make me out of action for some time so that i can focus on studies lol. See how it goes later then.
mrjgx
post Oct 28 2012, 11:04 PM

59 posts

Will upgrading to a set of ultegra 6700 shifters worth the upgrade from my current 105 shifters? Anyone had experience with the ultegra? I heard its a bit tight compare to 105 levers..
minizian
post Oct 29 2012, 12:03 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Oct 28 2012, 11:04 PM)
Will upgrading to a set of ultegra 6700 shifters worth the upgrade from my current 105 shifters? Anyone had experience with the ultegra? I heard its a bit tight compare to 105 levers..
Think stick to it until the shifter spoil or what. Not cheap leh get shifter by itself. My opinion lar hmm.gif
CityBluePrint
post Oct 29 2012, 07:12 AM

29 posts

Should these 2 fools @ UCI watch be allowed to go free?

For not associating LA testicular cancer to his T/E ratios testedwhich he got 'passed'.

This post has been edited by CityBluePrint: Oct 29 2012, 07:13 AM
CityBluePrint
post Oct 29 2012, 07:25 AM

29 posts

Besides UCI who, with authority, else enabled LA to escape scrutiny or punishment for his doping?
lot101
post Oct 29 2012, 08:13 AM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 28 2012, 10:53 PM)
Funny thing is my right foot is all right even with duck feet. My left foot tilted quite badly as compared to the right foot. I managed to get the setting as in turn the cleat to match my foot duck shape but it hit the crank many times. Probably i will give a dura ace 9000 pedal with 4mm longer axle a try. I will prob go see physio for proper bike fit and ask them for opinion after my exams are over. Kinda blessing in disguise as knee pain going to make me out of action for some time so that i can focus on studies lol. See how it goes later then.
Speedplays have alternate length spindles you can check them out. Otherwise, make more friends in the engineering department on campus......CUSTOM SPINDLES!!!!!!

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 07:12 AM)
Should these 2 fools @  UCI watch be allowed to go free?

For not associating  LA  testicular cancer to his T/E ratios testedwhich he got 'passed'.
QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 07:25 AM)
Besides UCI who, with authority,  else enabled  LA to escape scrutiny or punishment for his doping?
What did that he do to you ? He no reciprocate your love ah ? laugh.gif (too easy to pass )

Sideline.......They should be going after those guys who brought the worlds economy to its knees.
miaopurr
post Oct 29 2012, 08:37 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 26 2012, 08:14 PM)
hmmm....the bbs saying...dun trust deals that is too good to be true

must be selling garbage lar...
sram red 50% ??? jom!
CityBluePrint
post Oct 29 2012, 08:53 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Oct 29 2012, 08:13 AM)

What did that he do to you ? He no reciprocate your love ah ?  laugh.gif (too easy to pass )

Sideline.......They should be going after those guys who brought the worlds economy to its knees.
Did they go after Enron, Allen Stanford et al?
What do these folks have in common besides cheating?

So LA is an Influence Pedaller?
Humbling all those mighty. Including misleading NIKE wink.gif

Or are you suggesting that LA conned ALL THOSE BIGWIGS BIG TIME? cry.gif

miaopurr
post Oct 29 2012, 08:53 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Oct 27 2012, 12:05 PM)
So far i've been at specialized shop at pj and have been feeling quite confident since they include the full fitting including bg fitting foc for the bikes you buy from them.
free bgfit? giving rm800 service for free? no way lah.... if they do in fact include bgfit for free, make sure u have them write on paper, signed and stamped as an agreement.
butthead
post Oct 29 2012, 09:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Oct 28 2012, 11:04 PM)
it's not much of any value to change the shifter if you ask me... other than weight and slight aesthetic differences... it doesn't give you anything carbon or titanium...

but then, it all depends on how you see it..

whether it is smoother, tighter or shifts faster... i don't know for sure... but if you don't take care of the cables properly... it will make no difference 6 months down the road...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:17 am
QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 07:12 AM)
Should these 2 fools @  UCI watch be allowed to go free?

For not associating  LA  testicular cancer to his T/E ratios testedwhich he got 'passed'.
well... i think his testosterone was never questioned before... he is lacking 1 bean if you know what i mean...

the indictment is more on his haematocrit levels when he was racing and how he manages to lower them down before the authorities perform a surprise poke their needle in their skinny arms sort of act...

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 07:25 AM)
Besides UCI who, with authority,  else enabled  LA to escape scrutiny or punishment for his doping?
many people must be in on it... as you say.... those two are fools... what sort of damage can they do other than being manipulated around to look like even bigger fools...

the past is the past... if some higher authority decides that this 2 bumbling idiots are not needed... sack them for once and for all... it will be a painful rebuild but better short term pain than long term ones...

what you see are not really what you get... i believe there are still people who has not come forward... the people who admitted now are just sacrificial goats... there is a bigger fish to fry somewhere down the road...

with this in mind.. also comes the question... what will guarantee the next person inheriting the role from not going into the same offense all over again...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:25 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 29 2012, 08:37 AM)
sram red 50% ??? jom!
mana??? lemme go apply one more credit card first... can wait 3 weeks?

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 08:53 AM)
Did they go after  Enron, Allen Stanford et al?
Or are you suggesting that LA conned ALL THOSE BIGWIGS BIG TIME?  cry.gif
this whole situation is just picking on all the nitty gritty stuff... no one cares who is doping or a clean sport... all the people complaining just want to be a part of the action of so called purging the bad stuff from the sport...hell.... they thought they did so in 98 didn't they with the festina scandal... and then again they thought they succeeded post 2006 & 2007 after landis and the chicken got caught... they were rejoicing when Sastre / Mr. Clean won the tour in the most un-expected way in 2008...

they didn't think of this stuff when they were cheering for the liars who they are rooting for back then did they?

Lance is good at manipulating things to go his way... that is a known fact, not debatable with or without this doping case... much like how michael schumacher and Scuderia Ferrari did the same in years where they were at the top of the sport...

it's all a show...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:32 amand come to think of it... UCI must not be the only party to be involved... if the finger is pointing at UCI for forewarning USPS a full 20 mins before anti doping checks spring any surprises on the team... someone from the countries anti doping faction or the WADA must have leaked information to those 2 fools to disseminate down to their minions and then give USPS the warning... am i not right?

UCI does not have jurisdiction on ordering anti doping arms to perform or halt checks and i presume WADA overrides their authority on that part...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:37 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 29 2012, 08:53 AM)
free bgfit? giving rm800 service for free? no way lah.... if they do in fact include bgfit for free, make sure u have them write on paper, signed and stamped as an agreement.
maybe it's a BGfit light version? just go on bike.. turn on the camera to record you while pedaling, BS a bit.. tell you like you ride like a world champion and your posture is spot on... all done in 20 mins...and out you go getting kicked out of the shop....

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 29 2012, 09:37 AM
lot101
post Oct 29 2012, 09:40 AM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Oct 29 2012, 08:53 AM)
Did they go after  Enron, Allen Stanford et al?
Or are you suggesting that LA conned ALL THOSE BIGWIGS BIG TIME?  cry.gif
I have no qualms that BIGWIGS get conned from time to time. I have a problem when one man is prosecuted for conning ??? how many billions and beguiling how many countries to change their economic policies to suit their income ?. Which is the greater evil ?

We should do like the Germans do....scale the fine against your income drool.gif

If LA came to town, I would still buy him a cup of tea. nod.gif

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 29 2012, 09:11 AM)
it's not much of any value to change the shifter if you ask me... other than weight and slight aesthetic differences... it doesn't give you anything carbon or titanium...

but then, it all depends on how you see it..

whether it is smoother, tighter or shifts faster... i don't know for sure... but if you don't take care of the cables properly... it will make no difference 6 months down the road...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:17 am

well... i think his testosterone was never questioned before... he is lacking 1 bean if you know what i mean...

the indictment is more on his haematocrit levels when he was racing and how he manages to lower them down before the authorities perform a surprise poke their needle in their skinny arms sort of act...
many people must be in on it... as you say.... those two are fools... what sort of damage can they do other than being manipulated around to look like even bigger fools...

the past is the past... if some higher authority decides that this 2 bumbling idiots are not needed... sack them for once and for all... it will be a painful rebuild but better short term pain than long term ones...

what you see are not really what you get... i believe there are still people who has not come forward... the people who admitted now are just sacrificial goats... there is a bigger fish to fry somewhere down the road...

with this in mind.. also comes the question... what will guarantee the next person inheriting the role from not going into the same offense all over again...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:25 am

mana??? lemme go apply one more credit card first... can wait 3 weeks?
this whole situation is just picking on all the nitty gritty stuff... no one cares who is doping or a clean sport... all the people complaining just want to be a part of the action of so called purging the bad stuff from the sport...hell.... they thought they did so in 98 didn't they with the festina scandal... and then again they thought they succeeded post 2006 & 2007 after landis and the chicken got caught... they were rejoicing when Sastre / Mr. Clean won the tour in the most un-expected way in 2008...

they didn't think of this stuff when they were cheering for the liars who they are rooting for back then did they?

Lance is good at manipulating things to go his way... that is a known fact, not debatable with or without this doping case... much like how michael schumacher and Scuderia Ferrari did the same in years where they were at the top of the sport...

it's all a show...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:32 amand come to think of it... UCI must not be the only party to be involved... if the finger is pointing at UCI for forewarning USPS a full 20 mins before anti doping checks spring any surprises on the team... someone from the countries anti doping faction or the WADA must have leaked information to those 2 fools to disseminate down to their minions and then give USPS the warning... am i not right?

UCI does not have jurisdiction on ordering anti doping arms to perform or halt checks and i presume WADA overrides their authority on that part...
And the show must go on........ laugh.gif

If anyone spot a SRAM 9 speed road cassette puh-lease let me know....thank you (back to lurking sweat.gif )

miaopurr
post Oct 29 2012, 09:43 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 29 2012, 09:11 AM)
maybe it's a BGfit light version? just go on bike.. turn on the camera to record you while pedaling, BS a bit.. tell you like you ride like a world champion and your posture is spot on... all done in 20 mins...and out you go getting kicked out of the shop....
BSfit HAHA
butthead
post Oct 29 2012, 09:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Oct 29 2012, 09:40 AM)
I have no qualms that BIGWIGS get conned from time to time. I have a problem when one man is prosecuted for conning ??? how many billions and beguiling how many countries to change their economic policies to suit their income ?. Which is the greater evil ?

We should do like the Germans do....scale the fine against your income  drool.gif

If LA came to town, I would still buy him a cup of tea.  nod.gif
And the show must go on........ laugh.gif
whatever yanks their crank...

it's the off season what... what better way to promote cycling other than some off season political turmoil...

it's done wonder for F1 for many years... it's no strange thing that cycling tries to adopt it...

QUOTE(lot101 @ Oct 29 2012, 09:40 AM)
If anyone spot a SRAM 9 speed road cassette puh-lease let me know....thank you (back to lurking sweat.gif )
never existed before unless you live in another parallel universe... SRAM launch their road products with 10speed straightaway...

Added on October 29, 2012, 9:50 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 29 2012, 09:43 AM)
BSfit HAHA
tats not a bad name...

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 29 2012, 09:50 AM
TSvin_ann
post Oct 29 2012, 09:52 AM

10,912 posts

Monday ! suck to max!!!

my parcel status shown on Thursday:

I was in office... waiting... waiting... its was Haji Eve. its was heavy tunderstorm rain....

waited until 5:15pm, no sign of DHL guy, left office with dissappointment....

then today just now! im expecting im receiving my parcel today! no monday BLUE!

whose know....

FML !!!
butthead
post Oct 29 2012, 09:56 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 29 2012, 09:52 AM)
Monday ! suck to max!!!

my parcel status shown on Thursday:

I was in office... waiting... waiting... its was Haji Eve. its was heavy tunderstorm rain....

waited until 5:15pm, no sign of DHL guy, left office with dissappointment....

then today just now! im expecting im receiving my parcel today! no monday BLUE!

whose know....

FML !!!
you bought another dildo or wat?

prepare to fork out some money anyways... you are stuffed... extortion is happening on you dis time zeround...
mrjgx
post Oct 29 2012, 10:19 AM

59 posts

What did you order? All my items from wiggle UK all arrived safely at my office in 1 week plus time. No tracking mechanism so I guess I might be lucky.

Btw, has anyone of you using a soft case travel bike? Damn the hard case one are costly..hovering around 1.8k-3.5k...I wonder if its worth the purchase.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 29 2012, 10:25 AM
TSvin_ann
post Oct 29 2012, 10:23 AM

10,912 posts

i think i want to avoid buy from UK....

i brought another stuff from USA...

see the updates feel so nice! very smooth!

With delivery courier
Origin Service Area:  PORTLAND, OR - PORTLAND - USA
Destination Service Area:  KUALA LUMPUR - MY- - MALAYSIA 

Monday, October 29, 2012  Location Time Pieces
14 With delivery courier KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA  08:01

Sunday, October 28, 2012  Location Time Pieces
13 Processed at KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA  07:48

12 Clearance processing complete at KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA  07:44 
11 Arrived at Sort Facility KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA  07:33

Saturday, October 27, 2012  Location Time Pieces
10 Departed Facility in HONG KONG - HONG KONG HONG KONG - HONG KONG  22:34

9 Processed at HONG KONG - HONG KONG HONG KONG - HONG KONG  21:28

8 Clearance processing complete at HONG KONG - HONG KONG HONG KONG - HONG KONG  17:43

7 Arrived at Sort Facility HONG KONG - HONG KONG HONG KONG - HONG KONG  16:22

Friday, October 26, 2012  Location Time Pieces
6 Departed Facility in CINCINNATI HUB - USA CINCINNATI HUB, OH - USA  06:43

5 Processed at CINCINNATI HUB - USA CINCINNATI HUB, OH - USA  06:02

4 Arrived at Sort Facility CINCINNATI HUB - USA CINCINNATI HUB, OH - USA  03:37

Thursday, October 25, 2012  Location Time Pieces

3 Departed Facility in PORTLAND - USA PORTLAND, OR - USA  18:25

2 Processed at PORTLAND - USA PORTLAND, OR - USA  18:24

1 Shipment picked up PORTLAND, OR - USA  14:54 

oh yeah...

value of parcel...
from UK - 118 pound = RM590 + (called DHL, custom duty of RM94) = RM684 vmad.gif
from USA - 139 USD = RM417

although im aware of RM500 value parcel will attract duty... but i really boh song!
kns ! knm ! ctd !
butthead
post Oct 29 2012, 10:33 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Oct 29 2012, 10:19 AM)
Btw, has anyone of you using a soft case travel bike? Damn the hard case one are costly..hovering around 1.8k-3.5k...I wonder if its worth the purchase.
what difference does that make from those bicycle carton boxes??? unless you are traveling without your bike in sight... dun see the point...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 29 2012, 10:23 AM)
i think i want to avoid buy from UK....

i brought another stuff from USA...

see the updates feel so nice! very smooth!

oh yeah...

value of parcel...
from UK - 118 pound = RM590 + (called DHL, custom duty of RM94) = RM684  vmad.gif
from USA - 139 USD = RM417

although im aware of RM500 value parcel will attract duty... but i really boh song!
kns ! knm  ! ctd  !
err... isn't it that you should have already expect getting taxed buying stuff from out of country??

i think particularly it is also which courier they use? DHL from my experience is damn stupid at avoiding the authorities...

my US shipments in the past all with USPS (dopers mail) has no issues... i think it comes from accumulated experience from dodging the anti doping agencies...

my shipments from hong kong post also no problem... UK i am not sure wat courrier they run...

but my priority is always USPS (once, again...not that i support lance) if i ship out something from US... or if the seller can mark it as Gift or under-declare it...

else... dun get your hopes high...

125 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:18 PM