9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Oct 21 2012, 11:46 PM

59 posts

Yeah I did changed the chain as well during the swapping..now the rear is aesthetically ugly with the ultegra in silver/grey and the bling2 silver cassette..I prefer all black!

Upgrade pieces by pieces...although much more expensive than getting a complete bike..it's satisfying though. tongue.gif

Sri petaling Merida new model out of the shelves already..so many customers went out and buy huh?

Next would be crankset and shifter...

Added on October 21, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 21 2012, 08:16 PM)
my opera browser decided not to work while i was at bangsar...had to wait until i get back to a computer...

rodalink didn't give much good news... RM1.7k retail for the complete 9700 crank + BB... they don't have stock of any 9700 compact cranks and the standard ones they only had 170mm on shelf... the new 9000 series is arriving but not estimated timeline...

i remember the SRAM RM1.4k is without BB... BB is easily another couple hundred bucks...

on the subject of sram or shimano... 9000 series crank has a good thing where it is BCD 110 spider and you can practically swap out chainrings from compact to standard without swapping cranks and it is still made from aluminum despite it's lightness...

SRAM on the other hand has options to go for BB30, but that makes no sense to you..you do get carbon crank arms if you do believe they are stiffer the dura-ace...

other than component purity.. i'd say going with either one won't be wrong...

why did you swap the 32T without the chain??? won't jam if you accidentally shift into big-big combo?

Have to buy BB also ka? My current one cannot be used let say with the RED SRAM?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 21 2012, 11:56 PM
mrjgx
post Oct 23 2012, 02:29 PM

59 posts

Who want to buy jerseys at pedalspot? Buy 1 free 1...one jersey costs u rm200..get another one for free.

Chip in with friends each one pay only rm100..I think it's a bargain though..even the replica costs more than 100 at bbs..

mrjgx
post Oct 23 2012, 06:09 PM

59 posts

Wahhh...that one expensive ler...damn..if I were u I go and get the black and red.
Btw what bib has the super duper well padded? So far from what my hand can grasp and crumble all the bibs in my lbs, only santini is the baddest of them all..

Hovering at rm5++ btw....sigh

Added on October 23, 2012, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(hianboy @ Oct 23 2012, 03:50 PM)
oh... another one also jersey...

Added on October 23, 2012, 3:53 pm
The left guy has a vagina rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 23 2012, 06:15 PM
mrjgx
post Oct 23 2012, 08:32 PM

59 posts

Who is unker Tan? Asos bibs available in Malaysia? I want super duper gel padding for my butt. Foam not padded enough IMO

Added on October 23, 2012, 8:37 pmOwh btw..what is the price for the latest ultegra group set? I need only the shifters, crankset, brakes, FD..I think that's all needed.butthead..the compact crank is 50/34 right?

eBay selling around 900usd..roughly rm2700...quite cheap I thought nearly 5k

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 23 2012, 08:37 PM
mrjgx
post Oct 24 2012, 11:01 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 24 2012, 10:27 AM)
will try castelli for sure, but bloody expensive right?

i prefer 3/4 bib tights, but does bellwether have it?
I have Castelli bib short..it's the one with cervelo logo on it. Nice padded foam and quite generous in its padding.

Got another bib from Lycra..it's a full team kit for omega pharma (lotto)..buy 1 free 1 from pedalspot promotion rclxms.gif

Got another 1 short pant from bellwether...

Eyh btw..those bib foam got dirty overtime right? I usually put into a delicate washing machine mode but seems like the stains at the foam not clean ler..do u guys brush it off with a brush.

Jerseys I have more than 5..normally I bought jerseys without its corresponding shorts/bib..I always rojak2 one...no problem so far when taking pictures..still look cool. a pair of oakley radar path will make u look hensem no matter what your cycling kit looks like tongue.gif

Now saving money for that rm5++ santini bibs...the gel padding seems attractive enough for a long distance ride..I'm afraid I might be spending that 500 for that buy 1 free 1 promotion...could get 4 piece of clothes with that amount of money.. wink.gif

Added on October 24, 2012, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 24 2012, 12:15 AM)
Tan Boon Foo.. bike pro... they do have some Assos items but not as expansive as KH...i don't think assos is gel padding but their 6 panel cutting matched to their padding and the stretchy bands are very well made and very fitting... problem is only their price... the most expensive pair is a nice 4 figures..
compact is 50/34

i think the complete 6700 group is around RM2.5k to RM2.9k depending on who you get it from....

separately it won't be cheap...

my guess
FC-6700 crank is easily RM700 including BB
ST-6700 shifter is easily another RM1k
FD-6700 front derailleur is no worry, RM150 should cover it more or less
BR-6700 calipers, i had the older 6600 and that was RM350... new one should be more or less there

Ultegra is not a very expensive group... 7900 DA is upper 4xxx or beginning of 5xxxx... it is the price of SRAM Rival and Rival is priced at around RM2.6k...it's only a couple hundred above the 105 group...

Thx bro..that was a good info on the ultegra price! I guess I could settle with ultegra for my current bike, who knows I might have another new bike (s works sl4 sometime in the future) with top end grouppos and stuffs. Haha.

Will the shifter has any effect if I paired it with 105 crank that I currently own?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 24 2012, 11:58 PM
mrjgx
post Oct 24 2012, 11:58 PM

59 posts

Guys...any tips for sprinting? Just push each leg straight down like a piston? What about the bike rocking from sideways to sideways is that happen unintentionally? When cruising let say at around 40kmh descending I try to sprint but it feels awkward that sometimes the sideways rocking feels so unnatural and few times I accidentally feel imbalance..body to the right and bike also to the right.

I can put an all out sprint just by pedaling harder, out of the saddle without the bike rocking too much..almost vertically with no sideways motion..but is that call sprinting?

Added on October 24, 2012, 11:04 pmWho's taking leave next Monday? I'm planning for KKB-Fraser Hill. Until now no kaki yet..most probably gonna solo ride but I'm quite scared as I never tried the route before..any takers?

Added on October 25, 2012, 12:11 am
QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 24 2012, 09:40 PM)
I wanted to know the price for 7900 pedal in kl. Just wanna compare its price in KL and uk webshop price. Aussie shop sell at crazy price. I am not buying for the carbon shit. I am going after the mega wide pedal platform. Just only realised its bigger than my 105 pedal without jumping ship to Look  blade or keo2max pedal. Decide for cost reason i will retain my spd-sl system.

Seriously this is the only part i will upgrade together with my sidi ergo 2 shoe for my current bike until i get myself madone 5.9.
Get this madone bro blush.gif

http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2012/06/the-...adone-7-series/

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 25 2012, 12:11 AM
mrjgx
post Oct 25 2012, 03:27 PM

59 posts

Couldn't put my 32T into action for the Malakoff..gonna be out of the country...sigh
mrjgx
post Oct 25 2012, 06:24 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 25 2012, 06:09 PM)
TFDB

(too far didn't bother)
Sempah still TFDB? If not let's ride tomorrow morning Hoa-rnr sempah rclxms.gif
mrjgx
post Oct 26 2012, 10:11 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Oct 26 2012, 09:10 PM)
hi all smile.gif

i'm new to road biking (only been riding roads with mtb sweat.gif ) and have been kinda looking around for road bikes.

So after some look arounds and budgeting etc, i came down to be choosing either the Specialized sl3 ultergra or the Cannondale supersix ultegra....

I know that both have their awesomeness but i cant decide especially with lack of experience...
From my reading and talking around...i found that:
On the one side, Specialize does offer the good service of fitting the bike to your individual body as they have a 'specialized only' shop...where as cannondale has to be ordered from any 3rd party retailers out there where the shop owner may not necessarily be interested with getting you the correct sizes and fittings.

On the other side, Specialize does come out with new models (sometimes with not much significant differences_as per debatable reviews) rather quickly, making the older models have the mental feel of being 'so last year' .....where as Cannondale doesn't come out with new models that fast and yet with every new model there is a significant difference_as per reviews).

I don't know if the above is really true but then again tis all a matter of opinions from difference ppl all over...

so what do you experienced guys  notworthy.gif think?

any suggestions or better recommendations?

Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
It depends on your preferred brand. They are aesthetically different, so which one feast your eyes the best? If you like Sagan you can opt for Cannondale thumbup.gif if you like contadope you can opt for specialized. Body fitting is best felt by Yourself only as no matter how expensive the bike fitting tech can the shop provide you, it is you yourself who can feel the millimeters of variations for your bike fitting.

I'm going for SL4 soon...just couldn't decide which colors sweat.gif shakehead.gif
mrjgx
post Oct 26 2012, 11:11 PM

59 posts

Hoi..don't want..must costs a bomb for anything associated with mclaren name. But really how many variance are there for the sworks sl4 colors?

Is it only 4?

mrjgx
post Oct 26 2012, 11:23 PM

59 posts

I thought the white one is roubaix? That's the problem with specialized. Their website doesn't show the color options. But mr.google showed me plenty of colors. So yes I'm lost. Cannondale colors (the one Sagan rode) is too fancy like my Merida. Haha. My Next bike the color should be subtle and discreet.
mrjgx
post Oct 26 2012, 11:39 PM

59 posts

White or black..both are beautiful blush.gif checkout image below..that is the 'discrete' I want!

mrjgx
post Oct 27 2012, 11:34 AM

59 posts

Guys. Anyone want to ride Monday morning? HOA-Janda Baik? I Don't wanna ride alone just in case I stumble upon some wolves there. 7.30am rolling start. Medium pace. Lets forget your Monday blues and let's ride. YOLO!
mrjgx
post Oct 27 2012, 01:34 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 27 2012, 01:26 PM)
wats the occasion on monday? no need to work???

seeing your post makes my monday blues premature... already feeling it even before it's a monday...
cmon..between work and ride which one tempt u the most? leave the office behind and lets embrace the nature at genting sempah climb. HEHE. hence the YOLO term. tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Oct 27 2012, 08:20 PM

59 posts

butthead. its true! our work is what pay for our ride. in my case i have an extra annual leave to use so im applying it this monday to test the 32T wink.gif

just trying my luck here on who's willing to join the ride. i bet on monday there'll be no other cyclist around sempah..only dogs and monkeys!

minizian, all the best with your cleat setup. ive had enough with the setting when i first trying a clipless pedal and shoe. you have to nail it down correctly and that consists of numerous number of trial and error smile.gif

Well it's good that your knees are now in pain as you can ride and adjust your clear position better. You should adjust and re adjust until you can ride pain free (if you feel pain then it's not there yet).

Seems you are duck footed like myself. A tip I can give you is just let your knees stray neutrally outward or vertically center, and don't ever pointing both of your knees inwards. Just give it a try.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 27 2012, 08:55 PM
mrjgx
post Oct 28 2012, 11:04 PM

59 posts

Will upgrading to a set of ultegra 6700 shifters worth the upgrade from my current 105 shifters? Anyone had experience with the ultegra? I heard its a bit tight compare to 105 levers..
mrjgx
post Oct 29 2012, 10:19 AM

59 posts

What did you order? All my items from wiggle UK all arrived safely at my office in 1 week plus time. No tracking mechanism so I guess I might be lucky.

Btw, has anyone of you using a soft case travel bike? Damn the hard case one are costly..hovering around 1.8k-3.5k...I wonder if its worth the purchase.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 29 2012, 10:25 AM
mrjgx
post Oct 30 2012, 07:57 AM

59 posts

Waah saw leng lui at imcyclist shop. Could it be Edwin's wife?

The shop carries several cipollini frames...didn't bother to ask the price. A lot of volt brand bikes too..

Btw hv you guys heard of Planet X bikes? They are considerably cheap in the country I'm going to soon.

Mondays blues no more. Lets go to work!
mrjgx
post Oct 31 2012, 12:11 AM

59 posts

Bought a bike case. Semi hard case actually. Rm1k. I could get a Force crank with the amount of money spent. Duh..I hope I'm making the right decision by bringing my bike oversea. I just pray that my wheels stay in perfect shape.

Btw for triathletes here who usually travel with their bike on air plane, do they separate a sports equipment from the normal luggage? Where to get Fragile stickers? At the check in counter is it? So scared lah..huhu

Added on October 31, 2012, 8:15 amSince doping has been embedded deeply into cycling years ago until now, have you ever wonder perhaps Wiggins also dope for TDF win and Olympic? A massive cover up by the team and stuffs just like LA case?

Anything is possible you know these days. Haha.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Oct 31 2012, 08:15 AM
mrjgx
post Oct 31 2012, 01:00 PM

59 posts

Merida..Fuji..

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:29 PM