WTAsk Opinion From All Sifu Here, Confuse

TSbogijek
post Jul 26 2012, 06:13 PM, updated 14y ago

38 posts

I have a HP Compaq 8000 Elite Base Model Convertible Minitower PC. And i planning to put mid-high end graphic card like Sapphire 6850 or lower but still using 6 pin power supply.

However, my original PSU only give over 300 something watt output and no more 6 pin from PSU to support the GC.

If i want to upgrade the GC, i still need to change new PSU right? but that it is OK since i can change it even though the actual width & length is different between the original PSU and Cooler Master GX 700w Lite(PSU i plan to put after this)

My really problem is, my mobo doesn't have 20/24 pin for PSU, but only use 1 x 6 pin for power, 2 x 4 pin for sata and 1 x 4 pin cpu fan.

Is it possible if i use 6 pin power from Cooler Master GX 700w Lite as my new PSU later and put it to my 6 pin power at my mobo just like i mention up there.

Really need opinion here, i don't want to change the mobo since i just buy this PC from someone at here... plus, next month is Raya & Independence Day...

Below is my PC spec for my planning to add the GC. RAM i will upgrade after this problem is settle.

I will upload the pic about my mobo later (in order to give the clear picture of my problem).

I really need advice and opinion here... what should i do... need icon_question.gif

BenSow
post Jul 27 2012, 01:22 AM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(bogijek @ Jul 26 2012, 06:13 PM)

I have a HP Compaq 8000 Elite Base Model Convertible Minitower PC. And i planning to put mid-high end graphic card like Sapphire 6850 or lower but still using 6 pin power supply.

However, my original PSU only give over 300 something watt output and no more 6 pin from PSU to support the GC.

If i want to upgrade the GC, i still need to change new PSU right? but that it is OK since i can change it even though the actual width & length is different between the original PSU and Cooler Master GX 700w Lite(PSU i plan to put after this)

My really problem is, my mobo doesn't have 20/24 pin for PSU, but only use 1 x 6 pin for power, 2 x 4 pin for sata and 1 x 4 pin cpu fan.

Is it possible if i use 6 pin power from Cooler Master GX 700w Lite as my new PSU later and put it to my 6 pin power at my mobo just like i mention up there.

Really need opinion here, i don't want to change the mobo since i just buy this PC from someone at here... plus, next month is Raya  & Independence Day...

Below is my PC spec for my planning to add the GC. RAM i will upgrade after this problem is settle.

I will upload the pic about my mobo later (in order to give the clear picture of my problem).

I really need advice and opinion here... what should i do...  need icon_question.gif 

AFAIK, that is impossible, the 20/24 ATX power cable is needed to power the mobo so all mobos should have that o.o

But yeah upload a pic of your mobo let's see
Bonchi
post Jul 27 2012, 03:02 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

one problem with oem mobo is the locked/limited bios.. my friend's acer had issues with enabling the pci-e on his mobo hence he was forced to buy a new mobo. so id suggest you test it first before buying a graphic card
TSbogijek
post Jul 27 2012, 08:46 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jul 27 2012, 04:02 AM)
one problem with oem mobo is the locked/limited bios.. my friend's acer had issues with enabling the pci-e on his mobo hence he was forced to buy a new mobo. so id suggest you test it first before buying a graphic card
ok, i will test it first... tq for 4 that advice...
TSbogijek
post Jul 27 2012, 08:56 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jul 27 2012, 02:22 AM)
AFAIK, that is impossible, the 20/24 ATX power cable is needed to power the mobo so all mobos should have that o.o

But yeah upload a pic of your mobo let's see
i know it hard to believe, but here is some screenshot...

Here is the pic from my mobo.. Attached Image

here is the screenshot for the power port.. Attached Image

this is for sata power port.. Attached Image

and i think dis 1 is normal right for cpu power... Attached Image

is there anything else i can do..??
kherel77
post Jul 27 2012, 10:56 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

This is OEM mobo from HP, made for power saving purpose not for gaming. However, safest step is borrow your friend PSU & GC for testing first as Bonchi highlight previously....also for PSU mounting place size. As per your pic, you need PSU that have:

2 x PCIe 6 pin (for powerport & GC)
1 x ATX12V 4+4 pin (seperate type for 8-pin ATX12V) (for SATA power)
1 x ATX12V 4 pin (for CPU power)

You can ditch that 24-pin away...
Good luck. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kherel77: Jul 27 2012, 11:00 AM
TSbogijek
post Jul 27 2012, 11:27 AM

38 posts

if i would like to try exactly like Bonchi highly previously, that mean i need to get GC without power input and maximize the performance to see if my mobo can accept heavy-medium gaming or not right??

if the mobo can support, then it should be no problem right?? so i can arrange the mounting and find PSU juz like what you highlight....

kherel77
post Jul 27 2012, 12:06 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

His mean is for detection & compatibility. But you need to fire-up the GC to check that...so need both testing at the same time. If confirm can run, then you can buy your new PSU & GC...
TSbogijek
post Jul 30 2012, 01:50 PM

38 posts

i already try with nvidia quadro fx5800/580 i dont sure about it, but i already test the PCI slot, and it is able to detect...

0.0188sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:18 PM