Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V15, ROM, CWM, JB, ODIN

farscope
post Jul 24 2012, 02:18 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 24 2012, 02:08 PM)
I am using the CWM Touch 6.0.10 now, awesome. biggrin.gif
i don't like CWM touch.. mght ACCIDENTALLY touched other functions.

like tat time i wanna do backup but my palm/finger/finger nails accidentally touched reboot.. doh.gif
farscope
post Jul 24 2012, 02:22 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Jackieboy @ Jul 24 2012, 02:20 PM)
Any benefit to using the C-Pen? For Galaxy Note can thicker and thinner the line based on pressure, something which finger users cannot replicate.
smaller tip than most standard stylus.. no finger print on screen.. that's it..

i have yet to try one thou.. go SEP also don't have..
farscope
post Jul 24 2012, 07:48 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jul 24 2012, 07:35 PM)
checkin in!!

Added on July 24, 2012, 7:35 pmcheckin in!!
WTSpam is this? doh.gif

sign0014.gif
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 08:02 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Jul 25 2012, 07:59 AM)
It's already off but still it checks/updates
Friend told me samsung is like that, automatic check even though off.
My other android phones dont have this issue, when 'account and sync' is off, there is no auto checking. Even play store cannot use and app updates are off.

But S3 (samsung?) still checks and allows play store to start.  icon_question.gif
that sync option is only for your google accounts and any other accounts registered under Settings > account and sync.

individual apps u need to turn off the sync within the app settings.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 02:00 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 01:57 PM)
also i don't think the digital camera had that nice multi shot, and select the best one to keep.
so my question is, which rom updates to jelly bean, can install/remove apps/bloatware, and has very minimal lost of features (especially the awesome ones)  hmm.gif  ?
No.. there is none.. the camera features and other features requires the TW framework to work.

unless samsung comes out with their jelly bean ROM, then other developers can develop on top of it.

CM10 is different bcz they work with the original JB source.. so many features of TW they are not able to add in..
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 02:09 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 02:06 PM)
actually i found some info regarding what i need
Source:
http://www.xda-developers.com/android/want...s-galaxy-s-iii/
This is exactly the thing i need, a balance between adding onto the phone with jelly bean goodness, while retaining the good things about the stock  nod.gif
CM9 yes, CM10? not at the mean time..
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 02:13 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 25 2012, 02:12 PM)
Question: which is the best apps to backup SMS before I flash. Apps I can download again, contact is on google contact. Email is iMap.

jackdon
titanium backup pro is the best backup app u can have..

sms u can export as xml file.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 02:25 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Jul 25 2012, 02:24 PM)
anybody here using checkrom? can give a brief review about advantage against stock rom? i'm currently comfortable using the stock rom but just wanna try out custom roms, if it is really good, i would try considering as i'm a little lazy to reinstall/re-setting back my phone..
u can flash directly on top of stock ROM without wipe data for checkROM.. no need reinstall/restore apps

advantage u just read the changelog of the checkROM thread.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 02:50 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 02:32 PM)
do you know if the WanamLite has the good features from the samsung stock, e.g. like gestures ?
also what is your recommendation for a custom rom for the s3 ?
from what i've seen so far ...

cm10 - has the latest jelly bean, and uses 100% jelly bean features. cons however is missing lots of stock samsung features especially like gestures from the touchwiz 5. is  a preview rom, as not all features have been fixed for a stable release just yet.

cm9 - has access to touchwiz 5 features ? and stable.

WanamLite - features seem to be good, and they did remove bloatware which is awesome. not quite sure if they retained the stock goodness of the s3 though  hmm.gif
if the custom ROM is developed based on stock ROM, then it will retain most of the features. only apps are removed, but are also easily installed back via .zip files.

CM10 is far from perfect. it's only a PREVIEW as they mention. nth to shout about it yet.

CM9 is good for other phones, but i don't really see the need of it for S3 cz the stock ROM itself is great.
further tweaks of stock ROM like the CheckROM and Wanam is better.
Omega has a lot of mods, don't really fit my taste. I'm currently using CheckROM.

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 25 2012, 02:47 PM)
new firmware BLG6 is out
any changelog?
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 03:14 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 25 2012, 03:03 PM)
Hi fella S3 user, I got a questions about S3's push notification & wifi, hopefully can get info from other user here.

Just wonder why most of the time my whatsapp & viber msg are come in late / randomly? Anyone have this problem? I mean msg wasn't instantly delivered to me from sender but mostly is few minutes later after sent, especially the phone is under standby mode. It don't happen when I'm using the phone.

Get to know the late receiving because there's time stamp on the msg when received, but when I got the notification from S3, it was like few mins late or sometime longer then that.

Fyi, I have mobile plan for my line, Sync function is on all the time and I'm 101% sure whatsapp is turn on. So far beside social network apps & games, I have only Green Power Free & Advance Task killer installed on my system.

And one more question regarding on wifi, just wonder why the wifi will automatically turn on (even I switch it off under Setting & drop down menu) and connect to any nearby network that I've used before? I'm now have to manually remove all the wifi network that I've connected to before in order to disable the wifi function completely.

Hopefully can get some feedback from other user here! icon_question.gif

Many thanks in advance!
yr culprit.. turn it off and u will get instant sync..

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 03:09 PM)
sorry could you elaborate further regarding why you don't like omega vs wanam ?

I was looking at the omega, and the front interface seems to retain the stock interface which i like, and yet gives me the option to mod the device.

so now i'm stuck between omega and wanam's  rclxub.gif
AndroidFan4's method of doing it seems a bit more complicated to do, so most likely not going to use his
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1728308
i don't like its mod.. function wise more or less the same.. some extra here, some extra there..
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 03:28 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 25 2012, 03:18 PM)
Ops... Seems the problem root is found. laugh.gif

I'll give that a try tonight. And any clue for the wifi auto turn on (even its has been already turn in setting) whenever I'm somewhere nearby the hotspot I've used before?

P/s: Do you guy use any power management apps? I'm just a casual user and don't really into rooting, so I was looking for some apps that I can directly grab from play store.

Thanks again!
any power management app will limit yr data connectivity. that's y u get late sync cz the 3G cell antenna is one of the most juice hungry component. i guess it's a trade off then if u want longer battery life.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 03:32 PM

3,427 posts

y u need the unlocker anyway? our phone is not locked.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 03:43 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 03:40 PM)
just assumed needed .... cauz i'm smartphone virgin  icon_question.gif
unlocker is for the US variant phones.. ours all unlocked.
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 04:18 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 03:52 PM)
ah i c  hmm.gif
by the way, do i need to root the phone before i can install the rom ? or can i just install straight away using that utube i posted above ?

Sorry not too clear how this works  hmm.gif
basically u just need to install the CWM recovery to install ROM. not necessary require root. but i think the CWM comes together with root if not mistaken. long time ago liao when i did mine. do check the xda thread.

QUOTE(raysaw @ Jul 25 2012, 03:52 PM)
how to change the icon on the lockscreen?
settings > security > lock screen option
farscope
post Jul 25 2012, 06:38 PM

3,427 posts

Looks like the xxlg6 fixed the sound crackling issue that we discussed yesterday.
farscope
post Jul 29 2012, 01:31 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 29 2012, 01:22 PM)
BTW what's the issue with supercurio merajuk?
old news dated a month back.

currently he is only doing voodoosound for other devices and other projects like unlocker and display.

fukkup attitude.
farscope
post Jul 29 2012, 04:04 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 29 2012, 03:58 PM)
Just refresh wanam again as usual. Then go to settings about device to confirm which kernel Is being used.
Ps: don't clear David cache before upgrading kernel, according to xda forum guide on how to change kernel.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
u mean Dalvik?
farscope
post Jul 29 2012, 09:08 PM

3,427 posts

for those who watch freddiew video before.

this one is shot entirely using Galaxy S3 (T-Mobile version)

farscope
post Jul 30 2012, 07:56 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(loquenemy @ Jul 30 2012, 05:55 AM)
I already turn off my gps
using pirated gps software? if yes, that's y.
farscope
post Jul 30 2012, 11:36 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 30 2012, 11:27 PM)
dun make me smash your gorilla glass~!
What's wrong with glass board until you are so offended every time? hmm.gif

0.0358sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:37 PM