369 posts

GW2 Official website: guildwars2.com
GW2 Official wiki: wiki.guildwars2.com
Protips: Command line arguments
Official GW2 Twitter: here.
Developers website: arena.net
For more info regarding the developers behind GW universe, Wiki link here.

General Info
Got monthly fees?: No monthly fees, but you need to buy the game.
Where to buy?: Buy direct from Arenanet -> buy.guildwars2.com
Other than that, try -> buy.guildwars2.com/retailers
Or ask your local store for it, US version is the one to get, otherwise be warned that EU might have regional issues later on.
When it will be release?: 28August2012 (headstart gets 3 days login early)

Guild Wars 2 is the sequel to the Guild Wars, interested in Guild Wars?
GW1 Official website: guildwars.com
GW1 Official wiki: wiki.guildwars.com

Community Direction
Primary Server: Sea of Sorrows
Secondary Server: Isle of Janthir

Headstart & Launch date: gw2status.com

Player List

This post has been edited by heaven: Aug 10 2012, 09:39 PM
TSheaven
post Jul 24 2012, 05:27 PM

369 posts

First post updated, please cut down on the GW2 vs D3 thingy.

It's not about which is better, both is different and I play D3 too.
TSheaven
post Jul 24 2012, 05:43 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(khaiming89 @ Jul 24 2012, 05:39 PM)
wanted to ask that how can Malaysians purchase the collector's edition?
While Amazon has restricted GW2 CE from being send to Malaysia, you can try forward service to get the CE, tho it will of course adds to the shipping/service cost.
TSheaven
post Jul 24 2012, 05:56 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(khaiming89 @ Jul 24 2012, 05:51 PM)
aw.. so i can never obtain one? i dun particularly mind about the cost so much(of coz within limits). jus wanna know if there's a way to purchase them from Malaysia =x
There is, just that either you know someone in US or use forwarding service(companies that buy stuff for you in US, when they get your items, they send to you).
TSheaven
post Jul 25 2012, 04:53 PM

369 posts

A note the D3 wagon jumpers, if you are weak willed to leave D3, what makes you think you won't do the same for GW2?

There won't be GW2 if not for GW, and you know what?, when GW was released back then, there are exploits(so severe that Anet needs to do a roll back), bugs, skills exploit, PvP imbalance you name it etc, people whine in forums, saying gg GW since no monthly fees, all the gloom doom, guess what? GW is still here and now GW2.

So in short, stop the GW2 vs D3 comparison crap, D3 trashing or what ever.
TSheaven
post Jul 25 2012, 05:03 PM

369 posts

Comeon, for regular box, both of them same price in US, blame it on local distributors for different pricing.
TSheaven
post Jul 25 2012, 08:35 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 25 2012, 07:42 PM)
I enjoyed D3 to the point where they activated RMAH, then, things went down hill from then. Everything is designed for the Auction House like extremely low drop rate and a massively randomised loot table so that people will use the Auction House. The entire idea of Auction House defeats the point of playing an ARPG that is all about collecting loot. At the same time, does GW2 focus on loot collection? From what i have played so far, doesnt seem like it as it looks more to explore the world or engage in PvP. If you cant get the item you desire, you can craft it instead. Not sure you can actually buy the top tier weapon from a dealer though.

Adding on, D3 is released with incomplete features. Where is PvP? Why are there so little content? Instead, the whole game is all about playing that 10 hours worth of content again and again with different difficulty.

D3 was never a PvP focused game so whats the point of nerfing items by a large margin? Sure it is to keep the balance in check, but they have to think about the people who actually grind for those items or paid real money for it. Those items essentially become crap after that nerfing.Oh not to forget about the idea of Legendary being absolutely garbage.

The lack of encouragement to explore annoys me too because the world is so static without much randomisation to the point that every playthrough is exactly the same. Sure Skyrim has a limited sized world, but each time you explore the same area, you'll find something intriguing. Even Torchlight 1 that is made in one year with 7 people has way more randomisation than D3.

The thing that annoys me the most is still the the lack of polish of D3. No doubt the art style looked amazing and the gameplay is very solid, however, a lot of things felt that it wasnt thought out properly, like the impact of auction house, lack of inflation control, the lack of longevity and the list goes on. It feels like a lot of the game's design are not thought out properly or in another words, it feels like a potentially delicious half cooked meal.

Guild Wars 2 seems to be the other way round where the way the gameplay works, the way the server systems with overflow servers idea, the technology behind the game or how every mode in the stands out in its own way, it gives me the feeling that Arenanet actually sit down and think about how to make a fun game, not how to make a most profitable game. This is something that Activision or EA will never do.

Still, there are still a couple of stuff that i do not understand or just plain unlucky where i didnt get to experience it, which still put me on the fence.
Dude, didn't you read? stop the comparing and shitz.
TSheaven
post Jul 25 2012, 09:13 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 25 2012, 08:39 PM)
So, whats wrong with comparing?

Diablo 3 did a lot of things wrong, and i am hoping that GW2 will not be the same as D3.

If you do not compare how are you even gonna judge the strength or weakness of a game, or you are just buying the game because it called Guild Wars 2.
This thread is for discussing GW2 or GW related stuff, not for you to hijack and turn it into D3 bashing thread, does that ring a bell? compare? you can't even see the difference between MMOs and ARPGs, how to compare?

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Jul 25 2012, 08:42 PM)
heaven

Mind adding me to the player list?
my GW2 nick is Alexander

btw we have a open facebook group for all the lowyat GW2 people
-> https://www.facebook.com/groups/437754052952252/
Hi, you got your nick number yet? as in Alexander.xxxx

Will check in the FB site out.
TSheaven
post Jul 25 2012, 09:21 PM

369 posts

takkicom, i had higher expectations from you since i played with you before...
TSheaven
post Jul 26 2012, 10:26 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Jul 25 2012, 09:20 PM)
Got it. Mine is Alexander.4289

Well I'll hand over the group admin to you when you joined, just let me know which 1 is you  smile.gif
Not sure on joining FB page tho, not too keen on managing FB site, not to mention the posts you saw on this thread, hence maybe you can create LYN guild and link it to FB site, I can manage the thread till v4 and hand it over to you.

I rather be playing the game than doing too much site/guild management.
TSheaven
post Jul 28 2012, 10:24 AM

369 posts

http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Crafting

8 Crafting Discipline to choose from.

[Armorsmith, Leatherworker, Tailor] depending on your class, imo for convenience sake.
[Artificer, Chef, Huntsman, Jeweler, Weaponsmith]

It is said Chef is the most expensive craft to pursue due to ingredients found across the world as said by one of the devs.
TSheaven
post Jul 30 2012, 10:43 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Dirtz @ Jul 30 2012, 10:41 AM)
Hello all,

Kinda confuse...btw has GW2 released yet?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2440619
TSheaven
post Jul 31 2012, 04:29 PM

369 posts

Hmmm... looks like Amazon's GW2 CEs sold out now... it was still available last week.
TSheaven
post Aug 1 2012, 04:02 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Aug 1 2012, 03:50 PM)
Icefrog would like to have a word with you
As if the mod launch on the same time frame as SC2.

btw, expect balance patches in GW2 or any other games too, you are not living in an pre youtube era where exploits/bugs/overpower/underpower are just muses in forums.
TSheaven
post Aug 3 2012, 12:47 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(azizul1975 @ Aug 3 2012, 12:31 PM)
didn't test on that.. i very much doubt they have it....
It's Shift + Tab if not mistaken for reverse tabbing, same as in GW.
TSheaven
post Aug 7 2012, 10:20 AM

369 posts

I put Sea of Sorrows as primary server just as pointer where most Malaysians go, secondary server is Isle of Janthir due to that primary might go full capacity for too long, you can still go for a third suggested pointer too(if there is).

You know it's just a pointer to "where most Malaysians go", not like I'm forcing you to go there, lol.
Suddenly an influx of new players and I need to change the direction which is laid down for some time already? late comers can't be choosers...

Well you can come up with a third server then.
TSheaven
post Aug 7 2012, 10:27 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Aug 7 2012, 10:24 AM)
nvm found it whistling.gif
Saw you change that.
TSheaven
post Aug 7 2012, 03:40 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Aug 7 2012, 03:37 PM)
Wei, copy paste here sooooooooooo freaking long leh... How about I open a spreadsheet on google doc....
Sure, I can link your spreadsheet on first page.
TSheaven
post Aug 7 2012, 05:16 PM

369 posts

You guys finalize either one of the spreadsheet, then I'll link it on first page.
TSheaven
post Aug 10 2012, 10:14 AM

369 posts

Sunway here, if you have lappy to copy from my external harddisk.

0.0672sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:40 PM