CIMB CWA unit trust -making/lose money?ok or not?, CIMB CWA unit trust invesment

TSstephencity
post Jul 23 2012, 01:50 PM, updated 14y ago

Guys, I made purchased some CIMB CWA unit trust some few months ago. (Dali growth I think- Islamic) but not sure wtf going on. I called the agent and she says the this kind of investment goes up or down, preferably to leave the investment at least 3 years to grow. Hase anyone tried this before? I just can't see any profits yet and cosidering to change to buy real gold bars instead.

Thanks for your response!

alex_cyw1985
post Jul 23 2012, 01:54 PM

1,229 posts

Unit trust is for long term investment, wait 3-5 years.
wongmunkeong
post Jul 23 2012, 01:56 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(stephencity @ Jul 23 2012, 01:50 PM)
Guys, I made purchased some CIMB CWA unit trust  some few months ago. (Dali growth I think- Islamic) but not sure wtf going on. I called the agent and she says the this kind of investment goes up or down, preferably to leave the investment at least 3 years to grow. Hase anyone tried this before? I just can't see any profits yet and cosidering to change to buy real gold bars instead.

U sound more like a punter or trader, than an investor.
IF true, i think U should not buy most unit trusts and do what U really want to do - buy real gold bars instead.
However, note that whether U'll make a profit or not is still up in the air sweat.gif
hafiez
post Jul 23 2012, 04:09 PM

2,980 posts

Just invest in that DALI fund. Super strong fund in CWA.

Cant elaborate much, u need to contact her and ask everything.

If u are unhappy with her, look for other agent.

But please be happy with that DALI fund. smile.gif
kparam77
post Jul 23 2012, 04:30 PM

952 posts

Guys, I made purchased some CIMB CWA unit trust  some few months ago. (Dali growth I think- Islamic) but not sure wtf going on. I called the agent and she says the this kind of investment goes up or down, preferably to leave the investment at least 3 years to grow. Hase anyone tried this before? I just can't see any profits yet and cosidering to change to buy real gold bars instead.

this is the main problem from investors, ask questions after commit. doh.gif doh.gif

open the prospecus and read..read...read n understand it.
jakal sombong
post Jul 23 2012, 04:32 PM

A fool's brain digests philosophy into folly
880 posts

invest based on your risk comfort.
fly126
post Jul 23 2012, 07:17 PM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

Sharing My Own Experience:
I had made an investment in CIMB Dynamic Asia Capitall Protected July 2007 with min. investment of RM 25,000.
It a 3 year investment plan which link to a dynamic index comprising 3 Asian equity indices (from HK, Japan, Singapore) .

The Fund Objective: to provide investor with 100% capital protection at the end 3 years together with potential
investment returns that are higher than current FD rates (said up to 10% that time).

So I dig up my hard-ern money 25k put that investment Plan, hope for good returns of it
How much I get after 3 long year...when the fund MATURITY U never guess out the figure ...
They credit back RM25,005/(Capital+ Interest) to account in Dec 2010 ...Speechless cry.gif
Rm 5.05 (Interest) even least than U put your money in FD for 1 year term doh.gif

I am not said that they(CIMB) had cheated on me or World Economic Crisis / Slowdown 2007/8 happend that time
affected the market... or just unlucky me only doh.gif

So, beware U do any Investment, we can't predict what happend next.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by fly126: Jul 23 2012, 07:40 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jul 23 2012, 07:32 PM

52,874 posts

I have CIMB Principal Australian Equity Fund.

So far, still considered OK. >5% return since September 2011.
TSstephencity
post Jul 23 2012, 10:10 PM

Hi guys ,thanks for all ur responses. Understand that all good things come to those who wait, just wished to learn more and make a profit. About to start to buy gold bar probably 10 grams first. Easier said than done, I suppose but these are my first stepping stone to investment .

THANKS SO MUCH ABOUT DALI CIMB, MADE ME FEEL BETTER ABOUT GIVING THEM HARD EARN MONEY. WILL CALL MY AGENT NEXT!

THANKS GUYS!
SUSDavid83
post Jul 23 2012, 10:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(stephencity @ Jul 23 2012, 10:10 PM)
Hi guys ,thanks for all ur responses. Understand that all good things come to those who wait, just wished to learn more and make a profit. About to start to buy gold bar probably 10 grams first. Easier said than done, I suppose but these are my first stepping stone to investment .

THANKS SO MUCH ABOUT DALI CIMB, MADE ME FEEL BETTER ABOUT GIVING THEM HARD EARN MONEY. WILL CALL MY AGENT NEXT!

THANKS GUYS!
If you're referring to this fund: CIMB Islamic DALI Equity Growth Fund

http://www.cimb-principal.com/download/275...owth%20Fund.pdf

It has relatively good performance so far.

It's better that you approach your agent and request for fund review. What is your average unit cost and etc.

kparam77
post Jul 24 2012, 12:02 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(stephencity @ Jul 23 2012, 10:10 PM)

THANKS GUYS!
it will take some time for break even....... if fund price drop, ur value also wil drop too.

study again abt the fund objective and the involved risk. gv some time to the fund work for ur money. learn risk managemnt too. ask ur agent abt it.
hafiez
post Jul 24 2012, 09:37 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jul 24 2012, 12:02 AM)
it will take some time for break even....... if fund price drop, ur value also wil drop too.

study again abt the fund objective and the involved risk. gv some time to the fund work for ur money. learn risk managemnt too. ask ur agent abt it.
3 years good return usually.

If pumped in last year, can get 15% more or less in return.

Quite ok for epf investment. Double than epf previous div.
cherroy
post Jul 24 2012, 10:57 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jul 24 2012, 09:37 AM)

There is no such thing of 3 years or x years must be good return, or not or to see the return.

Return of the fund depended market condition and performance of investing target of the fund committing.

hafiez
post Jul 24 2012, 11:10 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 24 2012, 10:57 AM)
There is no such thing of 3 years or x years must be good return, or not or to see the return.

Return of the fund depended market condition and performance of investing target of the fund committing.
Yea good.

Just my opinion and based on usual investment return with this fund. Dont know future what will happen.

But with good strategies, only few cents change also can make good return.

Rajin or not only.
bob
post Jul 25 2012, 11:30 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jul 24 2012, 09:37 AM)

but is it true....that even the yearly return is 15% , but if u didn't mange to sell so u still got nothing from ur UT investment?

is not like ASB , where is the bonus/dividen will be direct to ur account every year.

CWA
post Aug 6 2012, 02:28 PM

Give it time. Investing in unit trust makes you an investor, not a trader. As far as im concern, CIMB-I DALI that you invest in is the best. BTW there's going to be dividend of 5.45 on September 26. Plan with your agent on how to maximise your return.
wodenus
post Aug 10 2012, 10:04 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Pretty high sales charge for a mutual fund, 6.5%, highest I've seen so far.

kparam77
post Aug 11 2012, 12:09 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Jul 25 2012, 11:30 AM)
but is it true....that even the yearly return is 15% , but if u didn't mange to sell so u still got nothing from ur UT investment?

is not like ASB , where is the bonus/dividen will be direct to ur account every year.
either in UT or in ASB, investor will get waht their C in the paper.

in UT, distribution will be poyout to investor or if distribution re-invest, will be direct to acc too.

ASB = total return = capital + dividedns/distribution.

UT total return = capital gain/lost + dividedns/distribution.

eitehr in ASB or UT, the total returns depends on the funds performance respectively.
gark
post Aug 11 2012, 10:01 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 10 2012, 10:04 PM)
Pretty high sales charge for a mutual fund, 6.5%, highest I've seen so far.
Buy it via CIMB clicks for 1.8% sales charge only during offer time. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Aug 11 2012, 10:01 AM
bob
post Aug 11 2012, 11:17 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 11 2012, 12:09 AM)
either in UT or in ASB, investor will get waht their C in the paper.

in UT, distribution will be poyout to investor or if distribution re-invest, will be direct to acc too.

ASB = total return = capital + dividedns/distribution.

UT total return = capital gain/lost + dividedns/distribution.

eitehr in ASB or UT, the total returns depends on the funds performance respectively.
agreed but ... as for ASB, all bonus /dividend will go direct to account every year. No need to sell.

as for UT, for example if the price increase to 20% in a year, so u need to sell first, before u can get the profit.
If u didn't sell, u got nothing except for distribution/unit split.

potenza10
post Aug 11 2012, 05:50 PM

1,936 posts

just check my account with cwa..invested in dali equity growth fund in 2010 using epf money..return 38% in 2 years...very nice!!
SUSDavid83
post Aug 11 2012, 05:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Aug 11 2012, 05:50 PM)
just check my account with cwa..invested in dali equity growth fund in 2010 using epf money..return 38% in 2 years...very nice!!
Impressive! Annualised return of 19% rclxms.gif
potenza10
post Aug 11 2012, 07:20 PM

1,936 posts

yaaa..just now thumb print for next withdrawal.just can add 7k..
Kaka23
post Aug 11 2012, 08:49 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Aug 11 2012, 06:50 PM)
Since 2010 till now, how many times you have top up this fund?
potenza10
post Aug 11 2012, 10:23 PM

1,936 posts

just withdraw one time only for 2k and just ignore for a while..and now the units i hold times n.a.v equal to rm2700+... smile.gif

This post has been edited by potenza10: Aug 11 2012, 10:23 PM
Kaka23
post Aug 11 2012, 10:26 PM

8,259 posts

very good returns...
potenza10
post Aug 11 2012, 10:47 PM

1,936 posts

the statement for reference...actually, i am the agent back few years ago but lazy to do sales (or got no talent to do so) so i just let my license expired.so basically i understand how it works but before 2008, i am not qualified to do investment using my epf (acc no.1 did not reach minimum 50k). just after 2008 when the government had revised the requirement, so i take the chance to invest in U.T rather than leave it in epf.so, i'm happy now icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by potenza10: Aug 11 2012, 10:54 PM

SUSChealsea
post Aug 12 2012, 12:16 AM

182 posts

can invest with epf money? how about fees n charges

This post has been edited by Chealsea: Aug 12 2012, 12:17 AM
potenza10
post Aug 12 2012, 05:37 AM

1,936 posts

cann..but there are requirement for minimum balance amount in acc 1 according to your age..got table to refer to.agent must hv this one.fees and charges refer to the product itself.no extra charges from epf.
SUSKinitos
post Aug 12 2012, 12:14 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:47 PM)
the statement for reference...actually, i am the agent back few years ago but lazy to do sales (or got no talent to do so) so i just let my license expired.so basically i understand how it works but before 2008, i am not qualified to do investment using my epf (acc no.1 did not reach minimum 50k). just after 2008 when the government had revised the requirement, so i take the chance to invest in U.T rather than leave it in epf.so, i'm happy now  icon_rolleyes.gif
i just download the latest CIMB Islamic DALI Equity Fund anuual report MAY2012
the fund loss 3miilion

For the year ending MAY2012 the total fund net income was $1,635,388

HOW MUCH WAS THE MANAGEMENT FEEES ???? == $3,089,791

There was Unrealised amount (paper loss stocks price "masuk longkong" STRUCK)
== $18,571,929 RUGI

Unitholders' capital plunge from 122miliions to 75millions

ALL unittrust investors ARe like U == DUMDASS

potenza10
post Aug 12 2012, 12:32 PM

1,936 posts

dumbass or what, i'd posted the references..its up to all of you to judge.no problem for me as long i hv made a profit from my hard earned money smile.gif

maybe u should analyze (if u are expert lah..) for a bit long term 2-3 yrs to conclude your super smart conclusion...

This post has been edited by potenza10: Aug 12 2012, 12:35 PM
Dividend Warrior
post Aug 12 2012, 01:36 PM

394 posts

I prefer to invest on my own. No need to pay management fees. smile.gif
potenza10
post Aug 12 2012, 04:33 PM

1,936 posts

everybody has their own preferences...no issue at all smile.gif
this is just an alternative to maximise your return from your epf money.dont tell me that you can take out from epf and invest by your own...

This post has been edited by potenza10: Aug 12 2012, 04:52 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 12 2012, 06:54 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Aug 12 2012, 04:33 PM)
everybody has their own preferences...no issue at all smile.gif
this is just an alternative to maximise your return from your epf money.dont tell me that you can take out from epf and invest by your own...
Bro, we actually can but u need to have loads of money in EPF before u can do that! biggrin.gif

https://www.jupiteronline.com.my/jssbecos/AMARA.htm
potenza10
post Aug 12 2012, 07:22 PM

1,936 posts

you may proceed to your own preferences..i just want to share my protfolio for this specific thread.that's all.peace!
wongmunkeong
post Aug 12 2012, 08:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 12 2012, 06:54 PM)
Bro, we actually can but u need to have loads of money in EPF before u can do that! biggrin.gif

https://www.jupiteronline.com.my/jssbecos/AMARA.htm
No U don't (need lots of moolah in EPF before U can do that) tongue.gif
As long as the 1st lump sum to Amara is $8K or more, cukup.
Subsequent lumps can be less.
Much more forgiving than other investment houses (the "other one" that i shared and got "audited" buta-buta by a fellow forumer) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 13 2012, 01:23 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 12 2012, 08:59 PM

16,872 posts

Wong Seafood, I nearing 30 still haven't got 8K to withdraw sad.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 13 2012, 09:46 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 12 2012, 08:59 PM)
Wong Seafood, I nearing 30 still haven't got 8K to withdraw sad.gif
Bro - sama sama lar.
I JUST only went into Amara mar and i'm 40s+ hehe.
Gambate neh!

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 13 2012, 09:47 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 01:13 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 13 2012, 09:46 AM)
Bro - sama sama lar.
I JUST only went into Amara mar and i'm 40s+ hehe.
Gambate neh!
I guess I just have to be patient blush.gif
potenza10
post Mar 6 2014, 11:26 AM

1,936 posts

Any CWA agent here?
FallBots
post Mar 9 2014, 06:37 PM

27 posts

Im CWA agent. N already invested with my EPF, so far return rate total is 28% in 18months. Any 1 interested to invest using ur EPF or cash, juz pm me smile.gif
anz87
post Mar 9 2014, 06:42 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(FallBots @ Mar 9 2014, 06:37 PM)
Im CWA agent. N already invested with my EPF, so far return rate total is 28% in 18months. Any 1 interested to invest using ur EPF or cash, juz pm me smile.gif
Pm me the details

infinityplayaz
post May 12 2014, 11:06 AM

227 posts

Anywant to know about DALI can pm me
finlifecare
post May 30 2014, 08:52 PM

23 posts

Dear All,

Please message me if you want to know more about CIMB unit trust funds smile.gif
wodenus
post Jun 2 2014, 12:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ May 30 2014, 08:52 PM)
Dear All,

Please message me if you want to know more about CIMB unit trust funds smile.gif
What I want to know is whether you can offer less commission than FSM/EUT smile.gif

finlifecare
post Jun 3 2014, 03:37 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 2 2014, 12:28 PM)
What I want to know is whether you can offer less commission than FSM/EUT smile.gif
Dear wodenus,
FSM and EUT sales charge are lowest in the market smile.gif If you are the experience investors, you may continue to use these platform. However, you might aware the most outperform of CIMB funds will not be available in FSM/EUT.
wodenus
post Jun 3 2014, 09:29 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ Jun 3 2014, 03:37 PM)
Dear wodenus,
FSM and EUT sales charge are lowest in the market smile.gif If you are the experience investors, you may continue to use these platform. However, you might aware the most outperform of CIMB funds will not be available in FSM/EUT.
Really? like which ones?

potenza10
post Jun 4 2014, 03:11 PM

1,936 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ Jun 3 2014, 03:37 PM)
Dear wodenus,
Most outperform of cimb? But many trust fund from other house simply can beat Cimb trust fund.
finlifecare
post Jun 4 2014, 03:37 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 3 2014, 09:29 PM)
Really? like which ones?
Dear wodenus,

One of outperform fund is CIMB ISLAMIC DALI EQUITY GROWTH FUND.
finlifecare
post Jun 4 2014, 03:45 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Jun 4 2014, 03:11 PM)
Most outperform of cimb? But many trust fund from other house simply can beat Cimb trust fund.
Dear Potenza,

I am not saying CIMB is the best fund among the fund houses. Each fund house has own flagship funds. As long as investor feel comfortable and satisfied the return, then just invest their preference funds.
wodenus
post Jun 4 2014, 08:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ Jun 4 2014, 03:37 PM)
Dear wodenus,

I can get this on FSM.
Cloud9Nos3
post Jun 4 2014, 08:55 PM

Stay Happy ~
1,189 posts

Unit trust is a mid to long term invest managed by fund manager. Be prepared to see good return in at least 3 years. However if you monitor the market by time to time, you may make good profit in aggressive fund for eg: dali equity growth fund.

Please do not go into funds that related to gold and commodity because it made great lost in this two years.
syarehey
post Jun 5 2014, 05:40 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 4 2014, 08:51 PM)
I can get this on FSM.
Owh, is it listed in fundsupermart? That's good then. I dont know this. can reduce service charge rclxms.gif
chrommed
post Jun 5 2014, 10:52 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 4 2014, 08:51 PM)
I can get this on FSM.
can you teach me how you search in FSM? I tried searching for CIMB islamic fund but just came up with this six funds -

CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C
CIMB Islamic Enhanced Sukuk Fund
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Conservative - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Moderate - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Growth - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Equity - Class C

is it under another name? icon_question.gif
wodenus
post Jun 5 2014, 07:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Jun 5 2014, 10:52 AM)
can you teach me how you search in FSM? I tried searching for CIMB islamic fund but just came up with this six funds -

CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C
CIMB Islamic Enhanced Sukuk Fund
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Conservative - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Moderate - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Growth - Class C
CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Equity - Class C

is it under another name?  icon_question.gif
Hm.. they seem to have removed all CIMB's Islamic funds (except the Sukuk) so it's not there any more tongue.gif

aoisky
post Jun 5 2014, 10:09 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ Jun 4 2014, 03:37 PM)
Dear wodenus,

Are you sure you can get this fund from FSM ?
finlifecare
post Jun 6 2014, 12:34 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 5 2014, 10:09 PM)
Are you sure you can get this fund from FSM ?
Dear aoisky,

Please check with wodenus, I never mention can get it from FSM.
aoisky
post Jun 6 2014, 06:28 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(finlifecare @ Jun 6 2014, 12:34 AM)
Dear aoisky,

Please check with wodenus, I never mention can get it from FSM.
Oops sorry boss wrongly quote.
Kaka23
post Jun 6 2014, 07:04 AM

8,259 posts

How much sales charge if buy from cwa?
chrommed
post Jun 6 2014, 08:09 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 6 2014, 07:04 AM)
How much sales charge if buy from cwa?
I've just invested in Dana al-ikhsan growth fund, and the sales charge is 6.5%. That's why I was asking earlier if FSM got this fund haha. But looking at the past performance, it's a pretty solid fund IMO. Hope to get good returns. thumbup.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 6 2014, 09:47 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Jun 6 2014, 09:09 AM)
I've just invested in Dana al-ikhsan growth fund, and the sales charge is 6.5%. That's why I was asking earlier if FSM got this fund haha. But looking at the past performance, it's a pretty solid fund IMO. Hope to get good returns.  thumbup.gif
oh... bit steep though.
juloar
post Jun 28 2014, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(sheenee @ Jun 4 2014, 03:51 PM)
That means I can direct withdrawn EPF for such investment? anyway how much I EFP I need to have?
hi, the amount of money you need to have in epf account 1 according to age is shown in the table below...if you have the amount on that very age you're able to take out 20% of the money to invest in unit trust...

the sales charge for epf investment is lower than cash investment which is around 3% only...so if you have that amount in your epf account better take out and invest in u.t...fyi, you cannot invest all the money in account 1 but 20% only...once your investment gain good profit and you decide to realize it the money will go back to your epf account...

This post has been edited by juloar: Jun 28 2014, 10:18 PM
chrommed
post Jun 29 2014, 11:27 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 6 2014, 09:47 AM)
oh... bit steep though.
true, but I am looking from a mid to long term investment perspective. As long as it gave me 10-15% per annum, I am okay with it. If you are looking for a short term investment, yes 6.5% is a lot to give. This is for my retirement. smile.gif

Pewufod
post Jul 6 2014, 09:41 PM

1,537 posts

sorry if this has been asked before
if i were to start investing in this particular trust
where should i head ?
any CIMB branches will do ?
ellyssa
post Aug 9 2014, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jul 6 2014, 09:41 PM)
sorry if this has been asked before
if i were to start investing in this particular trust
where should i head ?
any CIMB branches will do ?
hi Pewufod...

to start invest, u need to signed up the CWA agent,

FYI, i am attached with CWA, you may contact me too smile.gif

my number is 0196323037 - Fara

Thank you
shaz89
post Aug 19 2014, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(ellyssa @ Aug 9 2014, 02:55 PM)
hi Pewufod...

to start invest, u need to signed up the CWA agent,

FYI, i am attached with CWA, you may contact me too smile.gif

my number is 0196323037 - Fara

Thank you
Hi Fara. Want to ask u something regarding the returns for DALI.
i heard since 1998 till 2014 (16 years), the total returns is a bout 502%. if divided into 16yrs. thats mean the returns per annum is about 31%.

The thing is, i dont understand much what is the meaning of this 31% return p.a.
is it t the rate of dividend or cpital gain/loss + dividend?
chrommed
post Aug 20 2014, 07:55 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(shaz89 @ Aug 19 2014, 09:45 PM)
i heard since 1998 till 2014 (16 years), the total returns is a bout 502%. if divided into 16yrs. thats mean the returns per annum is about 31%.

The thing is, i dont understand much what is the meaning of this 31% return p.a.
Hi, since I am a CWA consultant also I'll chip in what I know. The return per annum of 31% is an average of cumulative returns for 16 years, not the average of capital gain + dividend per year. The longer you save the more cumulative returns you would get because of compounding interest mechanic. For each year returns the average would be around 10 - 15%, but on a good year it can go as high as almost 40% as what happen in 2009.

Hope this helps!
polkiuj
post Aug 20 2014, 10:58 AM

337 posts

Hi Shaz,

Unfortunately, that calculation is way out... Because of compounding returns, when you back calculate, you can't just take the returns and divide by the number of years.

Taking your example, if the total returns is 502% for 16 years, it means that the annualized return is 10.6%
- in this example u invest 10k and in 16 years u have 50.2k, U made 402% and the total return including capital is 502%

A quick search on DALI here shows that the fund started on 2011-06-30 and has a 5 year annualized return performance of 15.42%, which is pretty decent.

QUOTE(shaz89 @ Aug 19 2014, 09:45 PM)

Rashiddi
post Sep 23 2014, 02:38 AM

Want to know more about CIMB Principal Unit Trust, you may email me at shidi2001@yahoo.com or whatsapps me at 0123021871
Rashiddi
post Sep 23 2014, 02:40 AM

Double Up Your EPF Return, (10-15% P.A) & Double Up Your Monthly Income With Us!
CIMB DALI EQUITY GROWTH FUND is the best currently. Mid Risk.

oneeleven
post Sep 23 2014, 06:31 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(Rashiddi @ Sep 23 2014, 02:40 AM)
Double Up Your EPF Return, (10-15% P.A) & Double Up Your Monthly Income With Us!
CIMB DALI EQUITY GROWTH FUND is the best currently. Mid Risk.
Isn't it at peak prices now, too late to buy?
johnnyzai89
post Sep 24 2014, 09:12 AM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Aug 20 2014, 08:55 AM)
Hi, since I am a CWA consultant also I'll chip in what I know. The return per annum of 31% is an average of cumulative returns for 16 years, not the average of capital gain + dividend per year. The longer you save the more cumulative returns you would get because of compounding interest mechanic. For each year returns the average would be around 10 - 15%, but on a good year it can go as high as almost 40% as what happen in 2009.

Hope this helps!
Hi, I am interested to be a CWA Consultant. Could you pm/advise on what I should do please?
chrommed
post Sep 24 2014, 11:22 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Sep 23 2014, 06:31 PM)
Isn't it at peak prices now, too late to buy?
there is no such thing as peak price. no one can predict how high or how low it can go, and so far every year it has been going up despite what everyone says.

QUOTE(johnnyzai89 @ Sep 24 2014, 09:12 AM)
Hi, I am interested to be a CWA Consultant. Could you pm/advise on what I should do please?
sure, i'll PM ya.
oneeleven
post Sep 24 2014, 09:23 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Sep 24 2014, 11:22 AM)
...... and so far every year it has been going up despite what everyone says.
Maybe yes, no such thing as ONE peak but can be near one of the MANY periodic peaks (thus, also near a drop)?

The sales professionals may see it one way but we laymen buyers are looking at:

http://blogsahambaru.wordpress.com/2011/03...ty-growth-fund/

and trying to understand the sales pitch.
jonjack88
post Oct 22 2014, 10:27 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 24 2014, 10:47 PM)
i think thats the concerned of everybody of investment of that you cant control. Unfortunately, these @ss0 agent/bank officers doesnt seems to know what they are doing. They just 'sweet' mouth those those investors/tonnes of money but dont know what to do with them.

However, there are few distributor houses which you can do switching or increase or decrease them, pending on your judgement or trend in which you have some power on your 'investment' on 0% to 2% SC depends on distributor houses and promo. There are pro & con, but way better than those farking banks who charge at least 3 to 6.5% SC, without giving and guidance/insights/etc are really irresponsible people. They doesnt care if your investment goes down the drain, at end of the day, after 3 years, your ROI perhaps gain 1%, worst than putting in FD. Most (about 30 - 40%, will gain within a year), makes the bank officer who recommends you, helps you gain money, but in fact, they dont do anything. Most works goes to financial investment houses as per funds name. Good luck.
These links goes to these funds distributors, and they will guide you step by step by either calling them, email or chat.

1. link Philip Capital

2. link FSM
Wow!
neo_ollz
post Sep 9 2015, 03:44 AM

48 posts

Saya dah melabur dalam CWA lebih 5 tahun dan kesimpulan yang boleh saya buat ialah indah khabar dari rupa. Title wealth advisor tu baik tukar kepada “Tukang ambil Signature jer”. most agents yang saya kenal cuma nak kejar transactions sebab dapat 2% commission. They always told that the return is high but they didnt tell that the only way to get the return investment is by selling unit that you bought. Instead, they tell you to buy more. And bila kah masa yang sesuai untuk beli? mereka akan cakap masa harga unit turun, tapi bila dah sign document, diorang redah je beli at anytime they want. because of the transactions and commissions. Bila harga tiba2 turun, diorang akan cakap diorang pon tak expect benda tu turun, but another good time to buy more…

i would like to meet a different kind of agent yang betul2 boleh gandakan pelaburan dalam account saya. buat masa ni, 5 tahun pelaburan tak balik untung lansung kalau dibanding kan dengan membiarkan duit itu dalam account kwsp sendiri. (and yes, disebabkan faktor jumlah pelaburan yang dimasukkan dan waktu pembelian unit). Saya juga mencari agent yang betul2 boleh explain kenapa trending unit naik turun. bukan jumpa setahun sekali cerita bonus and mintak sign je.

kalau ada mana2 agent yang sanggup terima cabaran saya dan boleh buat saya kagum dengan perkhidmatan wealth advisor nya, at any time saya sanggup tukar ke agent tersebut. bole email saya at neoollz@gmail.com

Pelaburan saya tidak besar mana tetapi saya rasa saya layak dapat perkhidmatan runding cara yang lebih baik sebab 2% of every transaction boleh dikatakan banyak untuk perjumpaan sekali dua dalam setahun (4 x transactions in a year, tapi CWA WA jumpa sekali dua je..)
Ramjade
post Sep 9 2015, 09:31 AM

24,387 posts

QUOTE(neo_ollz @ Sep 9 2015, 03:44 AM)
Saya dah melabur dalam CWA lebih 5 tahun dan kesimpulan yang boleh saya buat ialah indah khabar dari rupa. Title wealth advisor tu baik tukar kepada “Tukang ambil Signature jer”. most agents yang saya kenal cuma nak kejar transactions sebab dapat 2% commission. They always told that the return is high but they didnt tell that the only way to get the return investment is by selling unit that you bought. Instead, they tell you to buy more. And bila kah masa yang sesuai untuk beli? mereka akan cakap masa harga unit turun, tapi bila dah sign document, diorang redah je beli at anytime they want. because of the transactions and commissions. Bila harga tiba2 turun, diorang akan cakap diorang pon tak expect benda tu turun, but another good time to buy more…

i would like to meet a different kind of agent yang betul2 boleh gandakan pelaburan dalam account saya. buat masa ni, 5 tahun pelaburan tak balik untung lansung kalau dibanding kan dengan membiarkan duit itu dalam account kwsp sendiri. (and yes, disebabkan faktor jumlah pelaburan yang dimasukkan dan waktu pembelian unit). Saya juga mencari agent yang betul2 boleh explain kenapa trending unit naik turun. bukan jumpa setahun sekali cerita bonus and mintak sign je.

kalau ada mana2 agent yang sanggup terima cabaran saya dan boleh buat saya kagum dengan perkhidmatan wealth advisor nya, at any time saya sanggup tukar ke agent tersebut. bole email saya at neoollz@gmail.com

Pelaburan saya tidak besar mana tetapi saya rasa saya layak dapat perkhidmatan runding cara yang lebih baik sebab 2% of every transaction boleh dikatakan banyak untuk perjumpaan sekali dua dalam setahun (4 x transactions in a year, tapi CWA WA jumpa sekali dua je..)
Gunalah fsm. Tak perlu bergantung pada agent. Tak perlu memberi mereka percutian percuma, tak perlu memberi mereka rumah baru.
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 9 2015, 10:49 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(neo_ollz @ Sep 9 2015, 03:44 AM)

Boss, if u don't sell, all your profit is in paper only...of course if no sell won't be able to TASTE the profit... doh.gif

Lagipun, past 1 year, market is bad. Profits are wiped out. That is market risk, no one can avoid that.

Gandakan pelaburan? If possible, that agent also no need to be agent already, pinjam along sendiri melabur lagi baik... yawn.gif

U invest in property, u might have bad tenant, rosakkan rumah, tak bayar sewa, takmau pindah...
U invest in gold...see what happened to gold price now?

Apa tu pelaburan? Pelaburan ada risiko...u ingat 100% sure profit?

Leave inside EPF...yes u have 5-6% every year.

Why do u take out from EPF? U wanna have MORE profit. There is no free lunch. U want POTENTIALLY more profit, u have to accept that there'd be risks.

Don't want risk? Diam-diam ambik je dividen EPF every year...

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 9 2015, 10:55 AM
SUSyklooi
post Sep 9 2015, 11:15 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 9 2015, 10:49 AM)
Boss, if u don't sell, all your profit is in paper only...of course if no sell won't be able to TASTE the profit... doh.gif

Lagipun, past 1 year, market is bad. Profits are wiped out. That is market risk, no one can avoid that.

Gandakan pelaburan? If possible, that agent also no need to be agent already, pinjam along sendiri melabur lagi baik... yawn.gif

U invest in property, u might have bad tenant, rosakkan rumah, tak bayar sewa, takmau pindah...

Why do u take out from EPF? U wanna have MORE profit. There is no free lunch. U want POTENTIALLY more profit, u have to accept that there'd be risks.

rclxms.gif so true, so direct to the point.
but it just make me want to vmad.gif mad.gif (just to release steam) biggrin.gif
thanks for the point blank shot to the brain. biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 9 2015, 11:19 AM

16,872 posts

Agents earn your commission from the sales charges

Yes, they can TELL u about the wonderful past profits. But do they PROMISE u that the future will be the same or even better? I doubt so. No responsible agent will PROMISE u profits.

Let's say a fund earned about 5% p.a. on average for the past 5 years.

If that fund earned 10% (i.e. 5% excess from past average) in this year, will u share that 5% excess with the agent? Won't right?

As such, when u lose money, don't curse the agent or even the fund manager. YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO DO SO. Period.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 9 2015, 11:20 AM
sam@bpp
post Sep 9 2015, 01:45 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 9 2015, 10:49 AM)

I agree with Pink Spider on the EPF. I think the inflation is higher than EPF dividend and take into account the depreciating of ringgit, one can consider to withdraw EPF to invest in potentially higher return funds which comes along with risk, of course.
Actually, EPF never guarantees to provide good dividend each year also.

This post has been edited by sam@bpp: Sep 9 2015, 01:47 PM
axymax
post Aug 3 2016, 03:34 PM

232 posts

I invested in CIMB DALI (epf) a long long time ago.
I can't eve remember how much I invested.
How to check the status?
T231H
post Aug 3 2016, 06:06 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(axymax @ Aug 3 2016, 03:34 PM)
How to check the status?
try contact them?
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/contactus.aspx

xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 06:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(axymax @ Aug 3 2016, 03:34 PM)
How to check the status?
Fuyoh! LYN has become the de-facto call-center of CWA
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 3 2016, 06:31 PM
johnnypun
post Dec 15 2017, 04:28 PM

Yeah, 5% range if not mistaken considered mid-risk profile. Wasn't in CIMB but tried Public Mutual's Unit Trust before and at that point it was a high-risk investment in Middle East. It generates about 10% per annum but it varies year-on-year.

QUOTE(sam@bpp @ Sep 9 2015, 02:45 PM)
I agree with Pink Spider on the EPF. I think the inflation is higher than EPF dividend and take into account the depreciating of ringgit, one can consider to withdraw EPF to invest in potentially higher return funds which comes along with risk, of course.
Actually, EPF never guarantees to provide good dividend each year also.
Tariq_H
post Sep 28 2021, 10:24 AM

664 posts

Hi guys, I want to withdraw and terminate my investments in cwa, return back money to kwsp. Please advice how? Any near cwa office around Shah Alam?

This post has been edited by Tariq_H: Sep 28 2021, 10:24 AM
MUM
post Sep 28 2021, 10:26 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ Sep 28 2021, 10:24 AM)
Hi guys, I want to withdraw and terminate my investments in cwa, return back money to kwsp. Please advice how? Any near cwa office around Shah Alam?
googled and found this.
hope this is what you seek...

CWA Shah Alam Branch
Seksyen 19
40200 Shah Alam, Selangor
Malaysia

Phone icon
+60 12-321 0269

https://foursquare.com/v/cwa-shah-alam-bran...944224bcdb50f29

kerjaluar
post Sep 28 2021, 10:27 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ Sep 28 2021, 10:24 AM)
you can actually use the EPF I-Akaun to redeem the unit trusts back to your EPF ... I did mine last month using that method.

Tariq_H
post Sep 28 2021, 10:34 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 28 2021, 10:26 AM)
googled and found this.
hope this is what you seek...

CWA Shah Alam Branch
Seksyen 19
40200 Shah Alam, Selangor
Malaysia

Phone icon
+60 12-321 0269

https://foursquare.com/v/cwa-shah-alam-bran...944224bcdb50f29
Tariq_H
post Sep 28 2021, 10:35 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(kerjaluar @ Sep 28 2021, 10:27 AM)
you can actually use the EPF I-Akaun to redeem the unit trusts back to your EPF ... I did mine last month using that method.
This is much better. How to do it?
MUM
post Sep 28 2021, 10:52 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ Sep 28 2021, 10:35 AM)
This is much better. How to do it?
while waiting for his response,...
i googled and found his,...
hope it can helps...
(i hv not try to use it, thus not sure it works)

page 43 onwards...
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/131...t=1566181467543

Tariq_H
post Sep 28 2021, 01:21 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 28 2021, 10:52 AM)
while waiting for his response,...
i googled and found his,...
hope it can helps...
(i hv not try to use it, thus not sure it works)

page 43 onwards...
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/131...t=1566181467543
tqvm..
daniellehu
post Sep 30 2021, 07:51 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(kerjaluar @ Sep 28 2021, 10:27 AM)
Thanks for the info! Has been wondering about this for quite sometimes!

0.0553sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:58 AM