Jul 23 2012, 01:23 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,451 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: The Vortex |
Yes it is a good idea to let men comment here because despite whatever, men and women are created to compliment each other.
Eventhough men and women also fight a lot, but that's where men and women learn more about each other. So if you wanna learn, buckle up and go fight, instead of lurking around at just your comfort zone. |
Jul 23 2012, 01:25 PM
606 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
how are u planning to restrict them from posting it here anyway ?
Jul 23 2012, 01:36 PM
140 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
you'll start seeing more "female" in LYN
Jul 23 2012, 01:39 PM
589 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2012, 12:19 PM) I've been thinking about this for a while, if it is a good idea to let men comment here in the girl's section. I wonder how other girls/forummers here agree with me. I agree. for example 3 post below you is all from menBefore anyone here goes freedom of speech and bla bla, this is a girl's thread anyway, with girl topics, why is there a need for men to discuss or post here anyway? Like a topic about bra issues or pap smear and such, i get seriously annoyed when i see men posting even though they know nothing and its only based on their own opinion and they try to pass it on as facts. And lol i think 50% of the comments in girl's club comes from men. Some of the men's comment here has been helpful,but sadly it's only a small percentage. How many times have you seen downright disrespectful or ignorant posts here?Girl's club is more like a ground of perversion for them, like posting here asking for sex. Under the condition of anonymity,they are free to troll and don't feel the need to respect women here. I believe all the trolls should just go to kopitiam, there is a huge variety of topics there, no? I said this before, and i do think girl's club is meant for girls/women to discuss with each other in a comfortable environment without unnecessary or unwanted intrusion by men. But i'm really interested to know what girls/women here think about this. |
Jul 23 2012, 01:43 PM
140 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2012, 12:19 PM) I've been thinking about this for a while, if it is a good idea to let men comment here in the girl's section. I wonder how other girls/forummers here agree with me. then why not ban the ones who comment/post asking for sex?Before anyone here goes freedom of speech and bla bla, this is a girl's thread anyway, with girl topics, why is there a need for men to discuss or post here anyway? Like a topic about bra issues or pap smear and such, i get seriously annoyed when i see men posting even though they know nothing and its only based on their own opinion and they try to pass it on as facts. And lol i think 50% of the comments in girl's club comes from men. Some of the men's comment here has been helpful,but sadly it's only a small percentage. How many times have you seen downright disrespectful or ignorant posts here?Girl's club is more like a ground of perversion for them, like posting here asking for sex. Under the condition of anonymity,they are free to troll and don't feel the need to respect women here. I believe all the trolls should just go to kopitiam, there is a huge variety of topics there, no? I said this before, and i do think girl's club is meant for girls/women to discuss with each other in a comfortable environment without unnecessary or unwanted intrusion by men. But i'm really interested to know what girls/women here think about this. why stop healthy discussion just because of some pervs? |
Jul 23 2012, 01:55 PM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Haiz..i'm the only girl who's speaking up on this...i'm so disappointed...maybe girls don't comment here at this thread, its not very girl friendly anyway.
I don't have any power to stop anyone from commenting, its all up to the mods. Girl's club mod, what do you think?? |
Jul 23 2012, 02:40 PM
2,451 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: The Vortex |
QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2012, 01:55 PM) Haiz..i'm the only girl who's speaking up on this...i'm so disappointed...maybe girls don't comment here at this thread, its not very girl friendly anyway. I think is because most girls here only want to advertise their blogs, online shop, etc etc.I don't have any power to stop anyone from commenting, its all up to the mods. Girl's club mod, what do you think?? Not many genuinely wanna chat and share and hang around. |
Jul 23 2012, 02:52 PM
427 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Well, at times the males do give a good feedback and we girls can actually learn from it.
Take it as a special tip. Sometimes males that you know IRL, may not dare or want to tell you why and how but at least the males here in LYN do sound out what they think. As we girls, who post here, also state what we THINK, but not entirely 100% facts because each individual is different, so there's always bound to be some conflicts here and there. FYI, i'm a girl. |
Jul 23 2012, 03:19 PM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
There are some pretty good guys here that give great advice and feedback. And I think that its a good thing that we can have some views from guys on certain topics as well. However, I agree there are many guys here that are disrespectful too. But to me, there's nothing much we can do. Just report to the moderator and they'll take the necessary actions. It's a public forum after all. Take in what you want, and ignore those that are just here to troll. I'm not bothered at all by men like that. Simple as that.
Jul 23 2012, 05:10 PM
4,361 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
if u dun allowed guys to reply here, i guess this section will be quite dead....
dun generalize, yes..true, some replies are not appropriate, but it's the offenders' fault, not guys in general. |
Jul 23 2012, 05:50 PM
93 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I think we should be open minded and let the men comment, just ignore or report the men that are causing problems.
Jul 23 2012, 07:41 PM
3 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: From Lala Land.. |
it is a win win situation..
Besides you will never know who is behind the computer... i may be a guy whom register this forum as a girl.... vice versa... so no point changing it |
Jul 23 2012, 08:30 PM
111 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2012, 01:55 PM) Haiz..i'm the only girl who's speaking up on this...i'm so disappointed...maybe girls don't comment here at this thread, its not very girl friendly anyway. Let me put it another way. Quality of post aside.I don't have any power to stop anyone from commenting, its all up to the mods. Girl's club mod, what do you think?? Every village has an idiot. Should we discount the opinion of other villagers because of one idiot? Entire village because of one idiot? The forum is an online community and it's population is growing everyday. It's like 5 villages mash up into a town, thus have 5 idiots. And that town mash up with other towns into a city; so on and so forth. Eventually, you will have enough idiots to sub group them. I have not even gotten into gender specific idiots. We have male pervs, we have female pervs. We have male trolls, we have female trolls. Everyone is expected to reply appropriately across the board. Now, quality of post: Should ignore the ideas and opinions entirely because of gender alone? Then we need to stop wearing bras and heels. What is girl friendly btw? Pink? Ribbons? Sugar, spice, and everything nice? If girls are having problems conforming, either speak up, make a difference and the world conform to them or adapt. Added on July 23, 2012, 8:44 pmTypos..as usual, i ate my words again. Too hungry. Men will always be men. They thought about how to effect the change in forum. We can have all the ideas but if it couldnt be implemented... Buang masa berhujah panjang See how they've just contributed to the topic? Report those that infringe the rules. This post has been edited by BlurSotong: Jul 23 2012, 08:44 PM |
Jul 23 2012, 10:07 PM
Sugar, spice and everything nice? Wow, thats quite a condescending post there
I do know some guys post some helpful stuff, but there seems to be more of these village idiots around. But since mod says there cant really be a resolution to this, i hope offensive/lewd posts will be deleted and mods take action more often. If it stays there, the person posting it might think its ok to do so. This post has been edited by SereneAshley: Jul 23 2012, 10:38 PM |
Jul 23 2012, 11:42 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I generally just report the offending persons. Responding to them the way you have in your other thread puts you in the line of fire as well.
Jul 23 2012, 11:50 PM
111 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
In case you havent noticed, sarcasm roll off my tonguewithout me noticing too. If i have offended you then i apologiae.
But, bot all mods are as laid back as i am. Take heed of spunkberry's warning. Added on July 23, 2012, 11:55 pm QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jul 23 2012, 10:07 PM) Sugar, spice and everything nice? Wow, thats quite a condescending post there So scrap off the subforum entirely?I do know some guys post some helpful stuff, but there seems to be more of these village idiots around. But since mod says there cant really be a resolution to this, i hope offensive/lewd posts will be deleted and mods take action more often. If it stays there, the person posting it might think its ok to do so. Again, we don't discount anyone because others think they should be.. This post has been edited by BlurSotong: Jul 23 2012, 11:55 PM |
Jul 24 2012, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jul 23 2012, 11:42 PM) I generally just report the offending persons. Responding to them the way you have in your other thread puts you in the line of fire as well. You mean responding the way i did in another thread?yes, i admit i shouldn't have done that as well. Anyway, i will take note of your suggestion, its better that way. |
Jul 31 2012, 01:01 AM
83 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Im a male with years of experience working in the lingerie industry. I helped female models dress up for events, catwalks, photoshooting, trying out new products etc so generally I assume myself having very advanced knowledge on choosing the right lingeries and the right ways of wearing them. I enjoy sharing my knowledge to my female friends too..so I hope it doesn't annoy anyone here if I'm replying your posts!
Jul 31 2012, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(EricLow @ Jul 31 2012, 01:01 AM) Im a male with years of experience working in the lingerie industry. I helped female models dress up for events, catwalks, photoshooting, trying out new products etc so generally I assume myself having very advanced knowledge on choosing the right lingeries and the right ways of wearing them. I enjoy sharing my knowledge to my female friends too..so I hope it doesn't annoy anyone here if I'm replying your posts! Nope, you're very much welcome to post here |
Jul 31 2012, 02:01 AM
5,094 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Land of make believe |
There's no way a subforum can be protected(e.g. Gender Tag) from unwanted groups, let alone a forum. We know that the "Guys stay OUT!" addition won't stop males from posting here, but as mentioned earlier, the
button is suffice to handle posts that are deemed offensive or inappropriate. Alternatively, PMing a mod will do the trick.No offence, but a discussion stays healthy would as long as people(male/ female) don't simply interfere with any off-topic posts/ hooligan behavior. On a side note, note that LYN doesn't have a Guys/ Men-only subforum. |
Jul 31 2012, 02:10 AM
717 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
After all, aren't girls fighting for equal rights as man ?
This post has been edited by kumanosuke: Jul 31 2012, 02:10 AM |
Jul 31 2012, 07:27 AM
116 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
wow...i didnt know we have girls forum in lyn...
and this is the first topic i saw..interesting... back to topic: as long as what they say is relevant to the topic and the say it in a good manner. its a public forum on internet..anyone in the world with internet connection can be here. as a male myself,i am ashamed with some of my species but not all of us have ill,perverted intentions. |
Jul 31 2012, 03:08 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Working in Singapore |
i'm fine with that.
Jul 31 2012, 03:43 PM
15 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Comm100 Network Corporation, Vancouver, Canada |
I agree with you.
I think men should not come to air their opinions in a girl's club. For they do not know girl's problems so well(most of them). They can come to read some information to know girls/women well nearby, but do not say something they actually not know. |
Aug 2 2012, 02:52 AM
116 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(Sabrina001 @ Jul 31 2012, 03:43 PM) I agree with you. I think men should not come to air their opinions in a girl's club. For they do not know girl's problems so well(most of them). They can come to read some information to know girls/women well nearby, but do not say something they actually not know. QUOTE(Aots Taccor @ Aug 1 2012, 09:46 PM) most =! all |
Aug 8 2012, 06:44 PM
50 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Perhaps we should start from the departing point of looking at people as humans first, men / women second.
Aug 9 2012, 12:03 AM
139 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Jiulai |
Anyone can change their Tag from female to male to unknown to male to female and so on. How do you want to restrict? I'm a female but I have no intention to reveal anything about my personal life anymore in virtual world due to my past experiences.
Like anyone said, it is either you ignore or report. Those unhealthy conversations can be discontinued if no one feeds it or ignore it. |
Aug 11 2012, 01:35 PM
307 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
With the influx of immature and emotional boys around here hurling insults at replies here without ever using their brains or discerning what's being said, I am starting to think this is just a bad idea. That's on top of the creepy and sometimes, misogynistic replies we get in certain threads..
I think I've had enough of the influx of immature and emotional boys to come in to insult (on wrong premises), and then find excuses to justify that they were right or they meant something else. Especially funny was being accused by some boy that I was a hothead when he was the one who actually misread what I wrote and was trying to insult me. This post has been edited by ChocChristy: Aug 12 2012, 01:51 AM |
Aug 11 2012, 05:22 PM
Some of the guys who posted here has a lot of nerve or are just plain idiots. Or don't understand the first post. Freedom of speech is there but it should be barred for those who abuse it. I think examples are not needed already. Its always good to hear from both sides but how many men give insightful comments? Its very rare. Instead we see a lot of those perverted or rude posts coming from them. Those talking about learning about each other are just plain ridiculous. Do you expect women to take harassment just for the sake of you commenting here? This post has been edited by SereneAshley: Aug 12 2012, 12:12 AM |
Aug 11 2012, 06:18 PM
138 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Normandy SR-2 |
Call out and report the idiots. Banning one group of people based on something as arbitrary as gender is a slippery slope
Aug 11 2012, 10:26 PM
24 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Cheras KL |
I think it's a good idea,as long as they give a good comment,that express the thoughts from the guys. But if they just wanna post useless answers to anger us,then they can just leave. Most of these are the short answers such as:
"Pft,ladies" "That is why women though stay in the kitchen" Sometimes we don't know how to they see things and can misunderstand them,so I agree that they can comment here. |
Sep 4 2012, 09:50 AM
675 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
please do not generalize both words, "male" and "fag"
I don't see any wrong if a guy is giving constructive, educative comments. On the other hand, fags usually come in and sabotage the thread regardless of the origin of the thread, they can be male, female, she-male, he-male, pengkid etc. Woot, who am I, a troller to state this here |
Sep 4 2012, 10:29 AM
3,173 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Man are all hamsap. All come in active is only in sex discussion.
Sep 4 2012, 12:10 PM
7 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Well I think its OK as I would like to see a different point of view anyways. Unless its regarding topics that they have no idea or experience in. Women tend to disregard some valid points and statement made by men sometimes without thinking twice just because we think men are just.. men.. haha
Sep 5 2012, 03:05 AM
58 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Klang mang! |
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Aug 11 2012, 01:35 PM) With the influx of immature and emotional boys around here hurling insults at replies here without ever using their brains or discerning what's being said, I am starting to think this is just a bad idea. That's on top of the creepy and sometimes, misogynistic replies we get in certain threads.. what the fck? this sounds like a personal squabble you had with one particular user. I think I've had enough of the influx of immature and emotional boys to come in to insult (on wrong premises), and then find excuses to justify that they were right or they meant something else. Especially funny was being accused by some boy that I was a hothead when he was the one who actually misread what I wrote and was trying to insult me. btw i'm a girl. |
Sep 5 2012, 08:47 PM
193 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(junbecks @ Jul 23 2012, 01:43 PM) then why not ban the ones who comment/post asking for sex? +1why stop healthy discussion just because of some pervs? btw, i dont mind men give comments here.kadang2 apa yg diorang komen tu betul jugak, kan? |
Sep 6 2012, 06:46 PM
66 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
im a guy but love giving comments on girls
Sep 7 2012, 03:28 AM
11,266 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 4 2012, 09:50 AM) please do not generalize both words, "male" and "fag" lolz! u bump this dead thread just 2 post this? I don't see any wrong if a guy is giving constructive, educative comments. On the other hand, fags usually come in and sabotage the thread regardless of the origin of the thread, they can be male, female, she-male, he-male, pengkid etc. Woot, who am I, a troller to state this here |
Sep 8 2012, 09:51 AM
5,648 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Jalan Tijani |
Allow but I think the moderation team should me more Strict like at Real World Issues section.
QUOTE **Strict moderation is enforceable, and there is zero tolerance for any rule violation. Do not post unless you understand the issue at hand and the rules** |
Sep 8 2012, 10:49 AM
100 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
> why is there a need for men to discuss or post here anyway? Like a topic about bra issues or pap smear and such, i get seriously annoyed when i see men posting even though they know nothing and its only based on their own opinion and they try to pass it on as facts.
I don't think it's a matter of 'is there a need' as much as it is a matter of whether their opinions are useful. The thing is, while these may be essentially issues relevant to women, men, too, possess curiosity and sometimes it could be they're doing their homework for the gf/wife/future partner, so that, you know, he knows what he's talking about when the information is needed. If you know that the male in question is trying to be a jackass, then put him in his place with facts. Shoot down his argument with solid data. Then he will know better than to just give his unwarranted and unprofessional opinion. If that's too much trouble, you can just ignore or report to the mods. >And lol i think 50% of the comments in girl's club comes from men. No comment on this one. I hardly come here anyway, but I do see more women posting than men in most threads. So maybe it could be that you're looking at different threads than I am. > Some of the men's comment here has been helpful,but sadly it's only a small percentage. How many times have you seen downright disrespectful or ignorant posts here? Girl's club is more like a ground of perversion for them, like posting here asking for sex. Under the condition of anonymity, they are free to troll and don't feel the need to respect women here. I believe all the trolls should just go to kopitiam, there is a huge variety of topics there, no? Again, no comment on this one. Usually if I see something wrong, I'll speak up on it, but since I don't come here often.... >I said this before, and i do think girl's club is meant for girls/women to discuss with each other in a comfortable environment without unnecessary or unwanted intrusion by men. Sometimes the male perspective is necessary and can even be a boon. But I think it is important that we emphasize that the quality of these inputs are a given. Perhaps the moderation team can make it so that men who post here possess a certain level of maturity and respect instead of allowing every tom, d*** or harry to comment. Freedom of speech comes with the obligation to be aware that there is no such thing as perfect, full freedom. |
Sep 10 2012, 01:53 PM
Sep 13 2012, 10:24 AM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Since this thread practically got necro-ed, here is the thing: @OP, you have to take into consideration the topology of users. What is the average user age group here. Secondly also the region. Where are the users from?
I realize I'll sound prejudiced but there isn't a better way to put this (Apologies in advance) Where as age isn't an accurate ruler for maturity, what else can anyone fall back on? Same goes from the regional topology. I visit other forum boards frequently and the flow of things are different (North Americans & Europeans for example) One hardly read replies like "tits or gtfo" "gerudi" "vroom vroom" emoticon replies and God knows what else. I mean what in the world is all these self-coined jargons? Do you honestly expect to speak about more private issues with boys who giggle like school girls at the mention of penis and vagina? They barely can control their hormones and it shows in their posts. Short answer is: What do you expect from such an age group and topology. I reckon if you re-calibrated your expectations, you may be less disappointed. Otherwise you'd have to just learn to glean the pearls from the trash. |
Sep 20 2012, 12:45 AM
542 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
There is no certain way you can 100% tell if the one who is posting is a male or female. Some girl who is active in /k/ could have act like male and post troll stuff.
Anyway, I am a male, I don't usually post answer on a topic here because I pm to only reply certain individual. I would post a question to ask for opinion or to learn certain things from girls that I can't get from /k/. To cut us all off from posting just because /k/ troll ham sup uncle post stupid comment on every thread seems to be unfair to those that is genuine don't you think? |
Sep 20 2012, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Sep 13 2012, 10:24 AM) I visit other forum boards frequently and the flow of things are different (North Americans & Europeans for example) One hardly read replies like "tits or gtfo" "gerudi" "vroom vroom" emoticon replies and God knows what else. I mean what in the world is all these self-coined jargons? indeed...thats y boards there r more informative than pile of crap here This post has been edited by skylinelover: Sep 20 2012, 07:31 PM |
Sep 27 2012, 06:05 PM
672 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
When the women comment on men that men find annoying, they (the women) will say "take it like a man!"
When men comment on women, as long as women don't like hearing it, regardless of how true it is, they will be quick shut it down by invoking women "privileges" No equality in this aspect, eh? This post has been edited by s2peMocls: Sep 27 2012, 06:06 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:25 AM |