Tech Support Hotmail and MSN access problem...

TStvcat
post Jan 24 2006, 03:33 PM, updated 20y ago

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

Router : Linksys WRT54G with HyperWRT V2.0
Modem : Aztech DSL600E

If i use dynamic IP (DHCP) for my pc then no problem, i want to do port forwarding so i set up static IP and forward the MSN port as told at the www.portforwarding.com, after that everything is running good, but just the Hotmail and MSN are inaccessible. I did some search and people say enable the UPNP but i dont want to because i think thats too risky... so any method to solve this problem?? thanks in advance...
Christopher_LKL
post Jan 24 2006, 03:35 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

its because streamyx having problem now ..... if u using 219 ip ....
goldfries
post Jan 24 2006, 03:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

why do you need to port forward?

i'm behind WRT54G also, all machines can use MSN Messenger no problem.
TStvcat
post Jan 24 2006, 03:40 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Christopher_LKL @ Jan 24 2006, 03:35 PM)
its because streamyx having problem now ..... if u using 219 ip ....
aiks so bad.....

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 24 2006, 03:36 PM)
why do you need to port forward?

i'm behind WRT54G also, all machines can use MSN Messenger no problem.
because i want to use BT tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tvcat: Jan 24 2006, 03:43 PM
prasys
post Jan 24 2006, 03:44 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I am using WRT54G , and I dont even need to port forward to allow MSN Messenger to work. If i enable it , MSN Messenger signs on really fast , if I disable it , it just takes 15-20 sec to sign on. Why not try to enable uPnP on , just to see that if that thing works or not. If it does not , then you should disable it

TStvcat
post Jan 24 2006, 03:49 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

OK!! i try that after the internation line back on XD. Me here 3:40pm down.....
prasys
post Jan 24 2006, 03:51 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Oh , I am not sure if your Frimware supports Static DHCP or not. But DD-WRT does

So all you have to do is put your MAC Address of the PC , and then the router will assign a Static IP to it. Everytime , you dont even have to set it in your PC. The router does that for you
tycheah_7
post Jan 24 2006, 04:14 PM

795 posts

msn n hotmail not able to access bcoz of streamyx international link is down...
this affects ip range 219.95.***
websites such as yahoo, tomshardware and all international sites affected.
call streamyx @ 1300-88-9515 to report.

im using 218 and works fine now...
Suk
post Jan 24 2006, 04:18 PM

2,330 posts

ho ho ho.... i solved the problem login to MSN liao...

1. open ur msn
2. tool > option > connection >
3. connection troubleshooter
4. click 'START'
5. wait for a minute
6. Key Port -> FAILED
7. click 'repair'
8. Key Port -> PASS
9. login MSN now..

hope this will help
TStvcat
post Jan 24 2006, 04:31 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,884 posts

....very paiseh leh....
but thanks for the people who help tongue.gif

prasys : i switch to DD-WRT and using static DHCP working very good now thanks.....
goldfries
post Jan 24 2006, 05:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 24 2006, 03:40 PM)
aiks so bad.....
because i want to use BT tongue.gif
then you port forward your BT port only. MSN Messenger no need to be port forwarded.

0.0163sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:39 PM