8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V5, Please read page#1 FAQ before posting :)

TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 11:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Aug 29 2012, 11:06 PM)
Hmmm I have a question, since AMEX is still not widely accepted yet (referring the list in "Places That Accept AMEX Thread"), basically it is hard to utilize the 5% cash back on weekends? Petrol stations also so limited hmm.gif

or am I making some mistake? sweat.gif
Your statement is very general. Only you know if the AMEX is good for you. Even on weekdays, the AMEX is better than any card (not considering discount with a particular merchant with a specific card) in the market for local spending. Having said that, if you not in Klang Valley and do not spend money at chain stores , yah, AMEX may not be suitable for you.

If you wiling to list your spending pattern and where, go to CC Recommendation Thread and maybe I can assist you further.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 29 2012, 11:25 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 1 2012, 12:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Sep 1 2012, 12:35 PM)
Hmmm. 2 sides of a story for the 0% promo. Perhaps guanteik can share which HN that you purchased from. hmm.gif
Previously it was confirmed by MilesAndMore that for new iPad, HV and SenQ (if not mistaken), they have some conditions (need to buy accessories) for installment plans because their profit margin is kind of low.
TSGen-X
post Sep 1 2012, 12:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 1 2012, 12:45 PM)
Apple producst are "exclusive" at Harvey Norman... so kena 2% processing fee. This is true for Distributor controlled price.
To clarify above, if one buys an Apple product with 1 swipe at Harvey Norman with any credit or charge card, there is no processing fee whatsoever. Can use On The Spot to redeem voucher with Treats Points too to pay for any Apple Product and once again no extra fee whatsoever.

TSGen-X
post Sep 1 2012, 06:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 1 2012, 04:34 PM)
Man, the guy at HV Pavillion insisted that I have to pay 2% extra if I pay by card either at one-go or installment. But, if I buy some accessories such as a stylus pen, screen protector or an iPad cover, then they won't charge me the 2% extra.
Bro, come to think of it, my statement may be inaccurate for the new iPad. So far I have bought 3 iPads at different HV outlets paying using On The Spot Redemption vouchers and rest with 1 swipe BUT I did buy a cheap cover together for all 3 of them. Maybe that' why I was not told about the 2% surcharge. And I also bought a iPad2 at Machine just before the new iPad was launched because HV no stock and that one did not buy any cover and no surcharge with MBB2 AMEX.
TSGen-X
post Sep 1 2012, 06:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 1 2012, 06:11 PM)
I bought my iPod Touch + vouchers redemption from HV, no surcharge at all. Is it because mine is below RM 1k?
Yeah, using AmEx. biggrin.gif
These days Machines doesn't accept AmEx anymore. Been reported by few forummers... sad.gif
For iPod Touch, I also can confirm no surcharge at Harvey Norman because I bought 2 from them (different outlets again) and no surcharge with 1 swipe. It's not because of the amount, but more for specific product like the new iPad where the demand is good.

Yah, Machine outlets may not accept AMEX nowadays. That's true. Two weeks ago, bought a iPod Nano watch strap for my daughter at a Machine outlet and they don't accept AMEX.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 1 2012, 06:20 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 1 2012, 11:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Sep 1 2012, 10:54 PM)
I think I'm wrong. Maybe the additional interest charge is from other banks T&C (Citibank perhaps).

Yah, I remember reading Citibank T&C where they do have a clause stating that there will be a fee if one goes above the credit limit.

But I have yet to come across any clause for MBB cards in respect on one going over CL.
TSGen-X
post Sep 2 2012, 01:39 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Sep 2 2012, 01:17 AM)
Mind to tell me how to set? Didn't see such options in M2U..=.=..
Why you never read this important thread tongue.gif

Just call MBB CS and tell them you want SMS alert amount to be RM1 and above. And I believe we should thank hye and others who have called MBB early this year and requested that they allow us to set the default value to RM1 rclxms.gif
TSGen-X
post Sep 3 2012, 04:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Sep 3 2012, 02:12 PM)
another question regarding the subcard i'm using

i saw the TP i accumulated under my acc, but how do i combine my points with the principal card holder for redemption?
if you go do redeem on the spot at Parkson or Harvey Norman for example, the system will auto deduct for you (or you can even choose where you want the points to be deducted from). When Calling CS, tell them to use your Supp cards points or vice-versa.
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2012, 12:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yarusaru @ Sep 3 2012, 11:34 PM)
is MBB AMEX that good compare to others? im also looking into this. But i never had MBB or AMEX car before. Maybe u can help explain abit to me the benefits  nod.gif
Well, if you got time, below are some of my articles which should tell you a lot why the Maybankard 2 Card AMEX is one of the best credit card for local spending.

Read my review of the Maybankard 2 Cards for an idea what it offers.

Read this to see Maybankard 2 AMEX versus Standard Chartered Bank Busniess credit card.

Click here to my review of MACH by Hong Leong Bank where I have a table comparing MACH vs. OCBC Titanium MasterCard versus Maybankard 2 AMEX vs UOB One Card versus Citibank Platinum Cash Back.

Click here to see On The Spot Treats Points Redemption for my Toshiba Notebook and also about Enrich Point Redemption.

Click here to read my article FREE Money from Maybankard and Bonus Link

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2012, 12:59 AM
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2012, 12:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mohdshafie00 @ Sep 4 2012, 12:56 AM)
Basically just go and stroll into gen-x blog. Almost everything explained there. I did read your blog (the previous website) before i apply for CC. Very suitable for starters like myself  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(chronous @ Sep 4 2012, 06:56 AM)
Yup, very true. His website is very useful for the first timers like me.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Kudo2012 @ Sep 4 2012, 08:21 AM)
Me too, started to cancel my EON bank card and applied MBB2 card and OCBC Titanium after read his blog..
Thank you Bros for taking the time to post above and "recommending" others to read my blog smile.gif

Back in mid 2011, in my Thank You Message & Guide To My Credit Cards (my first blog), I did announced to the world that the reason why I started blogging back in 2009 was because many LYN members were too lazy to do a search and keep asking the same question over and over again. I am sure you guys noticed this laziness too at this thread. Actually, back in 2009, we only had 1 single thread for credit cards at Finance Section and it would be kind of tedious of members here to go search every single pass thread. So with my blogging, I can find the relevant info quickly and paste my article with detail info instead of retyping here over and over again.

Then early this year in February, I started another new blog and one of the reason was because people like ronnie, gerradling and many others were complaining about my black background in My Credit Cards. Click here to read my Notice at GenX GenY GenZ : www.generationsxyz.blogspot.com on why I consolidated all my blogs into one.

But last month, exactly after 6 months I started the above mentioned blog, I started another blog also called GenX GenY GenZ but at www.genxgenygenz.blogspot.com and the reasons explained in my post New Blog Again, hahaha which should load faster.

Once again, I would like to thank all of you who have read my articles (where most are freaking long winded, hehe); and, as such, makes it worthwhile for me to write them. I do appreciate it when anyone of you thank me or post a compliment; but, please don't feel offended if I do not acknowledge it here because it will be considered spamming if I were to just post and say thank you.

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Sep 4 2012, 09:55 AM)
Hi all, do you guys pay your statement amount on due date? Or only minimum amount (5%) on due date then remaining balance before the next statement date?

Say my statement was on 18-Aug with RM1,000 balance to pay

01-Sep I got RM50 credited for the 5% rebate and this already covers the min payment required

So if I skip my due date on 07-Sep then pay the balance of RM950 before 18-Sep will I get charged for any interest?

This is how I do for my other cards but not sure this is applicable for Maybank
If you have M2U, does the Outstanding Balance decreases by the same amount when the Cash Back is credited?

Call MBB CS and ask once the cash back is credited to confirm your above contents.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 4 2012, 10:22 AM)
interest will be charged
always pay fully your statement amount on or before due date

which other bank that you did so (pay minimum) and not get charge interest?
Bro, his case possible. Since his Due Date is on the 7th and MBB usually credit the cash back early of the month, technically with the Cash Back credited into his account, the Outstanding Amount Due should also decrease. But I really don't see the point of it as next month back to square one. Worst off, if the cash back was not credited for some reason, kena interest for nothing.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2012, 01:01 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2012, 02:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 4 2012, 02:23 PM)
Question - going to Thailand soon, I heard there's different conversion rates for Amex and VISA, where do I go to check those? Or is it just that AMEX will double-convert (local baht to USD to RM)?
Please read Page#1 where there is a table by jchong on overseas conversion rate and read this thread on credit card Foreign Exchange Rate.
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2012, 06:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 4 2012, 02:50 PM)
no worry regarding the cash back part
he was saying the RM50 cash back received is same as the min payment, so he was thinking of not paying the rest of the RM950 (statement due - the min payment) by the due date
Bro, my bad, did not read carefully he was intending not to pay a single sen for his "August" Statement.

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Sep 4 2012, 01:37 PM)
However, I think I should do full settlement on/before 7-Sep

My current experience with other foreign banks incorporated in Malaysia, as long as I paid up minimum payment on or before due date and remaining bal before the next statement date I did not get any interest charge
Do you mind telling us which foreign banks you referring to?

As far as I know, for non-Islamic credit cards, all major commercial and foreign banks clearly state that interest will be imposed if one only pays the minimum 5%. And according to BNM guidelines, they are to highlight this and they do (behind your statement or a separate piece of paper including the formula and some with example too).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2012, 06:26 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 5 2012, 09:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kyokusanagi @ Sep 5 2012, 08:53 AM)
If you know how it works, explain for me and all of new user please rclxms.gif
Click here to my Credit Card Tutorial Page for FREE credit card tuition tongue.gif

TSGen-X
post Sep 6 2012, 12:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(patrick4623 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:02 PM)
i know this 1
but need to purposely take leave and go apply this meh
how to know maybank roadshow at where?
If you go to M2U --> Cards --> Maybankard 2 Cards webpage, you can see a link for you to download the application form and number to call for more info.
TSGen-X
post Sep 8 2012, 12:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Sep 8 2012, 11:37 AM)
In the first page FAQ, it say we do not need to return the acknowledge letter...do you mean this? >> "Your New Maybankard Smart Card" form hmm.gif
the Maybankard is our normal ATM card? I got confused sweat.gif
Firstly - this is Maybankard 2 Cards Thread.. so the FAQ only applies to Maybankard 2 Cards and not other MBB Cards.

Usually when our credit card is approved, it will be in a sealed envelope and enclosed is a document for us to acknowledge receipt. If we collect the card from the bank branch, they will make us sign on the document confirming that we have taken the card. However, if the credit card is sent to us by post/courier, we do not need to sign it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 8 2012, 12:54 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 9 2012, 10:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Sep 9 2012, 01:55 AM)
I did a PayPal transaction (>RM2k) on Monday 12noon sharp.. Didn't get the 20% cash back.. cool2.gif
QUOTE(celaw @ Sep 9 2012, 12:37 PM)
I did it on 16 July.. Purposely did it at 12 noon as I thought PayPal transaction would be -12 hours as the address I paid is based in US.. There goes my RM50 if I did it on weekend... doh.gif
Do you know that USA has several time zones and not every where is -12 hours difference.

Why you never read Page#1 where I posted MilesAndMore telling you guys specifically what time to use your card for Pay Pal.

Monday 12noon Malaysia time = Sunday Pay Pal HQ time.

However, you should get the RM50 since it would be on a Sunday.
TSGen-X
post Sep 9 2012, 11:39 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Sep 9 2012, 11:05 PM)
Hi Gen-X, the transaction date fall on Monday itself...
Well, beats me why it is so. So I guess from your post we can learn 2 things:

1. After Monday midday the probability of winning th cash back is very slim. Like I mentioned in my article American Express 20% Cash Back we have to charge at 12.01am Monday morning to win it, hahaha. People do actually go clubbing on Sunday till wee hours in the morning around KL. Also the malls open at 10.30am, and that's when your probability of the cash back gets slimmer by the minute. I bet there will be more than 100 people using their AMEX between 10.30am and 12pm.

2. Online transactions cannot assure us we may win the cash back.

Anyway, 3 years ago I did win a Longines watch using my AMEX Charged Card for an online transaction to pay for part of my son's Uni tuition fee in US. Same condition like first come first serve basis. However I cannot remember if I did the transaction after midnight or after midday.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 9 2012, 11:41 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 9 2012, 11:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Sep 9 2012, 11:47 PM)
Wow Longines watch.  drool.gif

How much you spend on the transaction for the lovely gift?  notworthy.gif
If not mistaken the contest was for first 3 or 5 person who spent RM8K. I charged a bit more than that but not a lot more because AMEX credit card or charge card overseas conversion fee is one of the highest! However I did enrol for Turbo points so I got back 1.5% cash back (200MR = RM1 rebate) with all my AMEX Gold Charge Card transactions.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 9 2012, 11:54 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 10 2012, 10:53 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 10 2012, 10:16 AM)
actually 12 noon malaysian time = 12 am MONDAY US time for the east coast.

Best time to use paypal is Actually Malaysian 12 pm - 1pm SUNDAY. Cause it most places in the world it would be a weeked (Either a Saturday or a Sunday)
Yah, that's why I said there are many time zones in US, PayPal HQ located in the west coast. So 12 noon Malaysia Time = Sunday Pay Pay HQ time.

So bro, are you saying that paypal time of transaction is recorded as 12 hours difference (seems to be that case based on celaw's case).

TSGen-X
post Sep 10 2012, 01:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 10 2012, 11:48 AM)
to be honest only 4 major ones

http://www.timetemperature.com/tzus/time_zone.shtml

And most of the time it would either be PST or EST. I always assume EST cause that is the worse case scenario.

My experience is it charged according to the local time of the merchant,
Yah, I am of the same opinion that transaction will be recorded in accordance to merchant's time or wherever the online transaction processing office is located (some are outsourced like Air Asia).

As for the worst case scenario you mentioned, yah I will agree with you to charge the card on Sunday around 12pm-1pm if one is going after the weekend 5% cash back. However for celaw's case, where he's going after the 20% cash back (which starts on a Monday), wouldn't the worst scenario be PayPal HQ time (which is now 15 hours behind) instead?

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:25 PM