8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V5, Please read page#1 FAQ before posting :)

TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 02:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 12 2012, 02:42 PM)
For your information, MBB acquired all of Amex's card business in Malaysia in mid-2006. Since August 2006, all Amex-branded charge and credit cards (with the centurion head) in Malaysia has been issued by MBB. Both MBB and HLB also issues co-branded Amex cards (without the centurion head) with the logos of the respective banks on it.

To the best of my knowledge, the call centre is still separate from MBB and are trained to a higher standard. All MBB card centres and branches in MY can handle Amex-branded card matters and you can pay your Amex-branded statements via all normal MBB methods.
Is acquired the "correct" term to use? Can I say AMEX outsource Malaysia operations to Maybank instead?

As for training, I feel its more like MBB CS were trained by Ex-AMEX staff.
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 03:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 12 2012, 02:56 PM)
Thanks for the links Bro.

From MBB Press Release, what I understand is that there is an agreement between them that allows MBB to issue AMEX cards and merchant acquiring (i.e. to get more business for AMEX).

In MBB Press Releases, two AMEX personnel used the word "partnership" and one said "help us to expand our brand franchise" which means AMEX is the Franchisor and Maybank is the Franchisee. Which means also Amex still gets a cut from Maybank's AMEX card operations.

However, since we don't have a copy of the Agreement, we got no idea if the license is renewable or for a specific period and on what grounds AMEX can take back the license.

The other links provided did use the words "buy" and "acquired", but those are kind like a news report where the reporter may not understand in full what is in the Agreement.

And Bro, thanks for correcting us by mentioning "Centurion Head" whereby I mentioned Trojan Head earlier based on WaCKy's Trojan Horse Logo, hahaha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 03:53 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 12 2012, 11:51 PM)
Of course the Amex trademark and other rights still belongs to Amex which is why it needs to be licensed to MBB. Outsourcing is the wrong term because if the operations was outsourced, Amex will need to pay MBB and not the other way around.
That's the beauty part of this agreement, AMEX outsource their card operations here in Malaysia and they get paid and not the other way round tongue.gif

Anyway, the Agreement was termed as Business Transfer Agreement and not Sale Agreement.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 13 2012, 12:43 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 16 2012, 08:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Aug 16 2012, 04:39 AM)
When I apply through 1Utama card center..they never mention to me about this..it will automatic credited to our account at the month end?  hmm.gif
Bro, it's like a contest. first come first serve and for cards approved on 2 July - 10 September. Imn other words, it is not guaranteed.

Click here to read my article 20% Cash Back with AMEX and RM100 Bonus Cash Back.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 16 2012, 08:13 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 20 2012, 01:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 20 2012, 01:35 AM)
Guys, because i bought a car and loan from maybank, it's my main bank as well and salary goes in there, someone from maybank called me telling me that maybank is giving pre approved credit card. May i know what is that? I did not have much time to talk to the lady on the phone so did not ask.
They offering you their credit card without you needing to submit any form perhaps. Go get the Maybankard 2 Cards but make sure it is genuine call from Maybank. When they call you? Today Hari Raya also got marketing people so hard working?
TSGen-X
post Aug 22 2012, 08:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

TP-inflation or not, it cannot be denied Maybankard 2 AMEX is still the best for unlimited local spending smile.gif
TSGen-X
post Aug 23 2012, 04:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:09 AM)
Perhaps other banks kiasu and kiamsiap on giving out rebates.  sweat.gif
But MBB2 not much of promotions and privileges offered compared to OCBC (1 for 1 GSC but already expired  doh.gif ) or Citi. Citi got lots of fine dining, promotions such TGV ..blah blah...  rclxub.gif

In other words, MBB also kinda kiamsiap in their promotions and privileges.  rclxub.gif
If you can only choose one credit card, which card would you choose? tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Aug 23 2012, 01:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:41 PM)
Yippie... I got a Raya angpow.  rclxm9.gif

[attachmentid=3012555]
Congrats Bro. What card you use to earn it?
TSGen-X
post Aug 24 2012, 12:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 24 2012, 12:08 PM)
just wan to ask, i can redeem my TP in 1u for voucher on weekend right?
yes, you can. but the vouchers are limited to certain merchants. Go to MBB website --> Treats Points and they will show you what vouchers can be redeemed at 1U on the spot.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 24 2012, 12:19 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 24 2012, 02:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Today I used my Maybankard 2 AMEX at Baskin Robbins and got 10% discount again smile.gif even though it's for Visa or MasterCard only as stated their website.
TSGen-X
post Aug 26 2012, 09:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Aug 26 2012, 01:26 AM)
I call to CS for using the TP to do the redemption since last month. But until now still not credit GST back for me at all. Is that need at least month or what?  rclxub.gif
Like fruitie mentioned, better call CS, should not take more than a week.
TSGen-X
post Aug 27 2012, 02:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Aug 27 2012, 02:01 PM)
Hi guys,

If I purchase something over weekend using paypal. but charge under AMEX.

I get my 5%?
read post #3
TSGen-X
post Aug 27 2012, 02:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Aug 27 2012, 02:10 PM)
I see,

If let say I bought something 100USD.
The calculation is it

100usd * Conversion Rate ( 3.1) Example  = RM 310 ?

Any extra charges by bank or paypal?
Calculation example is correct assuming that the conversion rate is 3.1

Charges by bank? Not sure what you mean, but there are some charges besides conversion rate fee if use RHB online transfer to paypal (or was it vice-versa).

For PayPal? Go read the terms and conditions or check your account perhaps?
TSGen-X
post Aug 27 2012, 08:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Aug 27 2012, 07:44 PM)
planning to buy apple products from apple store
can i call up maybank cs to request them i would like to pay by installment for the items?

No, at least not for 0% installment plan.

TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 10:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Aug 29 2012, 10:05 AM)
Seriously Im in jelly mood every time open this thread. Here and there people winning RM100. I don't even get sms from them eventho constantly spent 1.5k to 2k per month.  yawn.gif
Bro, I feel you, same for me too. But look at the bright side, if you have been using the MBB2 AMEX for above mentioned amount monthly, you will have about 100,000 TP in a year to redeem RM500 cash voucher smile.gif

Anyway, congrats to all of you wining the RM100 rebate.

Waiting for someone here post he/she won the 328i with MasterCard, 100% won't be me because I do longer hold a MBB MasterCard.
TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 07:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mark001 @ Aug 29 2012, 07:02 PM)
How do i activate maybank2u for my maybankard 2?
It's mentioned in Post#1
TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 09:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Aug 29 2012, 09:05 PM)
Errmm..I think u all misunderstood me....I already use maybank cc for almost half year de.....every month I can see my bill have the RM50CR for the Amex card....

But suddenly this month, there is no RM50CR at my cc bill statement for my main amex card but I saw got a RM14CR at my supplementary card.....

Any1 encounter this before??is this a mistake from maybank??

Sorry for confusing u all here...... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Call CS and ask them lah, how we know why you not credited RM50. And report back here why you not credited the RM50 and your supp got the RM14 instead.
TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 09:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mark001 @ Aug 29 2012, 09:23 PM)
I read already and i have a saving account but how to link it?
Bro, you have a savings account and M2U too? Anwyay, just go to MBB branch to sign up for M2U if you have not.
TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 09:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mark001 @ Aug 29 2012, 09:41 PM)
i have a saving acc as well as M2U. but im holding the supp card so can it link to my personal saving account?
Aiyah, why you earlier post half info only.. supp card.

Well, if the Principal card holder has M2U, he/she can view your details. Not sure about Supp card. why don't you call CS and report here and then I post at Page#1 FAQ.

**Edited**

I just checked with my wife, when she sign up M2U for her Principal MBB 2 Cards, it did automatically included her supp AMEX Gold Charge Card from me. So I guess it is possible for you to have your supp card details in your M2U account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 29 2012, 09:54 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 29 2012, 10:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jonjack88 @ Aug 29 2012, 09:57 PM)
My card has been approved! double joy.. lol
Aiyah, why you did not refer to me when you wanted the MBB 2 Card... tongue.gif

Spread the joy to your boss lah and all HLB staff and MBB will reward you too with cash voucher or Treats Points (up to end September) biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:49 PM