8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V5, Please read page#1 FAQ before posting :)

TSGen-X
post Jul 28 2012, 02:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jul 28 2012, 02:43 PM)
Hi all, wanted to ask. Did the merchant allow to write our credit card full 16 digit number when they issue an invoice?. I m worried now
Yah. some of them do that. My phone dealer has been do that ever since I can remember.
TSGen-X
post Jul 28 2012, 03:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jul 28 2012, 03:00 PM)
is it secure?. I pay my bill at celcom just now. Their merchant copy got show my 16digit number (others merchant blank certain number). They not able to generate computer invoice. So they issue me the manual invoice with hand writting. Until now still panic. It's because i read a news in The Star newspaper few days ago regarding credit card imitation
Bro, you worry too much. Have you ask MBB to reset your SMS alert to RM1? IF not, go read this Thread.

What is the difference between manual and your data being captured in the merchant's system? When you go pay bills at restaurant, and the card is out of your sight for like 3 minutes, they also can copy your info lah.

And if you still worried about this tomorrow, better you just cancel your card and use cash tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 28 2012, 03:13 PM
TSGen-X
post Jul 28 2012, 10:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Jul 28 2012, 09:36 PM)
Just want to find out, when does Maybank send us the hardcopy statement every month for the final bill?
Yes as long as you don't go for the paperless option in M2U.
TSGen-X
post Jul 29 2012, 09:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Jul 29 2012, 09:04 PM)
the fellow just said that no need to apply n just verbally confirm if i wan it then they will put in application (but still subject to approval from Maybank). The thing i fell weird is that he can see all my transactions in the saving account.
if you don't have to disclose your personal info and simply accepting the card by sayig YES, I guess it should be genuine. And it is not weird for a bank staff to see our banking records in the bank's system if they are authorised to access to it. Go to any bank, give them your NRIC and everything about your account(s) can be seen on the monitor.
TSGen-X
post Jul 29 2012, 11:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 29 2012, 10:04 PM)
Cannot la. Combo card, must have two.
If like this, I think none of us wants to keep our VISA/MasterCard. laugh.gif
The Visa/MC card does have it own benefits. For example 6% discount with Agoda and 0% Ezp Pay at many merchants.

For MC, free gift at selected shopping malls during festive seasons too (T&C applies).
TSGen-X
post Jul 29 2012, 11:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 29 2012, 11:12 PM)
Yeah, you are right. The only thing that I find it attractive (for me la) is the Agoda's 6% discount. biggrin.gif
Gonna use it again for my Hanoi trip and probably Singapore trip next month. thumbup.gif
and as Human Nature pointed out , the Visa/MC may benefit you overseas with the lower overseas conversion rate lower compared to AMEX (but if you consider the AMEX 5XTP and as shown by jchong, the AMEX does beat the Visa/MC]. You just have to decide you want to pay less upfront or pay more and redeem the points later.

and maybe in Hanoi not many places accept AMEX?

oh forgot to add, the Visa/MC also comes in handy when on the highways and need to pump petrol at Petronas where the AMEX may not be welcome

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 29 2012, 11:22 PM
TSGen-X
post Jul 29 2012, 11:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 29 2012, 11:24 PM)
What I meant was to use my VISA to book my hotel using Agoda, not using the cards in overseas. tongue.gif
I seldom use CC in overseas unless emergency, try to control my expenses within my budget. tongue.gif

Now that I have the OCBC Ti, I have not swiped/used my MBB VISA anymore. Always combo OCBC Ti with MBB AmEx. biggrin.gif
Wait till you hit the OCBC monthly cap one day, then you may find your Visa useful, haha

TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 09:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ Aug 1 2012, 09:34 PM)
hi all ,

a question that might asked before

If i pump petrol with AMEX during weekend , will i get 5x reward point and discount ?
QUOTE(JonnY @ Aug 1 2012, 09:46 PM)
5x reward point everyday with AMEX.
and on weekend (Saturday and Sunday) Plus additional 5% cash back but capped at RM50/month .
TSGen-X
post Aug 3 2012, 05:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 3 2012, 11:16 AM)
My application was 2 weeks ago, last Thursday/Friday they sms saying will give verification call 'soon', until now no news.... what can I do about it?
Can CS 1800 88 9559 AMEX or 1800 88 1801 MBB Platinum to check status of application.
TSGen-X
post Aug 4 2012, 01:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 4 2012, 01:04 AM)
I think this is applicable for recent applicants.
I registered mine since last year and have no issue to PayPal till date, don't need to call them for any transaction.
I guess also it depends if one has use the card for pay pal before.

For example, my wife try to use her own MBB 2 AMEX to book Air Asia ticket but was declined. My MBB 2 AMEX on the other hand has no issue and always go thru without any problems.
TSGen-X
post Aug 5 2012, 07:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 5 2012, 05:46 PM)
Since you are new to CC, I suggest you to read up this write up by Gen-X when you have the time:
http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2012/02...cards-earn.html
Thank you Bro, save me the time to click and paste the link smile.gif

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Aug 5 2012, 06:12 PM)
Don't forget OCBC Ti got auto rebate GST RM50 if you spent more than RM10K a year rclxms.gif
But with MBB 2 AMEX, spend RM2K = 10,000 points to offeset GST. Spend another RM8K get 40,000 TP can redeem about RM200 cash vouchers wink.gif

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 5 2012, 06:08 PM)
i'm blur.. 5% or the 0.74% (8.88% devide by 12)? or 0.74+5% or what? can give example?
Read my articles Credit Card Beginners by clicking on the link given by Human Nature above and by the time you graduate by completing the free tuition, you'll be an expert on credit cards smile.gif that is if you can understand what I wrote, hahaha

The 5% or usually RM50 is the amount you must pay before the Due Date. If you pay less than this amount, your credit history will be tarnished. You may face difficulties in getting future credit facilities like car loan, housing loan and even more credit cards.

The 8.88% is the interest rate that will be imposed onto your Outstanding Balance if you fail to pay in full before the Due Date. If you pay in full the Outstanding Balance stated in your monthly Statement before the Due Date, no interest will be imposed.

Since you are new to credit card, here is some advance info before you read my articles:

1. If you got M2U, Do Not opt for paperless statement i.e. view Statements online. Get paper statements for few months so that you are familiar with the terms Statement Date, Due Date, Outstanding Balance and other terms. You still can view your transactions online at M2U even tho you do not opt for paperless statement.

2. Once you get your Paper Statement, look out for the Statement Date. - What you will notice is that all transaction(s) you made before this date is(are) shown but not the ones you did after that. For example. Your Statement Date is on the 10th of August 2012, and you did a transaction of RM100 on 9th August 2012 i.e. before the Statement Date. You also did a transaction on 11th August for RM200. Your Statement will only show Outstanding Balance of RM100.

3. So on 15 August you receive your Statement by mail. You will note Statement Date 10th August 2012, Due Date 30 August 2012 and Outstanding Balance RM100. The RM200 transaction on 11 August won't be shown and you do not need to pay this until the following month.

4. You have to make minimum payment of 5% or RM50 (can't remember if MBB reduced this amount to RM25 or whatever). Since 5% of RM100 is RM5 only, Your minimum payment shall be RM50 and this will be reflected in the Statement you received.

5. Make payment of RM100 (Outstanding Balance) before Due Date 20th August 2012 and you won't be imposed a single sen of interest.

6. But if you only make payment of RM50 (the minimum amount required), you will then have Outstanding Balance of RM50 and this mean you have given up your rights to the interest free period and you are then imposed interest of 8.88%. And the RM200 transaction you did on 11 August may be subjected to interest.

7. Conclusion - Pay in FULL (amount of Outstanding Balance stated in your Monthly Statement) every month before the Due Date and if you cannot to this, go cancel your credit card; because, if you pay interest to the bank because of credit card usage, it means you working for the bank and you getting poorer by the day.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 5 2012, 11:27 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 6 2012, 01:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Aug 6 2012, 12:57 PM)
by default, will we receive hardcopy statement? AFAIK, hardcopy statement will be charged... therefore opting not to receive it, can use online statement.. need call them to cancel hardcopy statement? or no need?
For Maybankard 2 Cards and most MBB credit cards - Hardcopy Statements are FREE as long as you don't go opt for paperless option in M2U. Once you opt for the online statement then different story. So don't go opt for online statement and you will get FREE monthly statements via mail plus you can view your all your transactions too at M2U.

Some Maybank credit cards by default only issue paperless Monthly Statements (if not mistaken MU credit card), so that one yes, you will have to pay for hardcopy statement.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 6 2012, 01:08 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 6 2012, 03:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ Aug 6 2012, 03:23 PM)
Amex have 5% discount for weekend purchase right ?

and how about the 5x reward point also if pump petrol at weekend?
Please read first post.

5X Treats Points everyday for any transaction, that is if the outlet accepts AMEX.

Extra 5% Cash Back credited into account (not discount) for transactions every Saturday and Sunday but maximum RM50 a month (or RM1K spending).

TSGen-X
post Aug 7 2012, 11:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Aug 7 2012, 11:21 AM)
hey fellow sifus, just wanna ask, since my statement date stated in mb2u is 6th august, due date is 26th august, so it means i must clear my bill by 26th august, else the 8.88% will be charged?

and when is my cutoff date then? new user, abit confused =/ so anything i use starting 7th august, is counted into next month's payment due?
You must pay in full the Outstanding Balance stated in your Statement before Due Date i.e. 26th August to avoid being imposed interest Aslo allow a few days for your payment to be cleared/credited into you account.

If you don't have paper statement and looking at M2U Summary, sure confuse, go download the Online Statement if you have opted for the paperless option.

Once again, for those new to credit cards, do not opt for paperless statement but get hardcopy statement so that you can familiarize yourself with Statement Date, Due Date and Outstanding Balance.
TSGen-X
post Aug 7 2012, 12:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Aug 7 2012, 12:14 PM)
thanks fellow sifus. really enlightened me smile.gif

ronnie: your reply answered my doubts smile.gif

genx: thanks bro... paying by using maybank2u itself will also takes few days for the payment to be cleared? or instant? smile.gif cheers
I guess for M2U should not be an issue unless there is a cut of time by MBB to consolidate their accounts for the day.

Be kiasu lah, pay 1-2 days in advance, haha and then check if credited immediately into your MBB2 account and next time you'll know.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 7 2012, 12:42 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 7 2012, 11:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 7 2012, 09:11 PM)
For MBB CC, payment through M2U or CDM is immediately effective but the transaction will only show in M2U the next day.
Bro, you MBB staff? You seem to be very knowledgeable about MBB and seldom post elsewhere.

And I must add, your comments are valuable to this thread.
TSGen-X
post Aug 9 2012, 12:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Aug 8 2012, 09:47 PM)
Hey regarding the 20% cash rebate for the week, how they count ya, they mention that the first 100 customer who spent 2000 will get 400 rebate, so is count start from Sunday or Monday? because for me Sunday is the first day of the week, or Monday is the first day of the week? confuse
Why you so lazy to go read the T&C?

I did published my article on 20% Cash Back with American Express weeks ago stating it starts on a Monday or you can click here to read the T&C.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 9 2012, 12:15 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2012, 10:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 11 2012, 09:24 PM)
i believe they mean is amex charge card
Actually before I had MBB 2 Cards, my Amex Gold Charged card was my main card. Annual fee waived every year and with Turbo Points I earned 3X Membership Reward Points which is equivalent to 1.5% cash back for all my transactions. Now the AMEX Charge card is kept in the drawer only.
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 08:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 12 2012, 04:27 AM)
Wrong. Pure Amex card still available and u can apply it from Maybank and few others i cant remember which.
U have to tell them u wan Amex Charge Card not credit card.
AMEX's Amex Credit Card also AMEX lah.

The easiest way to differentiate Amex's AMEX which earns Membership Reward Points is there is no Maybankard Words on the card.

Example of AMEX's AMEX Charge and Credit Cards below:

For Maybank's AMEX Credit Cards which earns Treats Points, you will see Maybankard printed on the card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 09:00 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 11:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 12 2012, 10:08 AM)
But Amex on its own, does not have Credit Card...
Those "Amex Card" that u see in the market that tag together with local banks such as HLB or MBB are called Credit Card.

Those pure Amex cards (the Trojan Horse logo) are called Charge Card and does not link to any banks.
The difference between Charge Card and Credit Card is that, if you do not settle your statement in full, you will be charged hefty amount. Unlike credit card 18%p.a.
Btw, techically you do not call pure Amex Charge Card (Trojan Horse logo) as Amex, instead it should be called as American Express Card.
Those that tag along with banks are called AMEX.
WaCKy-Angel, haha, you teaching me about AMEX cards notworthy.gif And do you know you can use zoom + to enlarge images tongue.gif

When I was under 21 years old of age, I already had a AMEX Charge Card & AMEX Optima Credit Card (with Centurion Head) in US. Click here to see my old cards including my AMEX Credit Card in US

And I use to have the AMEX Gold Credit Card too in Malaysia before I got the Maybankard 2 AMEX. See pic below, it's a pure AMEX Credit Card with the Centurion Head tongue.gif It used to be one of the best credit card for Petrol (5X MR for Petrol, Telco and Groceries) and was a hot topic before we have OCBC TMC and MBB2 AMEX.

I even wrote an article about the American Express Gold Credit Card back in 2009 at My Credit Cards Blog. And today, you still can apply for the AMEX Gold Credit Card and Platinum Credit Card.

Not only that, the pure American Express Platinum Credit Card (with Centurion Head) is among the Top 3 credit cards in my article The Best Top 10 Credit Cards in Malaysia. But then again, you don't care to read my blogs so you don't know, hahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 03:50 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:54 AM