Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Powered by V6!, Das Auto!

speedbird90
post Aug 1 2012, 03:07 PM

231 posts

Hi guys, need some advice here.

Finally bought my Golf 1.4 Tsi. It is 5 days old. Just wanted to ask a few questions to those who know/owners:

1. How long do you wait before you start your engine? I usually wait until the lights go off, (the ones which are supposed to go off) then start.

2. After starting, how long do you wait before you start to drive? I usually wait until the RPM drops below 1000, around 800, coolant 90 and oil temperature around 60 or so. (Takes around 90 seconds for the RPM thing, usually time taken to unfold the sun shade, put my phone on the seat, set radio etc)

3. I love the light bending auto test once the car is started. But I worry about the motor so I turned it off. I know the lights are built that way, but I just care about it too much so I switched the bending lights off. Recommended or not?

4. I love the coming home/leaving home function, but again, I worry it will affect the battery. So now I have turned them off as well. Is it advisable? Can anyone please share their experiences and recommendations?

5. I have my radio set to hitz/fly/red fm as my first 3 channels. When I press next on my steering wheel, it goes from hitz to era fm. When I reset era to fly fm, it stays. Then I select hitz and press next on my steering wheel again, it goes to era fm. What is going on and why? I noticed it is set and always defaults back to hitz/era/fly/redfm/some malay station etc etc. No matter how many times I reset the era fm, it always defaults back to era. Please help..

Many thanks guys. Btw I have 520km and my tank is only half. Really impressed with it's fuel consumption. Then again, the fastest I have driven is 140km/h. (90% highway 10% town) SA told me to take it easy until the millage reaches at least 1500km.

Any comments/suggestions from users personal opinions are VERY MUCH appreciated, thanks.

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 1 2012, 03:21 PM
speedbird90
post Aug 1 2012, 04:21 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 1 2012, 03:55 PM)

Thanks for your reply,

1. Agreed
2. Yours only takes 20 secs? The engine idle for mine takes almost close to 1 minute
3. TOTALLY AGREE! Same reason for me here!
4. I find it cool, but I worry about battery life, sigh.
5. I did, and it's so sickening. Tried everything I can think of, plus read the manuals. Might have to ask the SA.
6. I drive about 50km to work, and 50km back everyday highway. I love the auto cruise wink.gif

Thanks for your thoughts dude.
speedbird90
post Aug 1 2012, 08:46 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Royrogers @ Aug 1 2012, 07:21 PM)
If you love those features, my advise is to enjoy those features as it comes with the car and you have already paid the price for it. You should not worry about battery life, etc. Otherwise, you might as well get a cheaper car without those premium features. And most production cars are already run in before it goes to the showrooms. Again, do not be afraid to rev your car. I went 200kmh the first week i got my car. It's a Golf, enjoy it!
Sounds like a good piece of advice dude. +1 to you!

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 1 2012, 08:39 PM)
Wonder if VW Golf 1.4 TSI's price will depreciate extremely after warranty period?
Don't know man, SA told me continental cars depreciate approx 10% of it's selling price every year. So if you decide to sell it after 5 years, that's 50% gone! Wow shocking.gif
speedbird90
post Aug 1 2012, 09:08 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 1 2012, 08:56 PM)
Hmm, then it is free after 10 years? cannot be ...

Shouldn't be as follow: -
say RM150,000 - 1st year
RM 135,000 - 2nd year
RM 121,500 - 3rd year
RM 109,350 - 4th year
RM 98,415 - 5th year
I said approx 10%

Approx = approximately

Meaning of approximately is this: Almost exact or correct

Not exact okay? It's just a rough figure my SA gave me so I have a rough idea of the value. It doesn't mean the car will be free after 10 years.

Omg, I can't think of any one who would logically think that way doh.gif

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 1 2012, 09:09 PM
speedbird90
post Aug 9 2012, 10:04 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(takeshi_kovacs @ Aug 9 2012, 07:42 PM)
I just went for a test drive in a Scirocco 2.0 TSi. This is a demo car at VW Jln Ipoh and they're selling it for RM224k. It's got 4000+km on it.

I thought it was a fine car but I didn't like the way the throttle takes a second to react in slow traffic . Must be the DSG. And the DSG didn't feel as smooth as the one on a test GTI I tried previously. Could be a bit worn out from all the demo-ing but I could be wrong.

If anyone's interested, they've got a demo Scirocco R for sale too. RM260k+.
Same issue, about the way the throttle takes a second to react in slow traffic. I guess it's a DSG thing, My friend on the mk5 gti commented the same. Few other friends on the mk6 gti and tsi also commented the same even after software update.

It takes a little getting used to I guess, might be a flaw, but overall still an awesome car to me. wink.gif

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 9 2012, 07:57 PM)
I encounter poor radio reception on Golf TSI, sometimes loud/soft intermittent, what's wrong? Don't find any radio antenna, are they thin-film type?

Thanks in advance
Hm, I just bought a Golf Tsi one week plus, only 1100km on it. So far loving every bit of it except the 1st and 2nd gear slow reaction especially moving from a red traffic light.

No issues at all from the radio, mine works perfectly. Not tinted (yet) although I'm not sure if tinting will affect radio reception.

Might wanna check with sc? Mine's 101% fine.

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 9 2012, 10:07 PM
speedbird90
post Aug 9 2012, 11:11 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 9 2012, 11:02 PM)
Actually it has nothing to do with the DSG gearbox. It is due to the fact now that your foot pedal is electronic, not like your usual fly by wire throttle. Because it is electronic, there will be a slight delay as when you press on your pedal and it goes to the ECU and then to the engine. Happens to a lot of the conti cars. A lot of people don't face this so much when they remap their cars or when they use Sprint Booster on their VW.
Will do a google search on 'Sprint Booster'

Thanks Mavik!
speedbird90
post Aug 16 2012, 11:52 AM

231 posts

Hey guys, I'm looking into installing a piggy. Racechip to be specific.

http://www.racechip.de/racechip-chiptuning...TSI-3453-r.html

Only one question, if you look at the details and specs, the difference between pro and ultimate is only 1% charging / 1kW / 1 PS / 3 NM of torque

I was quoted a price difference of RM300 between the two, ultimate being RM300 more expensive than the pro.

My main question is, is the extra RM300 worth it? IMO it's mainly for the faster processor and core. Of course the ultimate comes in a better casing etc.

Does the processor really play a big part here?

Also I'm driving a golf tsi 1.4, will the 7-speed dry clutch be a problem?

And can the gearbox handle the increased torque?

Thanks for your replies.

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 16 2012, 01:13 PM
speedbird90
post Aug 16 2012, 11:35 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(hapeace @ Aug 16 2012, 09:14 PM)

kena poison already.. which one is better? race chip or swiss-chip?
Same la, I also kena poison edi lol. For me, my friend is a racechip distributor so all my warranty issues or installation or removing it before sending for service should be ok. However he is not free to answer all my questions so I decided to post here and hope for some answers.

Swiss chip I have no idea, but I read once in some forum that all piggys/chips basically do the same thing. You should the one which has the best sales assistant, best customer service, and is able to answer all your queries and doubts since all the piggys more or less do the same thing.

However, all the numbers provided on the website like hp, ps, torque, charging, power etc etc are based on BEST case scenario so the actual outputs may be lower, so I was told.

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 16 2012, 11:36 PM
speedbird90
post Aug 17 2012, 09:43 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Aug 17 2012, 12:35 AM)
the current Passat, Jetta, Golf and Polo are using the 7 speed DQ200 DSG that handles max torque up to 250Nm..
the powerful Golf GTI mated with 6 speed DQ250 that handles max torque of 350Nm.. thus i believe Golf GTI still can be tuned up from its default 280Nm torque as DQ250 still can handle up till 350Nm..

correct me if i m wrong.. cheers..
Okay so does that mean the tsi cannot be tuned? Or when tuned,the tsi may face problems
speedbird90
post Aug 17 2012, 10:28 AM

231 posts

Okay cool, thanks. But no guarantee for the gearbox issues etc right. It's just a risk I'm gonna have to take to my understanding.
speedbird90
post Aug 17 2012, 10:52 AM

231 posts

Thanks, any personal mods yourself to your mk6 you'd like to share?
speedbird90
post Aug 21 2012, 10:19 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(hapeace @ Aug 19 2012, 11:31 PM)
ive always want to ask this.. when we set the lighting to auto mode, then we start the engine. the headlamp lite up focusing down and then up. are there any purpose why they behave like this?
Up down, left, right haha. I just love watching it work. Same on the c-class, saw my neighbour's hehe. I think it's an auto test for the light bending system, no harm. Just love watching it move ;p

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 20 2012, 04:55 PM)
I got 1 question for VW Golf owner.

did anyone have a 2nd thought of having VW Jetta instead Golf?

no offense, because both same engine and also 1k extra you can get the bigger car? although Jetta look abit boring. Still I found it quite a bargain.
Well, if you ask me, I'm in my early 20's and I don't want an uncle looking car. I always wanted a car with bi-xenons and DRL over the boring usual yellow headlamps. (yes I know you can modify Jetta but I don't wanna do that)

Although they both have the same engine, torque power output blablabla, the jetta is bigger, heavier and less aerodynamic. (plus to me it looks a bit like persona lol) So don't you think the golf will be a better choice if you're looking for speed and handling? Just like the roc and golf. Same engine power etcetcetc but the roc handles so much better if you corner on high speeds (test drive for yourself) This is due to the more aerodynamic shape of the roc thus producing lesser drag.

As for cabin and boot size, for now it's only my girlfriend and I. So for 2 people going on short trips, the golf is more than enough. Of course if you're starting a family soon or already married with kids I'd suggest something like a camry with more space for family.

Ultimately, it all boils down to your PERSONAL preference. I've admired the golf since the mk5 came out, and since it's usually just the 2 of us; I'm happy with my choice! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Aug 21 2012, 10:29 AM
speedbird90
post Aug 21 2012, 11:42 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Royrogers @ Aug 21 2012, 11:30 PM)
The only difference with Golf-Jetta and Golf-Roc is that Golf-Jetta is 1k price gap while Golf-Roc is 35k price gap.
Thanks for pointing that out sir.
speedbird90
post Aug 23 2012, 10:47 PM

231 posts

- 1.4 engine cheap road tax
- impressive power and acceleration
- good fc for town driving since small CC
- good fc for highway cruise since 7 gears
- german car, so u know lah the built quality and features
- DRL and bi-xenon many features etc

Main reason, it's a Golf yo! biggrin.gif
speedbird90
post Sep 5 2012, 03:50 PM

231 posts

Soooooooo it's just 1.4 turbo now, no more twincharge?

I don't mind the front, are the DRL's more to bmw F30's style?

But I reeaally dislike the rear though..

That cylinder shut down thing is really good and impressive, but I'm still loving the POWER on my mk6 biggrin.gif!

This post has been edited by speedbird90: Sep 5 2012, 03:51 PM

0.0497sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:47 PM