Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Powered by V6!, Das Auto!

Royrogers
post Jul 29 2012, 10:42 PM

I drive a stock GTI and today pandai pandai tried to race with a E90 M5. Kena smoked la. Probably a stage 3 Golf R can take on the M5?
Royrogers
post Jul 29 2012, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jul 29 2012, 11:17 PM)
Bro, do you mean e90 m3 or e60 m5  sweat.gif

anyway.. i did saw a review, the old golf r32 comparable to bmw 135i ..
Golf R need to tune up quite alot (might need to change to DQ500 tranny or manual stick) to muscle with E60 M5 500bhp and 520Nm torque  sweat.gif
Sorry guys, I meant E60 M5. The one with the 5.0 V10 engine. I really wish I was driving a Nissan GTR at that moment flex.gif
Royrogers
post Jul 31 2012, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(phas3r @ Jul 30 2012, 12:57 AM)
u can surprise the car in tighter roads or town driving. the e60 M5 is peaky car. need to rev only the power will come. but once the power come, gg.
btw the Mk5 R32 is not that fast speedwise.. only buy it for the V6 sound,AWD and exclusivity smile.gif
stage 1 GTI can smoke R32 Mk5 already.
E60 M5 not golf gti league la bro. no need to compare.. theres always a car faster like r3kahsttub said.
but u can surprise the m5 at lower town speeds. the e60 m5 is quite sluggish at lower speeds.
once masuk highway, bye bye already.
but a stage 2 GTI can match E46 m3 until u reach very high speed. stage 3 GTI, around 280-300whp and 400-450Nm, on wheel. not sure about golf R stage 3 though
+1
Yeah true bro, unless you drive a Bugatti Veyron, there's always something faster than what you have. Check out this video just for the fun of it. Lamborghini Aventador will remain my ultimate dream car.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5_AKjDdqaU
Royrogers
post Aug 1 2012, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ Aug 1 2012, 03:07 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice here.

Finally bought my Golf 1.4 Tsi. It is 5 days old. Just wanted to ask a few questions to those who know/owners:

1. How long do you wait before you start your engine? I usually wait until the lights go off, (the ones which are supposed to go off) then start.

2. After starting, how long do you wait before you start to drive? I usually wait until the RPM drops below 1000, around 800, coolant 90 and oil temperature around 60 or so. (Takes around 90 seconds for the RPM thing, usually time taken to unfold the sun shade, put my phone on the seat, set radio etc)

3. I love the light bending auto test once the car is started. But I worry about the motor so I turned it off. I know the lights are built that way, but I just care about it too much so I switched the bending lights off. Recommended or not?

4. I love the coming home/leaving home function, but again, I worry it will affect the battery. So now I have turned them off as well. Is it advisable? Can anyone please share their experiences and recommendations?

5. I have my radio set to hitz/fly/red fm as my first 3 channels. When I press next on my steering wheel, it goes from hitz to era fm. When I reset era to fly fm, it stays. Then I select hitz and press next on my steering wheel again, it goes to era fm. What is going on and why? I noticed it is set and always defaults back to hitz/era/fly/redfm/some malay station etc etc. No matter how many times I reset the era fm, it always defaults back to era. Please help..

Many thanks guys. Btw I have 520km and my tank is only half. Really impressed with it's fuel consumption. Then again, the fastest I have driven is 140km/h. (90% highway 10% town) SA told me to take it easy until the millage reaches at least 1500km.

Any comments/suggestions from users personal opinions are VERY MUCH appreciated, thanks.

If you love those features, my advise is to enjoy those features as it comes with the car and you have already paid the price for it. You should not worry about battery life, etc. Otherwise, you might as well get a cheaper car without those premium features. And most production cars are already run in before it goes to the showrooms. Again, do not be afraid to rev your car. I went 200kmh the first week i got my car. It's a Golf, enjoy it!
Royrogers
post Aug 2 2012, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(phas3r @ Aug 2 2012, 08:34 AM)
saw your post in vw forum. haha dude thats no kopitiam man.

btw, battery life on newer VWs has quite short life span. only about 1 year. many has replaced under warranty. all those lights, on radio while engine off etc are not doing any good for the battery lifespan. my mk5 battery still can use after 2.5 years. battery on BMWs last very long, up to 4-5 years, as it is located at the back of the car. which means less heat. heat is the enemy of battery lifespan.
Agree. My battery also died in just 11 months! Also bear in mind that Turbo engines generate more heat and hence it will affect the battery life span. Anyway, its under warranty, so just claim! But i think the battery warranty is only 2 years?
Royrogers
post Aug 3 2012, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(blugear @ Aug 3 2012, 09:03 AM)
So fast...  rclxub.gif

What's your ride bro?
Yeah, so fast la. Not sure if this is the case with other VWs such as passat, rocco etc. Mine's GTI

Added on August 3, 2012, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 3 2012, 12:26 PM)
a lot VW cars batt died within 12 months...
but since got 2 yrs warranty, who cares it died within 12 months?
Yeah, but we will suffer after 2 years cry.gif

This post has been edited by Royrogers: Aug 3 2012, 07:32 PM
Royrogers
post Aug 21 2012, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(speedbird90 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:19 AM)
Up down, left, right haha. I just love watching it work. Same on the c-class, saw my neighbour's hehe. I think it's an auto test for the light bending system, no harm. Just love watching it move ;p
Well, if you ask me, I'm in my early 20's and I don't want an uncle looking car. I always wanted a car with bi-xenons and DRL over the boring usual yellow headlamps. (yes I know you can modify Jetta but I don't wanna do that)

Although they both have the same engine, torque power output blablabla, the jetta is bigger, heavier and less aerodynamic. (plus to me it looks a bit like persona lol) So don't you think the golf will be a better choice if you're looking for speed and handling? Just like the roc and golf. Same engine power etcetcetc but the roc handles so much better if you corner on high speeds (test drive for yourself) This is due to the more aerodynamic shape of the roc thus producing lesser drag.

As for cabin and boot size, for now it's only my girlfriend and I. So for 2 people going on short trips, the golf is more than enough. Of course if you're starting a family soon or already married with kids I'd suggest something like a camry with more space for family.

Ultimately, it all boils down to your PERSONAL preference. I've admired the golf since the mk5 came out, and since it's usually just the 2 of us; I'm happy with my choice!  thumbup.gif
The only difference with Golf-Jetta and Golf-Roc is that Golf-Jetta is 1k price gap while Golf-Roc is 35k price gap.
Royrogers
post Aug 28 2012, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(adrian23 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:37 AM)
if not mistaken. i think mk7 launching this year as well cos i remembered salesman from vw told me so...
Golf Mk7 will be officially launched in Paris Motor show on 4th September. By the time it is readily available in European showrooms, will probably be in another 2-3 months. Add another 6-9 months before it reach Msian showrooms. The way i see it, earliest is Q2 2013. And that will be the regular Golfs. GTIs and R series is probably a year later, looking at past Golf releases.
Royrogers
post Oct 1 2012, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 1 2012, 07:23 PM)
i been thinking about these two

mg wif 320d heart 55k

bmw 09 320d 81k
Haha a 2009 BMW 320d for 81k? IMPOSSIBLE. Beware of these kind of ads. Most likely a con job
Royrogers
post Oct 14 2012, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 13 2012, 10:21 PM)
7 speed DSG
Too bad it came with the 7speed DSG. I assume this is the dry clutch gearbox. Heard so many horror stories about the 7 speed DSG. One of my friend had to replace the entire gearbox in just less than 1 year!
Royrogers
post Nov 1 2012, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(scion @ Nov 1 2012, 08:23 PM)
Really discount 15% on all model? Mind to share which vw showroom he get from? Wanna order if true
No way any dealer will give 15% on all models la. Maybe Cross Touran and Tiguan yes, but definitely not for Golf, Scirocco and Passat.
Royrogers
post Nov 1 2012, 09:00 PM

Any GTI Mk6 owners out there on Revo Stage 2? I'm very tempted to do it.
Royrogers
post Nov 11 2012, 11:42 PM

QUOTE(Wangan @ Nov 11 2012, 12:32 AM)
True. I was driving my R at 200-210kmh. Then was tailgated by the tsi. And it was driven by an old uncle. shocking.gif
Were you cruising slow at 200kmh and let him tailgate you or because your R couldn't go any faster than that? I refuse to believe a Golf TSI could easily tailgate a Golf R unless it is a full blown Stage 3 TSI or you were just being humble and didnt want to tekan further. The 160bhp TSI trying to outrun the 255bhp R? Cannot be la.
Royrogers
post Nov 24 2012, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(whonfai @ Nov 24 2012, 07:57 PM)
POTENTIAL VW BUYERS BEWARE:

Here's my story:

Just bought a Passat Sport (CBU) with less than 10K discount last month. I just learned from another SA that the same model is now being offered for about 14K-15K discount since November. Imagine how the buyer who just bought their car for less than a month (or even less than a week) would feel? Feels totally cheated and scammed!!! What a shame, VGM resorting to this tactic to gain more sales to meet their yearly sales target. Have lodged an official complain to VGM, but just wondering if they will ever reply
Forget about making any official complaint to VGM. They would not do anything and you have no case against them. I bought my GTI last year April and in just 3 weeks, the special edition came out. Same price but with so many added features. Then we have the story of Polo GTI, Passat CC etc. VGM can do what they want and we cant do anything about it. Dont bother waiting for any reply, what are they going to do? Refund you the money? It's just your luck.
Royrogers
post Dec 2 2012, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Dec 1 2012, 07:29 PM)
Ahh.... ni baru masuk...

http://star-motoring.com/Previews/2012/Bes...,-I-ll-say.aspx

"Best Golf, I'll say"

this one interesting - "Word has it that the new Golf will be available in Malaysia in the first quarter of next year with a price that won’t stray too far from the current cars RM157,888 asking price."

I will be amazed if VGM able to get the new Golf to bolehland within 6 months since it launched..
Fellow potential Golf owners might wanna wait to 1) either get the new MK7, or 2) wait for MK6 massive discount..  hmm.gif
Word from the dealers is that it will be here in Q1 and will come only in the 1.4Tsi form with price close to 170k. It will have less power (138bhp) than current Golf Tsi. But I must say the fuel consumption is excellent, almost as good as diesel cars! And the interior is a killer. We'll see..
Royrogers
post Mar 5 2013, 11:16 AM

Hi guys, my Golf GTI MK6 is up for sale if anyone is interested. Details as below:

Year: 2011 (manufactured), registered May 2011
Color: Candy White
Engine: Stock, no modifications done
Mileage: 49k

My model comes with the new gear knob and front LED DRL lights
Additional accessories installed:
1. Original Golf R Rear LED lights
2. RNS 510 with latest updated map, 18GB of hardisk space
3. Detroit 18" rims
4. PPS paint protector
5. K&N air filter
6. Additional car mats

Car is accident free with regular service at Cergas TTDI.

Interested buyers please call 012-6670228. No car dealers please.

0.0517sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:12 PM