Collectibles STATUES -busts, props, replicas, collectibles V2, news, hauls, collection pics, etc

TSwaeguk
post Aug 23 2015, 09:33 AM

633 posts

With the useless ringgit dropping against USD and SGD, I'm thinking the local dealers here are having a stressful time importing and honoring the PO prices (before ringgit drop). Probably starts with the distributors, then to middle party to local retailers and then to customers. sweat.gif

If they increase price for old POs, there will be lots of pissed customers for sure. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by waeguk: Aug 23 2015, 09:34 AM
TSwaeguk
post Sep 24 2015, 03:06 PM

633 posts

Holy crap .. US dollar is now 4.35

Import businesses will definitely be in trouble, that probably explains the slowdown in stocks recently
TSwaeguk
post Sep 26 2015, 09:24 AM

633 posts

Lots of stuff are like lost in the sea of POs.

Maybe due to market

I havent collected anything POed for many months now cool2.gif

QUOTE(tracemaster @ Sep 25 2015, 11:09 AM)
I wonder how the hobby shops will handle the pre orders done 1 or 1.5 years ago, will the price increase due to the exchange rate now.  I am now worried about my Wonder Woman PF, PO price is rm1200 (usd400 I think)last time. Now new statues with USD price tag is almost rm2k PO price.
TSwaeguk
post Oct 4 2015, 09:12 AM

633 posts

Wow... thats a lot of awesome statues rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Oct 3 2015, 10:16 PM)
feel that so long didnt share anything here
so post randomly
give up all action figure
and here my statues.

TSwaeguk
post Oct 5 2015, 08:07 PM

633 posts

Hope they do well.

Previously there was one like that at e-curve (myscififan) but gone liao

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 4 2015, 10:51 PM)
Anyone been to geek cafe yet ? they have some statues on display also

TSwaeguk
post Dec 17 2015, 06:58 AM

633 posts

That's quite a story there tongue.gif

Statues preorder are like hot toys ... you want to lock in the order to secure the price and item delivery. Waiting till stock arrives may be too late.

Also during COD, you can inspect for defects eg paint job etc and reject if not satisfied. Its same as hot toys although hot toys has much less paint job issues but still shops will always open for inspection in case.

In terms of durability, statue is better than action figures imo. Plastic is weakest, while statues are polystone or resin etc. which is arguably plastic based, are still harder and tougher.

As for prices, hot toys prices have risen to statue prices from few years ago ... some 1/4 statues are almost same prices as 1/6 hot toys. So its all your decision on affordability and investment.

Have fun thumbup.gif

QUOTE(clivengu @ Dec 17 2015, 01:14 AM)
Hi Guys, will like to hear some advice regarding statue from Sideshow..I am considering to collect my first statue, after seeing some amazing prototype from Sideshow Premium Format such as Loki, Thor, and Batman Dark Knight. They look really good. If I will like to get any of these statues, do I need to preorder now.. or I can wait until it is release to the market before deciding to buy one. How is the demand in statues? My concern is I did heard some complain about the quality control of sideshow statue. Is it worth the money? or there is a risk that the final product will turn out really bad.. (example I have read before is the Iron Man Mark 42 Quarter Scale Maquette., which has really really bad paint jobs)... since we can't RETURN the item like how US did... I need to consider this wisely.

I have collected a few Hot Toys 1/6 scale figures... and my latest one is the 1/4 scale Ironman... They are really good, but after sometime... I always feel like they lack of something.. a soul or smthing.. sweat.gif Although I can change their poses from time to time.. but there is always a limit to their articulation... they lack the "dynamic poses". Forcing them into the pose we want, will make them look like unnatural /unrealistic "toy".  So in the end, most of these figures are displayed in "museum" standing pose.... and headsculpt from hot toys are always good.. but unfortunately their eyes expression are all "dead-look" ... And I will end up with a cabinet full with zombies.

An example will be the 1/6 Dark Knight Batman, is a pity this figure has really limited pose-ability, and I can only display it in standing pose most of the time. It is such a agile character and I really want to see it in pose that reflect on his character...

That's where I find Statue may work better... Although we cant change the pose... but we can stick to that one super cool dynamic pose forever. I like how certain statue can create the kind of dynamic pose which no any other action figures can imitate. And I like how the statue always pay good attention to its base... as to show the character in their context.

Anyway... I am still quite hesitate to jump in.... because I know it is going to be a more expensive hobby then collecting Hot Toys figures. Any Advice to give me as I am really new in this. 2-3 years ago I am thinking who would want to buy statue when one can buy action figure at cheaper price and more versatility .... but now im here changing my mind.. sweat.gif
TSwaeguk
post Dec 18 2015, 06:49 AM

633 posts

If its major defects eg breakage or cross eye etc, can reject of cos or inspect another piece at most (not all stocks), but cant be too picky until little paint blemish or spots be considered reject. tongue.gif

Many statue shops these days eg shiok, bigbangtoy, robotica, lil monsters, es express, etc.

1/4 statues price start from low rm1000+ and above

QUOTE(clivengu @ Dec 17 2015, 05:58 PM)
So I can reject the preorder if the end result by the manufacturer isnt up to my expectation? Where do you guys usually order your statues in Malaysia... the more reputable one like XL shop.

I saw that the review for Man of steel premium format, they said the statue is made from plastic pvc... which is a lot lighter than the usual material used. If Im getting a statue, I want it to be at least rock solid and durable than the plastic 1/6 figure. My concern is with the QC of sideshow statue.

Hot Toys figure these days selling from around rm700 (basic) - rm 1800 (1/4 scale, diecast version, etc)... I am expecting if Statue, I'll get at least 1/4 size to be more presentable... and correct me if im wrong.. I'll be looking at minimum of rm 1500 and above?
I saw the road show at 1u too, the Batman is huge and impressive. The prototype I meant is from "online picture" from comic con etc. If the final product can guarantee as good as these on display.. i'll be happy to jump in.
TSwaeguk
post Dec 31 2015, 05:13 PM

633 posts

It's going to be an interesting 2016 of statues from Sideshow .... HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE !!!!

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

user posted imageuser posted image user posted image
TSwaeguk
post Jan 3 2016, 08:40 AM

633 posts

Gamora revealed ...

TSwaeguk
post Jan 3 2016, 06:01 PM

633 posts

Another female revealed !!

TSwaeguk
post Jan 6 2016, 06:13 AM

633 posts

Full reveal looks amazing ...

TSwaeguk
post Jan 12 2016, 07:37 PM

633 posts

HOLY SH1T that's beautiful or wat !! thumbup.gif

Damn. Not good for 2016 budget already cry.gif

Regular or exclusive icon_question.gif
TSwaeguk
post Mar 9 2016, 08:52 PM

633 posts

Another convention already?

Malaysia really needs to pool together for one ultimate con per year, not split to many like those pc fair.

Last one i went Komik kon was so so.

Need to have better promos like special preorders or con-exclusives.
TSwaeguk
post Mar 22 2016, 12:08 PM

633 posts

US$ 7500 sweat.gif

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 21 2016, 01:42 PM)
TSwaeguk
post Mar 22 2016, 12:09 PM

633 posts

Lots of poison there, have to spend more inside ? shocking.gif

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 22 2016, 10:04 AM)
yea, was at geekcon, and maybe i donno what to look for and what to buy. i was disappointed. donno why i bought the ticket to go in, and once inside, i need to spend more to buy stuff. they need more special order kinda thing, or more sessions with artists/sculptors and less stuff selling.

somehow i enjoyed shioktoys display in 1u more than geekcon =_=
TSwaeguk
post Sep 16 2016, 04:49 PM

633 posts

I must say that XM studios sure have come a long way ....

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSwaeguk
post Sep 16 2016, 10:32 PM

633 posts

Those pics are not mine, I didn't go.

But im interested in quicksilver and cable... i think. The sentinel diorama is too rich for me.
TSwaeguk
post Jul 14 2018, 11:32 AM

633 posts

Asia comic con this weekend .... follow the pics from :

https://www.facebook.com/asiacomicconmalaysia/
https://www.facebook.com/BigBangToyz/
https://www.facebook.com/xmstudios

This post has been edited by waeguk: Jul 14 2018, 11:33 AM
TSwaeguk
post Jul 14 2018, 11:44 AM

633 posts

Also SDCC around the corner .... announcements can be seen at https://www.facebook.com/sideshowcollectibles/

15 Pages « < 13 14 15Top

0.2609sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:27 AM