>>> DIY Notebook Cooler Owner's Club <<<, Cost Effective + Performance

NoobHacker
post Apr 17 2011, 11:07 AM

1,753 posts

finally read all posts in this thread lol...
I will use notepal U2 as my case for DIY because its aluminium...and able screw your own fan anywhere
I wun recommend usb for power because its only 5v‘

i dun have experience on airflow and now i know my infinite is nice but cant diy at all and the fan is very hard to find rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Apr 17 2011, 11:11 AM
NoobHacker
post Apr 23 2011, 10:21 PM

1,753 posts

help... i bought very powerful 120mm fans and the air flow is crazy...
and i bought 3...
their demissons are 120mm x 120mm x 25mm
i install them under the CM notepal u3 and the airflow is ***king imba
bottom was no enough air to suck and cant get full air flow cus the holes blocked the air flow cus the air flow too large...

damn crazy... u might dun belive the air will reflect from the laptop bottom case and return to the fan...
so it ***king noisy...

I've wired up 3x 120mm fans to adapter...
I have CM Notepal U3 and 3x 120mm fans...
any suguessions for me to get nice air flow and good perfomance?

I tried to do the case with box but the fan is ***king heavy...

its annoying i really don't know i am happy or angry...lmao

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Apr 23 2011, 10:28 PM

NoobHacker
post May 14 2011, 03:03 PM

1,753 posts

The old fan i used for my modem cooler, and i used 5V usb adapter to power up it so it won't noisy...

I get another one brows.gif
ITEMS USED :
1. CM Notepal U3 Aluminium Body
2. 3x CM 120mm Blue LED Silent Fan
3. Linksys Router Adapter (1A, 12V)
4. 2-pin Female Connector comes with CM Silent Fan
5. Some Wire Tapes, Double Rubber Tapes and Wire Connectors

COST :
CM Notepal U3 RM98 with postage
Cooler Master 120mm Silent Fan x3 RM67 with postage

Sold CM Notepal Stock Fan RM60 with postage

So Remove postages total cost is RM93  brows.gif
Power Calculation :
Adapter : 12V, 1A
Fan : 12V, 0.37A Each (0.02A for LED i think, 4 of them, 0.005A for each LED)
Total : 12V, 1.11A
So the fan isn't spinning at full speed...
Is it powerful you should know... Aluminium Mesh brows.gif
The power adapter i get from my old modem,\
now days all modem power adapter is 12v, hard to find 5v cry.gif

Extremely silent, only can hear airflow sound

Benchmark :
On Foot : GPU : 70°C : CPU : 72°C
Cm Cool : GPU : 42°C : CPU : 42°C
Ambient Temperature : 25° Air Conditional

Added on May 14, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(skeleton202 @ May 2 2011, 11:06 PM)
does it will work if i juz buy 120mm fan n convert to make it usb powered n put it on handfon usb plug?
so that i can get current direct instead of from laptop..

any comment how the result?
the fan will goes slower if your fan is 12v

Added on May 14, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(mieeshell @ May 8 2011, 08:04 PM)
is belkin cooling pad good?
I dun like belkin products because they are expensive...

Added on May 14, 2011, 3:46 pmI strongly recommend to clean your laptop's heat sink before you get a cooler... Also change its Thermal Paste to Arctic Silver 5 ,Tuniq TX4, Arctic MX-4 etc.
Works great for me, btw i don't need a laptop cooler anymore for now, thats a gift for my sister's birthday...

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Jun 1 2011, 10:15 AM
NoobHacker
post May 14 2011, 06:06 PM

1,753 posts

yea...i am so happy my laptop's heat sink is hot for now...and the temperature is balanced... unlike before only CPU and GPU part is hot like boil water...now all bottom parts are warm... so with cooler will be perfect

Added on May 14, 2011, 6:14 pmBefore you get laptop cooler you should think why your laptop so hot, is it so hot when you just bought the laptop, if yes, clean the dusts

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: May 31 2011, 05:07 PM
NoobHacker
post Aug 24 2011, 10:16 PM

1,753 posts

thanks for support smile.gif
long time no come here oledi
i sold my fan cus my sis bought a new pc
i install in her pc and damn noisy so i sold it lol
cus install on U3 it cannot suck 100% air that the fan can suck(mean fan can push 90cfm and it only able to push about 30cfm cus too near table)
and it make my hand very cold at night oso
since my laptop change thermal greese and clean up all dust it wont hot... so just make my u3 become backplate brows.gif
no do worklog cus the wire keep loose mad.gif duno how to wrap them together blush.gif

and the CM fan static pressure is **** low icon_question.gif

for that diy cannot lah sweat.gif postage here there around rm20 already

the wire should be like this
the power 5v or 12v oso can depend on speed u wan
usb is 5V but beware fan power dont over 0.5A or ur usb will burn
how to connect to usb can google for usb pins

fan recommentation just dun get the cm 90cfm it really suck imo sweat.gif
if u wan mod u can make it taller to let it suck air but still dun use that cm 90cfm the static pressure too low
perfect if you have something like 230mmx10mm fan, you made a zalman RM200+ suck ass cooler

more question can pm me

0.0166sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:49 PM