Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

debug and some assembly related questions

views

TSzybler
post Jan 22 2006, 04:31 PM, updated 19y ago

Casual
404 posts

I'm a newbie in assembly language, I would be glad if someone could help me out in a couple of questions that I had below:

1. When I'm in debug (under dos), and let's say I type a100, followed by some assembly instructions. The last 2 instructions are INT 21 and INT 20. When I tried tracing it, the instruction "INT 20" is no where to be seen, instead, I see "NOP" instead. I also noticed that after executing the intruction "INT 20", my cs:ip jumped to somewhere else.
xenon
post Jan 22 2006, 05:25 PM

On my way
501 posts

This is the first time I try to study the "debug" program. I've never use it because it lacked functionalities and difficult to use. Now the question is are you asking for a workaround to get some work done? Or you want explanation for why something happens?

I think you just want to know "why it happens", rather than "how to do this and that"? What do you expect to happen after tracing INT 20h which means terminate program? I think you are not facing any problem that prevents you from getting your work (tracing registers) done. It is only that you are puzzled by the cs:ip jumped to somewhere else.

I don't know about the details of the "debug" program, so my explanation might be wrong.

Ok. I did some testing. "debug" does trace into interrupt routine. So the cs:ip jump is actually the interrupt routine, which is quite long. Use the command "g" to execute without stepping.

This post has been edited by xenon: Jan 22 2006, 05:32 PM
TSzybler
post Jan 22 2006, 07:40 PM

Casual
404 posts