Repair dented MacBook air, How much ?

TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 08:34 PM, updated 14y ago

108 posts

My friend had cause my MBA had a dent just now..want to ask how much to change the casing or repair it?really annoying when see the dent..my MBA is the previous model,late 2011 or middle 2011
TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 09:16 PM

108 posts

Pm Wei dy,waiting reply.apple retailer store like machine tat provide service can repair also?or want to call apple to ask?
TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 09:51 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Jul 15 2012, 09:34 PM)
since the damage isnt part of something they'd cover it's up to you to search for a third party solution.

you could send it to machines but I wouldn't be able to vouch for them as I've never sent any of my machines to machines.

+1 for wei. and vr tech if wei isn't able to help.
How to contact vr tech if Wei unable to help?

Added on July 15, 2012, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 15 2012, 09:48 PM)
Did wei repair for iPad dent as well ? :hmm
It dent serious?very sad and quite angry nw T.T

This post has been edited by kairylim: Jul 15 2012, 09:53 PM
TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 10:12 PM

108 posts

I'm nt sure count as serious another,but vry annoying when see my Mac.hope to fix it fast,it ruined my mood..
TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 11:17 PM

108 posts

basicly how much will it cost?and the warranty still got?
TSkairylim
post Jul 15 2012, 11:52 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jul 15 2012, 11:36 PM)
its impossible to "fix" dented aluminum, you only have an option to replace the unibody.
which will cost a lot although I'm not too sure of the cost.
my fix mean repair,sorry for the wrong word ><
i won't mind to replace it,just hope get back its perfect condition,and i just wonder the warranty issue,will it void if replace the casing?
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 12:11 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Jul 15 2012, 11:58 PM)
nope... if u send to QCD yes.. warranty straight void
If VR depends on the dent.. major dent u jialiat liao
i think just minor dent,since i touch it,i din feel like having a hole on it.so i think the warranty still got ba?
so its better send to wei if he still got repair mac or VR right?if repair by them the warranty still got?

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jul 15 2012, 11:58 PM)
don't think it will be void if you send it to Apple to do the replacements.
give Apple Care a call to get the right consult
i would do this if really can't settle by other,cause i think send to apple to repair it would cost more.and still the same problem,if i send back to apple to replace the casing,the warranty status how?won't void it?
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 10:10 AM

108 posts

i had called apple care,the guy said call or pay a visit to AASP for service or repair,since its a physical damage,so its not cover by warranty.after repair,the current warranty will return.
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 10:13 AM

108 posts

nope,the guy said not sure for the cost,i think its base on the AASP~any suggestion for which place to repair it?
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 10:16 AM

108 posts

so i think VR tech is the choice?since im not from kl,im from kuantan,i need to pay a visit to thr?
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 10:26 AM

108 posts

i know its a minor dent,not serius,but i want it stay on perfect condition sad.gif
anyone having same experience?just want to know the range of price for change the casing.
TSkairylim
post Jul 16 2012, 10:32 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:28 AM)
if its there, i suggest you buy a hard case to cover it.
it won't be visible anymore
i dont want to use hard case,since i want it light weight and the thickness ><
and worry bout backfire that will cause by hard case or maybe other casing.i just prefer use sleeve.
TSkairylim
post Jul 24 2012, 09:13 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 23 2012, 10:04 PM)
Backfire???

A hard case would reduce the heat dissipation, since the alu unibody acts as a heatsink for the MBA.

My MBA 13"'s temperature heats up whenever I put my Speck casing on.
but i saw someone post a pic before tat the macbook become yellowish due to using hard case or maybe other case,like being burn before.is tat call backfire?or got another name?><
TSkairylim
post Jul 27 2012, 12:36 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(asamalikum @ Jul 25 2012, 09:37 AM)
your best choice is to get rid of it at lower than market price and purchase a new one since mountain lion just launched. sell it at a discount price (prepared to loose extra RM300 on top of market value) and purchase a new unit.
once and for all.
i will try to sell it~ biggrin.gif thanks for your suggestion.

0.0179sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:15 AM