Proton Prevé V13, Turbocharged car; Supercharged thread!

G K Lai
post Jul 20 2012, 06:45 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 20 2012, 02:16 AM)
I try to do what fulat said regarding starting the car without key. I did not manage to do it. I tried the following:

1. Start, take out key, off engine, press brakes, push button once
2. Start, take out key, off engine, press brakes, push button twice
3. Start, take out key, off engine, press once, press brakes, push button once
4. Start, take out key, off engine, press twice, press brakes, push button once

All scenario didn't work. fulat bro which step above i did wrong? doh.gif

Edited: No door were opened.
Good morning all! biggrin.gif

Maybe try:
Start, stop engine then only take key? smile.gif

G K Lai
post Jul 21 2012, 01:57 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(BartS @ Jul 20 2012, 05:36 PM)

If you hover your mouse over the pic, a familiar name appears.   wink.gif
QUOTE(stargate8 @ Jul 20 2012, 05:38 PM)
hahaha GK Lai
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 20 2012, 05:57 PM)

GK Lai car i think..
QUOTE(ameiruddin @ Jul 20 2012, 06:11 PM)

GK Lai, how much u pay for the HU? trade in with original?
Haha... not my car ler... My friend tagged me just to inform me about this cool mod. tongue.gif
I am still asking around to see if any HU mod that does not disable those steering button controls.
I like the convenience of the buttons. rclxms.gif

I was previously using JVC KW-AVX846 in my Persona, this too wasted the buttons on the steering. sad.gif

But comparing to this JVC HU, there are still several operation I like about Preve's Bosch HU:
  • Bluetooth connectivity to mobile phone, JVC regularly missed it, sometimes not connected, so when the phone ring, no hands-free. Bosch HU never miss it, very reliable!
  • High speed folder browsing on USB flash drive for Preve's Bosch HU, JVC loading and listing of files and folders extreme slow, many times slower than Bosch HU.
  • JVC HU has Detachable Face Panel, thus, chances of rattling sound.
  • I like the one-push ON/OFF switch on Bosch HU, it's fast and convenient. This JVC HU can't even turned OFF while we're driving, and my old Kenwood HU have to long-press a button to OFF.
By the way, does anyone notice the "Speed Volume" actually working on Preve's Bosch HU? I tried set it to lowest number and highest number, but still didn't notice any volume increase when drive up to 100-110km/h. My ear problem? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Jul 21 2012, 01:58 AM
G K Lai
post Jul 21 2012, 04:45 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 21 2012, 02:54 AM)
mine got diff quite obvious. i put it to #1 now... sometimes it turns up the volume too much.
Thanks! I will try set to 1 again then see.
Do you need to drive very fast to hear the volume difference? Maybe over 100km/h?
G K Lai
post Jul 23 2012, 10:05 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 23 2012, 09:48 AM)
guess i will just turn off the notification. still need FB for TT info sometimes.. or else i have to go in click unfollow post or and hours can end up 40+ post notification. tongue.gif just because u are member and doesnt mean all post you are interested in.  blush.gif
Bro fulat, this is what I do less than a week after joined the group. smile.gif

I still come LYN regularly as a silence reader but only check out facebook post occasionally.

G K Lai
post Jul 25 2012, 10:55 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Jul 25 2012, 09:08 PM)
bro fulat, boring night? hahaha lonely night right?

sigh, 3rd pump, and see my fuelly, not good at all, avg, 12.9L/100KM
You have company, my FC almost the same as yours. tongue.gif

Driving mostly in Penang town area with lots of jam and junctions and traffic lights.

Staying in condo and parked at multilevel car park, 8 ramps to climb and 5 bumps to go over!
I think this is where most of my fuel was wasted everyday.

G K Lai
post Jul 26 2012, 06:43 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Jul 26 2012, 05:58 AM)
better both la...but remember,once u unplug ur battery,everything will be reset..such as clock,radio channel,even the ECU settings.
... and the car alarm also disabled, right? smile.gif
G K Lai
post Jul 26 2012, 10:58 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Jul 26 2012, 10:50 PM)
i found 3 of these screw in my boot..just keep it somewhere safe..next time can use as spare, just in case
Check if your boot cover (the cushion) got 3 missing clips or not? laugh.gif

For radio reception, I simply thought that was due to the HU's tuner not strong enough? Some HU use Mosfet Tuner that gives better reception. sweat.gif

G K Lai
post Jul 26 2012, 11:22 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Jul 26 2012, 11:03 PM)
bro GK, hahaha, my dashboard, start to emit noise...but i can live with it, turn up the volume.
Yep, this is also one of the solution. brows.gif

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Jul 26 2012, 11:10 PM)
My dashboard also start to emit noise but nothing serious.....anyway....so far...there are so many tiny quirks on the car that is really surprising to me each time i drive it..... shakehead.gif
QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Jul 26 2012, 11:13 PM)
my dashboard also got abit crik crik sound hahha... esp when i brake!!
Why like that all har?
Always park your car under direct hot sun?
Go to accessories shop and ask them to fix for you, better than Proton SC, they sometimes make things even more complicated. I believe no need to take out the entire dashboard but just a few pieces near the meter, maybe...

But before that, first make an experiment to locate the actual source of "noise". Try shut off the air-cond vent one by one and see if any of the "gate" actually making the noise? Because I know they are quite loose and chances of rattle are high. biggrin.gif

G K Lai
post Jul 27 2012, 02:52 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(yumeno @ Jul 27 2012, 01:07 PM)
hand itchy...actually save the money to upgrade my rims and tyre, end up go to upgrade my ice.....sigh......
anywhere damn happy for the installation, coz i feel young again !!!! hahahahah ! rclxms.gif

1.start pull out all the panel, try to fit the new hu.
2.head unit pioneer 4450 BT, boston components speaker s60
3.cable socket for steering button
4.tested and works perfect !
5.reverse camera install at back, fit nicely, but kena drill a hole...
6.tested and works perfect !
7.original front speaker was made by paper material...
8.custome make a 6.5" coil ring for the new component speaker
9.fit nicely !dunno wat material the speaker, but definitely better than the stock wan...
10.new HU come with external mic!, tested very clear, noise reduction!
11.componet set come with pair of mid and tweeter, sound stage obviously level up!
(one good thing to install the tweeter, reduce the wind noise from A pillar !)
12. customize a square panel fit together with the HU.

Waaah! Super nice and I super like!!! drool.gif
Did you mean 3.cable socket for steering button compatible with Preve's steering socket?
G K Lai
post Aug 1 2012, 02:17 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(maverickng @ Aug 1 2012, 01:40 PM)
fly again

WTF? Again? laugh.gif

By the way, bro fulat, I like your idea of finding way for tyre noise DIY. rclxms.gif
The tyre noise really annoyed me, replacing tyre because of noise seems not a long term solution. blush.gif
Remember to share when you found out a way for this DIY. notworthy.gif

G K Lai
post Aug 1 2012, 02:33 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Aug 1 2012, 02:20 PM)
the tyre noise worst after u did rubber sound proof. lol...
Hahaha.... indeed, I understand that. laugh.gif
But I'm still not doing those rubber lining things is because I'm afraid after that, will have to bang harder to close the car doors, and this might cause problem to the internal components? hmm.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 1 2012, 02:48 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Aug 1 2012, 02:38 PM)
selalu tayar baru mmg senyap sket.
but later due to wear & tear, sure the sound will be noticed.

may i know how u guys measure the noise?
ios/android apps? unit in dB?
I use Human OS (ears)... laugh.gif

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Aug 1 2012, 02:45 PM)
generally, thread that is more lebar, will cause higher noise after a while.. therefore, if u like quiet tyres, buy ones which has smaller threads (e.g. michelin primacy LC).
I think I will find other more economic brand with smaller threads.
Michelin too expensive and wear out very fast. blush.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 1 2012, 05:20 PM

839 posts

I'm sorry for asking about food during this puasa time, but really curious, dares, what is this ABC?

0.0216sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:23 PM