nightshade_nova
post Jul 13 2012, 07:49 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jul 13 2012, 07:20 PM)
I regret selling half of my MF stuff now ARGHUNHGN
Eh dont regret la.
Im pretty sure the mobs on higher level have higher chance to drop 6 affix.

Ppl have been short sighted by the example and assumed that all mobs have same affix drop rate across inferno acts.
Im pretty sure this is not the case.Best case scenario is that with 200% base mf, you'll get comparable affix drop rate to farming act 2.

Im pretty sure developers already have the cap mf in check when determining the drop rates.

I also think theres a hidden mechanic for drop rate after certain numbers of elites fought and also the number of people in party.
Ive been doing quick runs and full dungeons clears, and full dungeons clears wins hands down in terms of drop rate with the same time frame.

Ppl dont even realize how roll value = sell value, and how certain valuable affix like ias,sockets, melee/ranged reductions, have low roll value etc.
If you have 3k sell value ilvl63 wep with 500dps, thats a frigin high roll there, but it might roll into crappy stats like life on kill instead of dps.
Ppl dont even realize that they DID get high roll, just that it was unfavorable stats.

And theyd go like "wtf...all trash.."
Instead of "fuu...3k sell value...bad high roll"

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Jul 13 2012, 08:02 PM
nightshade_nova
post Jul 14 2012, 02:59 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jul 13 2012, 10:37 PM)
No. Higher level doesn't increase chance to drop 6 affix, MF does. yawn.gif

It just has higher base chance to drop higher ilvls. But that advantage can be evened with MFing lower acts.
The theory that mf in act 1 is better than no mf on act 3 only holds true if the base affix drop rates of elite are same throughout the acts.
Pretty sure it is not.

If I ask you how much base 6 affix drop rate for act 1 and for act 3, would you know?

Speculatively, the numbers could even be as extreme as for act 1 you have a base chance of 0.75%, and with 300%mf youd get it up to 3%, while in act 3 you may already have a base of 4%
What youre proposing require base chance of act1 to be as high as act 3 which is in a perfect world, act 1 elites chance to drop 6 prop is 4% and same as act 3.Pretty damn sure that isnt the case.

If you approach from dev pov, youd ideally want a ratio which scales with the max mf across all act so it all ties up.
Thats why act 1 and act 2 was also buffed when act 3 was buffed.They dont simply put out random numbers.(hint:if youre a nerd, you can investigate the ratio using the buffed numbers from the changelog and slide in the max mf somewhere in the calculations too wink.gif )

Youd want to design the game to be somewhat like this:(just hypothetically)
Farming effectiveness of Act 1 with max mf = Act 2 with half the max mf = Act 3 without mf

So in a sense, a player ultimate goal would be farming in act 3 with a little mf by sacrificing offense/defense here and there.

The priority of the design should be that you sacrifice offensive/defensive stats in favor of mf, and there should be a threshold of which you are able to do so, which mf swapping completely destroys as you can go full brunt and still get the benefits of max mf+high ilvl drop rate+high base affix drop rate.

Thats why mf swap is so prevalent in act 3 and will be nerfed as it goes above the limiting shackle of drop rate ratio.
The multiplicative nature of mf means right now, act 3 swappers ARE WAY beyond the end of the spectrum in terms of drop rate.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Jul 14 2012, 03:27 AM
nightshade_nova
post Jul 14 2012, 11:42 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jul 14 2012, 11:01 AM)
MF gives you higher chance, it has been proven by studies published. Blizzard also already published in game guide that MF affects affix quanitity of rare.
The problem is there is no finding that Act 3 has higher base affix count. The only study that is ever proven is that Act 3 has high drop chance of ilvl 63, and that's all. I'm in the camp that Act 3 drops have the same standard affix tier and lower Acts.

As a statistically pointless anecdote, I have been farming Act 3 regularly yet my earnings far lags behind my friend who farms Act 1 with 250MF, a factor of 10 to 1.

If you're still interested, a Reddit post is up for ongoing studies on the effects of MF on Affix count, probably on Goblins.
Meh.Cant find any study on affix count, just this
http://www.diablofans.com/topic/57939-ongo...stical-insight/

Even if there were any study, Im 100% sure that they will find higher act have higher base affix drop rate,
unless blizzard dev are total morons and somehow make them the same across all acts.

A theoretical graphical presentation that should be how mf effectiveness works across acts (taking affixes and ilvl drop rates into account)

This is just my opinion.
If you still think that its so skewed that it would work like this:

Then its up to you.

edit cos the board eats up spaces rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Jul 14 2012, 11:48 AM
nightshade_nova
post Jul 15 2012, 02:21 AM

443 posts

For most ppl, truth = convenience. whistling.gif
nightshade_nova
post Jul 15 2012, 09:55 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 15 2012, 06:51 PM)
I read this post, made on 13th July.

http://www.diablo3farming.com/2012/07/13/d...ats-determined/

The chance of organically upgrading your weapon is…..not good
I think pretty much everyone that farms gear knows, that the drops are thrash 99%

chances of getting good loot is still very low..
whistling.gif
Meh.Those statistics doesnt look convincing, and its simulation, not a true large sample.
I think diablo 3 loot system is definitely closer to 'card draw' rather than 'roulette', if not 'no twinking' play wont be possible.

nightshade_nova
post Jul 19 2012, 08:09 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jul 19 2012, 04:30 PM)
Discussion on MF http://redd.it/wrt3n

MF affects the number of affix in rare drops but noticable in a large scale only.
Ya..its cos you get NV to help you, and the multiplicative nature of the mf means that you have to have at least 175%(or 190% if you have +15% from follower) mf to be twice as effective.
nightshade_nova
post Jul 19 2012, 09:09 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jul 19 2012, 08:34 PM)
they were doing warrior rest runs with gear only, no nv.
There have been others doing the runs as well and posting feedback and stats
Doesnt matter,result would be the same.
If naked is 100%, means that 100%mf will increase by 2 fold, its that simple.Dont know why people would waste their time with something thats already set in stone.
Without NV is more pointless unless theres ppl in this world who does farm runs without NV.

I was pointing to the fact that to be 2 times as effective,you will need 175% mf or for 3 times effective, youll need 350% mf (with NV calculated in).

Running the test naked without NV will surely blow mf effectiveness out of proportion at the end of the test.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Jul 19 2012, 09:10 PM

0.0228sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:24 AM