Gardening

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 22 2016, 11:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 21 2016, 02:30 PM)
reviving old thread. but dont think it'll survive hahah. just got into this plant/gardening stuff and its pretty relaxing (as long as nothings dying). dont have my small koi pond anymore so this will do tongue.gif

anwyyas. heres my kangkung... also trying to grow cili, tomatoes, mint, and later on looking for okra, spring onion and aloe vera
Hi guys, good (and quite surprised!) to find a gardening thread here in LYN laugh.gif
It is kind of sad that gardening is not that popular with the younger generation sad.gif
Anyways, I am picking up some gardening skills as well, I understand how soothing and satisfying it can be looking at the plants grow and fruit. Perhaps we can learn from one another laugh.gif

I think chilly and aloe vera will require quite alot of direct sunlight to grow properly hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 23 2016, 01:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 23 2016, 01:15 AM)
Yeah seems cili needs a lot of sun. So don't know how well it wjll grow on my balcony. I heard aloe can grow even indoors. So I'm not sure. I'm currently just growing whatever has seeds haha. Just planted some ladies finger seeds today....
Cili is kind of tricky, I have 2 purple ones from India. Sometimes they grow very well, sometimes they die off and then recover and flower again confused.gif
As long as your balcony is exposed to the sun for more then 4-5 hours per day I think many plants that love sun will be able to adapt accordingly. Yeah, aloe vera should grow, but have to make sure it gets as much sunlight as possible, and not too much water lo, a very useful plant to have rclxms.gif

Would love to plant ladies fingers someday hehe, please do keep us updated~ All the best
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 27 2016, 11:13 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 23 2016, 02:49 PM)
Yeah but the ladies finger is quite a big plant so dunno how thats gonna do. Might have to put it on the outside ledge where my -aircon compressor is haha. Got lots f space out there.
Yeah I think that will be a good idea but have to make sure it doesn't affect your aircon haha laugh.gif
Ladies fingers should be fairly easy, have to make sure to keep the soil moist up until they flower, by then the watering should be reduced to avoid rotting. Have to look out for insect pests as well, although I think it shouldn't be a problem if you are only planting one or two~

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 27 2016, 11:16 AM

24,193 posts

Sharing my Coleus (known as Hati-hati in BM) plants rclxm9.gif

This plant is hugely popular because of their colorful foliage which will give your garden that extra WOW factor! Some more they are quite easy to take care of and don't cost much~

I'm trying to start a Coleus collection but I've made a big mistake- I forgot to make sure I get all the varieties with the same leaf sizes! XD
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 27 2016, 11:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 27 2016, 01:58 PM)
Wow nice! Seems you got a nice container garden happening there.
Thanks man!
Currently its just a very simple garden, hope to size it up when there's more space laugh.gif
I also plan to start growing some vegetables as well haha thumbsup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2016, 08:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Oct 28 2016, 03:03 PM)
Wah, good to know got gardening kaki here. I am starting on herbs  plants and recently bought Sweet Basil plant.  I already have Indian Borage which is growing so fast and super easy to take care of. Gonna buy mint, rosemary and maybe oregano next. 

My aloe plant is thriving though at one point when it was first given to me, it nearly died that week.  I have not much luck with succulents...so many have died on me.  I am now very motivated to start my own vegetable pot garden.

I live in highrise so space is limited at balcony.  Hope to get some gardening tips and photos sharing from fellow gardening enthusiasts here.
QUOTE(audy @ Oct 28 2016, 03:35 PM)
Actually when my young tomato plant was growing, I put them under direct sunlight.  Then suddenly as they grew taller, they seem to not be able to handle direct heat anymore. Now I put the plants in a shaded area but it's bright enough. The leaves are looking dry each time when I get home from work. I also planted some cili from seeds...they have sprouted but their growth seem to be stunted at 5-6 inches...maybe cos they are in the same pot as the tomatoes. I am going to repot them this weekend and hopefully they will start growing again. Same goes to my lemon.
Wah, learnt something new today- Indian Borage notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Will look for them hehe~
Mint, rosemary and Oregano are supposedly very easy to grow, basically just need to provide full sun/bright light + moist (but not soggy) soil.
That said, I only managed to grow Rosemary and Oregano, dunno why my mints didn't like me and dieded doh.gif
Rosemaries are easy to propagate by cutting, can save a bit haha, I think most people will have it. The scent is very strong, and I really love it although I have no idea how to use it in cooked dishes laugh.gif

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 28 2016, 03:40 PM)
yeah they say tomato and cili need quite a bit space. i guess each need their own pot. right now my tomato growing in the 1l coke bottle, just cut in half. once its bigger gonna move it to a bigger pot. my cili still so puny. but got so many of them. i keep removing them, but they keep sprouting.... i dont know how many biji i threw in there... a bit craazy. like grass hahah.
I have a purple chilli plant but its growth "behaviour" is a bit awkward. Sometimes it grows very well, and then suddenly many of the leaves will turn yellow and drop- almost to the brink of the plant dying, then revive again etc. Its abnormal right? Not sure whether its nutrient deficiency or overwatering laugh.gif
Any ideas sifus? notworthy.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 30 2016, 02:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Oct 30 2016, 02:45 AM)
good to know this thread alive.

Last time i plant chili, garlic, onion, potato and lime in condo balcony. After 3 weeks growing out leaf, then it started to die.

Cili is the easiest.. Throw all the seed then very fast shoot out.
Welcome welcome thumbup.gif
Are you still planting? I plan to grow lime too~

I noticed that one of the most important things in starting out at gardening is ensuring that the soil is well drained hmm.gif
I made a terrible mistake in using soil found on the ground for my first few plants and needless to say many plants died because the soil became too soggy haha laugh.gif
Nowadays I just buy all-purpose planting-ready soil which is pretty convenient to use. The chances of plants dying are also lower since the soil are properly mixed with different components that strike a balance in nutrients, water retention, weight etc. I know some experts who like to mix their own individual components for that added specificity since different plants may require slightly different growing conditions. I hope I will be good as them some day haha laugh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Jan 12 2017, 11:29 AM

24,193 posts

I'm back!
Managed to get more colorful plants for my container garden rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Anyone with interesting Begonia varieties to recommend?
[PF] T.J.
post May 18 2017, 01:20 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Apr 12 2017, 02:09 PM)
I'm actually looking for the yellow white variety

Anyone has this?
I have yet to see white varieties in any nursery I've visited, must be pretty rare hmm.gif
Purple and pink ones, on the other hand, are like everywhere laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 18 2017, 01:23 AM

24,193 posts

Any Begonia (Particularly Rex Begonia) lovers here?
Was wondering where do you usually get your plants? I find it difficult to find a nursery that has plenty of Rex Begonia varieties hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 18 2017, 12:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 18 2017, 08:49 AM)
Yes.  Purple,  pink,  blue are common.

But yellow is rare.  Had one before.
I see I see, where did you get the yellow one last time? What happened? hmm.gif

[PF] T.J.
post May 18 2017, 05:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 18 2017, 01:32 PM)
I got it fr AeonBig wangsa maju... The gardening section.

The plant somehow dried up.
Many thanks for the information, I will keep an eye out for them too notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I noticed that sometimes the plants sold in Tesco or other shopping malls tend to be cheaper than those in Nurseries (even those large ones in Sg. Buloh)

Sorry to hear that man, one thing I've learnt about Torennia is that they grow best when you don't take care of them sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post May 18 2017, 11:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 18 2017, 10:17 PM)

Looks good man, I'm intrigued haha! Will look for them flex.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 3 2017, 04:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ Jun 1 2017, 07:07 PM)
Any general insecticides to recommend?

Or household ingridient that could act as one.

Planting sunflower but some white insects are now causing the plants to wither and die.
Any photos of these "white-insects"?
Based on your description I think you are likely referring to mealybugs, a worldwide enemy of gardeners! mad.gif mad.gif

Most of the time we avoid using chemical insecticides if possible. One of the common methods that we can use is to mix some detergent with water and put the mixture into a spray bottle. You can try spraying the mixture onto the bugs themselves, or try to stream-spray them off the leaves hmm.gif

Mealybugs are always a headache to deal with, and have to be dealt with sooner than later because they reproduce quite quickly.
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 26 2017, 10:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(winchaser @ Jun 20 2017, 08:32 AM)
Where to find sempervivum and other succulents in Penang?
I usually shop here on Penang island: C&O Nursery

Nice owner and pretty wide range of plants, pots and accessories laugh.gif
I love how most, if not all of the plants are labelled with their common/scientific names- easier for us beginners to read up more about the plants we purchase thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 26 2017, 10:41 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 3 2017, 11:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Jul 3 2017, 10:09 AM)
I started the year with lots of greens and now slowly one by one are either dead or dying. I've been travelling a fair bit each month and although I set up my own watering system for certain plants, most of them eventually died. It's been a challenge.

My simple watering system is that I just insert one end of those tali guni into a bottle and the other into the soil and let the plant's root suck up the water whenever it is needed. It works fine initially but I realise that nowadays, the string tends to dry up quicker and the root doesn't suck up the water like it should. Anyone has a better option on self watering system? smile.gif

Even my air plants have slowly died.  I had about 10 and now I only had one left....bummer.  I sprayed water every few days and soak them in water for abt half hour every 2 weeks but even then no luck.  All my succulents are dead as well.  Counting by the tiny containers, I had bought about 20 over the span of 12 months and none survived  cry.gif  My herbs - thyme, basil...dead as well (this was partially due to mealy bugs too).

The only good news is that my sickly aloe vera plant had turned its life around and is looking decent, plus there's a little baby sprouted up too..haha. 

Would love to hear from others how to care for plants when going away on travels.
Well I guess we have all killed our share of plants laugh.gif No worries as tts all part and parcel of learning.

I usually just ask my friends to help me water my plants when I go away. If its only for 2-3 days the plants will be alright, those that appear wilted will easily spring back to life with a drink when I'm back.

I think its important to know the conditions your plants require to grow healthily, as not all of them require frequent watering. I noticed that some of my plants grew even better when they are left to dry. (Note that the frequency/quantity of water you provide varies with environment, climate, your potting mix and also your watering practice).

I think most of us as beginners make the mistake of overwatering our plants instead. Initially I failed to grow my thyme and rosemary too because of overwatering (common belief that 1 day should water once), leading to the rotting of the roots. Horticulturist often advise to "check the roots" to see if your plants are healthy, perhaps you could consider doing that, assuming that your simple watering system may be "too effective" and causing the roots to rot?

Nice video here for your information on root health: Root health

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 3 2017, 11:52 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 4 2017, 01:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Jul 3 2017, 12:10 PM)
The hole in the bottle method will be ok if I'm away for a couple of days but if it's anything longer, I think the water will dry up as well.  I might consider putting some of the more precious plants in the toilet to avoid the rope getting dried up. 
It's just too troublesome to get friends or family members to come over just to water my plants biggrin.gif . My trips can be from 1-2 weeks each time.

I would really love to plant essential food items like basil, spring onions, pandan, lemongrass  tongue.gif that I can use in cooking.  I had tomato plants once but there were just too many mealy bugs so I got rid of them.

Btw, any tips on propagating money plants better? Mine tends to grow longer and longer so I will cut it short and plant the stalk into the same pot of soil but they don't seem to grow well and eventually wilt off.
I understand totally how you feel, sometimes I feel bad for constantly asking my friends/ neighbors to water for me as well laugh.gif Some more they may not know which plant needs more/less watering which may result in damage. 1-2 weeks is quite a long time, even cacti would have problems surviving hmm.gif

Yeah herbs are pretty fun and easy to grow when you know the conditions they require. Fortunately most of them sort of have the same preferable conditions like lots of light; little/moderate amounts of water; good soil drainage, so they can be planted and cared for together. However, since some of them prefer full sun, it may be challenging to keep them alive if you are going away and if there's no rain cry.gif

Money plants should be fairly easy to propagate I think? Just cut sections of the stem out (even sections with one leaf would actually be enough for rooting), poke a hole in potted soil and then put the cutting into the hole. For longer cuttings you can just roll them up into a circle and put them directly on the surface (but in contact with) the potted soil. Ensure that the soil is moist and then all you need to do is wait. Try not to water as it may induce rotting or introduce pathogens especially if the water is dirty hmm.gif

QUOTE(upcars @ Jul 3 2017, 03:43 PM)
dunno if this right place to ask but anyway...
behind my house the tree is planted by mbpj. is like got disease. on the bark there are white patches and on the leaves got some mites thingy.

is it illegal if i get someone to chop it off and replace ? i was thinking of a nice longan tree or jambu air.
technically i'm not removing the tree.....just replacing it at my own expense a better tree. is illegal or not ah ?
QUOTE(hutazi @ Jul 3 2017, 04:06 PM)
If its a big tree, better call MBPJ, tell them its dangerous or something. maybe they will chop down by themself.
I agree, if its a big tree, better let the authorities do it. If its a small tree then I don't see why not laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 4 2017, 09:30 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 6 2017, 09:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 5 2017, 06:37 PM)
I plan to plant creepers to cover my fence. What'd be best? I sort of thinking to plant vegetables, can cover my fence and can eat the vegetables. like baling 1 batu kena 2 burung!
Perhaps can consider cucumbers or winter gourd? I guess it depends on what you like and what type of fence you are talking about (whether it can support the weight of fruits/vegetables which can get real big).
Some people prefer to plant butterfly peas (bunga telang) instead as these plants are low maintenance and produce striking and abundant flowers which can be used in both drinks/meals.
Some other ornamental plants like morning glory and passion flowers can be considered too
Anyway, regardless of what you choose, growing creepers may be a problem when they get "out of control"- quite cumbersome to remove them from fences laugh.gif

Do let us know what you choose in the end~

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 6 2017, 06:24 PM)
When is the best time to spray weedkillers? And does it even matter?
Depends on how big an area you are talking about? hmm.gif
I suppose if you want to clear an area for you to start planting something it would be feasible. However, if you are going to plant fruits and vegetables it may be a better idea to leave the plots for a while, so that you don't end up eating chemicals puke.gif
After that you will probably have to rely less on chemicals, which is not really good for the environment.

0.0403sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:32 AM