Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

waklu
post Sep 4 2012, 02:15 PM

70 posts

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/waklu-6726/hero/16158459

Any tips for gear upgrade? Trying to past that 50k dps, just ignore the skill part. Was testing WoL yesterday.

This post has been edited by waklu: Sep 4 2012, 02:17 PM
waklu
post Sep 4 2012, 02:26 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 4 2012, 02:19 PM)
Your current gears are good enough.

What about LOH gears?
Keep your DPS at current level and improve your LOH.
You need to change your weapons, amulet and rings.
I dont have any LoH atm, been doing "ok" with potions and health globes. Hint..see my progression bar hahahahahha

Seems like bracers, shoulder and rings can use an upgrades. Any suggestions?
waklu
post Sep 5 2012, 07:57 AM

70 posts

aleune, mind sharing your profiles?
waklu
post Sep 5 2012, 09:32 AM

70 posts

tried a bit of A3 coop yesteday, seems hard to survive without any life sustain affix..

Should i get a LoH off hand to replace my current spear? I bet my DPS surely will go down a bit but at least gain some survivability.

Updated profile, change bracers n boot yesterday

waklu
post Sep 5 2012, 10:22 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 5 2012, 10:00 AM)
I completed Inferno with about 30K DPS with 600LOH.
I changed some gears and my DPS increased to 50K DPS.
I kept my LOH at 600. I didn't find great improvement on "survival" (in co-op. I play co-op most of the time)

So, I went to AH and grabbed 2 cheap weapon with high LOH (both weapons cost me less than 5m in total).
My DPS dropped to 20-23K (I can't remember the exact number).
But surprisingly I was very comfortable in A3/A4.
I was quite surprise I didn't need to kite during elite/champion/Ghom/Azmodan/Diablo fights.

I needed to kite with 50K DPS (with 600 LOH).
I didn't need to kite with 20K DPS (with high LOH).

So, LOH is the answer for me.
I am very comfortable in both solo & co-op games.

P/S With your current high DPS, you should be quite comfortable in solo. Simply because you can kill fast.
But if you play co-op, you will face some issues because elites/champions/bosses have more HP and difficult to kill.
This is why I advised you if you can keep your current level of DPS + high LOH, you will be extremely comfortable in A3/A4.

Added on September 5, 2012, 10:02 am
To be exact, it is 2490 LOH + 3% lifesteal.
You are spot on coop mobs HP bonus, maybe that why i cant survived well when in 3 player coop
Temp solution for now, I will try to get a high LoH offhand since I can't upgrade the accesories since that require more gold, left with 1m plus now
waklu
post Sep 5 2012, 06:09 PM

70 posts

aluene,

i tried LoH but cant make it through act3, even white mob pain, i think because my AR so little perhaps, urs AR how much de?
waklu
post Sep 5 2012, 09:51 PM

70 posts

how to check armor and AR from profile page eh?
waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 12:46 AM

70 posts

just tank ghom in act3 lol... change all my gear, and bought 2 LoH weapon, its easier to tank stuff now with 1.6k LoH and 1k AR

armor kinda low though..should i change to MoC with hard target?
waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 07:57 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Sep 6 2012, 01:38 AM)
how  much u spent...

i killed ghom without LoH .. my fingers really pain. lol
most of the pieces i bought around 1M each, there is one armor which is 3M, bracer maybe..
weapon around 1M each..
waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 10:49 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 6 2012, 10:23 AM)
Yeap, it is a lot easier with high LOH.
But one thing I found, I tend to get complacent.
I tend to teleport into the middle fire+poison+arcane.
And I see flying corpse few seconds later without knowing that was mine.  laugh.gif

With Barb's WC + MoH, my AR is about 1580+.
AR does help in tanking.

It should be MoE/Hard target, right?
What is your current armor?
on the profile page it shows 5442, not sure that counted enchantress skill or not

updated profile

waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 11:09 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 6 2012, 11:00 AM)
5400+ armor is normal for dual-wield.
I think it is all right to keep armor at that level.

By the way, I think you need to replace your rings.
yeah the accessories set was from my "previous" dps set..

so the "lazy man" accerioes specs would be
LoH
single ress
all ress
DEX/VIT
combination of either ChC/CDMG/AIS

this gonna be costly bro..
waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 11:31 AM

70 posts

walao..just checked AH..all medium LoH ring 2m plus... got ALONG to loan here ah zzzz

This post has been edited by waklu: Sep 6 2012, 11:31 AM
waklu
post Sep 6 2012, 03:08 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Sep 6 2012, 11:41 AM)
can consider Life per spirit spent with high crit dmg...i think cheaper...for a start.
no LpSS for ring and amulet bro...
waklu
post Sep 10 2012, 08:59 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Sep 9 2012, 10:31 PM)
just got this

anyone wants? biggrin.gif offer me,selling cheap here
no socket, no life sustain affix, this wont sell unless for inferno starter kit bro biggrin.gif
waklu
post Sep 10 2012, 05:10 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Bhaer @ Sep 10 2012, 04:58 PM)
I would recommend swapping "Cyclone Strike" for "Breath of Heaven - Blazing Wrath". Keep the buff on whenever possible if you can make do without the healing. It will give you a much needed boost to your DPS until you can upgrade.

You should be able to at least complete Act 2 and up to early Act 3 with your current stats/gear.

I only had ~3xx LoH with similar stats as yours when I did Act 2 (Elite Lacunis were a problem for me due to their fast attacks and I couldn't heal fast enough but you should have less issues with them). You should have no problem popping Belial before enrage -- just use Breath of Heaven before casting your Cyclone for maximum DPS boost.

Swap to "Mantra of Evasion - Hard Target" or "Mantra of Conviction - Overawe" to see which one gives you more survivability.

I'm using this build (although you don't need to swap out your Seven-Sided Strike for my Blinding Flash)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk...;aXU!aacbac

You may need to swap out a few emeralds for amethysts until you manage to get better Dex/Vit gear. 30K life is bare minimum for Act 3.

thumbup.gif
dude,

your DPS shown in profile page is fully buffed correct?
waklu
post Sep 10 2012, 05:34 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Bhaer @ Sep 10 2012, 05:12 PM)
Not always. If you log out of the game without buffing yourself, it will show your actual DPS.

---

Attached is my unbuffed stat/DPS (no follower).
Sorry I was actually directing that question to M2K2Land hehe
waklu
post Sep 10 2012, 06:12 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Sep 10 2012, 05:42 PM)
Same answer... sometimes buff before login sometimes dont. This is buff 70k+ and unbuff is 41k+
owh ok, cos i was just curious seeing your dps so high but your weapon dps and ChD is quite average.. ur dex is high tho biggrin.gif

btw, i use asiangamer calculator to calculate ur dps from your profile
waklu
post Sep 11 2012, 10:06 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 11 2012, 07:56 PM)
5-10m okay la .. Affordable ..
err..that's quite a lot for me blink.gif
waklu
post Sep 12 2012, 11:01 AM

70 posts

tried using my crit dmg weapons for OH and MH, yes dmg increase to 49k unbuff 800res, 6k ish armor), but kept dying since no life sustain affix on the weapons..

maybe its just my playstyle.

found normal mob..left click asap without thinking

found elites, left click, mantra, SSS, serenity..if elite not dead..run like headless chicken and wait for serenity available again..

pening..pening..

This post has been edited by waklu: Sep 12 2012, 11:02 AM
waklu
post Sep 12 2012, 03:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Sep 12 2012, 11:53 AM)
Those are the impressive damage.  lust.gif

I don't have skills. And my play style is rather complacent too.
Just whack.  laugh.gif

I am not sure I can do hardcore or not.
Looking at my play style, I think I can only survive up to A2.

yeah..getting at your rate now..too complacent..see mob? left click, hold until dies..

no positioning..no skill rotation..hahaha gg me

0.0539sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:44 AM