Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V16, Now with online submission

mhyug
post Aug 17 2012, 08:35 PM

1,553 posts

3. Unplug or move existing wiring especially cables that connect the Fibre Wall Socket (FWS) to the BTU and BTU to the RG/BG.

owh crap...i just did the above, unplugged the fibre cable due to cleaning the tv cabinet ....ive checked the speed test and it was normal should be worried??or call tm to inspect my cabling etc?? cry.gif

QUOTE(Blackened @ Aug 17 2012, 10:21 AM)
me lol

Called Unifi few days ago and the only thing they can do is reset the port. Apparently they can't create report because the speed meter already meet expectation speed sad.gif
im having the same prob.....any soln guys??is it the webpage?the server?my pc ??or the btu/modem etc??

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 17 2012, 08:38 PM
mhyug
post Aug 18 2012, 12:49 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Aug 17 2012, 11:29 PM)
as long as your connection in good condition, that ok.... basically i always unplugged the fiber cable to move the router/ont....even i disassemble the small white box to take the cable to put inside the pipe(my room got renovation, before use white casing, now pipe inside the wall...)

just make sure take care of the tip of the cable(take some precaution like bungkus with plastic bag) as the dust might trap there and you will have some degradation....
owh thanks for the advice.any other tips??i heard the fibre cable can be kinked if its bent too much?
mhyug
post Aug 18 2012, 05:23 PM

1,553 posts

utorrent or bitcomet??i think both supports the long time seeding right?

some say utorrent less hassle and better efficiency then bitcomet..what say u?
mhyug
post Aug 24 2012, 03:59 PM

1,553 posts

will there be any difference if we do port forwarding for unifi???
mhyug
post Aug 27 2012, 04:43 PM

1,553 posts

anyone has any screen shot of torrent speeds using VIP5??per say this torrent has a very good seed ratio/number.

would like to know what speeds are considered "normal" for unifi users.im getting confused with kbps and MBps

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 27 2012, 04:53 PM
mhyug
post Aug 27 2012, 06:28 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(izzat80 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:33 PM)
for vip5.. can reach 580kBps (kilobyte per secon.. or 0.5mBYTEps)
what prog u using for torrent? try bitcomet if ur speed is not max and don forget to forward ports ....
hoo even with unifi port forward is needed? hmm.gif i tried forwarding but x jadi...the dir615 modem page is a bit diff then the ones posted at portforward .com.
mhyug
post Aug 28 2012, 06:55 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 28 2012, 04:17 PM)
1. I've never used TM DNS since the availability of GoogleDNS about 2010? It was quite bad back then, now not too sure, although it seem much better. If what u did fixed it for you, then that should be the problem.

2. Can show screenshot of where u changed the option for the dns? And the screenshot of 'dns not validated'?
Reboot the router? Maybe u can try to flushdns and registerdns in windows? Use another browser? Rarely u need to do this, but sometimes it helps.

3, if u have the budget you can look for routers designed to support UniFi. The stock router doesnt work too well especially when there's an active IPTV session + firewall enabled (heat+memory issue?) The router tends to delay/QOS packets... For example when u do Speedtest ,the speed will be about 2Mbps for 5 sec climbing slowly, then jump to 15Mbps and finish, as if the data was delayed, then suddenly released to you. This happened on a friend's router, so i turned off the IPTV which kinda helped, then turned off the firewall because windows already has a built in firewall, reduce redundancy and there was no more 'initial delay' or router hang. This was for one of the earlier firmwares(software), not too sure about now but i'm quite sure the hardware isn't very capable, not saying it's bad because Maxis's is even worse, it's good for the cost but to some people it isn't enough.

Disable the Firewall (use PC firewall) + don't use IPTV + disabled Remote Management (turn it on only when you call TM and required to turn it on for investigation from their side) + use GoogleDNS + use B/G/N with WPA2-PSK, AES cipher ONLY with WMM enabled (all must be exactly that for maximum N throughput) is the best thing u can do.
by firewall you mean the router firewall??also is it necessary to do a static ip + port forward for unifi?if yes how??ive tried portforward.com but their page dont have the dir615 router page wch has the same FW with the one tm is supplying.any other sorce for this?

ive been facing some problems when surfing but not all sites and browser.i suspect its my pc rather then the unifi it self since my sisters laptop wch runs on latest chrome+win vista is smooth.i some how suspect its the firefox having bugs/problems with the java/flash players.

mhyug
post Aug 29 2012, 07:44 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 29 2012, 12:54 AM)
firewall, yes router firewall...  with firewall enabled i felt p2p with multiple (300+) connections opened cause the router to be sluggish and every device that is connected to the router will be slow except the one p2p-ing somehow. mine was with the latest firmware 7.13? before i custom firmware a better router = )

for port forwarding you can refer to: http://unifi.athena.my/router_config.php
really good site for unifi info = )

in fact, not only firefox, chrome sometimes too with the older versions.
especially if you have a lot of extension and add-on inside the browser, it can cause serious incompatibility and can affect speed and stability. which is why i keep my browser clean. no toolbars, no a single add-on and extension except java, flash & adobe reader.

i've learnt this lesson before the hard way. had to reformat my whole pc last time because of a crazy chinese add on toolbar which cannot be removed forever no matter what i did. it shows removed and not inside firefox, but it's still running. worse than yours, halfway browsing i will be redirected to some random page. if other pc's are not affected badly then you can be sure it's yours... personal opinion, chrome is the best browser now as firefox is slowly becoming heavy on the system since a couple versions ago..  icon_rolleyes.gif
thx for the info bro. smile.gif

mhyug
post Aug 30 2012, 06:10 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ Aug 30 2012, 05:35 PM)
Jack sparrow bay is down for the whole world  sad.gif
apa jadi sudah???????

apparently kena ddos by those *********##$!! but no worries.they done it in the past but the bay never dies!!we will fight!!.but kesian demenoid, rip.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 30 2012, 06:21 PM
mhyug
post Sep 12 2012, 07:49 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Sep 12 2012, 12:59 AM)
Unifi dead at my area, Endah Puri Condo, Sri Petaling. Customer service no people answering after 10 minutes of waiting...
take it to their official fb/tweeter yo...put some nasty comments and they will get back to you asap.one thing i noticed companies these days fear of the social network platforms then call centers...since practically every one in the world sees them instead of just you and a lousy call attended who wont give a shiat what youre saying on the other line.

0.0226sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:50 PM