Auction House Bidding

TSSophiera
post Jul 12 2012, 05:44 AM, updated 14y ago

Sophtopus
706 posts

There's something I really, really, really don't understand

Here's the story.

I accidentally bidded on a 400k amulet for 800k which is double the last bid price (400k), so I thought that is going to burn and I'm losing 400k
Then, to my surprise, I received a refund of 400k because the last bid didn't move much.

But then my bro bidded on a 50k bracer for 200k. He should have received 150k aprox. as a refund, yet in the end the auction house showed up "200k-bid". In short, he paid the ceiling price of the bid.

Can somebody explain to me what is going on? Why I get a refund, but he didn't? Did they change something? Bugfix? Bugged?

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Jul 12 2012, 05:44 AM
eusioxn
post Jul 12 2012, 07:14 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

as for your case, That's how suppose Auction house is function.

As for your bro case, when he bid 200k on a 50k item, maybe by the end of Auction, some other player might bid the item maybe near 200k. Thats why end result the item is costing 200k instead of 50k.
Quazacolt
post Jul 12 2012, 07:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

google proxy bidding.
dishwasher
post Jul 12 2012, 09:23 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jul 12 2012, 05:44 AM)
There's something I really, really, really don't understand

Here's the story.

I accidentally bidded on a 400k amulet for 800k which is double the last bid price (400k), so I thought that is going to burn and I'm losing 400k
Then, to my surprise, I received a refund of 400k because the last bid didn't move much.

But then my bro bidded on a 50k bracer for 200k. He should have received 150k aprox. as a refund, yet in the end the auction house showed up "200k-bid". In short, he paid the ceiling price of the bid.

Can somebody explain to me what is going on? Why I get a refund, but he didn't? Did they change something? Bugfix? Bugged?
Proxy bidding.

How it works is, you place your highest bid for an item you want. Lets say the current bid is 100k, but you think the item is worth 500k. You put in 500k, but the next bid would only be 110k. If no one bids on the item, you'll get the item for 110k and get 390k refunded. If lets say someone bids on the item, his bid will get rejected until he bids more than 500k.

In your brother's case, someone probably bid on the item right up to the 200k mark, but did not beat your brother's bid. Hence the ceiling price.
Gen
post Jul 12 2012, 10:22 AM

410 posts

yea easy to understand biggrin.gif
lksing78
post Jul 12 2012, 10:23 AM

91 posts

Bot bidding...
tanghm
post Jul 12 2012, 10:33 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

You place your MAX BID that you're willing to pay, and by the time the auction ends and the "Current Bid" is lower than your MAX BID and you're the Winner, you will get the Item + REFUNDED the balance.

Therefore, you just place the maximum you're willing to pay, AND GO TO SLEEP !! You don't need to camp at the AH for the last few minutes to snipe a winning auction. If you lost the auction, why bother since you not willing to pay more than you initially bidded. Get the point yet ?

As for your brother's case, the "Current Bid" matches his "Max Bid" therefore there is no refund and he win by the "Current Bid" amount.

I bid for a bow that I'm willing to pay maximum 1m yesterday, but the "Current Bid" stopped at 525k right after I place the 1mil amount. After the auction timer ends, nobody bids higher 1m, therefore the Current Bid did not move and I am the winner, with the item and refunded 475k.

This post has been edited by tanghm: Jul 12 2012, 10:37 AM
yuhhaur
post Jul 12 2012, 10:37 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Jul 12 2012, 10:33 AM)
You place your MAX BID that you're willing to pay, and by the time the auction ends and the "Current Bid" is lower than your MAX BID and you're the Winner, you will get the Item + REFUNDED the balance.

Therefore, you just place the maximum you're willing to pay, AND GO TO SLEEP !! You don't need to camp at the AH for the last few minutes to snipe a winning auction. If you lost the auction, why bother since you not willing to pay more than you initially bidded. Get the point yet ?
Because last seconds bidding is syok tongue.gif Undercut someone in the last second is.... priceless icon_rolleyes.gif

tanghm
post Jul 12 2012, 10:38 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 12 2012, 10:37 AM)
Because last seconds bidding is syok tongue.gif Undercut someone in the last second is.... priceless icon_rolleyes.gif
Let say the timer <1m and the Current Bid is 500k (But I placed my MAX BID as 10mil). How are you going to undercut my 10m ?? Unless you're willing to outbid my 10m which is not revealed to you !!
aLertz
post Jul 12 2012, 10:39 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

someone js put a bid value slightly under your brother's max bid price during the last second...
hence, ur bro's bid is taken as last value...so nth to refund...
deodorant
post Jul 12 2012, 10:41 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 12 2012, 10:37 AM)

that only works if that person only bid the +10%. If that person had put a +9000% bid, all your last minute bid would do is to make him pay more for the item, that's all biggrin.gif
tanghm
post Jul 12 2012, 10:46 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2012, 10:41 AM)
that only works if that person only bid the +10%. If that person had put a +9000% bid, all your last minute bid would do is to make him pay more for the item, that's all biggrin.gif
Given my example above, I don't see it possible for you (yuhhaur) to snipe my 10m MAX BID when the Current Bid stays at 500k with <1m timer left.

You go and click Bid and entered 550k, which you will end up as NOT WINNING, then you try again this time put 605k 10% more, NOT WINNING again. You get frustrated as it is seconds left, you then maybe whack 2m ? But you still don't win my 10m bid which is hidden !!

This post has been edited by tanghm: Jul 12 2012, 10:47 AM
yuhhaur
post Jul 12 2012, 10:46 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2012, 10:41 AM)
That is also one of the reason.

*evil *

tanghm
post Jul 12 2012, 10:48 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 12 2012, 10:46 AM)
That is also one of the reason.

*evil *
Correct, but he is willing to pay that amount remember ?
yuhhaur
post Jul 12 2012, 10:51 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Jul 12 2012, 10:48 AM)
Correct, but he is willing to pay that amount remember ?
Correct also, but that makes me happier biggrin.gif Nothing to do with him.

As I said, syok sendiri ma

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Jul 12 2012, 10:51 AM
tgrrr
post Jul 12 2012, 10:55 AM

939 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 12 2012, 10:51 AM)
Correct also, but that makes me happier biggrin.gif Nothing to do with him.

As I said, syok sendiri ma

Bad monk.. very bad monk mad.gif mad.gif

Btw, I accidentally found a way to cancel my auction bid last week tongue.gif
Wonder if they fixed that already. There is a note about AH fix in latest patch.
RasWong
post Jul 12 2012, 10:57 AM

235 posts

sorry a bit blur after so much read, ask for example 1 of the bid currently is 1m bidprice, i put in 10m , in all the middle process it still show 1m as the bid right? and ppl try to bid with 2m 3m and 5m. at the end what i get is refund 9m or 5m????
Gen
post Jul 12 2012, 11:03 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(tgrrr @ Jul 12 2012, 10:55 AM)
Bad monk.. very bad monk  mad.gif  mad.gif

Btw, I accidentally found a way to cancel my auction bid last week tongue.gif
Wonder if they fixed that already. There is a note about AH fix in latest patch.
Good Monk, come lets share it.. rclxms.gif
cyclone9
post Jul 12 2012, 11:08 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

this proxy bidding for both with/without buyout?
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 12 2012, 11:15 AM

1,646 posts

lol

0.0186sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:20 PM