Hi Guys,
Would like to seek for your opinion whether shall I buy a new Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Full Spec or a new Kia Optima K5.
Dilemma! please help.....
Hyudai Sonata or Optima K5, which one shall i go for?
Jul 12 2012, 12:49 AM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Hi Guys,
Would like to seek for your opinion whether shall I buy a new Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Full Spec or a new Kia Optima K5. Dilemma! please help..... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:08 AM
1. Brand : Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Full Spec or Kia Optima K5
2. Budget : RM140k 3. New/Used/Unreg : New 4. Specs : 5. Transmission : Auto 6. NA or FI : 7. Type : 8. Remarks :I am dilemma in choosing between the 2 model. Please help |
Jul 12 2012, 01:13 AM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Penang |
K5 is a better and wiser choice...
Jul 12 2012, 01:14 AM
K5 is better spec wise, handles better... Design wise is also much more handsome...imo
also cheaper... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:17 AM
4,296 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
there a thread in kopitiam...
some said materials used in sonata is better quality... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:21 AM
119 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: malaysial |
Jul 12 2012, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:21 AM) Go test drive.... handling is very good, wat better than Camry, at least on par with Accord... But ride quality is better....My father owns the Sorento 2.4.... We test drove Fortuner, Pajero Sport and CRV.... Sorento is better than them.... power, handling, specs... etc... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM
but i think K5 has more features and selling cheaper right? How come there are so less of K5 on the road compare with Sonata huh?
Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 01:41 AM) It will be better for u to test drive the car... can fell the different... try take a corner fast, the u'll know...K5 is a newer car... Plus specs wise, it is better than Sonata, also cheaper than the high spec 2.0 Sonata... K5 handling is better and ride is a bit stiffer.... Kia is more of a sporty car than Hyundai.... Trust me, korean car are good.... My father is using a Theta II 2.4 Sorento... Mileage 41,000 ++km.... still smooth... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(masz94 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM) It will be better for u to test drive the car... can fell the different... try take a corner fast, the u'll know... I went to the showroom in Chan Saw Lin and the agent told me that they have no test drive unit there. Maybe i got to go to Federal. Have you test drive the car?K5 is a newer car... Plus specs wise, it is better than Sonata, also cheaper than the high spec 2.0 Sonata... K5 handling is better and ride is a bit stiffer.... Kia is more of a sporty car than Hyundai.... Trust me, korean car are good.... My father is using a Theta II 2.4 Sorento... Mileage 41,000 ++km.... still smooth... |
Jul 12 2012, 01:55 AM
706 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM) but i think K5 has more features and selling cheaper right? How come there are so less of K5 on the road compare with Sonata huh? Imagine ferrari and bmw, which one you can see the most? You can relate la with k5 and sonata.. |
Jul 12 2012, 02:14 AM
87 posts Joined: May 2010 |
i personally like both cars and if i were to opt for 2.0, k5 anytime.
the only reason i'll pick the sonata is the 2.4 only. |
Jul 12 2012, 02:20 AM
Jul 12 2012, 09:47 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM) but i think K5 has more features and selling cheaper right? How come there are so less of K5 on the road compare with Sonata huh? The Sonata was launched about 1.5 years before the Optima. Of course ull see more Sonata on the road la. Added on July 12, 2012, 9:48 am QUOTE(ZiTay @ Jul 12 2012, 01:13 AM) Go for Sonata Executive Plus 2012 with navi n touch screen, rm148k with rm2k discount, plus free 3m voucher worth rm500. Yes go for this Sonata with the freebies and discount but be prepared to accept much less specs for the same price. Does that make sense? This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 12 2012, 09:48 AM |
Jul 12 2012, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 12:49 AM) Hi Guys, Ask your question here: Would like to seek for your opinion whether shall I buy a new Hyundai Sonata 2.0 Full Spec or a new Kia Optima K5. Dilemma! please help..... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2310881/+2160 The biggest difference between the 2 will be the lack of specs on the Sonata 2.0L compared to the Optima for the same price. Spec comparison between Optima & Sonata 2.0L: 1) Theta II 2.0L MPI Dual CVVT engine (163HP and 198 Nm torque) 2) 6 speed auto with Shiftronic, paddle shifters for manual control and Eco mode (Sonata no paddle shifters or manual mode) 3) High Intensity Discharge (HID) Xenon headlights with Auto Leveling & Static Bending Lights (Sonata only has normal headlights) 4) Daytime LED running lights (DRL) (Sonata does not have) 5) Rear LED lights and LED side turn signal lights 6) Auto Light Control System with Escort Lights and washers (Sonata does not have) 7) Gulf wing electric foldable side mirrors 8) Glove box with cooler (Sonata does not have) 9) 6 airbags (front, side & curtain airbags) (Sonata only 2 airbags) 10) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS) 11) Electronic Brakeforce Distribution System (EBD) 12) Traction Control System (TCS) 13) Hill Assist Control (HAC) 14) Cornering Brake Control (CBC) (Sonata does not have) 15) Brake Assist System (BAS) 16) Electronic Stability Control (ESC) 17) Rear Parking Assist System with rear camera (Sonata does not have) 18) Speed Sensing Auto door lock 19) Impact Sensing Auto door unlock (Sonata does not have) 20) Auto Cruise Control 21) 18 inch sporty alloy wheels with full disk brakes and full size spare alloy wheel 22) MacPherson suspension with Gas shock absorbers & High Performance Dampers (HPD) with sliding valves (Sonata only has normal hydraulic suspension) 23) 530 watt Infinity Harman Surround Sound system with 8 speakers & subwoofer (Sonata has normal sound system) 24) 6 in dash CD changer system with Bluetooth, AUX, USB & iPOD connectivity (Sonata only has single CD changer) 25) Dual zone automatic air con with rear air con vents (Sonata only manual aircon) 26) 8 way power seat (driver) with dual memory function 27) Push Start ignition with Smart Key 28) 3.5” Color TFT LCD display 29) Premium Leather seats 30) Panoramic Electric Sunroof 31) First Korean car with 5 Star NHTSA safety rating from America 32) Complete 5 years unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty (Sonata has 5 years or 300,000km mileage warranty) This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 12 2012, 10:01 AM |
Jul 12 2012, 09:58 AM
250 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
k5 looks fierce with DRL....
and from behind looks smaller than elantra, which is a good thing. too bulky no good. |
Jul 12 2012, 10:03 AM
1,422 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(masz94 @ Jul 12 2012, 01:41 AM) Go test drive.... handling is very good, wat better than Camry, at least on par with Accord... But ride quality is better.... Haa haaa... Sorento suspension comprises a double wishbone set-up at the front, with a five-link set-up at the rear for optimum on-road ride and handling, and also good off-road ability. Gas-filled dampers developed by Sachs are used on all four wheels. And to top it all, the Sorento’s suspension system was fine-tuned by none other than sports car supremos, "PORSCHE" and tested exhaustively in Germany and Spain.My father owns the Sorento 2.4.... We test drove Fortuner, Pajero Sport and CRV.... Sorento is better than them.... power, handling, specs... etc... |
Jul 12 2012, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Jul 12 2012, 10:03 AM) Haa haaa... Sorento suspension comprises a double wishbone set-up at the front, with a five-link set-up at the rear for optimum on-road ride and handling, and also good off-road ability. Gas-filled dampers developed by Sachs are used on all four wheels. And to top it all, the Sorento’s suspension system was fine-tuned by none other than sports car supremos, "PORSCHE" and tested exhaustively in Germany and Spain. What about the Optima K5 suspension system? Its also gas shock absorbers right? But the dampers are different rite? |
Jul 12 2012, 11:21 AM
1,001 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Between 2, I would go for the K5. More value for money to me
Jul 12 2012, 11:28 AM
276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Orient |
if its just between the Kimchis, K5 would definitely be the better choice. more specs and better looks. reliability wise, well..kimchis
This post has been edited by stix: Jul 12 2012, 11:32 AM |
Jul 12 2012, 11:41 AM
2,645 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I love to see people defend Optima.. nice
Jul 12 2012, 11:50 AM
The agent told me that they are having a rebates of 2888 for K5 currently. is there any better offer than this at the moment?
Jul 12 2012, 12:06 PM
127 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Interms of spec, K5 got more features and better safety features. Interms ok look, K5 looks sporty, sonata looks elegant. I go for K5
Jul 12 2012, 12:18 PM
461 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: PJ |
camry
Jul 12 2012, 12:40 PM
37 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Jul 12 2012, 12:41 PM
56 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
for me I choose K5, design ...
Jul 12 2012, 12:42 PM
37 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 01:45 AM) but i think K5 has more features and selling cheaper right? How come there are so less of K5 on the road compare with Sonata huh? As Cybermaster said, sonata launch it 1year early than K5, sure on the road will more than K5 Also due to K5 have a shipment and AP issue delay the stock ..that 's why .. Added on July 12, 2012, 12:43 pm QUOTE(ZiTay @ Jul 12 2012, 01:13 AM) Go for Sonata Executive Plus 2012 with navi n touch screen, rm148k with rm2k discount, plus free 3m voucher worth rm500. ZiTay : u still dilemma on choosing K5 , but ask ppl go for sonata? LOLThis post has been edited by DJSoo: Jul 12 2012, 12:43 PM |
Jul 12 2012, 12:44 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
if i got money, i go K5
Jul 12 2012, 04:22 PM
130 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE I saw a new white K5 in Glenmarie yesterday. I think almost everyone looking at the car near the trafic light. On my left got Audi and Sonata but I didint see anyone looking at them. From AutoWorld Get Optima, trust me. |
Jul 12 2012, 07:24 PM
Tama, u own one? May I know what make you say so?
Jul 12 2012, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 07:24 PM) Tama, u own one? May I know what make you say so? I also own an Optima. I test drive the car 9 times and did many months of research before i made my decision. |
Jul 12 2012, 08:37 PM
34 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
not a korean car hater but can call me that
performance wise, maybe i believe sonata better, also the looks unless u wanna use till that car died, go ahead but if wanna change to another car later, better go for "better value car" i.e maybe japanese car? sorry not to bash but just my thinking, ignore if im just anoyying |
Jul 12 2012, 09:08 PM
Just went to see the new civic. I think that it is overprice as well. No surprise.....
Jul 12 2012, 10:03 PM
361 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Jul 12 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Jul 12 2012, 10:03 AM) Haa haaa... Sorento suspension comprises a double wishbone set-up at the front, with a five-link set-up at the rear for optimum on-road ride and handling, and also good off-road ability. Gas-filled dampers developed by Sachs are used on all four wheels. And to top it all, the Sorento’s suspension system was fine-tuned by none other than sports car supremos, "PORSCHE" and tested exhaustively in Germany and Spain. Wow... tuned by porsche ? that's why la the handling is quite good....Actually my father is considering Lexus RX too.... But he was shocked that the Sorento's handling is much better... Altough interior materials Sorento can't beat RX (LOL price also more than double)... So he decided to go for Sorento and deciding to buy a Merc or Audi sedan.... I die2 convince him Sorento gooding.... Of coz he won't believe.... But after test drive...haha.... so TS, test drive matters.... He even asked me if Kia K9 will be available in Malaysia....haha I myself is considering Koup, K5 or New Ranger..... Lotsa choices now... headache.... |
Jul 12 2012, 11:13 PM
718 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: 2 holes |
test drive and you will know
Jul 13 2012, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(masz94 @ Jul 12 2012, 11:07 PM) Wow... tuned by porsche ? that's why la the handling is quite good.... Not sure if that applies to the Optima though. Im not really impressed with the Optima handling. Yes its better than most but the jumpy steering issue doesnt give me much confidence.Actually my father is considering Lexus RX too.... But he was shocked that the Sorento's handling is much better... Altough interior materials Sorento can't beat RX (LOL price also more than double)... So he decided to go for Sorento and deciding to buy a Merc or Audi sedan.... I die2 convince him Sorento gooding.... Of coz he won't believe.... But after test drive...haha.... so TS, test drive matters.... He even asked me if Kia K9 will be available in Malaysia....haha I myself is considering Koup, K5 or New Ranger..... Lotsa choices now... headache.... |
Jul 13 2012, 02:07 PM
130 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(anthonyhmy @ Jul 12 2012, 07:24 PM) I do not own a Optima, I own a Camry. Undoubtedly, Optima is not as comfy as Camry. But interior design, exterior design, safety, features, outlook, money value and many many more is better than Camry.I live in East Malaysia. Unlike West Msia, my area does not have a 3S centre and even a proper Kia showroom. I do not see a Kia k5 or Sorento in the showroom. Only older models |
Jul 13 2012, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 13 2012, 08:03 AM) Not sure if that applies to the Optima though. Im not really impressed with the Optima handling. Yes its better than most but the jumpy steering issue doesnt give me much confidence. Ooh i see..... Sorento handling is very good with minimal body roll ( rarely feel )I'm sure Optima will be good.... U checked at SC dy ? For me Naza's Red Cube has one of the best customer service in Malaysia.... Very2 good response.... |
Sep 26 2012, 10:07 PM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Dec 27 2012, 01:18 AM
Safety should be the No 1 consideration:
These are the latest IIHS safety ratings for moderately priced cars in the US. We need to keep in mind that the Camry tested here was the US version with the full 10 airbags and VSC. Malaysian version 2.5V only has 4 airbags and no VSC. Hyundai Sonata only obtained marginal ratings compared to the Optima K5. http://www.iihs.org/ratings/summary.aspx?class=30 http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-12-20/t...crash-test.html http://money.cnn.com/2012/12/20/autos/toyo...test/index.html |
Dec 27 2012, 10:34 PM
37 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Dec 30 2012, 11:14 AM
152 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
i think better avoid all as topic
Dec 30 2012, 11:23 AM
1,040 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
I'm in the same boat as you TS. And now I'm driving a K5.
And yes, lots of pesky people clamouring around my car in parking lots...even saw a couple walking back and forth checking out my car. I didn't have the heart to disturb them eventhough I'm in a rush But of course, test drive yourself to decide. That's the best advice from this topic. |
Dec 30 2012, 03:11 PM
1,676 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Lowyat....KL |
K5 better...i plan to trade in my accord and get this car next year...
May 19 2013, 03:03 PM
1,733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
May 19 2013, 08:36 PM