Help with DPS computation

TSgladfly
post Jul 11 2012, 02:54 PM, updated 14y ago

579 posts

Hello...no poll this time smile.gif

Is it me being a dumb ass or I feel that the computaion for weapon damge for D3 is utterly confusing. For eg, say

Weapon: 100 dps
Range from 50-150.
+min 20
+max 20
+50-150 Holy Damage
+ 33% damage

Now normally, we just see the dps and we take the figure. Is DPS accurate, be all end all? I guess the DPS is the average from the weapon damage range ie 50-150.
However, what confuse me is the + affixes. I mean from the eg above +20 min or plus 20 max will it push the range to 70-170? Or it is already included in the stats of 50-150?
Also, +50-150 Holy damage...does it mean it will give additional damage, say making total range of 100-300 (being physical damge 50-150 plus 50+150).
Lastly, +33% damage, is it 33% extra damage after adding all damage, or the extra 33% damage is built in the weapon already. Eg you get extra 33% from the 100-300 or actually the 33% is included in the 50-150 damage?

I am confused....any sifu can help?

In before just take the DPS and forget about the rest!!

deodorant
post Jul 11 2012, 03:02 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jul 11 2012, 02:54 PM)

^
this.

all the elemental damage, min damage max damage, attack speed, etc, already calculated into the dps number
TSgladfly
post Jul 11 2012, 03:11 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2012, 03:02 PM)
^
this.

all the elemental damage, min damage max damage, attack speed, etc, already calculated into the dps number
Ah..then Blizzy should just do away with all those dumb + affixes. Just put DPS ..settled. No need to put +50% damage la or +500-1000 Fire damage to impress/konfuse people
samlee860407
post Jul 11 2012, 03:54 PM

4,631 posts

those affixes are being rolled ma when an item drop, so it ma add there up lo

only focus on the xxx- xxx amount

the higher the number, the harder it hit on every single hit

tgrrr
post Jul 11 2012, 05:13 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jul 11 2012, 02:54 PM)
Hello...no poll this time smile.gif

Is it me being a dumb ass or I feel that the computaion for weapon damge for D3 is utterly confusing. For eg, say

Weapon: 100 dps
Range from 50-150.
+min 20
+max 20
+50-150 Holy Damage
+ 33% damage

Now normally, we just see the dps and we take the figure. Is DPS accurate, be all end all? I guess the DPS is the average from the weapon damage range ie 50-150.
However, what confuse me is the + affixes. I mean from the eg above +20 min or plus 20 max will it push the range to 70-170? Or it is already included in the stats of 50-150?
Also, +50-150 Holy damage...does it mean it will give additional damage, say making total range of 100-300 (being physical damge 50-150 plus 50+150).
Lastly, +33% damage, is it 33% extra damage after adding all damage, or the extra 33% damage is built in the weapon already. Eg you get extra 33% from the 100-300 or actually the 33% is included in the 50-150 damage?

I am confused....any sifu can help?

Those number you pulled out of thin air one or they're based on real "virtual" rclxub.gif D3 items.

I belip weapon DPS number already take into account all it's positive affixes. So the +33% dmg, +50-150 Holy whatever, +min and +max all accounted in the DPS already together with the weapon attack speed (include +IAS).
Doesn't take into account +stat (e.g. Str, Dex, Int) coz those are class specific.
So normally those stats are redundant, just DPS is enough
goldfries
post Jul 11 2012, 05:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the details don't make sense. smile.gif especially to those who play other RPG, this could get confusion.

for example - fire element 2 hand sword with 180 atk.

does 180 dmg (assuming 0 armor) on neutral element creature.
does additional 75% on earth element creature.

in D3 it's like "Screw that!! we just lump elemental damage into DAMAGE" - like that then what's the point of switching from one element to another?
SUSifourtos
post Jul 11 2012, 05:27 PM

2,256 posts

all elemental dmg deal no bonus dmg. ( depend on monster resistance level for the specific element )

Element dmg will add different effect on atk :
Poison - slowed move speed
Holy - heal on death
Arcane - Knockback?
Fire - burned

this is what i remember.

simply
total dmg amount X spread/2 x atk speed = DPS
goldfries
post Jul 11 2012, 05:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no la. elemental is just for you to decide what color you want the enemy corpse to be.

poison = green
arcane = purple
fire = red
ice = white

so on so forth ...........
polarzbearz
post Jul 11 2012, 05:46 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 11 2012, 05:36 PM)
no la. elemental is just for you to decide what color you want the enemy corpse to be.

poison = green
arcane = purple
fire = red
ice = white

so on so forth ...........
thumbup.gif

Sadly, D3's weapon elements are merely a cosmetic feature... cry.gif
VinluV
post Jul 11 2012, 05:47 PM

1,947 posts

download this to your pc.
haven't had time to update since pre 1.0.3

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key...Y1htaE5IY0lsbnc

This post has been edited by VinluV: Jul 11 2012, 05:48 PM
deodorant
post Jul 11 2012, 05:52 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 11 2012, 05:16 PM)
in D3 it's like "Screw that!! we just lump elemental damage into DAMAGE" - like that then what's the point of switching from one element to another?

your sword glow different color icon_idea.gif

[edit] except cold, cold got an additional slowing effect. sos: devs say one but I dunno where is the link liao.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 11 2012, 05:53 PM
ToddStarz
post Jul 11 2012, 06:09 PM

407 posts

only cold damage retains its slowing effects but for a lower damage than other elements
goldfries
post Jul 11 2012, 09:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

srsly mang, i donno if my monk holy element rune actually does more damage on any creature.
polarzbearz
post Jul 11 2012, 11:16 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 11 2012, 09:04 PM)
srsly mang, i donno if my monk holy element rune actually does more damage on any creature.
laugh.gif Ignore the <Holy> and read it as <Damage % Bonus> tongue.gif

0.0196sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:39 AM