Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V13, new OTA, XXBLG1, check your update

T09
post Jul 12 2012, 07:27 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

updated to the latest firmware OTA successfully. icon_rolleyes.gif
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 07:30 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 12 2012, 07:26 PM)
open the keyboard to type. then there is a small square left of the "space" button. hold it...  where u can select settings, voice and clipbioard. then select clipboard..

found a way to delete the pics in clipboard. go to Smemo.. open clipboard then can d.. normal text messaging u cant delete the pics only text..
im able to delete the screenshots in the messaging clipboard by long press it, n select delete from clipboard.
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 08:09 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

now tis it weird, aft the OTA update, device rebooted n str8 gt an update from flipboard in play store(which nw i check thr isnt any new update for flipboard). since then, flipboard nvr appear in the downloaded app drawer nor in task manager 'downloaded' tab. any1 experienced tis also?

p/s: im stil able to access flipboard in the shortcuts i previously created. now i wonder if i ter-delete the shortcut how shud i recreate it since it no longer in downloaded app drawer rclxub.gif
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 08:54 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 08:35 PM)
y got flipboard ah??? auto 1??
so u get the flipboard automatically aft the OTA update w/o downloading it from play store?
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:00 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jul 12 2012, 08:56 PM)
yes.. flipboard comes with the latest update..
lol now tis explained wat happen to tis :

it alre bcm the native app of the firmware so it nt longer counted as downloaded app, hence it's nt appearing in the downloaded app drawer. thx 4 telling bro! wink.gif
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:11 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jul 12 2012, 09:05 PM)
no problem..

btw just noticed that the redrawing issue has marginally improved a bit on stock rom..
but still lagging by 0.5 sec like that..
better than nth anyway..

still observing the cell standby time.. dunno got fix or not..
and thinking of rooting it to the cwm kernel when got time this weekend
yea the redrawing issue has nt been completely fixed, bt some improvement like wat u said.

also, the total ram is now 779 instead of 780, n the ram usage nt tat high anymore, previously ram usage was constantly ard 650, nw 500+.
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:14 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 09:09 PM)
so can remove it??
i can uninstall it in setting>application manager>downloaded tab>flipboard>uninstall.
fyi, i downloaded flipboard myself last time, nt come wit the latest OTA update, bt i guess u can remove it tis way also.
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:32 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Jul 12 2012, 09:21 PM)
i dun have flipboard before updating to the newest update..
currently on stock rom..

after the update, it got installed automatically..
if u try to go to Apps > left soft button > uninstall

u can see that there is no minus sign on the Flipboard icon..
check in the app manager also flipboard is not listed..

conclusion, can't uninstall it on stock rom, flipboard is like intergrated inside the system.

maybe after rooting can uninstall it along with the bloatwares with titanium backup?
now i notice i also unable to uninstall flipboard, unlike last time, instead of showing 'uninstall' in app manager, now it shows 'uninstall updates'. n yea, the icon also unable to delete or uninstall from the app drawer as u said, it alre integrated in the system.

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 09:24 PM)
sumore not the latest version.. integrated inside.. can't uninstall but disable only.. force stop..
wat is ur flipboard version? mine is 1.8.4 build 111
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:46 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 09:35 PM)
y keep ask me update?? 1.8.4, 65??? at about > general.. so how??
it prompt u to update ur flipboard? if nt jz update it in play store.
u're unable to uninstall it alre since its nw integrated as part of the system, unless u root ur phone n remove it along wit other bloatwares. well, for me flipboard is a nice piece of app, i would keep it in my system, since u kenot uninstall, try it out mayb u wil like it. cheers icon_rolleyes.gif
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 09:57 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 09:47 PM)
now i accepted this fact but now keep ask me 2 update.. there is no update at all.. "open" so how??
blink.gif u mean u kenot update ur flipboard?
i downloaded my flipboard in play store, nt the 1 in samsung apps, as u can c the 1 in samsung apps is older version i guess(base on the date). try go to playstore>my apps> n c if thr's any update for flipboard? update n c if the problem stil persist.
T09
post Jul 12 2012, 10:13 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 12 2012, 10:01 PM)
problem is play market shown installed.. no update available for me at all.. dunno y my version r not build 111 instead of 1.8.4 ,65
im nt sure mayb those flipboard cm wit OTA update is samsung version? n as u said 65=june 5? sweat.gif while mine dl from play store, clicked into general>about>press into about n it shows 2012-07-05 07:52, 111, release, my
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 04:08 AM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 13 2012, 03:22 PM)
Not sure if just me. Before update the latest firmware, when Message apps is opened and closed, it'll still reside in the Task Manager under Active Applications.

After updated to the latest firmware, it no longer reside there.
nope mine is stil appearing in active apps list in task manager even i press the back button.

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 13 2012, 05:35 PM)
i bought mine on the 1st of July, it is made by samsung in Korea.
bought mine on 3rd day of launch, made by samsung, batt assembled in vietnam, it's all abt luck. don get too carried away wit these made in whr issue, made in korea doesnt mean the quality wil b damn great(treat it as bonus if u get tat), some forumers here did get korea set bt hving hardware issues. me myself hoping to get korea set too bt at the end i gt vietnam set i guess, bt im jz glad tat my phone is functioning well n nt gving me any prob i alre vy happy n feel lucky biggrin.gif jz keep my finger crossed in the future it wont gimme any issue as i rmb some forumers found their s3 hving calling issue only aft few weeks of usage. *touch wood tongue.gif

on the side note, nt sure if its placebo effect bt the batt life of my s3 has been real good aft the latest OTA update.
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 01:35 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

guys, finally polaris office 4.0 can b dl in samsung apps, jz go to 'more services' n dl it.

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jul 14 2012, 08:25 AM)
I really hope ppl stop talking nonsense about "Made in Korea" is better/superior than "Made by Samsung". It's all about QC and got nothing to do with where it's made.
My own example. My "Made in Korea" GNote got very bad colour banding that cannot be fix until i had to sold it later. My other "Made by Samsung" GNote had no problem whatsoever and i still using it until today. Even my ¨Made in Korea" SGS3 got problem with non-working LED light for two days. Service centre want to hold my S3 for 5 - 7 days in order to repair it..!!
I'm not saying the "Made in Korea" is bad or "Made by Samsung" is good. What i'm trying to say is that we better stop the confusing notion about which one is better. It's all about QC and your luck on picking the individual phone that don't have problem.
totaly agreed! +1
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 02:14 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 14 2012, 01:45 PM)
Thanks for informing, download now. ;-)
ur welcome! biggrin.gif
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 04:19 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jul 14 2012, 04:13 PM)
Lately my battery stays at 100% for a while even after disconnecting from the charger. hmm.gif

Guessthe battery is "seasoned" now.
it is a fix in the latest OTA upate, batt percentage nw sty in 100% few hrs b4 it drop to 99%. the batt life has been real great aft the update. rclxms.gif
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 05:12 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Jul 14 2012, 04:49 PM)
I noticed the batt now (after upgrade to the latest FW) last a little bit longer !! anyone here notice this ??????
yea noticed tis too, ram usage lower, n it getting smoother smile.gif
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 05:35 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Jul 14 2012, 05:25 PM)
Yeah......i even noticed the data signal is getting better !! because before new FW, i only gets EDGE at my office toilet but after new FW i get HSDPA+..... thumbup.gif .........FW can effect that much arr ?????  blink.gif
lol im nt sure if firmware upgrade wil improve the data signal bt i do tink tis is more related to ur telco line coverage
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 07:30 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(genus @ Jul 14 2012, 05:56 PM)
That's mean the cell standby drain issue has been fix in XXBLG1???

hmm.gif

Added on July 14, 2012, 5:57 pm
That's mean the cell standby drain issue has been fix in XXBLG1???

hmm.gif
nope unfortunately the cell standby value is stil nt fixed in the BLG1, bt don worry while it didnt affect ur batt life. jz the wrong value being displayed in batt stats.
T09
post Jul 14 2012, 10:42 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Jul 14 2012, 08:49 PM)
Ouch. My baby S3 had its first drop today from waist height, screen DOWN, with only ROCK Quicksand casing and Nillkin SP on. My heart broke into thousand pieces and I didn't dare to pick it up for a moment (was thinking, damn, cracked screen, damn, RM600, damn, should've bought the Melkco flip leather casing earlier, damn it's not gonna be the same anymore). But phew, thankfully x9999999999, not a single scratch observed so far...
omg luckily no damage on ur s3, how did u get ur phone drop at the 1st place? well nw i noe rock quicksand does provide some dropping protection.

QUOTE(genus @ Jul 14 2012, 09:49 PM)
Really? wrong value displayed? that's mean the battery % displayed on phone is wrong and the battery usage also dispolayed wtongly?

shocking.gif

anyway to let it show correct, is it install the fix?
no, nt the batt %, is the cellstandby value is wrongly displayed in the batt stats, bt it does nt affect the batt usage on ur phone. don worry bro.
T09
post Jul 15 2012, 02:31 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(jlik2929 @ Jul 15 2012, 02:20 PM)
my phone is fully charged to 100%...when unplug only then it become 99%...

anyone experience this?!
tis is normal if u're still wit previous firmware, the latest firmware fixed tis n ur batt shud stys at 100% for few hrs b4 it drop to 99%

0.0436sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:27 AM