Bliz, this is how to improve a flawed game...., Take a clue from Japanese console grinds

TSCloudDave
post Jul 10 2012, 11:24 AM, updated 14y ago

174 posts

Okay to I found this topic on another forum that suggested a 'neverending tower of levels ie. 100 to 200 levels of randomly generated dungeons'. I find this idea really fascinating. Does anyone here remember a nice little title called Disgaea?

Now THAT was a game which had excellent post-game content. You could happily farm and find the next uber-item or gear with hardly any balancing issues. Very tactical as well without any artificial difficulties.

Basically, this would appease a lot of people who have already beaten Inferno and the big D. May also be an option for those who are simply bored with farming and are looking for new content that doesn't suck (I'm looking at you Pony Level!) Discuss. biggrin.gif
yuhhaur
post Jul 10 2012, 11:25 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

This WAS the diablo 1 level. Kill diablo on level 100.

Now no more
TSCloudDave
post Jul 10 2012, 11:29 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 10 2012, 11:25 AM)
This WAS the diablo 1 level. Kill diablo on level 100.

Now no more
Must admit this is my first proper Diablo. The older ones I just played super casually. But this would be easy for Bliz to implement. Recycle some old enemies and dungeons while introducing newer ones. Maybe a 'Vortex of Planes' which was one of the many experiments Kulle made while discovering the secrets of the Nephalem. You know, some kinda gateway to different worlds. That would be fun as HELL (pardon the pun.)
paogiv3r
post Jul 10 2012, 11:31 AM

395 posts

they sure got all the perks in expension, wanna earn more ma..
Currylaksa
post Jul 10 2012, 11:33 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 10 2012, 11:24 AM)
Okay to I found this topic on another forum that suggested a 'neverending tower of levels ie. 100 to 200 levels of randomly generated dungeons'. I find this idea really fascinating. Does anyone here remember a nice little title called Disgaea?

Now THAT was a game which had excellent post-game content. You could happily farm and find the next uber-item or gear with hardly any balancing issues. Very tactical as well without any artificial difficulties.

Basically, this would appease a lot of people who have already beaten Inferno and the big D. May also be an option for those who are simply bored with farming and are looking for new content that doesn't suck (I'm looking at you Pony Level!) Discuss.  biggrin.gif
Disgaea is a stupid FFT knockoff.

Please respect the original cry.gif
Cheesenium
post Jul 10 2012, 11:47 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Torchlight has this randomly generated content too, either by portals that you buy or just keep going down at the dungeons.

I really hope Diablo 3 will have this sooner or later too. It is a good feature as it adds a sense of exploration by going to some random dungeons and also make the game feels fresh. Rather than playing the same content again and again. Diablo 3's level randomisation is quite bad, i would say.

I spend more time in Torchlight's random dungeons than the story.
moodswingfella
post Jul 10 2012, 11:57 AM

364 posts

knowing blizzard these day, instead of adding more dungeon lvl, they more likely to get busy with nerfing stuff and suggesting stupid ideas to get RMAH active.
gaeria84
post Jul 10 2012, 12:03 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 10 2012, 11:47 AM)
Torchlight has this randomly generated content too, either by portals that you buy or just keep going down at the dungeons.

I really hope Diablo 3 will have this sooner or later too. It is a good feature as it adds a sense of exploration by going to some random dungeons and also make the game feels fresh. Rather than playing the same content again and again. Diablo 3's level randomisation is quite bad, i would say.

I spend more time in Torchlight's random dungeons than the story.
Once you complete Torchlight's story, you unlock the shadow vault, basically it's an endless dungeon with scalable mobs/bosses and loot.

Also, there are maps you can buy to teleport to randomly generated levels. There is an NPC in town that will give you neverending quests, once you accept a quest, he will open up a portal to a randomly generated level for you.

Not to mention all user created mods that keep the game fresh happy.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 10 2012, 12:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

god damnit not these topics again...
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 10 2012, 12:15 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 10 2012, 12:11 PM)
god damnit not these topics again...
lololol feel u mang
Instant_noodle
post Jul 10 2012, 02:14 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

TINY CREATURES UNDER FEET... U BRING GAAAAAAARFROST SOMETHING GOOD TO EAT!!!

OWPH!!! AXE TOO WEAK!!! GARFROST MAKE BETTER AND CRUSH YOU!!!

STUPID GARFROST!!!! BAD!!! BAD!!!

GARFROST HOPE... GIANT UNDERPANTS CLEAN... SAVE BOSS GREAT SHAME... FOR LATER...

TSCloudDave
post Jul 10 2012, 02:40 PM

174 posts

On another side note, for those who felt the topic is beating around the bush already, have you beaten big D on Inferno yet? Myself personally I haven't finished yet and still I am hoping for more content.

At the moment it's kinda linear. Most of the times I find myself helping other lower levels clear Hell or finding loot and just dropping the good ones for my friends.

Is it too much to hope that there are at least a bit more optional dungeons? I admit it, I love Diablo 3 and am addicted. It's not that far to hope that this game will keep on being great for years to come. Bring on the expansions!

Anyway, the topic is "what would you guys like to include if such a thing was implemented." Not a bashing thread. biggrin.gif
yuhhaur
post Jul 10 2012, 02:43 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Elemental damage. Fix that pl0x. Not like now where frozen can freeze me and my weapon of ice can't freeze them.
TSCloudDave
post Jul 10 2012, 02:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jul 10 2012, 11:33 AM)

Feel you bro, now THAT was a strategy game worth playing. I've probably played FFT to death about 300+ hours all in all if not more. Orlandeu is still way overpowered though and so is Balthier. His gun rules all. Why oh why can't D3 have that kinda atmosphere, story and intrigue? This coming from a PC game that offers much more flexibility. To be honest this is my first PC game after who knows how long of pure console gaming due to budgets.

I bought an RM4k rig just to explore the new PC games I've missed out on after all these years. And it's kinda disappointing. If this continues perhaps I might go back to Dark Souls on the PS3. tongue.gif

Added on July 10, 2012, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 10 2012, 02:43 PM)
Elemental damage. Fix that pl0x. Not like now where frozen can freeze me and my weapon of ice can't freeze them.
I know what you mean. In many RPGs it's very important to have different elementals actually differ from each other. This really enhances the way you use your equips and also your armor to counter such effects. One example from long ago is a so-so game called Magna Carta. Though the game wasn't that great, the mechanics are easily some of the most interesting. Another is Star Ocean where crafting is really nice and you can get gear that is really good and not just count on drops.

Make the items salvage-able and have some 'essences' with the same attributes of the item salvaged. This has been implemented by the more recent Kingdoms of Amalur. Blizzard has really been going backward in almost all respects of gaming mechanics.

This post has been edited by CloudDave: Jul 10 2012, 02:49 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 10 2012, 05:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 10 2012, 02:43 PM)
wrong, cold weapons can chill them, doesnt freeze, but chill.

however, cold weapons are worthless cuz of shitty dmg range.

Added on July 10, 2012, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 10 2012, 02:40 PM)
On another side note, for those who felt the topic is beating around the bush already, have you beaten big D on Inferno yet? Myself personally I haven't finished yet and still I am hoping for more content.
>haven't beaten diablo on inferno
>making yet another diablo3 improvement thread that will eventually form 2 sides and end up in a circle jerking flame fest/bashing thread

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 10 2012, 05:17 PM
deodorant
post Jul 10 2012, 05:41 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jul 10 2012, 11:33 AM)

By this logic, all FPS'es are knock-offs of Wolfenstein 3D? hmm.gif
Instant_noodle
post Jul 10 2012, 07:57 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

in before someone mentioned about Monster Hunter Tri-G crafting/ upgrading system and the utterly gimped random drop rate for those super-duper rare parts required for making not-so-decent weapon/ armor, which has to be upgraded again with super-duper rare parts only obtained from utterly gimped random drop rate...
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 10 2012, 08:18 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jul 10 2012, 07:57 PM)
in before someone mentioned about Monster Hunter Tri-G crafting/ upgrading system and the utterly gimped random drop rate for those super-duper rare parts required for making not-so-decent weapon/ armor, which has to be upgraded again with super-duper rare parts only obtained from utterly gimped random drop rate...
monster hunter crafting system > 9000

I WANT PC VERSIONNNN!

0.0231sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:22 AM