felicious
post Oct 24 2012, 12:04 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Celestee @ Oct 23 2012, 08:42 AM)
Try Blutique Hotel in Pratunam Market, all street food just outside hotel, a min walk to Baiyoke Sky. Also walking distance to Platinum. It's a fairly new hotel, I stayed there for 4 night this July. Hotel staffs very friendly and helpful.
How much is it?
should I buy those from Groupons or book from Agoda better?
planning to go on this April (still long to go) 4D3N
felicious
post Oct 30 2012, 04:06 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 30 2012, 02:05 PM)
Yeah, I always change here in Malaysia too. I just change some last Sunday and the rate was 10.25.
I usually bring some MYR and USD for just-in-case.  tongue.gif
Heard that the currency exchange in BKK is really expensive.
MYR - THB = 10.25? so high? I managed to change 10 at Hatyai only.
felicious
post Oct 30 2012, 04:24 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 30 2012, 04:15 PM)
Yup, changed in KK, Sabah. But I only needed 3000 baht, so not much difference...  tongue.gif

In July, it was around 10.15. It was a little bit more expensive if change in BKK, at that time lah...

I think the tripadvisor article was probably meant for tourists from western countries (as opposed to those from ASEAN countries). Maybe they don't have a good exchange rate in their countries (understandable, since they are usually advised to carry USD when they travel).
Estimated expenses for 4D 3N?
I think I will be changing around 5000 baht only also.
felicious
post Oct 30 2012, 04:46 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 30 2012, 04:36 PM)
Well, because this is a shopping trip, I allocated a 10000 THB budget that includes accom, food, travel and SHOPPING. I only changed 3000 THB coz I still have some left overs from my last trip.  tongue.gif

My first trip to BKK two years ago, I spent less than 5000 THB that included everything but with only minimal shopping.  laugh.gif

If you're a shopaholic (like me!), then 5000 THB may not be enough for you. Bring some MYR / USD / CIMB Card / Credit Cards (for withdrawal), in case you need more bahts.
Accommodation will be booked earlier. Only food, travel and shopping. Hopefully 5000 baht is enough. Have to control myself! haha.
What is cheap there?
felicious
post Oct 30 2012, 05:39 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 30 2012, 05:26 PM)
If you can control yourself, it will definitely be enough.  tongue.gif
What is cheap ah? Clothes, shoes, bags, hair accessories, ladies accessories and much much more, though those were what I usually haul back from my trip...  rclxms.gif

As for shopping in Pratunam:
If you are a small or average-sized lady, the clothes in Platinum Mall and surrounding malls should be the right place for your to shop (too many malls to count).

If you are a plus-sized lady, then go to City Complex (the one directly in front of Platinum Mall) and another shopping complex just next to it (forgot the name). The jeans are also cheap in City Complex. The alley between these two malls would lead you to the Pratunam market. Pratunam market got a variety of clothes for all ages (but no air-con and crowded, though prices may be a tad cheaper).

As for baju auntie and kiddie clothes, Indra Square may be a better bet. My mom loves shopping there and dislike Platinum Mall coz she complained that the baju there too young for her. Hahaha...

Oh, and the clothes at Pratunam are 'unbranded' ones. If you are brand-conscious, you should head to Central World or Siam Paragon.
I'm petite. Only wearing XS clothes. I went to Hatyai, but i didn't shop much, can't find anything good there.
Not sure bout BKK. Looking on clothes and shoes only. biggrin.gif
felicious
post Apr 2 2013, 12:43 PM

1,438 posts

Will be going BKK on Apr 20th for 4D 3N.
Preferable place near to Pratunam. From what I can see here, there are 2 recommended choices.
1. Budacco
2. Baiyoke Boutique.

Any other recommendations?

Plan to go there to search for good luggage and backpacker bag.
Is the price there cheap compared to Malaysia?
Where can I find?

How much averagely, public taxi from DMK airport to Pratunam area?
felicious
post Apr 2 2013, 06:17 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(munyen @ Apr 2 2013, 03:35 PM)
Hi, I stay in Baiyoke Boutique before last year, 2012.
Location wise, it's good because it takes you 5-10 mins walk to Platinum Mall.
The room is quite huge too, before u enter the bedroom, there is a living room with sofa and TV.

And this week I'm gonna travel to Bangkok again, after a year.
Gonna stay at Hotel 93, will let you how is it when I reach there.
Hope this helps you out smile.gif
Please share about Hotel 93 when u r back smile.gif
felicious
post Apr 10 2013, 10:05 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:40 PM)
Planning to go alone bro..is it safe?? I heard allot of kidnap cases
I actually tot of going alone in case my friend really couldn't make it, but after reading all those scam case, I got freaked out.
felicious
post Apr 10 2013, 10:39 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 10 2013, 10:34 AM)
The scam cases is nothing serious.. by far i know is just bring u to other places instead place u wanna go.

Some will try to bluff you that some tourist places is currently closed so ask u go to another place.

Or they will bring u to another place with same name eg Samboon restaurant.. got restaurant with same name.
So even if I just go shopping alone, it is okay?
Pratunam area safe to stay even for a girl alone to go?
felicious
post Apr 10 2013, 01:52 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 10 2013, 10:43 AM)
i stayed Pratunam area. Its quite ok for me. But maybe slightly dodgy for a girl.

but its a touristy area so should be ok. But some budget hotel located at "lorong" not at the main road. So that one u need careful abit.
should be staying at Baiyoke Boutique, since it's recommended here.
Is the hotel by the roadside?

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Apr 10 2013, 12:13 PM)
may i know when u are going ? ?
20-23 Apri
felicious
post Apr 11 2013, 12:11 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Apr 10 2013, 02:26 PM)
Baiyoke Boutique should be ok... it is behind of baiyoke sky... when u go back at night need go walk thru baiyoke sky.. a bit dark..
QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 10 2013, 04:19 PM)
i didnt stay there before but did pass by couple of times.

Its not far from the main road. But because its well established hotel therefore surroundings is fine.

As compared to smaller boutique hotels around pratunam.
Thank you for the information smile.gif
felicious
post Apr 11 2013, 10:17 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 11 2013, 08:55 AM)
Hi Felicious, i will be travelling to BKK with my spouse on 19-23 April. And, we are staying in 93 hotel.

Hope you enjoy yourself there!!

Maybe, we both can also contribute to this thread after our trips. Cheers!
Too bad you are with your spouse.
If you are going with a group of friends, I can consider to join biggrin.gif

0.0233sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:48 AM