Travel Bangkok V3
cactuscch
Mar 20 2013, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Mar 18 2013, 09:54 AM) Im just back from BKK last saturday. stayed at Budacco Hotel - very pleasant stay and good service, friendly staff. Going to Bangkok in May but havent found the right hotel to stay, appreciate it if you can tell me how much/ night? You book online/ from Agoda? Thanks!
cactuscch
Mar 26 2013, 09:08 PM
looking for hotel to BKK in May, went to agoda.com and tempted to make booking because the rooms are very limited for hotels area shopping/ BTS area. I saw 'Free Cancellation' option, is it really free or comes with hidden charges?
I'm afraid if I keep contemplating, I won't find any budget hotel (<RM150 per nite) to stay.
cactuscch
Apr 22 2013, 08:41 PM
Will be traveling to BKK on 16-20 May (5D4N) for the first time in a group of 4-6. More for food hunting, shopping & photography, a little bit of sight-seeing. I've been reading this forum for more than a month but still unsure whether my intineraries are okay or not. Experienced travelers please comment a bit, thanks.
16/5 (Thu) 2.45pm - Arrived at DMK Airport 4.30pm - check in Bangkok City Hotel (nearest to BTS Rachathewi) 5:30pm - Dinner @ Som Tam Nua 6:30pm - Siam Square & MBK 7.00pm - Mango Tango & other food hunting 10.00pm - back to hotel
Unsure & need advice 1. 5.30-6.00pm in Som Tan Nua will it be too packed and long queue?
17/5(Fri) 8.00am - Hotel breakfast 9.00am - Pratunam market, Platinum Mall, Central World Plaza, Big C 1.00pm - Lunch @ pink shirt chicken rice 5.00pm - Terminal 21 6.00pm - Dinner @ MK Steamboat Restaurant 10.00pm - back to hotel
18/5 (Sat) 8.00am - Taling Chan floating market 10.00am - Grand Palace, Wat Po, Wat Arun 2.30pm - Go to buy ticket (Calypso @ Wax museum/ Ocean World) from Mama Tour in Khaosan Road 3.30pm - Chinatown day market, birdnest 5.30pm - Green shirt T&K Seafood 6.30pm - Asiatique Riverfront 8.15pm - Calypso Cabaret show 9.30pm - continue Asiatique Riverfront - shopping & food hunting 11.00pm - back to hotel
Unsure & need advice: 1. Buying ticket from Mama Tour - will be given a 'real' ticket or just a voucher that I have to claim ticket at the counter? 2. Is it easy to buy food (lunch) around Grand Palace/ Wat Po/ Wat Arun? 3. Is Chinatown day market open on Saturday? 4. What is the earliest time I can dine in T&K Seafood? [thinking of having an early dinner to catch the express boat early to Asiatique for dusk scenery photo-taking]
19/5 (Sun) 8.00am - Or-tor-kor market & breakfast 10.00am - Chatuchak & lunch 6.00pm - dinner @ Somboon seafood
Unsure & need advice: 1. Which somboon branch is more accessible from Chatuchak (BTS Mochit or MRT Kamphaengphet) 2. Any suggestion (night market/ shopping mall) near the recommended Somboon seafood branch?
20/5 (Mon) 8.00am - Hotel breakfast 9.15am - check out and leave luggage at concierge 10.00am - Siam Paragon 11.00am - Lunch - Shabushi Japanese buffet @ Siam Center 12.30pm - Wax museum @ Siam Discovery 2.15pm - back to hotel 2.45pm - taxi to airport 6.30pm - Depart from BKK to LCCT
Unsure and need advice: 1. Due to limited time, I can only choose either Wax museum or Siam Ocean World. How many hours will be spend in the museum/ Ocean World in general?
Other doubts in general: 1. I'm not sure whether my itinerary is too packed or too leisure. 2. Which of the above sights/ mall do not allow camera/ photo-taking. 3. RM2000 for 2 persons (excluding hotel payment) is enough? 4. Where to buy/ which carrier for SIM card? Just for emergency calling/ SMS and GPS for location if lost direction.
Appreciate your time & reply.
This post has been edited by cactuscch: Apr 22 2013, 08:50 PM
cactuscch
Apr 22 2013, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(Limrolando @ Apr 22 2013, 09:14 PM) [b]your time is too rush bro. 16/5 (Thu) Dinner at som tam nua atleast need 1hour to 1 and half hour .so u just skip the siam and MBK I'm not sure whether my itinerary is too packed or too leisure. - got few days abit packed obviously. and you guys walks so much should go for massage at night time also. My initial plan for Siam Square/ MBK is from 6.30pm-10pm. I can just push it later to 7.00pm-10pm. Thanks. Good idea. I saw people go to 'healthland' for massage? Any good shop for foot massage? Usually this shop open until what time? This post has been edited by cactuscch: Apr 22 2013, 09:25 PM
cactuscch
Apr 22 2013, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Apr 22 2013, 09:50 PM) Dun think yr shopping at Pratunam n platinum fr 9-1pm.is enuf n big c n wtc.Platinum opens at 10am.....n it will take u half day already . U can.actually have lunch at platinum on 6th flr sorry for the confusion, I meant 9am-5pm in Pratunam, Platinum, Central World & Big C with a lunch break at 1pm. Since I'm going for 'low-end' shopping, I think I'll spend most of the time in Platinum mall & just a quick window shopping in Central World/ Big C. I saw some comment that Platinum shops are not 'really' open yet at 9am, I am thinking to pay Pratunam a visit first, and then return to Platinum at 10am. What's nice in Platinum mall food court? This post has been edited by cactuscch: Apr 22 2013, 10:26 PM
cactuscch
Apr 24 2013, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 24 2013, 11:08 AM) Returned from 5D4N trips in Bangkok. Day 4: - Tried MK Restaurant (food is nice) <- MK restaurant can be found in most areas Thats all. Anything, please ask. I'm more than willing to share. Take a lot of photos there. Your trip sounds interesting & lots of shopping. I'm going on mid May too. Appreciate it if you can clarify some of my queries. 1. You contact Mama Tour early in Malaysia or contact them when you arrived in BKK? Do you pay in their Khaosan road shop first or pay only when they fetch you up at the hotel? After the tour, MamaTour sent you back to hotel or Khaosan road? Can ask them to drop at the nearest skytrain station or express boat pier? 2. I plan to visit pratunam market & Platinum Mall as early as possible. When are they open? Pratunam market minimum must buy 3 to get wholesale price? 3. Plan to have steamboat buffet at MK Restaurant too. Is there a set buffet @ about THB 300? Quite worried after hearing you said metered taxi is very hard to find. Thanks. This post has been edited by cactuscch: Apr 24 2013, 09:22 PM
cactuscch
Apr 25 2013, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 25 2013, 08:54 AM) 1. Before. As stated in email, i must pay the taxi driver when they pick us up. But, i didn't. I only pay when the taxi driver requested from me when we arrived at Amphawa. And, he sent us back to hotel. Yes, you can arrange to have him drop you elsewhere (not sure whether the taxi driver will charge or not). 2. Pratunam market open as early as 4am i think. At least, thats the information i got from the stall people there. Bear in mind, Pratunam market is a whole stretch of area consists of hawker, stall, shophouses, etc. Platinum mall open at 10am (thailand time). But, some shops open before that. You can visit there 9:30am i think. I witnessed the mall management that photos of shop that not open at 10am. So, i believe it is compulsory for them to open at 10am or before. 3. Not aware of the buffet menu. We ordered ala carte. Recommend roasted duck there! thanks.now I have a better idea what to do.
cactuscch
Apr 29 2013, 08:57 AM
Hi all, I checked my gmail today and was greeted by a great news from AirAsia. I clicked the link and I saw this.
20kg baggage allowance for RM35 (normal price is 20kg baggage allowance for RM40)
Promo until 5th May, check your email too!
cactuscch
Apr 29 2013, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(yiivei @ Apr 29 2013, 09:20 AM) Are you referring to 20kg baggage for the price of 15kg? This?yes, this link
cactuscch
May 2 2013, 03:55 PM
can anybody tell me whether these items can be brought into Malaysia in checked in baggage? Dried longan, dried fruits, chicken floss, dried meat (pork).
This post has been edited by cactuscch: May 2 2013, 03:55 PM
cactuscch
May 2 2013, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Apr 30 2013, 01:24 PM) I also received this email n log in my AA acc wanting to upgrade on certain ppl. For example me n partner travelling however we have earlier bought baggage under my name only for 15kg and of course I just upgrade for myself for going n return. But they (AA system) automatically include for all. That's strange I just want it for myself n never enter for my partner. And I cant modify to no baggage check in for partner. And I can see my booking will indicate PAYMENT NEEDED. If like forcing us to pay for all n no way to choose no baggage check in. And I just ignore the payment.Just dont want..crazy ! So unable to upgrage for myself. Anyone experience this? I tried and there is no way to individually select baggage purchase for ONE WAY. Both ways are compulsory to buy baggage. Since I will go BKK with hand carry luggage only, cheaper to buy at normal price.
cactuscch
Oct 23 2013, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 21 2013, 10:28 PM) Hi, may I ask how much is the ticket price for calypso and ocean world from mama tour? also is it a real ticket or voucher? thanks May 2013 price fr. Mama Tour:- THB600 for Calypso show - got voucher. THB650 for Ocean World (+ glass bottom boat + 5D cinema) (no fish spa) - got voucher (queue at the 'tour agent' line to exchange for real ticket) If bring children less than 120cm (can't quite remember), price is THB600 for Ocean World.