Travel Bangkok V3

Veron83
post Feb 26 2013, 01:22 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Feb 25 2013, 06:28 PM)
Hi guys,

I am planning to go Bangkok with my gf and this is the first time i will be travelling to Bangkok.

Planning to stay at Budacco Hotel. Planning to go there 5D4N.

Main reason is to shop and eat. Is the hotel a good place to get a lot of good food and easy to shop?

My main concern is that this is my first time to Bangkok, how you guys communicate with the ppl there? I mean after touch down from airport, get a taxi and tell them the address? They know how to speak English?

Hope you can help me out. smile.gif

Thanks!
If u dun mind to walk...Budacco is good...I have been to this hotel once...staff was nice...morning and night market outside...7-11 just opposite...10min to platinum mall and 15min to central world...20min++ to skytrain...
but I still prefer hotel which is nearby to skytrain...this is because all famous spot in city(SHOP) can be reach using skytrain and no need walk so far to go back hotel...
Communication wise...u can use simple english or body language...if someone with high education...they speak US accent english...XD
Airport transport:
1. DMK - go out to the entrance and there is taxi provider(inside the building is limousine taxi)...just tell them ur hotel address and they will get the taxi driver to take u there...highway fees is pay by u...remember take down the budacco phone number...u can ask the driver to call the hotel if he is unsure...
2. Suvarnabhumi - 2 type of train...city or express...u must know where is your hotel located and get down to the nearest station...

Veron83
post Feb 26 2013, 01:28 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(CKyoon @ Feb 25 2013, 01:44 PM)
Hey guys,

I am planning for 7D6N to BKK end of next month.

I would prefer to stay at one hotel near BTS and easy access to most places. Any suggestion? So far I have this hotel Glow Trinity Silom in my mind now. Budget is around this hotel rate.

What shopping places I should stay away that they sell a lot of stuffs from China? Prefer made locally most like fashion and etc.

Suggest Asoke area:
1. SilQ
2. Sacha's uno

Shop: Terminal 21

Transport: BTS and MRT...few station to reach city...siam paragon...central world...siam square...MBK...platinum mall...

Nightlife: YES

This post has been edited by Veron83: Feb 26 2013, 01:33 AM
Veron83
post Feb 26 2013, 08:44 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Feb 26 2013, 09:12 AM)
Anybody knows what time does the Platinum Fashion Mall and MBK close?
Platinum mall if i not mistake is around 7PM...MBK is around 9PM if not mistake also...
Veron83
post Feb 26 2013, 08:48 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Feb 26 2013, 09:22 AM)
besides the budacco hotel, what hotel you suggested? My main reason to bangkok is shop and eat with my gf. Maybe a little sight-seeing and stuff. biggrin.gif
actually in BKK there is a lots of hotel...I will suggest u have a look on agoda on their review...check the price with the hotel itself and compare with agoda...sometime book with the hotel directly will be cheaper than agoda...
I will only suggest hotel near to BTS station...becos it is easier for me to go back hotel have a small rest...LOL
Veron83
post Feb 26 2013, 08:49 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(-Davidoff- @ Feb 26 2013, 02:04 PM)
How much should i bring if im going to BKK for let say 4D3N. just want to walk around shopp, eat, drinking session at night brows.gif ??
This is very subjective question... brows.gif
Veron83
post Feb 27 2013, 06:43 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(-Davidoff- @ Feb 26 2013, 11:57 PM)
Just a rough budget on how much is sufficient. basically just walk around hunting for food and shop some stuff. is RM2K enough?
RM2k is MORE than enough for me if 4D3N...but depends on what kind of thing u are hunting...hows your nightlife wanted to be... brows.gif
Veron83
post Feb 27 2013, 06:46 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Feb 27 2013, 04:37 PM)
Thinking to book budacco hotel for my April trip. Anyone stay there before?
not a bad hotel...nice and friendly staff...breakfast so so...room wise try dun get the one facing the main road cos outside got pasar pagi and pasar malam...7-11 across street...walking distance to platinum mall...not close to BTS...in room wifi is BAD(who cares of the WIFI since can get the SIM card for data plan 7 days unlimited)... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Veron83: Feb 27 2013, 06:48 PM
Veron83
post Feb 27 2013, 10:43 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(BwKenobi @ Feb 27 2013, 10:17 PM)
Yeah.. filled with babes and rides  rclxms.gif
May i know normally when will the event held? Would like to go... drool.gif
Veron83
post Feb 28 2013, 12:11 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Feb 28 2013, 10:17 AM)
Dtac gives only free for one day unlimited for using d data.Then got to top up everyday .call back.to msia can.b expensive compare to TRUE
DTAC happy sim give 7 days unlimited data...but most of the time will not up to 3G but EDGE is acceptable...
Veron83
post Mar 1 2013, 07:02 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Mar 1 2013, 12:25 PM)
Hi all,

im going to BKK on 14-16 march and will be landing at DMK airport. I have rough itinery in my mind already and would welcome any suggestion from everybody. Im going with 5 ladies including myself.

First day
9am - touch down DMK airport and take taxi to Budacco Hotel, drop off luggage. shopping day around pratunam area, platinum mall and such.
my question is...we are 5 in a group...do they have mpv to fit 5 of us? or do we need to take two separate taxis?  unsure.gif
how about the taxi charges...about how much from DMK airport to Pratunam area, so that im not being con later. hehehe.. im aware that toll fees to be pay by us after reading from the thread here.

at night, planning to go Chinatown for dinner. is chinatown accessible by lrt or need to take taxi? any good restaurant or food must try at Chinatown?

Second day
6am + - planning to go floating market as i floating market is quite far from BKK. so gotta depart early. will get hotel ppl to arrange for us. then coming back pratunam area and going to visit Grand Palace. Grand Palace - open everyday right? my second day will be on Friday. What other place can we visit nearby Grand Palace? Again, the question is, Grand Palace is only accessible using taxi? around how much the charges? advise to use meter taxi, i presume?

as for dinner, heard that Son Bon seafood is nice. probably will look for this. any comment on this?

Third day - saturday
our flight back to KL is 4.20pm. we wish to go to Chatuchak market. Is it possible? What time Chatuchak market opens? My only worry is i afraid we are too rushing. Any centre for us to keep our luggage at Chatuchak area?? or else, we have to keep our luggage in hotel, and come back to hotel, and take taxi to DMK airport. How bad is the traffic at around 2pm?

Appreciate any feedback or comments or suggestions on my above itinery. Thank you!  smile.gif
most of the taxi is normal sedan car which only fit 4 ppl...perhaps u can ask them in the counter see can make any arrangement or not...if not then 2 car lo...
DMK to City is around 300baht+- not include toll
To go China town...u can use MRT to Hua Lamphong station(pls confirm this with station counter) after that you need to walk to china town... approximately 5 to 10 min walk or u can get taxi and mention Yaowarat...
Grand palace open everyday...dun trust those ppl approach u saying today is which buddha birthday...actually there is nothing nearby grand palace cos all is government department...
u can go grand palace using boat from BTS saphan taksin...along the boat tour u can see those famous temple as well(Wat Arun, Wat Phra Kaew and etc)...
Every taxi in town must remember to ask meter...nowadays some taxi act like tuk tuk...will drive u to some factory to get the petrol voucher...
In thailand...food is nice...i will suggest to try everything...XD
Chatuchak official website: http://www.chatuchak.org/
Luggage is advisable to keep with hotel...more safe...
Traffic in BKK is unpredictable...LOL

This post has been edited by Veron83: Mar 1 2013, 07:10 PM
Veron83
post Mar 14 2013, 11:08 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(abc111 @ Mar 14 2013, 10:10 AM)
Booked Tango. May I know what is the best way from DMK?
Taxi
Veron83
post Mar 14 2013, 11:11 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(liz_syh @ Mar 13 2013, 11:58 PM)
Is Silom near Pratunam?
NO biggrin.gif

0.0382sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled