Travel Bangkok V3

samlee860407
post Oct 9 2012, 11:54 PM

4,631 posts

Just back from calypso caberat show, some of those gals are really really beautiful mang

We pay thb600 for it, and 20bath to take picture
samlee860407
post Oct 13 2012, 10:54 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 13 2012, 03:11 AM)
There are two food courts n MBK. Make sure you go to the one at 6th floor. There is one on the 5th floor and that one is very expensive! I always like their dessert (always ask for the coconut milk syrup). So you can try that.

You can't walk from MBK to Platinum Fashion Mall. Okay, you can actually but it is very far. So I don't recommend it. If you don't want to take a taxi, you can always take the BTS sky train. There is one BTS station just outside of MBK named National Stadium station. Take it to Siam Station and Siam Station is just one station away from National Stadium Station.

When you come out from Siam Station, you'll see Siam Paragon to your left. Well, don't go there. Look for sign board pointing to Central World. There is a bridge just beneath the BTS sky train line. Use that to go to Central World. The bridge beneath the BTS sky train line is very long and you can actually walk to the next BTS station. But you don't have to go that far. The Central World entrance is in the middle of Siam Station and Chitlom Station (the BTS station after Siam). Go inside and walk to the very end of the shopping mall. At the end of Central World, it is ISETAN department store. Just go inside and use the ISETAN exits to go out (on the right). Then... (see below).
Platinum Fashion Mall is located opposite of Pratunam Market. When you come out of the Platinum Fashion Mall, turn right and walk straight. At the end is a Novotel Hotel. Then turn right and cross the bridge (well, sort of). Then you'll come to ISETAN. ISETEN is connected to Central World. But don't go inside. Instead, cross the pedestrian bridge located right outside of ISETAN. Big C supermarket is there. oh yeah, outside of ISETAN, there are like two or three Buddhist statues. It's very to spot it   smile.gif

By the way, taxi in Bangkok is very cheap. To walk from Siam Station to Platinum Fashion Mall is quite a distance. So I'd suggest you to just take a taxi.
Might ask well take the BTS to chit lom station, which is just beside central world.

Chit lom is 1 station after Siam station, then from tere walk to platinum

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Oct 13 2012, 02:57 PM
samlee860407
post Oct 13 2012, 07:02 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 13 2012, 12:43 PM)
Been there three times in the past one year. And I've actually walked from CentralWorld to Pratunam as well as Big C Supermarket and back to CentralWorld like about three or four times on my own  biggrin.gif
Chitlom Station is not located beside CentralWorld. CentralWorld is in the middle of Siam Station and Chitlom Station.

But yeah, if his main intention is to take the BTS and walk to Platinum Fashion Mall from MBK, then he can just skip CentralWorld. get off at Chitlom and walk pass through BIG C Supermarket. I was saying based completely on how I did it. I always passed through CentralWorld because I always stopped by the bookstore there after lunch.
oh yea....chit lom is not beside central world, i rmb i walk quite a distance to it, wonder why did i say that lolx

anyway, chit lom still nearer to central world, compare to siam station right?

PS: i just loved gourmet market, wonder why penang doesn't have something like this, or heck even KL sad.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 13 2012, 10:09 PM

4,631 posts

after back from bangkok, seems that between chatuchak, platinum and MBK, it really depends which is better

for my group, 3 gals, all prefer platinum > chatuchak > MBK

it really depends coz most ppl go will have difference opinion on those 3
samlee860407
post Oct 14 2012, 12:09 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 13 2012, 10:45 PM)
I was curious how their big supermarket looks like, that was the main reason I went there. I didn't check out the prices there. So I can't comment on that.
Siam Paragon is nicer in my opinion. You should totally check out Gourmet Market and the Gourmet Market food stalls (all in the same floor). It's all on the ground level but depends on where you are coming in from, if you come in from the big entrance facing Sukhumvit Road, then it looks as if the Ground Floor is a Basement or Lower Ground Floor because you actually need to take an escalator down.

Gourmet Market at Siam Paragon is insane!!! Everything is so nicely organized and beautifully done. And what we have in KL don't even come close!!! So make sure you don't skip it. Gourmet Market is a high-end supermarket, and they sell cooked foods too like the hypermarket in Malaysia, except that the way they do it is different    thumbup.gif

There is one Gourmet Market at CentralWorld too. This one is older and not quite as nice. So just go to the Siam Paragon one   biggrin.gif
Not really. It's in the middle. So the distance from either station is actually the same   smile.gif
I know right. Especially the one at Siam Paragon   thumbup.gif
Agreed. Everyone is different and some may find A is better while some find B is better.
yeap yeap. i went to gourment market in siam paragon. supposedly we should be shopping upstairs, but i was WOW'ed when i saw it after trying to makan a bit at the food stalls there

walked in, and it was just amazing. even bought some steak go back hotel and cooked! biggrin.gif

seriously, i hope penang got something like this, but too bad even KL don't have these kinds of supermarket

PS: HK's supermarket seems better than gourmnet market in siam paragon, but really makes me wonder, why a country like thailand can have this , but back in malaysia... sigh

Added on October 14, 2012, 12:23 pmoh ya...to add on, bangkok is really much better than KL in many ways

1) almost all of us feel bangkok is a much safer place than KL. walking at midnight feel safe, unlike in malaysia, sometimes u just feel uneasy at certain place
2) they freaking respect the zebra crossing. cars will slow down when u walk on it
3) meter taxi are so much easier to find than in KL. of course there are still some that doesn't used meter, but at least it's not some insane price like RM20 from Pavillion to KLCC at 7am sunday morning when there is no jam. We do went to china town taking a 7 seater taxi, paying only THB300 for it where the ride is almost an hour due to the traffic
4) Bangkok traffic is bad, as bad as KL if not worse. But their MTR and BTS is really amazing, and their skywalk is really really good. it links few stations together so that one can walk far under the roof

however, i am kinda disappointed with their food. it's not that they taste bad, but it's just taste so-so. Most of the food is kinda forgetful, and only Somboon is a better one. The street food at chinatown is also just meh, since it's so repetitive. I enjoy street food in Danok so much more. Maybe at bangkok, some of them see that we are not the locals, they will reduce the spiciness level on it? because seriously i don't find any of the food there spicy, most of them is just moderate level for me lolx

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Oct 14 2012, 12:23 PM
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 07:39 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 14 2012, 11:48 PM)
Eh ? Hong Kong got similar supermarket ? I've been to Hong Kong many times but i never come across any Gourmet Market like supermarket in Hong Kong. Perhaps I wasn't at the right place. Where is it ? Wanna check it out next time  biggrin.gif

i only went to 1 before, which is times square at wanchai there. very very nais too. the size might be smaller, but imo there are selling more variety of upmarket stuff there biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 10:18 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 09:01 AM)
Having many trips to BKK but never visit gourmet market there. Whats so special until here in KL don't have? hmm.gif
many types of steak cuts, ranging from those RM10 per 100gm to those RM100+ per 100gm

many types of interesting frozen or cooked food, sausages and snacks...

in HK one even better, they got sell many different types of fish for sashimi (sea urichin also got), unagi, and even canned Foie gras lolx
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:08 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 10:59 AM)
Owh....We have in KL, maybe you have missed it when your trip here tongue.gif We have Jason food hall in BSC and Ben's Independent Grocer in Publika. Both have quality food even chilled foie gras.
oh really? i never visit BSC and Pubika before haha. only those in KLCC, pavillion, mid valley and of course...those giant and tescos lolx

thanks for the info, next time i will go and see..hehe. too bad...penang....why u no have? sad.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:17 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 11:14 AM)
My reply will be off topic, haha. Maybe out of 1000 Penangite, only 10 will have premium wagyu priced at RM100+/grams cooked at home tongue.gif
haha...OT too...but i really wish malaysia can have more of those supermarket like in HK and Bangkok

if only HK got those, i still can accept because their standards of living is much much higher. but in bangkok? seriously something similar to KL/Penang can have, but not in penang?

ok la...RM100+/gram steak is too over to cooked at home, but at least sell those RM30 to RM50 one ma...at least give more choice lo hahah
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:41 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 15 2012, 11:30 AM)
which somboon u went to?

i went the one further down of patpong market. The steam fish is over-steamed.
i went to the Bantadthong branch. I loved the steamed fish there, the chili crab however, although it's their speciality, but seems abit above average nia for me.

samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:50 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 15 2012, 11:43 AM)
mine was overcooked! the meat like getah d..

Chilli crab, i tried Curry crab.. omg..  i think its over-spiced. Until after i makan d, the taste still stays there for days..

oh our fish is delicious, the best steamd fish we had in bangkok. the soup is great and we asked for additional soup! hehe

hm...i think is chili crab la that i ordered. but over-spiced meh? mine is okok nia...hahha
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 12:53 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 15 2012, 12:00 PM)
so what other nice food u tried? Beef noodles? Padthai?
the glass prawn noodles is bad

tom yam is one of the better ones in bangkok, however i do find khuntai penang serves better tom yam

got 1 pork stew something not bad too

other 2 dish forget liao whahaa
samlee860407
post Oct 16 2012, 04:32 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(SB101 @ Oct 16 2012, 02:33 PM)
time square in HK is not at wanchai, is at causaway bay !!!

eh eh...yea. coz that time the hotel i stay in the middle of wanchai and causeway bay station...haha

so kinda confuse about it biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 23 2012, 07:11 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Oct 22 2012, 11:36 PM)
I've gone crazy shopping at naraya. So cheap & nice quality! Bought 10 bags smile.gif
naraya is indeed super cheap

for my trip, 2 of the ladies bought at least 20 each of them lol (of coz include those small size one).

however, some of them are as presents la..haha
samlee860407
post Nov 5 2012, 09:46 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(benl40 @ Nov 5 2012, 02:50 AM)
Hi, I would like to know a few things, I've booked Tune Hotel in asoke and I would like to visit this 3 places, Terminal 21 Shopping Centre, Siam Paragon, and Asiatique, is it doable? Starting from 2PM, or if there is any time left, what place should I visit?
u mean visit all 3 in 1 day?

terminal21 is very near to tune asoke. IMO nothing much to shop there, but to visit their toilet and walk each floor see how they design it is good lo

then can take BTS to siam paragon, more towards branded stuff.

asiatique i tak tau liao
samlee860407
post Nov 22 2012, 02:08 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 21 2012, 11:13 PM)
Soi Cowboy is just red light district thats why its happening.

Not just prostitutes but shemales.. thats why ppl flocking to see them.

=.=
when i walk pass there, saw a shemale direct take 1 of his potential customer hand go in her baju and rub rub directly at the middle of the road lolx

samlee860407
post Nov 22 2012, 04:05 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Nov 22 2012, 03:57 PM)
haha, lucky u
i am not "that potential customer"

mana ada lucky? biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Feb 21 2013, 02:48 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Feb 21 2013, 09:21 AM)

I'm going Bangkok next Tues and would like to get some feedbacks on the ladyboy shows.

Should I go for Calypso Show in Asiatique or Golden Dome Cabaret Show in Huai Khwang?

I compared the photos in google for the above shows and found that the ladyboys in Golden Dome Cabaret are better looking and the show is more proper compared to Calypso. 

But I could be wrong, cos seems like Calypso is more famous then Golden Dome Cabaret as there are no review in Tripadvisor for the latter.
i went to calypso for cabaret show, and i find that it's quite good smile.gif
samlee860407
post Dec 16 2013, 11:00 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(weichen666 @ Dec 14 2013, 09:31 AM)
Hi guys .. I got a question and i 'm 1st time going to bangkok..

My question was.

My arrival time was at 3 pm on sunday and my hotel was at glow pratunam..and it was chatuchak market day.. after i come down from plane..should i bring my luggage direct go to chatuchak or i should i go hotel check in and go chatuchak a while..and it closes at 6pm and where should i go next? any recommended?
THX
kindly update here after your stay in glow pratunam biggrin.gif

i am thinking of that or amari on my next bkk trip

btw, nearby glow got loads of road side stalls selling clothes and even food, some of the road side stall food is great
samlee860407
post May 11 2014, 09:11 AM

4,631 posts

recently i went to bkk too. taking malindo, 3 days after their first flight to bkk from kl

flight delay departure for 30mins++, then when arriving bkk, due to traffic the plane fly fly fly above bangkok, fly sini fly sana, turn left turn right macam give us free tour of bkk city

my question is, usually if they waiting to land due to airport traffic, they will be flying at a much higher attitude right? ini kali dia fly quite low so we can see the city clearly....

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0504sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:34 AM