D3 "Thorns Dmg" or "Reflect Dmg", How it works? need sifus advise

TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 9 2012, 04:21 PM, updated 14y ago

395 posts

Hi sifu sifu of D3,

Wanna ask how does throns damage works? Please Read carefully simply advise.
Let's say a character have 300 (thorns or reflect damage)

(incoming dmg) 1,000 the character will get hit 1,000 dmg and return 300dmg to attacker.

OR

(incoming dmg) 1,000 - 300 (thorns dmg) and the character will get hit 700 dmg because the another 300 dmg is return to the attacker?

how it works?
as i look through the item stats, you can stack up to have 20,000 reflect dmg.
so if my class have 20,000 reflect dmg, is that mean i can reflect all incoming damage and only take any dmg that is over 20,000 per hit?

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
advise tolong

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jul 9 2012, 04:36 PM
nelienuxe_sara
post Jul 9 2012, 04:28 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

u mean thorn?
TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 9 2012, 04:36 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jul 9 2012, 04:28 PM)
u mean thorn?
yes thanks for the correction
ckdenion
post Jul 9 2012, 04:41 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

think regardless of dmg receive, it will still reflect 300 dmg to enemies...
-JusJasMiNe-
post Jul 9 2012, 04:42 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Jul 9 2012, 04:21 PM)
Hi sifu sifu of D3,

Wanna ask how does throns damage works? Please Read carefully simply advise.
Let's say a character have 300 (thorns or reflect damage)

(incoming dmg) 1,000 the character will get hit 1,000 dmg and return 300dmg to attacker.

OR

(incoming dmg) 1,000 - 300 (thorns dmg) and the character will get hit 700 dmg because the another 300 dmg is return to the attacker?

how it works?
as i look through the item stats, you can stack up to have 20,000 reflect dmg.
so if my class have 20,000 reflect dmg, is that mean i can reflect all incoming damage and only take any dmg that is over 20,000 per hit?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
advise tolong
i think reflect/thorn are the same..
let say u have 10k thorn
incoming damage = 20k , ur hp deduct by 20k and the enemy receive 10k damage
duckhole
post Jul 9 2012, 04:51 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(-JusJasMiNe- @ Jul 9 2012, 04:42 PM)
let say u have 10k thorn
no you are wrong.

if you have 10k thorn.

no matter what is the incoming damage, your enemy receives 10k damage.

even if the enemy deal 1 damage to you, they get 10k back.

thorn is not = reflect damage.

reflect damage on elites are like reflecting 5-10% of the damage back to you, if you hit them for 10k they return damage about 50-100 damage.
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 9 2012, 04:54 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(duckhole @ Jul 9 2012, 04:51 PM)
no you are wrong.

if you have 10k thorn.

reflect damage on elites are like reflecting 5-10% of the damage back to you, if you hit them for 10k they return damage about 50-100 damage.
just curious, this thorn effect works on range enemy too?
TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 9 2012, 04:54 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(-JusJasMiNe- @ Jul 9 2012, 04:42 PM)
let say u have 10k thorn
no you are wrong.

if you have 10k thorn.

thats for the clarification but i still don't find the answer truly yet.
does incoming dmg get deducted by the 'thorn dmg' and immediatelly hurt enemy back?
-JusJasMiNe-
post Jul 9 2012, 04:55 PM

384 posts

no you are wrong.

if you have 10k thorn.

i dun think character have reflect damage ?
duckhole
post Jul 9 2012, 04:56 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Jul 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
just curious, this thorn effect works on range enemy too?
melee only
paranoid
post Jul 9 2012, 05:40 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

no you are wrong.

if you have 10k thorn.

this means thorns are going to be less effective in end game.. if the dmg of thorns is the same regardless of the hitpoints/defence the enemy has.

This post has been edited by paranoid: Jul 9 2012, 05:40 PM
aLertz
post Jul 9 2012, 05:42 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Jul 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
thats for the clarification but i still don't find the answer truly yet.
does incoming dmg get deducted by the 'thorn dmg' and immediatelly hurt enemy back?
if nt mistaken, u still receive full incoming dmg...
while enemy will receive the thorn dmg...
soulhunter87
post Jul 9 2012, 05:49 PM

455 posts

it would be imba if u dont receive damage..it would act like "free armor"...
TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 9 2012, 05:51 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Jul 9 2012, 05:42 PM)
if nt mistaken, u still receive full incoming dmg...
while enemy will receive the thorn dmg...
QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Jul 9 2012, 05:49 PM)
it would be imba if u dont receive damage..it would act like "free armor"...
thats right wanna confirm this lor
goldfries
post Jul 9 2012, 08:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Put it simple, it is the dmg enemy get for touching you.

Thorn 1k means each hit they get 1k.

Seems fun but it works pretty on those small fellas only. The big ones are going to do so much damage, that thorns just help to inflict damage here and there.
TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 10 2012, 11:42 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 9 2012, 08:20 PM)
Put it simple, it is the dmg enemy get for touching you.

Thorn 1k means each hit they get 1k.

Seems fun but it works pretty on those small fellas only. The big ones are going to do so much damage, that thorns just help to inflict damage here and there.
I know they'll get 1k dmg if they touch you, but i want someone to confirm this, if they touch you 1k dmg, do u actually get no dmg at all? if they hit you below 1k and they themselves kena 1k dmg
goldfries
post Jul 10 2012, 11:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you get damage la.

shiok oh if they hit and i don't get damage.
TSpaogiv3r
post Jul 11 2012, 05:18 PM

395 posts

sure or not
goldfries
post Jul 11 2012, 05:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you think logically lor. if Thorn you don't get damage then that would make you invulnerable, no?
rey5516
post Jul 12 2012, 12:12 AM

23 posts

if yes, thorn would be a freaking expensive stat, but it's rubbish no?

0.0176sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:57 PM