Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 10:41 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(.c.h.y.n. @ Aug 21 2012, 02:57 AM)
Hi all, i'm planning to buy a laptop like this:

1. Brand : Anything
2. Budget : Below 2.5k
3. Usage : Photoshop, Adobe CS5 (Premiere Pro, After Effects)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" or bigger

Would it be possible to get good performance good screen good sound laptop at this budget? It's my first time buying laptop so please help~

Thanks!! =)
For 14":

Lenovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB(1600mhz), 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

For 15":

Asus N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

For good performance, I think all can achieve that.
For good sound, all have pretty good speakers, Asus have a subwoofer icon_rolleyes.gif

The prices may have dropped so do check them out smile.gif

PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 10:42 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Aug 21 2012, 09:07 AM)
pls help me. i need a fast laptop and budget max is around 2.4k. not really go into gaming but i want a dvdrw inside
Most 14" and above laptops have dvd drive.
Any that fall within your budget will suffice, no? hmm.gif
PhungTM
post Aug 21 2012, 08:36 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(fidel_castro @ Aug 21 2012, 05:44 PM)
wow  drool.gif
great recommendation thx alot!!!

Dont mind if i ask some questions: sweat.gif

1. is MSI good? i think the last time i heard MSI warranty have to bring to singapore or something... is that true?
I'm not sure.
2. for lenovo, my concern is somewhere says tht lenovo have slow HDD performance? and how good is lenovo's warranty?
Where did you hear that?  hmm.gif  As for the warranty, not much opinion or reviews is heard from.
3. for asus, i have a few frens using asus happily, but they are not using the G series... anyway i also heard b4 that asus warranty takes very long time. Do they still have that problem?
That is still true I guess.
4. And all this good prices i can just walk in to lowyat plaza and get it right?
The prices is more or less the same or might have dropped so you can ask around first.
5. what is JBL??
It is the brand of the speaker system.
6. What is Ivy bridge?
New generation of CPU processor by Intel.
7. What is the difference for Ivy bridge and sandy bridge?
The former is newer while the latter is the older version.

Sorry for asking so much just hoping that i can learn something from the experts  notworthy.gif
Most of the answer can be searched around nod.gif

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 21 2012, 08:37 PM
PhungTM
post Aug 22 2012, 10:58 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(fidel_castro @ Aug 22 2012, 09:30 AM)
Anybody knows what is the difference between 'business' and 'consumer' laptops?

Business are the ones where they send brochure to ur office, where consumers are the ones selling in lowyat.

I do reliase some difference like:

1. business have 3 years warranty and consumer usually have only 1 or 2 years
2. business usually the hard drive is 7200rpm
3. business have different processors; for eg. i5 3320M, where i think lowyat only have i5 3210M...?
4. business way more expensive even though with W7 Pro but its still not justifiable

other than that, i do not know any difference.

Is there any 'hidden specs' for business that justifies the fact that they are selling way more expensive (for an i5 unit) compared to a consumer i7 unit?

Will a business i5 unit generally runs faster/ better than a consumer i7 unit? Is it considered apple to apple comparison if i compare them based on specs?

Added on August 22, 2012, 9:36 am

thanks alot for your help.

However for the ivy and sandy bridge, apart from one is newer than another, i wanted to know if there are any more in depth details to it, eg: maybe ivy have better performance but produce more heat... smthing like that.

Anyway sorry to ask so much... i tried googling around but all that comes out are too technical therefore hard to understand. Thanks for everyones patience  notworthy.gif
Business class laptops have always been more expensive than consumer laptops.
If you look at Dell's Vostro line (Business) and Inspiron line (Consumer), the Vostro line's built quality will be much more better, more durable.
Perhaps it has more function, ie. higher resolution display, gorilla glass, better docking station for external display, etc.

Ivy has better performance, ie. Faster loading, consume less power, etc.
Those increase in performance might be minute, but it always better to get a newer, improved version at an almost same price.

PhungTM
post Aug 22 2012, 11:01 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(ahmy @ Aug 22 2012, 10:38 AM)
Brand: Any
Budget: Around 2k
Usage : surf,movie,gaming (dota2,pes,nfs,fifa m etc)
Size : 15 (nice for dota2 tongue.gif )
Can try these:

Acer V3-571G-53212G50, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB
Asus A55VM-SX037, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399, 4GB, 750GB, W7HP
Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.65kg], 6GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Lenovo Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2599, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm) W7HB
Toshiba Satellite L850-1007X/XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2399[2.41kg], 4GB, 640GB, W7HP, 3 years warranty

The prices may have changed so do check them out smile.gif
PhungTM
post Aug 22 2012, 04:00 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(L_0430 @ Aug 22 2012, 01:51 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: <RM 3500
3. Usage: College assignment, watching movie, music, light entertainment
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Less than 17", preferably 14 or 15.6"

I am considering ASUS A45VM-SX029V but I am not sure if it's a good deal. Thanks
No gaming? hmm.gif ohmy.gif

Your budget is high for a non-heavy usage. If you like the Asus A45VM then go for it biggrin.gif

PhungTM
post Aug 22 2012, 04:05 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(dia0x @ Aug 22 2012, 01:54 PM)
Brand : Asus, Dell, Toshiba, HP
Budget : around 3.5k
Usage : Will need it for basic school works and some gaming
I do hope that the laptop is able to play in max settings for games such as cod, dota2, starcraft2 and some other single player games.
Screen size : A 15 inch will be best however others are fine.
I'm curious that is it possible for any ultrabook in the market now to support such gaming and should i wait for windows 8 before buying?
Can try these:

Asus N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3599[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(5400rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

These can play your games pretty well, except for Dell Inspiron 15R SE. It might need some lower settings compared to the other 2.
Ultrabooks can't play very well and is not recommended to, however there are a few with quite good GPU.
Windows will allow W7 users to upgrade to W8 for a fee, I'm not sure how much hmm.gif
PhungTM
post Aug 24 2012, 04:04 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Aug 23 2012, 11:41 PM)
Hi Sifus, im looking for a casual laptop for normal usage like movie, music, web browsing, light gaming. Any recommendation?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

1. Preferred Brand: Any, but NO Acer
2. Budget - below 2.5k
3. Usage - movie, music, web browsing, light gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any
I like your siggy. Big fan of OP huh? tongue.gif

*Pardon unrelated to Mobile Computing
PhungTM
post Aug 29 2012, 08:52 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(Unwir3D @ Aug 29 2012, 01:55 AM)
Guys,

Looking for new ultrabook, any recommendation?
1. Preferred Brand ~ Any brand
2. Budget ~ 2K
3. Usage ~ Lightweight to medium usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size ~ 13 to 14 inch
Can try these:

13"
Acer [Ultrabook] Aspire S3-391-323A4G34, i3-2377M +Intel HD3000 + 32GB SSD+ 320GB HDD@RM1949[1.36kg], 4GB, W7HB
Lenovo [Ultrabook] U310, i3-3217M + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7HB (32-bit); colors: Blue/Pink
Dell Vostro 3360, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM2059[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

14"
Dell [Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.87kg], 4GB, W7HP
HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-1019TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)]@RM2199, 4GB, W7HP
PhungTM
post Aug 29 2012, 02:17 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Aug 29 2012, 02:12 PM)
Hi guys. smile.gif

I'm seeking recommendation for 14' laptop, meant for a female soon-to-be-university-student.

Prefer models that doesn't heat-up much and decent after sale service so ASUS is out I think?

Budget is 1.5 - 1.7k

Usage will be just normal use, but if possible would prefer the minimum GPU would be HD4000 or equivalent. (no HD3000)

Great thanks!
For normal usage, I think HD3000 would be enough. Why would you need HD4000? hmm.gif

Can try these:

Acer V5-431-987B2G50s/b/u, B987 + Intel HD4000@RM1499[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB, W7HP; colors: silver/blue/pink
HP Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Toshiba Satellite L840-1024X, i3-2370M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.12kg], 2GB, 640GB, W7HP
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)

PhungTM
post Aug 30 2012, 10:55 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Aug 30 2012, 03:09 AM)
Hi everyone, was planning to get a new laptop.. which laptop should i go for if im a user who..

-listens to music very very often, browse music videos,youtube mostof the time. (my old laptop crashed coz i opened too many videos)
-seldom play games. im nt a gamer.
-browse the net very very often
-functions > designs.
-prefers it to be portable and not too big, as im still a student and will be carrying it around college

as you can see, i would like the audio and graphics be in good quality. BTW i want a laptop with a good fan too. my old laptop always get overheated!

I've heard that Asus currently in high demand. should i buy that as well?

*budget max rm3-4k
your help is very much appreciated~~~ cheers!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Can try these:

14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2199[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional
HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1043TX/1053TX, i5-3317U + AMD HD7670M + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)]@RM2599[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W7HP
Lenovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB(1600mhz), 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty

15"

These have pretty good sound system. Some even have great GPU that comes along as well as an added advantage.
I would suggest 14", more lighter and portable.
PhungTM
post Aug 31 2012, 08:43 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(androidfans @ Aug 31 2012, 05:41 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my old benq s32

1. Preferred brand: hp, lenovo
2. Budget: <RM2k
3. Usage: facebook, light game
4. Preferred size: <14 inch
warranty must international

want to help my friend to choose, thanks

Added on August 31, 2012, 5:42 pmHi, I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my old benq s32

1. Preferred brand: hp, lenovo
2. Budget: <RM2k
3. Usage: facebook, light game
4. Preferred size: <14 inch
warranty must international

want to help my friend to choose, thanks
Can try these:

HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
HP Pavilion G4-2006/2007/2008TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.19kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0249sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:48 PM