129 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 10 2012, 10:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(finalmakers @ Jul 10 2012, 10:06 PM)
Hello...for those two processor here's the review i can get..
im not quite sure who's better but u can check it here...

http://compare-processors.com/core-i3-2350...-a6-3420m/2386/

Usually Intel processors are better in terms of CPU performance, but their intergrated GPUs lose out to AMD llano's, which are basically on par with mainstream GPUs nod.gif
finalmakers
post Jul 10 2012, 10:52 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 10 2012, 10:10 PM)
Usually Intel processors are better in terms of CPU performance, but their intergrated GPUs lose out to AMD llano's, which are basically on par with mainstream GPUs nod.gif
Thanks for answering bro..
i didnt know alot about GPU and CPU... biggrin.gif
yue90
post Jul 11 2012, 12:15 AM

22 posts

hello...
i need some suggestion on choosing laptop.

1. Brand- all except Acer
2. Budget-About 4k (can push up to 5k)
3. Usage- heavily user of 3d rendering software , such as Maya and adobe after effect
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- above 14" ,the color of the screen need to be accurate , prefer light weight because i need to bring it to UK for study.

Thanks all!!

Thanks!!
Ivan Law
post Jul 11 2012, 02:06 AM

Hi, would need some help! planning to buy laptop at PC fair this weekend.

1. Preferred brand : any Brand
2. Budget : <Rm2500
3. Usage : Gaming, preferred d3
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inch or more

Thanks!

fJok3R
post Jul 11 2012, 03:36 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Law @ Jul 11 2012, 02:06 AM)

Thanks!
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS
RiRyn
post Jul 11 2012, 09:18 AM

Hi there, I have a girl friend(currently studying graphic design) who would like to ask for some recommendations.
1. Preferred Brand: Acer/Asus, or any of which you all think is suitable.
2. Budget: <RM3000
3. Usage: Mainly for graphic design and of course, course work.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"

Thank you.
PhungTM
post Jul 11 2012, 10:43 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(RiRyn @ Jul 11 2012, 09:18 AM)
Hi there, I have a girl friend(currently studying graphic design) who would like to ask for some recommendations.

Thank you.
Can try these:

Acer
[Ultrabook] M5-481TG-53316G12, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M LE (28nm Kepler) + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.85kg], 6GB, W7HP

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Lenovo
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

Asus' 14" laptop is abit pricy and weak specs compared to others. laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2012, 02:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yue90 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:15 AM)
hello...

3. Usage- heavily user of 3d rendering software , such as Maya and adobe after effect
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- above 14" ,the color of the screen need to be accurate , prefer light weight because i need to bring it to UK for study.

Thanks all!!

Thanks!!
Can consider these:
15"
Dell
Latitude E5530, i5-3320M + Intel HD4000@RM3490, 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7P (32-bit), 3 years Pro support; [CPU options: i5-3320M-i7-3520M], FullHD screen upgradable
Latitude E6530, i5-3360M + Intel HD4000@RM4550, 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), W7P (32-bit), 3 years on-site warranty; [CPU options: i5-3360M-i7-3720QM][GPU option: Nvidia NVS5200M], HD+ & FullHD screen upgradable
XPS 15z, i7-2640M + Nvidia GT525M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM4099[2.51kg], backlit keyboard
XPS 15z, i7-2640M + Nvidia GT525M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + 256GB SSD@RM4999[2.51kg], backlit keyboard

Use the remaining money to go for 3 years warranty = international warranty nod.gif
faidz85
post Jul 11 2012, 03:48 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Budget: <RM3000
Brand: Asus / Lenovo / any other with at least 2 years warranty
Usage: Mostly office work but I am a gamer by nature. So yeah..good for games. Also photo editing.
Size: 15" +++

I am currently using Asus U41JF which is a very good laptop...almost 2 years in my possession. Been performing flawlessly.

ANd now looking for an upgrade especially the screen size & quality. Larger HDD >>> SSD.

Thanks for any advice!

This post has been edited by faidz85: Jul 11 2012, 03:49 PM
PhungTM
post Jul 11 2012, 06:07 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:48 PM)
Usage: Mostly office work but I am a gamer by nature. So yeah..good for games. Also photo editing.

I am currently using Asus U41JF which is a very good laptop...almost 2 years in my possession. Been performing flawlessly.

ANd now looking for an upgrade especially the screen size & quality. Larger HDD  >>> SSD.
Thanks for any advice!
If you're okay with 14" go for this:

Lenovo Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

For 15", can try these:

Asus
N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + Bluray@RM3399[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP
finalmakers
post Jul 11 2012, 06:18 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(yue90 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:15 AM)
hello...

Thanks all!!

Thanks!!
i think this should be nice for you...
EliteBook 8460w, i7-2630QM + AMD FirePro M3900@RM4999, W7P, anti-glare, 3 years

if not you can consider alienware from Dell brand rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Ivan Law @ Jul 11 2012, 02:06 AM)

Thanks!
if u +more budged for this laptop i think this should do it...
A43Sm-VX037v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

if not this one is ok... smile.gif
A43Sm-VX002v, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2299[2.4kg]v, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

QUOTE(RiRyn @ Jul 11 2012, 09:18 AM)

Thank you.
i think this one nice for her... icon_rolleyes.gif
A45Vm-VX029v, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:48 PM)

ANd now looking for an upgrade especially the screen size & quality. Larger HDD  >>> SSD.
Thanks for any advice!
i think this maybe suit u well...
N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack

Dell...
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional brows.gif

This post has been edited by finalmakers: Jul 11 2012, 06:57 PM
mcchin
post Jul 11 2012, 07:14 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

1. Preferred Brand
None at this moment

2. Budget
2-3k...

3. Usage
work stuff

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
13.3-14"

well these few days i have been searching hi and low for the "One"

I am incline towards ultrabook, because it is touted to be near my current lappie, or nappie to be precise
my current is EEEPC 901 with 60GB SSD (30x2) and a 12 Cell battery and weighed 1.3kg with the batt
Technically this is enough but the issue is the netbook is my own, and I am thinking of milking the company i work for >10 years, for a new one

my current one could stand up to 8hrs of light workload and is SSD (I prefer this because I am quite rough with my stuff)
and the whole unit is light

So the ultrabook seems to fit me my need
my eyes have just and Hour ago set on Toshiba Portege Z830, cause The lightness and the long batt life fits me perfectly. The less than stellar SSD is not a problem, ans I have grown use to my sloowowowow eeePC one.

The these following issue comes up
- Pricey, 3.5k average (could be less of a problem, company money)
- US microcenter have ~2.6k for the i3 version but this is without Turboboost(not that buying from US is viable)
- Asian version dont have backlit keyboard, not important but felt shortchanged since the price here is not cheaper in anyway
- SSD less than stellar, at the end of the day, a top of the line premium product with crappy drive? where the logic in that?!!

Oh by the way
from all the net picture, I prefer the looks of Z830, with the thin display/overall and squarish profile. Not that into the Dell rounded corners ones, which look less profesional. But still...eh yawn.gif
the newer Z930 is no better, treating malaysian customer as 2nd class buyer

any suggestion? sweat.gif
finalmakers
post Jul 11 2012, 07:17 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 11 2012, 07:14 PM)
1. Preferred Brand
None at this moment

2. Budget
2-3k...

3. Usage
work stuff

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
13.3-14"

well these few days i have been searching hi and low for the "One"

I am incline towards ultrabook, because it is touted to be near my current lappie, or nappie to be precise
my current is EEEPC 901 with 60GB SSD (30x2) and a 12 Cell battery and weighed 1.3kg with the batt
Technically this is enough but the issue is the netbook is my own, and I am thinking of milking the company i work for >10 years, for a new one

my current one could stand up to 8hrs of light workload and is SSD (I prefer this because I am quite rough with my stuff)
and the whole unit is light

So the ultrabook seems to fit me my need
my eyes have just and Hour ago set on Toshiba Portege Z830, cause The lightness and the long batt life fits me perfectly. The less than stellar SSD is not a problem, ans I have grown use to my sloowowowow eeePC one.

The these following issue comes up
- Pricey, 3.5k average (could be less of a problem, company money)
- US microcenter have ~2.6k for the i3 version but this is without Turboboost(not that buying from US is viable)
- Asian version dont have backlit keyboard, not important but felt shortchanged since the price here is not cheaper in anyway
- SSD less than stellar, at the end of the day, a top of the line premium product with crappy drive? where the logic in that?!!
Oh by the way
from all the net picture, I prefer the looks of Z830, with the thin display/overall and squarish profile. Not that into the Dell rounded corners ones, which look less profesional. But still...eh yawn.gif
the newer Z930 is no better, treating malaysian customer as 2nd class buyer

any suggestion? sweat.gif
For this one problem i think T.J should answer it...
im not really capable when it come to ultrabook... blink.gif
mcchin
post Jul 11 2012, 07:38 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(finalmakers @ Jul 11 2012, 07:17 PM)
For this one problem i think T.J should answer it...
im not really capable when it come to ultrabook... blink.gif
I am actually good with Dell design of the Latitude E6400 period
Is seems simple and professional enough for me.
the latest series seems like young 'uns design with the silver accentuation totally wrong for my taste

ultrabooks that i know of
- Asus UX31 - seems popular, also seems like alot of ppl is selling them off, plus the net review of the touch pad is horrendous couple with actually tested asus n45s touch pad, seems both is inferior to my eeepc one
- Lenovo U310?? - not really research on this
- Acer S3/S5 - actually started with this before the toshiba, but the batt life is a let down, along with 32+500 hdd hybrid combo
- HP envy - not researched closely
- HP folio - long batt life, but design bordering on no-compact ultrabook
- Samsung series - Too pricey for the SSD one, lower one lack them
- Dell - recent design does not gell with me
- Fujitsu 722?772? - Nice looking but for sure price high
finalmakers
post Jul 11 2012, 07:41 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 11 2012, 07:38 PM)
I am actually good with Dell design of the Latitude E6400 period
Is seems simple and professional enough for me.
the latest series seems like young 'uns design with the silver accentuation totally wrong for my taste

ultrabooks that i know of
- Asus UX31 - seems popular, also seems like alot of ppl is selling them off, plus the net review of the touch pad is horrendous couple with actually tested asus n45s touch pad, seems both is inferior to my eeepc one
- Lenovo U310?? - not really research on this
- Acer S3/S5 - actually started with this before the toshiba, but the batt life is a let down, along with 32+500 hdd hybrid combo
- HP envy - not researched closely
- HP folio - long batt life, but design bordering on no-compact ultrabook
- Samsung series - Too pricey for the SSD one, lower one lack them
- Dell - recent design does not gell with me
- Fujitsu 722?772? - Nice looking but for sure price high
let just see the Sifu here answer your question..
i cant answer it nicely because im weak in ultrabook... sweat.gif
kding2
post Jul 11 2012, 08:58 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(finalmakers @ Jul 10 2012, 10:00 PM)
Then this one should be nice for you...

ASUS A43SD-VX426 i3-2350 2GB 500GB NVIDIA GT610 2GB 14" DOS @1410

if you want a package with windows u can choose this...
it was the same laptop but it come with guinea windows 7..

A43SD-VX068V I3-2350 2GB 750GB NVIDIA 2GB 14" W7HP @1590 or something... smile.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 10 2012, 10:06 PM)
This one would be good enough for your usage nod.gif
14"
Asus A43Sd-VX216, B960 + Nvidia GT610M@RM1399[2.2kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm)

Just use the remaining money to get an OS laugh.gif
If you're good at bargaining, you can get the one recommended by finalmakers within RM1.5k as well, but do take note that its also FreeDOS (windows not installed)
Thanks for you guys fast responds. rclxms.gif
finalmakers
post Jul 11 2012, 09:17 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Jul 11 2012, 08:58 PM)
Thanks for you guys fast responds.  rclxms.gif
no problem... biggrin.gif
badboy_lun
post Jul 11 2012, 09:22 PM

126 posts

I would like to get some recommend from here,
Budget around 2K
14" screen size
any reliable brand is ok
A college engineering student who didnt play very high graphic game
*ASUS A43SD already in list, I hope for another recommend, Thanks! smile.gif
finalmakers
post Jul 11 2012, 09:27 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(badboy_lun @ Jul 11 2012, 09:22 PM)
I would like to get some recommend from here,
Budget around 2K
14" screen size
any reliable brand is ok
A college engineering student who didnt play very high graphic game
*ASUS A43SD already in list, I hope for another recommend, Thanks! smile.gif
Hello...
here's the list for ur budged...

Acer
V3-471G-53212G50k/g/s, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.3kg], 2GB, 500GB

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Inspiron 14z, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM1899[1.92kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Vostro 1450, i5-2450M + Intel HD3000@RM1949, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB

Lenovo
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia G610M@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP *no USB3.0

Toshiba
Satellite L745-1138X, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT525M@RM1999

so you can choose and determine which laptop is the best for ur budged and spec... biggrin.gif
yue90
post Jul 11 2012, 09:51 PM

22 posts

Thanks you for the suggestions!

129 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.5338sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:19 PM