Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

abu_adi
post Oct 14 2012, 10:52 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Oct 14 2012, 01:38 PM)
hi guys, i notice if you use google map to get direction, its very accurate which include price, duration, transits. but is this accurate especially the pricing? did anyone use google map in japan before and verify it?
hi,

first of all, i'm in japan currently. thanks for this forum, i got lots of useful tips from LYN.

for google map, the price, duration, and transit, i can say as far as i use these several days, mostly are accurate. things i learnt to make life easier (sorry if this is a repeat if somebody already mentioned):

- always observe what is the exit number of the train station. i.e. one train station may have several exits, and sometimes to go to the closest place is using that exit. take the wrong exit, you'll still find that place, but you'll go round and round abit.
- take note of the train lines, the train direction, and the train station to make the transfers
- use Street View, it's helpful to visualize what is the landmark to go to certain place
- sometimes, the google map shows the duration based on Express train, not Local train (google whats the difference of Local, Rapid, Express, Limited Express). try check later and earlier trips to see the duration patterns.

have fun. (and rest assure, no matter how much we prepare, we still have to ask locals for direction tongue.gif )

Added on October 14, 2012, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Oct 14 2012, 10:09 PM)
Guys for Disneyland tix do I purchase it online or can just walk in?
Which is cheaper?
i went last saturday, and just gamble by buying it walk-in. no problem.

but the queue for some of the rides are DAMN long (they also queue for toilets, to buy drinks, popcorns tongue.gif) . the longest i've seen i think is 150 minutes waiting time. even the FastPass tickets are finished.

i also notice when its lunch time, some queues become shorter, maybe locals go for lunch? dunno if u want to plan around for this.

Added on October 14, 2012, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(artman @ Oct 11 2012, 12:05 PM)
Hi Sifu's, going to pure Tokyo next week...
here below is my itinerary draft, any advise please suggest to me...

Day 5
Yokohama (Day Trip) - Not Confirm Itinerary
- China Town
- Red Brick Warehouse
- Yamashita Park (200 Yen)
- Boat Ride (Charges Apply)

Train 620 Yen x 2 Return = 1240 : Shinjuku - (JR Shonan Shinjuku Line) - Yokohama (Not inclusive Yokohama City Train)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
another option to get to Yokohama is Tokyu Line, Shibuya station direct to Minatomirai station, 440 yen.
oh and if you are a museum person, i suggest Cup Noodles Museum as well.

have fun.

This post has been edited by abu_adi: Oct 14 2012, 11:04 PM
abu_adi
post Oct 17 2012, 04:45 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 17 2012, 03:26 PM)
drool.gif  any references? tq.
Yep, its stated in the japan embassy msia website. Maybe to promote economy by tourism hor? Talked to a shopkeeper here last week, he said business not good after tsunami/quake, less tourist than usual before tsunami.
abu_adi
post Oct 18 2012, 10:00 AM

89 posts

Seems like most places are hit by heavy rain last night eh? Me need to wait for my shoes to dry. Have to find another sandals or shoes to walk around

Added on October 18, 2012, 10:16 am
QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:00 AM)
what are the choices i hv if i need to catch a flight from Narita airport 6am in the morning? can i overnite before the nite? but i read from its website passengers are not allow to be in the passenger terminal after 11pm.. headache lah like that..
Iinm, u can overnite at the airport. Police will come and gather all of passengers to the first floor so that all are safe together.

Just catch the train / bus to narita the night before will do.

This post has been edited by abu_adi: Oct 18 2012, 10:16 AM
abu_adi
post Oct 28 2012, 10:36 AM

89 posts

If go to odaiba, can also go to megaweb if you are a car person. Toyota gallery n small theme park.

Also a mini version of a statue of liberty (about 2 storeys high) with rainbow bridge on the background. Take free shuttle bus from megaweb n stop at aqua city mall.
abu_adi
post Oct 29 2012, 09:54 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 29 2012, 01:26 AM)
Airasia daily flight to Tokyo-Haneda will arrive at 11pm, I'm wondering how much is the MRT/taxi fare to city ?
Taxi meter start at 600 or 700 yen. Then goes 100 yenfor each 500m. Thsere also additional midnight surcharge.Use map to estimatr distance and cost.

Tried when me and my partner have to move with big luggages within short distances.
abu_adi
post Nov 5 2012, 04:40 PM

89 posts

FYI today's flight from Msia to Haneda, delayed, and departs at 4.30pm. plan carefully for future travel.
abu_adi
post Nov 5 2012, 05:18 PM

89 posts

airasia x flight suppose to depart at 2.45 pm and reach there at 11 pm.
abu_adi
post Nov 14 2012, 03:45 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 12 2012, 05:47 PM)
Which website can tell me the Osaka subway prices between 2 stations ?
I want to compare against getting those Unlimited 1/2-day Pass.
just use google maps. only need to know station names. even that, you can find online.
abu_adi
post Nov 17 2012, 12:12 AM

89 posts

If flight from haneda to kl, make sure u pick meal if u want to eat early (around 1 hr after take off). I chose sandwich which is a snack, not meal, only to found out snacks are served 1 hour before landing.

This post has been edited by abu_adi: Nov 17 2012, 12:13 AM
abu_adi
post Dec 4 2012, 11:25 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Dec 3 2012, 11:02 PM)
.Thinking maybe to use baggage transfer service from tour operators eg 3000 yen per luggage, anyone use before?

Any advice on how to move from overall airport - station - hotel ?
I used luggage service from airport to hotel. It helps when rushing to trains, and also to buy time since we arrived several hours earlier than hotel checkin time, so want to go see other place first, dont need to haul luggages with us all the time.

It costs 3000+ yen per luggage, it will take same day or next day depends on the distance. You can ask this, and make sure you have the hotel address for them.

When arrived at the hotel, just inform hotel, they should able to receive the luggages later without you being present, so you dont have to worry to come back.
abu_adi
post Dec 5 2012, 01:25 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Dec 4 2012, 11:33 PM)
Wooo.... this is great news .... how can i get such service? Is it from travel agent counter somewhere? Do they also provide such service from tokyo hotel to osaka hotel for example?
when in airport, look for the counters in the arrival halls, usually they are located there.

if for hotel, i'm not sure, i think you can ask from the reception/concierge, they should be helpful to contact the service provider to do this.

one example is this: http://www.jalabc.com/english/index2.html

abu_adi
post Dec 11 2012, 10:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(anilin @ Dec 11 2012, 06:28 PM)
Hmm.. in fact I have not think of how to transport to Yokohama from Haneda airport coz AA arriving almost 11pm and that is if without delay or hiccups.
Last bus from Haneda to Yokohama is 1230am IINM, just google YCAT Haneda. If u managed to catch that, you just have to worry about paying taxi to royal park hotel since thhre wont be any subway when u arrive later.
Or you can overnight in Haneda, and catch the earliest bus to YCAT 515am next morning.
There is also First Cabin compact hotel in Haneda at 800yen/hour.
abu_adi
post Dec 24 2012, 10:45 AM

89 posts

found a site which offers muslim tours package. even if not interested, it has links to some of those halal shops.

http://www.feeljapank.com/index.html

in case if it's helpful for ppl asking halal stuff in this thred once in a while.
abu_adi
post Feb 5 2013, 11:52 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Feb 4 2013, 10:37 PM)
yea..bloody expensive! from wad i noe from the backpacker owner, due to the line is fully automated therefore higher maintenance or some sort of tech stuff i duno lah compare to all other lines which a operated by 'real' human being..haha

But its really cool especially when going thru the bridge,the steel structures beside,like travelling into the future  drool.gif
If you happen to take Rinkai line to Odaiba (maybe if you go to Mega Web or Diver City, etc), there's a FOC bus tour around Odaiba, that actually stops at Aqua City. The bus stop is outside the Tokyo Teleport station, facing the Mega Web.
abu_adi
post Feb 15 2013, 04:58 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Feb 14 2013, 12:14 PM)

Suica Card
1) Is it usable for all JR East Railways in Tokyo?
Yes

2) Is it usable for Tokyo private trains? (for Yurikamome/Rinkai Line to/fro Odaiba, Disney Monorail, Keisei Skyliner)
Rinkai can. Yurikamome should be OK. Not sure for Monorail and Skyliner.

3) Stupid question, can use for both Tokyo Metro n Toei subways rite? tongue.gif
Yes

Thanks!
abu_adi
post Feb 20 2013, 11:32 AM

89 posts

If anybody plan to use runner to apply visa, the Mayflower beside IOI mall, already closed. I went there this morning, and confirmed with Mayflower HQ. (The HQ does provide it, if we buy their packages.)

The good thing is, Keris travel inside IOI mall still does runner service (thanks to mr stimix post). RM50 per passport.

This post has been edited by abu_adi: Feb 20 2013, 11:42 AM
abu_adi
post Apr 3 2013, 05:11 AM

89 posts

Just arrived in Tokyo 2 days ago. Been raining all the times. Weather forecast says thursday will stop, hopefully its true.
abu_adi
post May 17 2013, 05:53 PM

89 posts

One board to see all the waiting queue in Disneyland....

abu_adi
post May 22 2013, 10:13 AM

89 posts

i was with my wife for her business trip there. she applied her visa on business reason, while I applied on tourist reason. we both got our visa.

at immigration in Japan, she ended up questioned longer than usual at the counter, than me. i guess the govt there is more worried on people coming work there (in case they overstay work forever), rather than tourists like us.

0.0559sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:18 AM