General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

XPAWNED01
post Apr 14 2013, 11:05 AM

307 posts

Besides practicing to write, any other possible ways in memorizing kanji characters?
XPAWNED01
post Jul 10 2013, 05:41 PM

307 posts

Now I am learning japanese by reading hardcore light novels... unsure.gif
Thanks to that I am able to squeezed some kanji into my brain. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by XPAWNED01: Jul 10 2013, 05:42 PM
XPAWNED01
post Jul 10 2013, 10:22 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 10 2013, 09:55 PM)
so hardcore la u... i cant even manage to understand momotaro story  laugh.gif
lulz. Having hard time reading light novels. Not that powerful.. sweat.gif
I start with one of the difficult light novels: Monogatari series.
Dunno anything about Momotaro story in japanese. Only read them in malay during childhood. lol laugh.gif
XPAWNED01
post Jul 11 2013, 11:25 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 11 2013, 10:52 AM)
Frankly speaking, reading LN is a hell of a mountain climbing method to improve your japanese. I do get brain-processing congestion with reading and understanding it. Without realizing it, you'll realize how tough and rough was it. But on the other hand its quite effective.
nod.gif
Really effective for me. Tough at first but after getting used to it, it is pretty fun method.
XPAWNED01
post Jul 11 2013, 11:32 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 11 2013, 11:29 AM)
on a side note it doesn't help much on JLPT. JLPT requires u to study its text book. Reading LN will improve ur japanese language in another way but not the exam.

The recent 2013A JLPT just held few days ago on 7/7/2013. 2013B will be held on December, so good luck to those will be taking.
I learn Japanese informally and still got no interest in getting JLPT cert and qualifications. unsure.gif
Maybe I'll reconsider taking them later...
XPAWNED01
post Jul 11 2013, 11:48 AM

307 posts

Speaking huh... never actually speaks Japanese to real people outside there besides my malay friend who studies in Nagoya. Speaks to her when hangout with her to test my Japanese, which is still below average. sweat.gif
XPAWNED01
post Jul 11 2013, 05:26 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(astraeus @ Jul 11 2013, 04:53 PM)
^ Loooool, for real?! XD

I recognize quite a lot of kanji, but don't really study how to write them. Even more so since I basically self-study instead of going to classes. I take the exam for the certification, and to give myself a way to measure how much I've learnt so far. I'm currently making myself learn how to write, but I'm doing it at a leisurely pace wink.gif

Listening-wise, I tend to listen to a lot of seiyuu web radio shows. Some radio shows are tied to a specific anime series, but there are some that are the seiyuu's own radio show. And in radio shows, it's not unusual for the host to talk quite fast (because they have limited time, usually about 30 mins to 1 hour). And they also talk like how they usually talk in real life, full of slangs and abbreviations. I won't say that I understand everything they say, but I certainly learn lots of new words this way, and it's also how I get used to how Japanese people speak.

Oh, I like to listen to drama/narration CDs as well.

I can listen to the recording and read the book at the same time, so whenever I come across a word I'm not familiar with, I can listen to how it's pronounced and try to search from there instead of having to check the radicals every time.
I am doing what have you done so far;
1. Listening to seiyuu web radios
2. reading light novels
3. listening to drama cds
4. playing visual novels. whistling.gif

Number 2 is the best so far in helping me memorizing kanji, with the help of references of course.
Number 1 greatly helps to train my ears and brain--good for informal studies of daily communications.
If anyone ever wants to try listening to web radios, Hanazawa Kana HitoKana radio and Duraraji ( thumbup.gif laugh.gif ) are my recommendations.

This post has been edited by XPAWNED01: Jul 11 2013, 05:29 PM
XPAWNED01
post Jul 12 2013, 10:22 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jul 12 2013, 10:17 AM)
I see what you did there brows.gif

I did the whole anime/manga thingy, though I'm more of a listener than a reader. When I took the L2, it was my choukai that really helped me score the test.
Over the years, I've immersed myself in many other aspects of Japanese culture. Rurouni Kenshin got me started on the whole samurai thingy and I watched lots of chambara (sword fighting) / jidaigeki movies, eventually developing a taste for haiku and Heian poetry and Kendo.
From watching Azumanga Daioh and Abenobashi Mahou Shotengai as well as popular TV variety programs, I developed an interest in dialects, especially Kansai dialect. Some of my Japanese acquaintances have remarked I have the mild singsong lilt of a Kansai speaker even when I speak hyoujungo tongue.gif
I did both reading and listening while playing vn.
One can easily be distracted by the voices sweat.gif
XPAWNED01
post Jul 13 2013, 02:15 PM

307 posts

Babbling and muttering stuff in Japanese could help you a bit. I guess...
Or try to find someone who is Japanese or a Malaysian who can speak the language naturally.
Also, mixing yourself with people at Japanese clubs and societies here could help, maybe...
XPAWNED01
post Jul 13 2013, 02:34 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Jul 13 2013, 02:28 PM)
Not so much babbling but making efforts to form sentences and express yourself, mistakes be damned. I enjoy it when students go out of their way to form outlandish but grammatically correct sentences. Being adventurous and trying things out is an integral part of making the language your own. When I was a student I'd try to make the most complicated anime flavoured sentence I could think of whenever the teacher asked us to use a mundane grammar pattern. It helps test the limits of your ability and is part of the process of learning to "think" in Japanese.
Pretty agree with you here.
Mistakes are bound to happen while learning something. Once you realized those mistakes you have made, you will eventually learn the correct ones.
The most important thing is your very own effort to learn it smile.gif
XPAWNED01
post Jul 25 2013, 06:39 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(MisterMRK @ Jul 25 2013, 06:33 PM)
Learning kanji is hard  sad.gif
ikr rclxms.gif
XPAWNED01
post Jul 27 2013, 04:52 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(onizuka89 @ Jul 27 2013, 02:26 AM)
Em,I currently learning Japanese too. But now only level 1.
n1 is the most powerful level.
the least powerful is n5.
XPAWNED01
post Jul 27 2013, 03:40 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(onizuka89 @ Jul 27 2013, 11:51 AM)
Any textbooks recommended?

especially in Kinokuniya book store.. smile.gif
search for Minna no Nihongo series.
XPAWNED01
post Jul 27 2013, 08:15 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jul 27 2013, 10:24 AM)
No it's really easy actually compared to learning how to hold an actual conversation with a Japanese.
your username seems familiar.
Do you translate/scanlate manga? hmm.gif
XPAWNED01
post Aug 22 2013, 10:07 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 22 2013, 09:33 AM)
I originally planned to take Japanese language class starting September. But between workload, money problem and professional examinations, looks like I will need to defer my plans again sad.gif
the examinations are there for you to get certificates so that you are able to enter Japanese universities or apply any job that needed the qualifications based on the certs.
Unless you are aiming to work in a Japanese company or something similar to that, I don't see why you are needed to take the examinations.
Correct me if I'm wrong. Just my 2cents.
XPAWNED01
post Aug 22 2013, 10:46 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 22 2013, 10:45 AM)
No, I mean I am too busy with my current exam (acca) and work to take Japanese language class XD
i see nod.gif
XPAWNED01
post Sep 2 2013, 03:41 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Sep 2 2013, 02:22 AM)
damn i feel jelly my friend can write and read
you can't ah? hmm.gif
XPAWNED01
post Sep 3 2013, 11:45 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Sep 3 2013, 10:32 PM)
u watch 300 anime oso cant become pandai laa ~_~
then try read raw manga and novel la...
you can do slow paced learning also whistling.gif
XPAWNED01
post Sep 16 2013, 05:18 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(iamsoonoob @ Sep 16 2013, 04:29 PM)
actually i really want to learn the language.im have been watching anime and tokusastsu series for few years already but only managed to understand very little of it.so my level is i think is below beginner and im not asking to be baby-fed but i just need guide on how to start(not like straight away read LN).im willing do to slow paced learning and willing to use our google sensei for that purpose. biggrin.gif maybe considering taking classes but before that,i would like to do self study first so i dont get left behind easily while attending the class since maybe that time already know the basic japanese.
No. Do not use google translate. Make use of online jisho instead. That will be more helpful.
XPAWNED01
post Sep 17 2013, 02:35 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(iamsoonoob @ Sep 16 2013, 05:45 PM)
then i should start with online japanese tutorial links posted in the front page of this thread?or buying the textbooks first?im not chinese educated so have to learn everything from the scratch.let say if i were to read raw manga or LN,not a single word i understand from there.so its not recommended from start right?if anyone here from ipoh area,could somebody tell me where can i attend the class since when i search the web,i only found ones in kuala lumpur area only.maybe i didnt search carefully enough.will try to search again in the meantime
I'm a Malay, not being a chinese educated isn't a big problem actually. You can learn the language with ease if you really got the passion to learn it. I suggest you to learn the simplest stuff in Japanese language, the kana(s) characters--Hiragana and Katakana.
Once you can get a hold of these two types of characters (which is very important), it'll be easier for you to learn kanji (chinese characters).
You can learn from any kind of tutorial books and here I suggest to you to start with Minna no Nihongo to learn kanji. You can just learn Katakana and Hiragana from various e-books or online tutorials.

As for the class... sorry, can't help.

0.0674sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:49 PM