General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!
Dark Steno
Jul 28 2010, 09:41 PM
baaaaaaa
QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 28 2010, 09:21 PM) Who's around you listening? If co-workers, you must show respect, even at a party outside. Sumimasen has wider uses too, some surprising ones like thank you. There are even higher formal ones, like shitsurei and moshiwake. Gomen useful for when physically causing trouble, like bumping into somebody. Beginners -- books can't do it all. Different beginners books cover different combinations of grammar even. You also need a lot of listening. Don't forget this is the age of internet multimedia (hint hint). There are plenty of opportunities to speak to real live Japanese here in Malaysia too. Many want to exchange practice English and local languages. 111 Depends on your purpose of learning. My intention mostly on reading which is why I don't bother practising on how to speak or even write.
goldfries
Jul 28 2010, 11:32 PM
40K Club
hehe. i just want to learn to read, and able to listen to anime without resorting to subs.  gonna take a while. i see gomen and gomenasai. i see anime people say gomena but i can't find any reference on the internet. looking at the text so far, kanji i see already can agak agak meaning cos i read Chinese text but i donno how to read it in japanese and I see how they use it quite differently. probably the biggest difference i spotted is 青 that means "green" in Chinese but in Japanese, that Kanji text means "blue".
Dark Steno
Jul 28 2010, 11:37 PM
baaaaaaa
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2010, 11:32 PM) hehe. i just want to learn to read, and able to listen to anime without resorting to subs.  gonna take a while. i see gomen and gomenasai. i see anime people say gomena but i can't find any reference on the internet. looking at the text so far, kanji i see already can agak agak meaning cos i read Chinese text but i donno how to read it in japanese and I see how they use it quite differently. probably the biggest difference i spotted is 青 that means "green" in Chinese but in Japanese, that Kanji text means "blue". single kanji might have similar meaning to chinese but two or three kanji would give different meaning. afaik la.
goldfries
Jul 28 2010, 11:41 PM
40K Club
hehe. now i can read probably 1/4 of the hiragana........ haven't gone into katakana, let alone kanji.
when i play anime..........aiyah, still cannot get the sentences, other then the common words. (ok la, understandable cos i'm probably in my 3rd day of more serious japanese language study.)
oneeleven
Jul 30 2010, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2010, 11:32 PM) hehe. i just want to learn to read, and able to listen to anime without resorting to subs.  gonna take a while. i see gomen and gomenasai. i see anime people say gomena but i can't find any reference on the internet. looking at the text so far, kanji i see already can agak agak meaning cos i read Chinese text but i donno how to read it in japanese and I see how they use it quite differently. probably the biggest difference i spotted is 青 that means "green" in Chinese but in Japanese, that Kanji text means "blue". Those are grammatical forms combined with politeness. Monks and upper class people imported the Chinese millennia ago, from classical literature so the usages can be different. Actually even in modern Chinese, QING can shade towards sea green or pale turquoise blue. It would be interesting to know if a non-speaker can actually just read without being able to pronounce anything, just remember the shape of a hiragana group like -nakattara after some known kanji, and understand the sentence. Japanese people read classical Chinese like that! 111
alexilyne
Jul 30 2010, 09:08 AM
青is definitely blue in jap but the green traffic light here is also call 青信号
amely
Aug 1 2010, 11:28 AM

hmm,would like to ask the lessons in until nihongo red book until which chapter? i just a basic learner
oe_kintaro
Aug 2 2010, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(alexilyne @ Jul 30 2010, 09:08 AM) 青is definitely blue in jap but the green traffic light here is also call 青信号 To the Japanese, green is historically a subset of blue. Quoting Wikipedia: QUOTE The Japanese word ao (青?, n., aoi (青い?, adj.)), the exact same kanji character as the Chinese qīng above, can refer to either blue or green depending on the situation. Modern Japanese has also adopted the Chinese word for green (緑 midori?), although this was not always so. Ancient Japanese did not have this distinction: the word midori only came into use in the Heian period, and at that time (and for a long time thereafter) midori was still considered a shade of ao. Educational materials distinguishing green and blue only came into use after World War II, during the Occupation[citation needed]: thus, even though most Japanese consider them to be green, the word ao is still used to describe certain vegetables, apples and vegetation. Ao is also the name for the color of a traffic light, which is bluer than in English-speaking countries. However, most other objects—a green car, a green sweater, and so forth—will generally be called midori. Japanese people also sometimes use the word guriin (グリーン), based on the English word "green", for colors. The language also has several other words meaning specific shades of green and blue.
takashishinohara
Aug 4 2010, 11:13 PM
Anyone get any news this year JLPT can register thru web? and how about payment?
engseng
Aug 6 2010, 05:02 PM
Does anyone have the list of 196 kanji characters for the latest kanji reform by the Japanese government?
oneeleven
Aug 7 2010, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(engseng @ Aug 6 2010, 05:02 PM) Does anyone have the list of 196 kanji characters for the latest kanji reform by the Japanese government? Latest? When was it?
mumeichan
Aug 8 2010, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(engseng @ Aug 6 2010, 05:02 PM) Does anyone have the list of 196 kanji characters for the latest kanji reform by the Japanese government? Which 196 characters? Are you talking about JLPT or the jouyou kanji. If it's the jouyou kanji you can get it from MEXT's website by googling 常用漢字 . I don't think there's a grade with 196 characters though. This post has been edited by mumeichan: Aug 8 2010, 07:39 PM
engseng
Aug 10 2010, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Aug 8 2010, 07:38 PM) Which 196 characters? Are you talking about JLPT or the jouyou kanji. If it's the jouyou kanji you can get it from MEXT's website by googling 常用漢字 . I don't think there's a grade with 196 characters though. This is what I am talking about: Gov't council calls for newly designating 196 kanji for common useWhich means a new 常用漢字 list for Japan. I thought there's already 鬱 in the list, everyone who watched Harumi Suzumiya should know this character. This post has been edited by engseng: Aug 10 2010, 09:55 AM
takashishinohara
Aug 12 2010, 08:25 AM
Anyone knows JLPT for this year how to register online? and how about payment?? Added on August 12, 2010, 9:07 amI have found this website and start register on august 16th http://www.jlsm.org/httpdocs/html/jlpt__ja...age_profic.html Added on August 12, 2010, 9:16 amSome notes to be take noted! http://www.jlsm.org/jlpt/RegistrationNotic...EFORE_YOU_BEGINView Registration Status: http://www.jlsm.org/jlpt/ViewStatus.aspxHope can help those who take JLPT This post has been edited by takashishinohara: Aug 12 2010, 09:16 AM
aburex
Aug 12 2010, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Jul 29 2010, 12:37 AM) single kanji might have similar meaning to chinese but two or three kanji would give different meaning. afaik la. sometimes single character oso different meaning.. totally.. hehe..
Dark Steno
Aug 12 2010, 06:07 PM
baaaaaaa
QUOTE(aburex @ Aug 12 2010, 04:15 PM) sometimes single character oso different meaning.. totally.. hehe.. holyshit aburex
linkinstreet
Aug 12 2010, 06:17 PM
Red Bull Addict
QUOTE(aburex @ Aug 12 2010, 04:15 PM) sometimes single character oso different meaning.. totally.. hehe.. ZOMG IT'S ABUREX
aburex
Aug 12 2010, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Aug 12 2010, 07:07 PM) holyshit aburex  QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 12 2010, 07:17 PM) Ore wa mada ikiteru ze!
shinjite
Aug 12 2010, 11:59 PM
You're still alive eh aburex.....damn, how long has it been
aburex
Aug 14 2010, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 13 2010, 12:59 AM) You're still alive eh aburex.....damn, how long has it been mid 2006 i think.. since i've become a salary man