Audio port on motherboard 6 vs 3 ?, difference ?

TSMaxieos
post Jul 4 2012, 08:35 PM, updated 14y ago

3,761 posts

What's the different between an extra audio port ? do we use them all ?

Realtek® ALC887 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC *4
- Supports : Jack-detection, Multi-streaming, Front Panel Jack-retasking
Audio Feature :
- Optical S/PDIF out port(s) at back panelhttp://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z77V_LX/#specifications

Realtek® ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- Supports : Jack-detection, Multi-streaming, Front Panel Jack-retasking
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Soc...#specifications

Thanks smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 4 2012, 08:49 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

That depends on your speakers' number of channels. If it's for example, a 5.1 channel speaker then it'll be using three jacks, which is normally green, blue and black / orange. With a motherboard that only has three jacks ( pink, green and blue ), you won't be able to use a 5.1 and above channel speaker set-up.

You can however choose to connect everything on the same jack, or any available jacks if the amount of connections exceeds the amount of available audio jacks on your motherboard, but you'll end up with a speaker that won't be functioning as it was intended to. smile.gif
NoobHacker
post Jul 4 2012, 08:50 PM

1,753 posts

2 channel, 2.1 or 5.1 sound system...simply if ur speaker dun have so much jacks then you dont need so much ports

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Jul 4 2012, 08:50 PM
knight_57
post Jul 4 2012, 09:08 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 4 2012, 08:49 PM)
You can however choose to connect everything on the same jack, or any available jacks if the amount of connections exceeds the amount of available audio jacks on your motherboard, but you'll end up with a speaker that won't be functioning as it was intended to. smile.gif
yeap practically that defeats the purpose of a 5.1 system...but nowadays most motherboards support at least 5.1 system

This post has been edited by knight_57: Jul 4 2012, 09:10 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 4 2012, 09:43 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

If you can afford good 7.1 speaker. I am sure you can afford a good sound card...then this onboard jacks so many for what?? hehe.

TSMaxieos
post Jul 4 2012, 09:56 PM

3,761 posts

So the extra orange black and white are for 7.1 channel ?
Currently using old speaker 2.1 channel altec lansing (not sure which model V41 something)
So I dont need those extra port right ? Only the green one enough ?
knight_57
post Jul 4 2012, 10:12 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 4 2012, 09:56 PM)
So the extra orange black and white are for 7.1 channel ?
Currently using old speaker 2.1 channel altec lansing (not sure which model V41 something)
So I dont need those extra port right ? Only the green one enough ?
for newer mobos it can automatically detect when u plug in jack and ask what is it for (e.g. front speaker, rear speaker, mic in) as long as proper driver is installed JACK DETECTION (although diff color are for diff speakers bt u can change it anytime)

green - front speakers
blue - line in
red - mic in
black - rear speakers
orange - center/sub
i tin white ones are for side speakers

basically if it's only 2 speakers green jack is enough

This post has been edited by knight_57: Jul 4 2012, 10:14 PM
TSMaxieos
post Jul 4 2012, 11:35 PM

3,761 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 4 2012, 09:43 PM)
If you can afford good 7.1 speaker. I am sure you can afford a good sound card...then this onboard jacks so many for what?? hehe.
QUOTE(knight_57 @ Jul 4 2012, 10:12 PM)
for newer mobos it can automatically detect when u plug in jack and ask what is it for (e.g. front speaker, rear speaker, mic in) as long as proper driver is installed JACK DETECTION (although diff color are for diff speakers bt u can change it anytime)

green - front speakers
blue - line in
red - mic in
black - rear speakers
orange - center/sub
i tin white ones are for side speakers

basically if it's only 2 speakers green jack is enough
Thanks for the clarification smile.gif
So , the onboard sound is same as those Asus xonar ? both also same digital right ?
suggest getting an onboard or invest more on sound card ? i mean future , if have extra $ for 7.1 speaker sweat.gif
haha biggrin.gif
knight_57
post Jul 5 2012, 12:24 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 4 2012, 11:35 PM)
So , the onboard sound is same as those Asus xonar ? both also same digital right ?
suggest getting an onboard or invest more on sound card ? i mean future , if have extra $ for 7.1 speaker  sweat.gif
haha  biggrin.gif
yeah it's merely output, but definitely external sound card produce better sound quality...well the question is whether ur satisfied with mobo default audio...if not den go grab a sound card biggrin.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 5 2012, 04:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 4 2012, 11:35 PM)
suggest getting an onboard or invest more on sound card ? i mean future , if have extra $ for 7.1 speaker  sweat.gif
haha  biggrin.gif
Those are NOT digital...speaker jacks are analog output. The SPDIF/HDMI is digital. If you're output from SPDIF/HDMI to your AV, then you don't need a sound card.

Basically, onboard sucks...really sucks....if you can afford RM500 speakers. You should buy a sound card if you're using the analogs out.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 5 2012, 04:20 PM

0.0773sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:40 AM