> University of Lowyat automotive engineer, mention in Top Gear magazine

TSruffstuff
post Jul 1 2012, 11:55 PM, updated 14y ago

3,345 posts

So one of our forumer bought the new Top Gear magazine and found out...

laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 12:09 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(MrssV @ Jul 2 2012, 12:07 AM)
More like tongue in cheek. They sarcastically referred the Proton bashers as an engineer from "University of Low Yat". Who's trolling who now? lol
yerp.

He is referring to lowyat thread of drive shaft patah.. laugh.gif
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 01:22 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(blo0dLuSt @ Jul 2 2012, 11:55 AM)
Dc da kne sacked, now hezeri take his place.
Macam dia je tulis article ni. Sebab dkt FB die pun ada mention forum lowyat bila gambar drive shaft patah tersebar.
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 02:29 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jul 2 2012, 01:58 PM)
If it is sarcasm then it shouldn't be allowed to be published by the editor. Clearly the editor didn't do his/her job properly. People reading car magazine reviews want facts and information. What if they want to know more about this University? How?
This is irresponsible journalism.
Dont tell me Top Gear UK is all about facts. laugh.gif
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 02:41 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jul 2 2012, 02:34 PM)
I know Top Gear UK, watch all 18 seasons.
This one is magazine review with obscure in-joke. For us LYNers we know what he is talking about lar.
Imagine your average uncle who reads this magazine, saw University of Low Yat. WTF is this?
The author of the article clearly felt offended by the remarks done here and wants to make fun of LYN in his article, but a competent editor will usually tell him that this is a bad idea. Too bad TGM editor not competent lor...
Generally you don't put obscure in-jokes in magazines/articles aimed at general public. This is journalism 101.
The magazine is full of sarcasm la. Not only shows. Journalism 101?
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 02:50 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jul 2 2012, 02:45 PM)
Sarcasm is fine but in-jokes are not. Journalism 101 means basic Journalism la.
Are you saying that TGM readers are all LYN forumers?? WOW didn't know that TGM is supported wholly by LYN forumers.
Glad that I learned something new today.
so you decide inside jokes are not journalism 101. ok.
TSruffstuff
post Jul 2 2012, 04:41 PM

3,345 posts

university of lowyat melahirkan graduan jurutera automotif.

0.0179sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:42 AM