Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

lololzai
post Jul 12 2012, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Jul 11 2012, 11:31 PM)
I had my maxis fibre optic installed as well. So far so good, I had same issue whereby the thompson wifi signal is very weak. Have to use another wifi router as Access point.

The tm installer charged me Rm150, just to climb the roof at ground floor to put in the fibre optic cable into the conceal pipe. sad.gif

I tried to flash the linksys router (wrt54g2) to use DD-WRT and make it as repeater, but failed. So only can use the router as access point.

Anyone have use this before? Is it reliable?
Wall-Plugged Wireless-N Extender
http://www.aztech.com/my/wireless_wl556e.html
Hi HappyGuy, my previously used for 1mbps streamyx linksys router is also the same UFO router, WRT54G2(mine is v1).

Could u teach me how to setup Access Point with WRT54G2?
Sorry please tell me the detailed settings for WRT54G2 and also for the Thomson? sad.gif

======================================================

And......

Who could tell me how to check whether I'm on Public IP or Private IP?
I didn't ask for change of IP type since installation. So mine is in default (according to first post, should be Private IP in default).

But I checked via IP detector websites(eg. http://www.ip-adress.com/ , http://whatismyipaddress.com/, blabla..) and all show 14.192.x.x (IP format just same as those IP in picture posted by public IP member).
Summore everytime I reboot/reconnect router, the IP will change(like 14.192.x.1 becomes 14.192.x.25) everytime as usual.
So this means I'm Public IP? But...
when I check in Thomson router page(Home > Broadband Connection > Internet Services > eInternet), IP address stated in the page is 10.x.x.x(I know this is Private IP because it starts with 10 due to the reason of the IP range of 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255 are Private IPs).

So conclusion is I'm actually on Public IP or Private IP??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 12 2012, 07:49 AM
lololzai
post Jul 12 2012, 07:56 PM

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jul 12 2012, 09:54 AM)
anyone can confirm how to save the Thompson config file?

even i login with admin previlege the option is not there (while the generic Thomson router should have the option)

I can't afford to configure my routing/port fwd configuration all over again in case the router down or something

The interface is damn too slow
I just save Thomson TG784n settings last night.
To save config, just login as any 1 of the Admin privilege account(s) (I mentioned in plural because I created another Admin privilege account with my chosen username, so now I have 2 admins and 1 user account),
then now follow this path (Home > Thomson Gateway > Configuration > Backup & Restore) or just click this link http://192.168.1.254/backup.lp?be=0&l0=1&l...=BACKUP_RESTORE , then select 'Backup Configuration Now...' and choose destination folder to save config file. The config file is "*.ini".

QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Jul 12 2012, 04:44 PM)
To setup the linksys router as access point, just need a network cable, plug it to LAN port in Thomson router, and another end to WAN/Internet port of linksys router.

My router already flash to use dd-wrt firmware. so my steps may not apply to u.
you may check out this link to setup.
http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid...585db4_3687.xml

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid...less_router.xml
Sorry I can't find any 'access point' word in both links you've given. cry.gif
Nvm you just teach me in your dd-wrt firmware way (goto what what and set what what.. bla bla..), I will try to apply and test by myself by referring yours. Please..

=====================================================

One more question:

Does anyone know that whether this Thomson TG784n router can limit "the max amount of connected users/devices (or like set max DHCP users)" or not???
I would like to set to 10 as max amount of devices.

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 12 2012, 08:08 PM
lololzai
post Jul 16 2012, 12:51 AM

Me too in private ip(default).
No much problems except poor wifi signal of thomson router (sometimes strong and sometimes weak in my kitchen). However it doesn't matter me at all since all my family members are using around living room and bedrooms (full bar of wifi signal).

Full speed 90% of the time. And usage of around 3~9 wifi devices (laptops, handheld devices, bla bla..).

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 16 2012, 04:49 PM
lololzai
post Jul 16 2012, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(phantasm0110 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:03 AM)
what software u're using to download those drama?
isit using thunder?
Yes bro, it's Thunder(Xunlei) v7.

QUOTE(frequency @ Jul 16 2012, 01:58 PM)
I guess I am the lucky one
the TM contractor and Maxis guy arrived on time done their job pretty well.
Yeah they did their jobs pretty well.. just TM guys came lately only..

Here's my story..
My installation date was scheduled on 10th of July (9.30am),
the Maxis guy called my sister (she was in college in the meanwhile) at 9am,
then the Maxis guy called me at 9.20am, mentioning the TM guys were on their way coming to my house, and asked me to call/miss call him if TM guys arrive.
2 TM guys arrived lately at 10.15am and looking around for the best way to pull in fibre, so I give a call back to Maxis guy and he reached at 10.30am.
TM guys started their jobs at 10.35am and done at 11.20am.
In the meanwhile, the Maxis guy was doing his job while chatting with me.
All setups and checking done at 11.30am(within an hour, without drilling holes, standard installation for landed).
TM guys left.
Maxis guy asked for my permission to stay for a while to do his project, so I let him and I started to test and enjoy the 10Mbps while chatting with him.
11.50am the Maxis guy left.

Here's my experience since then:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=53043825

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 16 2012, 04:42 PM
lololzai
post Jul 19 2012, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 19 2012, 12:08 AM)
come home without internet for 1hour+,
maxis disable my account without informing me the public ip is ready

the good news is voip phone is still working even thou the authentication failed
That's a known issue for those who request for public IP(Late informing and without informing).
Just change your account ID from <username>@home.maxis.com.my to <username>@public.maxis.com.my in the Thomson router in order to connect when the public IP is ready.
lololzai
post Jul 19 2012, 01:22 AM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 19 2012, 12:58 AM)
Means Maxis can remove the Perpetual Discount whenever they like and we pay RM218 from then on....
Not very good to customers... but smart of Maxis as usual.
perpetual [per-pech-oo-uhl]
per·pet·u·al   [per-pech-oo-uhl]
adjective
continuing or enduring forever; everlasting.
lasting an indefinitely long time: perpetual snow.
continuing or continued without intermission or interruption; ceaseless: a perpetual stream of visitors all day.
blooming almost continuously throughout the season or the year.

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 19 2012, 01:23 AM
lololzai
post Jul 21 2012, 02:23 AM

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Jul 21 2012, 01:54 AM)
Installation tomorrow at 2.30pm but no calls from maxis.

Should I call them and do they limit the hotline to office hours?

It's the 1800 number I should call right?
In my case, they never call. What I have are those SMS only.
If you don't even get any SMS then you better give Maxis a call.
They will 100% call you only before they are going to your home for installation. doh.gif
lololzai
post Jul 21 2012, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 21 2012, 03:46 PM)
normal lah... i think everyone is the same... they need to generate your account number for processing
Hahaha.. I think I wasn't the same(I mean the amount not same).
You know why?
They send me 4 letters of bills (These 4 copies were just same, I felt funny when I received them last month, wth they send me so many copies of RM0 of test drive bills). doh.gif

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 21 2012, 05:31 PM
lololzai
post Jul 29 2012, 02:31 AM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 29 2012, 02:26 AM)
Unfortunetely, I think you are making a fool of yourself by assuming the yet to be launched maxis optional add on iptv service is absolute free service.
+1.............. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by lololzai: Jul 29 2012, 02:31 AM
lololzai
post Aug 2 2012, 03:14 AM

QUOTE(kyleee @ Aug 2 2012, 12:04 AM)
mine no hiccups too..but speed seem to b slower loadings=pp

pps i tested on my laptop..works fine, but desktoop..like shyt..cnt even load the program list...haih..duno wads the problem
Apparently is your desktop problem (mostly is the PPS client settings).
Leave those settings default and try (maybe you've set something before? i mean back to the time u were using screamyx).
lololzai
post Aug 2 2012, 03:46 AM

QUOTE(kyleee @ Aug 2 2012, 03:33 AM)
hmm...i dont use tat..well..i tested agn..to confirm...notebook oso not smooth la..jz slightly better..at least it loading onli...aihs..still lag...even streamyx 1 mb doing a greater job on p2p>.<
FYI, all the PPS-enabled devices at my home (5 laptops + 1 desktop + 2 iPhones + 1 iPad) streams PPS without any problem.
All default settings for modem+router(except router password I've changed) and PPS.

0.0391sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:46 AM